We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
12600 Riverside Dr North Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 91607-3411
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$167
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/10/22
Hotels.com
US$167
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/10/22
FindHotel
US$121
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/10/22
PricelineUS$140
Booking.comUS$167
TravelocityUS$167
View all 15 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (130)
Room & Suite (55)
Dining (11)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#170 of 409 hotels in Los Angeles
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Two-story motor inn located just off Ventura Freeway (US 101) between Laurel & Coldwater Canyons.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Business Centre with Internet Access
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Family

Location

Full view
45Car recommended
Grade: 45 out of 100
22Restaurantswithin 1 km
2Attractionswithin 1 km
295Reviews14Q+A52Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 46
  • 112
  • 76
  • 32
  • 29
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Road25598918047 wrote a review Sep 2022
2 contributions
Clean and great location as easy to get anywhere. Restaurants very nearby. Staff friendly and room was very clean. Wifi needs improvement as it was very weak the further away you are from the main reception. Pool was very nice. Overall great stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperience Team, Other at Mikado Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear guest, thank you so much for taking time out of your busy schedule to review us. We are delighted with your decision to stay with us, and we are glad that you liked the cleanliness. We are very particular about the overall cleanliness and hygiene, and hence, we are happy with your praise. We highly appreciate your decision to select us, and we have thoroughly enjoyed hosting you. We look forward to hosting you soon! Best Regards, Mikado Hotel Guest Experience Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jairo D wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
It’s okay no where near the best definitely need to change those spring mattresses due for a major renovation I’m sure they make enough to get it done parking is too small I think some one scratched my car so be careful
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperience Team, Other at Mikado Hotel
Responded 16 Aug 2022
Dear guest, thank you so much for writing to us about your recent stay. We are glad that you chose to stay with us. However, we apologize for your unfortunate experience regarding parking. Please know that we would dearly love to have more parking available for our guests, but, unfortunately, space around our hotel is very much at a premium. We do facilitate as many guests as we possibly can, and we are very sorry for the inconvenience that our limited parking area caused you. We hope we get to serve you soon! Best Regards, Mikado Hotel Guest Experience Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Petruk wrote a review Aug 2022
Phoenix, Arizona42 contributions99 helpful votes
A nicely maintained, older property. Clean. Wonderfully helpful staff. Minus one big star for hard bed and the most lumpy pillows in the world. The ownership seems to have forgotten the raisson de entre' for hotels.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperience Team, Other at Mikado Hotel
Responded 14 Aug 2022
Dear guest, thank you so much for your review. While we are happy that you stayed with us, we are disappointed that we did not blow it out of the park for you. We are sorry that the hardness of the bed kept you from sleeping. We wish you had brought this to our notice earlier as this would have helped us find a better alternative. We will make sure to highlight the issues to our management, and we hope to take steps to avoid such instances going forward. We look forward to hosting you soon! Best Regards, Mikado Hotel Guest Experience Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mbui7308 wrote a review Aug 2022
San Jose, California1 contribution
Everything at this hotel is old. But at least they keep it clean. Didn't expect that I have to pay $5 per night for parking at the property. Pretty close to Universal studio that's why I chose to stay here.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperience Team, Other at Mikado Hotel
Responded 9 Aug 2022
Dear guest, thank you so much for taking time out of your busy schedule to write us a review. While we are glad that you chose to stay with us, we are sad to hear about your impression of us. As you have correctly pointed out, our building and some of our furniture are quite old, but we trust that you noticed the wonderful standard of cleanliness and upkeep that we maintain, and we hope that this did not detract from your stay too much. We hope that you might notice some improvements in a future stay. We look forward to hosting you soon! Best Regards, Mikado Hotel Guest Experience Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Fred C wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
Overall, I liked this property. Rooms are a little dated but clean. Staff was friendly. Hotel has a nice pool and hot tub. Coffee and limited snacks in the morning. Parking is a $5 fee. Walking distance to Starbucks, Whole Foods and several restaurants. It was a quick Lyft ride to Universal (10 minutes).
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperience Team, Other at Mikado Hotel
Responded 31 Jul 2022
Dear guest, thank you so much for your valued feedback. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked our customer service. Our staff always makes sure to serve our guests to the best of their abilities and hence it feels great to be acknowledged for the hard work that they put in every day. Your kind words will be a great source of motivation for all of us and it's bound to make us smile. We look forward to hosting you. Best Regards, Mikado Hotel Guest Experience Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DebS199999 wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
Nice Hotel. In Valley Village. NOHO. Easy access to restaurants.Shopping. Accommodations were nice. Housekeeping every day.😀👍Pool and Sauna. A few minute drive to main highways.To main attractions 🌴👍
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperience Team, Other at Mikado Hotel
Responded 25 Jul 2022
Dear guest, we are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Our primary aim is to provide our guests with the best possible experience and we feel glad to be able to provide you with one. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the area. Thank you so much for your review! Best Regards, Mikado Hotel Guest Experience Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John F wrote a review Jan 2022
Myrtle Creek, Oregon64 contributions8 helpful votes
While visiting my son in Studio City recently, my wife and I had the pleasure of staying at the Mikado Hotel. To be honest, the place could use a little TLC. The lobby was very nice, though the carpet was a little worn. The fireplace was beautiful and provided a comfortable place to relax. The attendant who helped us check in was extremely pleasant. The rooms are small, but not uncomfortably so. All the essentials were there: Nice, big-screen TV with plenty of channels; coffee and coffee-maker; refrigerator; microwave; hair dryer and large soaps and shampoos; fluffy, large towels! The bathroom was small and, the mortal sin of so many hotels was evident in that you had to be a contortionist to reach the TP while on the commode. For the rate we paid, this was a blessing! The hotel was economical and comfortable with a nice pool and hot tub. We'd stay here again in a heartbeat...especially with the Kahuna Tiki Tu sushi/tiki bar right on the property!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperience Team, Other at Mikado Hotel
Responded 20 Jan 2022
Dear John, thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to provide us with feedback. We hope you had an enjoyable experience while being with us and, we look forward to having you back with us again. Best Regards, Mikado Hotel Guest Experience Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sanchie R wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution3 helpful votes
Just pay extra and stay at a larger chain hotel. My valuables worth $3000+ (laptops, headphones, handbags etc.) was stolen at the hotel from my room within an hour of check-in. I checked in and left my stuff in my room and went for a drink nearby and came back an hour later to find all of my stuff was gone. The door was ajar, the lights were on and the alleged burglar forgot an access key card - there was no forced entry - the access card was not any one of the two I was given at check-in because I had those on me. Ok say these incidents happen and the hotel is not always to blame, but the manner in which the hotel handled it was very unprofessional and unacceptable, which confirms my suspicions that the hotel was very much involved in the burglary. The front desk was indifferent when I reported the theft and said they would look into it in the morning since only the manager had access to the CCTV- the staff practically ignored us. I insisted that he call the manager given the seriousness of the matter to which he responded that she is usually very useless in these situations. True to his word, when we called the manage she was unbothered and went from "I am too sleepy" "I live 100 miles away" "I will come when the police come" "I am out of state" to pretty much hanging up on us and blocking our calls. I was stunned - I have travelled and stayed at different hotels around the world and all the managers I have interacted with have been hospitable even when issues have arisen. We called the police, though I found it strange that the reception staff was dissuading us from calling the police citing that LA police have been defunded and even if we called they would not show up. Surprisingly, the policemen came shortly after our call and created a report. The police, who are legally authorized to view CCTV footage, could not access the CCTV footage then because the manager, the only person who could supposedly given them access blocked our calls. I overheard the police discussing amongst themselves about how they have received many calls from this hotel and how uncooperative the manager has been each time they show up. Shortly after the police left (approx. 3 hours after we initially reported the incident to the staff) the hotel security showed up and offered to escort us to a new room. I was taken aback because I did not even realise the hotel had onsite security to begin with. You would think that the reception staff should have called the hotel security immediately after we reported the incident right? but no - hotel security only showed up much later. More than the theft I was appalled by the manager's unprofessionalism so much that I looked her up and it looks like she has been managing the hotel for several years now - Absolutely shocking given the complaints that were being made by her own staff, the police, ...during this whole episode. I had gone to LA for vacation and had to abort my trip and immediately fly back home due to this incident. I was travelling with friends and this ruined the weekend for them too as we could not sleep from fear after this happened. Its been a few days since the incident and there has been no communication or reassurance or even an apology from the hotel. Also there was no safe in the hotel room, the burglar had an access key card, which was not any one of the two I was given at check-in (I had those on me) so no matter what precautions I could have taken this theft was going to happen regardless - I was targeted. Please do not stay at this hotel - just don't. If hotel management ever reads this please do better. It is unacceptable for hotel staff to connive with each other to steal personal belongings from guests. Even in the event that such an incident occurs at your property, staff and management ought to be cooperative and professional. I am very upset that this happened and how poorly the hotel treated me.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperience Team, Other at Mikado Hotel
Responded 27 Jul 2021
Dear guest, thank you so much for your valuable feedback. We are so disappointed to hear that you had such a negative experience during your stay with us. Please accept our most sincere apologies - you did not have a typical experience in our hotel at all. We promise to take appropriate measures regarding the issues highlighted by you. We wish you had brought this to our notice earlier as this would have helped us find a better alternative. We will make sure to highlight the issues to our management, and we hope to take steps to avoid such instances going forward. We look forward to hosting you soon! Best Regards, Mikado Hotel Guest Experience Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ricardo V wrote a review Feb 2021
Los Angeles, California1 contribution1 helpful vote
Everything went so smoothly the employees / & staff are efficient and very polite and helpful... there is stores and restaurants within walking distance not to mention a fine diner on the premises and the 101 fwy is two blocks away in either direction
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperience Team, Other at Mikado Hotel
Responded 14 Feb 2021
Hey Ricardo, We are always pleased to receive feedback from our guests in relation to their stays with us, and we are delighted with your rating and comments - thank you very much. We are glad that you found our staff polite, efficient, and helpful, and it's nice to read that our location suited you. We also hope your stay was comfortable, and you had easy access to everything you needed. It was a pleasure to host you, and we look forward to having you back many more times in the future. Best Regards, Mikado Hotel Guest Experience Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
123Kristine123 wrote a review Nov 2020
Las Vegas, Nevada1 contribution2 helpful votes
We chose this hotel because it is literally across the street from my son's new apartment. We checked in at night, and to be honest, we were a little nervous driving around back to our room. However, in the morning it was a different story. We actually enjoyed our visit and the staff were nice. I needed some towels and extra coffee and the front desk personnel were happy to serve me. Thank you!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperience Team, Other at Mikado Hotel
Responded 3 Dec 2020
Dear guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and rating your experience as positive. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, and it's nice to read that our location suited you. We also appreciate you taking the time to recognize our front desk staff for accommodating your request for towels and extra coffee. Please do let us know if there is anything that we can do to make the next experience even more enjoyable for you. We look forward to having you back soon for another pleasant stay during your next trip to the area. Best Regards, Mikado Hotel Guest Experience Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$109 - US$161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western los angeles, los angeles best western
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Best Western Plus
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaLos AngelesSouth San Fernando Valley
NUMBER OF ROOMS
58
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mikado Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Mikado Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Boney Island (0.8 km) and Rising Star Children's Musical Theatre (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mikado Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Mikado Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Mikado Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Mikado Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mikado Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hugo's, Harvest Moon Kitchen and Marketplace, and Pagliacci's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mikado Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Mikado Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Greystone Mansion and Park (7.2 km), Virginia Robinson Gardens (7.9 km), and Sierra Towers (7.4 km).
Is Mikado Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.