We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Monterey Bay Travelodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Monterey Bay Travelodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,003 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Monterey Bay Travelodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 847: English reviews
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 1 November 2015 via mobile

Pros: comfortable bed with good quality bedding, decent breakfast with cereals, toast, bagels, boiled eggs, cream cheese, jams, coffee, tea Cons: ok reception but not exceptional, extremely poor wifi (called the desk to find out if we should try some something else but the excuse was a lot of people must be signed on, but even at 6 am it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SillyTravlr
TravelodgeMonterey, Manager at Monterey Bay Travelodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with our complimentary wifi. We will work to resolve your issues as quickly as possible. We are in the process of painting our corridors and having the carpets professionally cleaned. We hope you will like the changes....

Tracy, California
Reviewed 1 November 2015

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank chavonnej753
TravelodgeMonterey, Manager at Monterey Bay Travelodge, responded to this review

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 1 November 2015

The hotel is very tired. Good attributes: laundry service, or do your own facility, spacious room, nice local restaurants, convenient location, some nice staff, clean rooms and linen. Not so great attributes: Bad plumbing with blocking sink drains, minimal breakfast service (one salt and pepper for the whole restaurant to share so each patron had to assist one another, as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bumblemelon
TravelodgeMonterey, Manager at Monterey Bay Travelodge, responded to this review

We appreciate you providing us with your feedback. We are terribly sorry you found our staff and some services disappointing. We will work to improve our breakfast selections and have maintenance look into the plumbing issues. I will personally make sure my staff is more educated on the area and have them work on their customer service. Thank you again...

Union City, California
Reviewed 31 October 2015

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lorettaf37
TravelodgeMonterey, Manager at Monterey Bay Travelodge, responded to this review

Tracy
Reviewed 27 October 2015

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angie M
TravelodgeMonterey, Manager at Monterey Bay Travelodge, responded to this review

Egham, UK
Reviewed 27 October 2015

I had already read reviews and booked a room at the back. I didn't notice the planes because I was kept awake the whole night long by the snorer in the room next door. Soundproofing was perhaps not invented when they built this motel. So, yes, this ruined what would have been a great stay. Otherwise everything fine. Room very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank UKSapphire
TravelodgeMonterey, Manager at Monterey Bay Travelodge, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are happy to hear you found our rooms comfortable and clean! We are glad Richard was able to assist you during your stay. We truly hope you will stay with us again in the future. We would be delighted to host you. Thank you again for your review! Kind regards

Vancouver, Washington
Reviewed 26 October 2015

First I called for directions.....not sure how that guy makes it to work every day. No art work on the walls going down the hall. Part of our bedding was ripped. We were afraid to take our socks off and walk on the dirty carpet.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LLP1957
TravelodgeMonterey, Manager at Monterey Bay Travelodge, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We would like to sincerely apologize that you did not enjoy your stay. We will take your concerns and work hard to resolve them. We truly appreciate your input. Please let us know if there is anything we can do for you. Kind regards

Sacramento, California
Reviewed 20 October 2015

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 654jasonj
TravelodgeMonterey, Manager at Monterey Bay Travelodge, responded to this review

San Diego, California
Reviewed 20 October 2015

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank nicholasj264
TravelodgeMonterey, Manager at Monterey Bay Travelodge, responded to this review

Big Bear Region, California
Reviewed 18 October 2015

Room was spacious and clean and in a good location. The plastic center of the bathroom faucet kept falling out and the water pressure on the sink faucet was very low, the pressure in the shower was fine. Internet wifi had a very bad signal which created problems connecting to sites, would suggest the system be reevaluated for a solution...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank bruceb307
TravelodgeMonterey, Manager at Monterey Bay Travelodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for recommending us to your friends and family! We understand you have some concerns, and we will do our best to work on a solution for them. We hope to see you again soon! Kind regards

126 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (116)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.2 km away
Ramada Limited Monterey
Ramada Limited Monterey
#28 of 55 in Monterey
127 reviews
3.1 km away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
2.4 km away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
0.7 km away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
915 reviews
0.2 km away
Quality Inn Monterey - Fremont Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bask in the sun at our Monterey Bay Travelodge hotel near Monterey Bay Aquarium. Our hotel in Monterey, CA is just five minutes from Fisherman's Wharf and Pebble Beach, and only two miles from Monterey Peninsula Airport. Get an early morning boost with free Bear Bites continental breakfast. Before you head out for the day, enjoy a workout in our fitness center, check your email with free high-speed Internet access or prepare meals using your in-room microwave and refrigerator. After a long day of sightseeing, go for a swim in our heated seasonal outdoor pool from May to November, and doze off on your pillow-top mattress. Our pet-friendly hotel offers express checkout, guest laundry services, 24-hour front desk service and ample parking for oversized vehicles. Balcony rooms and rooms with views of the pool and courtyard are available at our hotel in Monterey, CA. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS Immerse yourself in the rich heritage on the Path of History tour, where you can walk through adobe homes. Peek into one of the largest aquarium windows in the world at Monterey Bay Aquarium, and explore the underwater world of penguins, white sharks and sea otters. Browse a unique array of stores, sail through the harbor and go on a whale watching cruise at nearby Fisherman's Wharf. Enjoy fresh seafood with a scenic view at one of the many waterfront restaurants. Spend an afternoon on the greens at Pebble Beach Golf Links, or visit Point Sur Lighthouse, which stands atop a volcanic rock. DINING OPTIONS Sit back and relax with a plate of fresh sushi at Oh! Sushi Japanese Restaurant, located on-site. Enjoy tasty dishes at Chef Lee's Mandarin House, next door to our hotel in Monterey, CA. Take your family for a hearty, homecooked meal at Rosine's Restaurant, just one mile away. BUSINESS AND EVENT FACILITIES Our Monterey, California, hotel offers a business center with fax and copy services. Meeting and banquet space are also available. HOTEL INFORMATION We allow one free parking space per occupied room for special events. Please ask our staff for details on additional parking fees for special events. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Travelodge

Address: 2030 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5263
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Price Range: €60 - €253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Monterey Bay Travelodge 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Monterey Bay Travelodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey
Monterey Travel Lodge
Monterey Travelodge
Travel Lodge Monterey
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Monterey Bay Travelodge staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Monterey Bay Travelodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms with King size bed is great deal roomier than other rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles TrishB790, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Near to the pool looks to be the best bet.”
 of 5 bubbles bear100no, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Just a dingy old Hotel. But for 80 dollars might be OK.”
 of 5 bubbles drewm2014, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The suites were quiet and very roomy.”
 of 5 bubbles 379leahh, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“never again, please avoid like the plague”
 of 5 bubbles MatUKLondon, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5