We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
4917 Vineland Ave, Los Angeles, CA 91601-5647
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$181
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/10/22
Travelocity
US$181
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/10/22
Trip.com
US$146
View deal
Booking.comUS$181
Hotels.comUS$181
PricelineUS$181
View all 15 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (38)
Room & Suite (225)
Dining (4)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 30/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Colony Inn North Hollywood
Updated 30/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#136 of 409 hotels in Los Angeles
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Colony Inn near Universal Studios provides premium rooms with lots of amenities. We are located 1.5 miles from Universal Studios and close to Hollywood and Highland. All major los Angeles sites are easily accessible. We provide various room types ranging from 1 King, Spa, Micro Suites, 2 Queens and Handicap accessible rooms. Checkin at 2pm & checkout at 11am
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
24-hour security
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Parking
Wifi
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Dutch, Hindi

Location

Full view
72Somewhat walkable
Grade: 72 out of 100
28Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
9Attractionswithin 0.5 km
240Reviews12Q+A40Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 104
  • 61
  • 41
  • 12
  • 22
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
mtbean wrote a review Jul 2022
San Francisco12 contributions10 helpful votes
This place didn't look like much from the outside, but it was so much nicer on the inside than expected. We stayed in the family suite and it was a generous size room: one room with king bed with good sized table, full size bed and twin bed, which was perfect for our family. the shower had good water pressure and was high (which is nice for our 6'2" person) coffee was above average but is in the lobby (not in individual rooms) furniture was a little random (the armoire was strange) but reasonably well placed outlet through the rooms. good size fridge. parking was reasonable and they feed your meter if you have to park on the street (not a problem for us) not much noise pollution genuinely nice staff. it's still a motel but it's surprisingly reasonable for a motel, esp at that price.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperience Team, Other at Colony Inn North Hollywood
Responded 5 Jul 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your amazing review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take advantage of the many amenities the property has to offer. Thank you for being our guest. We eagerly look forward to your return! Best Regards, Colony Inn Customer Care Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Eivind M wrote a review Apr 2022
Oslo, Norway277 contributions75 helpful votes
+1
This is your basic American motel. As such is it quite good. Staff that checked me inn was nice. Clean rooms. Even the bathroom was fresh, no carpet on the floor, shower ok, no water on the floor after shower. Free parking outside. The checkout was fast. All in all i would recommend this place.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote1 Save
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperience Team, Other at Colony Inn North Hollywood
Responded 26 Apr 2022
Hi eivindm2013, Thank you for your marvelous review. We're ecstatic to hear that our property could be an ideal spot to provide you with the kind of experience that you had imagined. We also appreciate your positive comments concerning our amenities and service. With a lot of hope in our hearts, we would love to open our doors again for you in the future whenever your travel brings you back to the area! Best Regards, Colony Inn Customer Care Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Diane S wrote a review Nov 2021
7 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
I picked this hotel because of the price & location to my son's apt. I was in CA to visit him & his family. It was dark, about 5 or 6, the lobby was already closed, so had to ring a bell & check in outside. Then went up an outdoor staircase with butts & dirt to the room. I had trouble getting in the door. The room smelled of cleaning chemicals. It was extremely dated, nothing welcoming about the place. The towels various shades of white, not even folded neatly. Very unprofessional. I demanded my money back & found a place nearby. My daughter-in-law said I should have consulted her, she would not advise me to stay there in that section of NoHo.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: I was so upset by the place, quickly left in search of another.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperience Team, Other at Colony Inn North Hollywood
Responded 15 Nov 2021
Hi CC1953DMS, Thank you for sharing your valuable review on the recent stay. We truly regret the disappointment you have expressed over the stay experience. Please let us assure you that this is not the norm and we are extremely sorry that we have failed you in this instance. We have taken serious note of your comments and will strengthen our focus and provide the correct training needs in these specific areas to avoid guests being inconvenienced similarly in the future. Although our apologies do not erase the unsatisfying experience you have been through, however, we urge you to view this experience in isolation and allow us another opportunity to regain your confidence in our services. Best Regards, Colony Inn Customer Care Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
_glbetrkkr_ wrote a review Nov 2021
New York City, New York1268 contributions339 helpful votes
The place is pretty basic, but functional. I like to say it’s about two notches better than Motel 6. Pros: -Location: About a ten-minute walk from restaurants on Magnolia and Lankershim. Major grocery store also in walking distance. Easy access to freeways. Valley Village Park also in walking distance - great for morning or sunset walks -Free parking -Free wifi Cons: -Not enough mod-cons. Outlets are sparse -Room space is good but layout is not used to its best potential (see pics). Pls consider updating the desk and chairs. There weren’t even hangars in the bureau. The lighting could be improved too; consider using lamps instead of canned lighting -If you’re a light/sensitive sleeper, bring earplugs. You can hear the traffic from Vineland Ave. The hotel is under the flight path of BUR airport. I can’t comment about neighbor noise, but it was quiet during my stay (save the traffic and airplane noise) If you’re ok with the bare necessities, Colony is a solid stay. Were it not for its location, I would have rated lower.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperience Team, Other at Colony Inn North Hollywood
Responded 8 Nov 2021
Hi _glbetrkkr_, Thank you for your review of the recent stay with us. We are sensing some mixed sentiments in your review which is a perfect measure of the kind of hospitality that we're providing and the necessary improvements which still need to be introduced from our side. There's nothing called a perfect hotel experience if the guests do not take to this platform to voice their opinion with extreme honesty. We thank you for sharing your concerns with us along with the positives. We assure you that we'll look into these areas and take the necessary corrective action. A massive improvement plan is surely there on our list and every day we're moving gradually towards realizing that goal. We look forward to welcoming you again and assure you the best of our services in the future! Best Regards, Colony Inn Customer Care Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sally S wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Old and outdated. Wires exposed in wall with no plate covering. Black path marks on carpet either very old or dirty, scary to walk on. Cupboards with obvious handles long gone. Electrical outlets far from bed except for 1. Noisy in middle of the night from road and other guests in hotel. No breakfast (and no notice of that) due to ‘Covid’...but other hotels give some breakfast in a bag for guests It’s a quick drive to Universal Studios but in a questionable neighborhood. Uncomfortable beds but doable if you are desperate. I booked because of reviews and it was a mistake. Price was more than a very nice hotel in Anaheim that had a lobby, pool, hot tub, clean, updated, security and breakfast! It wasn’t what I had hoped.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperience Team, Other at Colony Inn North Hollywood
Responded 14 May 2021
Hi B1012HGsallysm, Thank you for taking the time to write to us about your recent stay. We're extremely gutted to learn that you had a disappointing experience at our property. We've noted your feedback and without any further delay, we will take a close look at these aspects to ensure that we eliminate the glitches as soon as possible. We strive to make sure that the quality we offer does not only comply with our standards but yours as well. No matter how challenging it may sound, we are ready to give it our best shot as our primary aim is to enhance the guest experience at our property. On that note, we request you to give us another chance to make it up to you! Best Regards, Colony Inn Customer Care Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
drgnflylady1 wrote a review Mar 2021
Atascadero, California1 contribution1 helpful vote
Room had a real funny stale dirty smell. Bedding did not seem clean at all, we put our own shirts on the pillows cause pillows smelled and seemed dirty. TV didn't work, I was promised a discount for the TV not working but I did not receive a discount. Very pricey hotel for sub-par conditions. This is byfar the worst hotel I've ever stayed in!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperience Team, Other at Colony Inn North Hollywood
Responded 18 Mar 2021
Hi drgnflylady1, Thank you for taking the time to write to us about your recent stay. We're extremely gutted to learn that you had a disappointing experience at our property. We've noted your feedback and without any further delay, we will take a close look at these aspects to ensure that we eliminate the glitches as soon as possible. We apologize for the lapse in serve. We will definitely pass your valuable feedback to the housekeeping crew so that they are more vigilant towards this in the future. We take cleanliness and hygiene issues seriously and we will make sure that your future stay is cleaner, better, and enjoyable. Again, we will look into the issue with the discount and pass on the word to the accounts team to expedite the process. For further assistance and queries, please feel free to reach out! Best Regards, Colony Inn Customer Care Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LoreleiMission wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
We stayed a night in room 230 which has a lovely jacuzzi with fancy columns on both sides of the tub. (There's also another jacuzzi room which has a different layout.) In our room there was a king bed, a queen bed, a table with two chairs, night stands, half size fridge (no freezer), armoire, closet, and bathroom amenities. If you are looking for a shower stall that has some safety elements for a senior, this qualified. It was an installation shower stall with direct walk-in, and two little ledges in the shower stall if you want to perch instead of stand, a totally embedded horizontal safety bar across the back, and a nozzle on a hose so that you can bathe yourself hand-held style. The television is perched on top of the closet which is pretty high up. You can watch it comfortably if you're lying in the king bed, but it's not watchable from anywhere else in the room. The mini fridge was on when we arrived which I always appreciate. There's a stairway and an elevator. The jacuzzi is designed for two. You have to fill the water above the jet holes, before turning on the jets. The jet button is all the way to the back, so you don't turn the bubbles on til after you're already bathing in the tub. Behind the two spots where you sit, are tub indentations where you can place a rolled towel to use as a headrest. We found the tub to be comfortable and pleasant. There were lots of cars when we arrived so parking was tight. Some of the guests were renting long-term. I liked this hotel room a lot but my boyfriend didn't like the area.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestTouch Inc, Other at Colony Inn North Hollywood
Responded 20 Sep 2020
Hi LoreleiMission, Thank you very much for your encouraging comments on the various aspects of our service. To be held in such high regard by our customers is surely a dream come true for us and this is a motivation enough for us to keep scaling greater heights. We're glad that our amenities and overall service suited your needs. However, we are sorry if your boyfriend did not really like the area. But we assure you both that there is nothing sketchy about the neighborhood and that it is completely safe. Do expect enhanced levels of commitment on every visit! Best Regards, Colony Inn Customer Care Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robin93221 wrote a review Oct 2019
Exeter, California57 contributions45 helpful votes
Our room was large and very clean. The staff wss very helpful and pleasent. The breakfast room was clean and offered coffee, juice and tea. Also available were bagels, muffins, cereal and toast. Dont let Google maps fool you. The hotel is in NOHO Art Distric which is an older area but you are 2 minutes from Universal Studios, 13 miles from Santa Monica Pier and about 10 miles or less from the Chinese Theater and walk of fame. I traveled with 3 teenaged grandchildren and our room more than accomodated us all.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Guestrelations2017b, Guest Relations Manager at Colony Inn North Hollywood
Responded 28 Oct 2019
Dear Robin93710 - Wow! What a wonderful review, we truly appreciate your business and your trust in us. I am very happy to hear that our staff and service met your needs and expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. :)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
r0me077 wrote a review Oct 2019
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Great place if you want to relax, I stayed in one of there jacuzzi rooms! They tried to help with all your needs and the location is great if your touring or just want to dine out! No wonder, it’s hidden but worth your stay and money!!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Guestrelations2017b, Guest Relations Manager at Colony Inn North Hollywood
Responded 23 Oct 2019
Dear R0me077 - Wow! What a wonderful review, we truly appreciate your business and your trust in us. I am very happy to hear that our staff and service met your needs and expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Krishna N wrote a review Oct 2019
Bengaluru, India11 contributions26 helpful votes
Rooms are spacious. The breakfast is very poor. It is not a three star quality place. No coffee maker in the room. It is a motel. Located close to Hollywood and universal Studios. The AC makes lot of noise. The lady in the breakfast room is nice and friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Guestrelations2017b, Guest Relations Manager at Colony Inn North Hollywood
Responded 23 Oct 2019
Dear Krishna - On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$154 - US$185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
colony inn north hollywood hotel los angeles, colony hotel north hollywood
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaLos AngelesSouth San Fernando Valley / Universal City Area / North Hollywood
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Colony Inn North Hollywood
Which popular attractions are close to Colony Inn North Hollywood?
Nearby attractions include Level Games (0.2 km), Hollywood Escape House (0.2 km), and Zombie Joe's Underground Theatre (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Colony Inn North Hollywood?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Colony Inn North Hollywood?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Colony Inn North Hollywood?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Colony Inn North Hollywood?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Colony Inn North Hollywood?
Conveniently located restaurants include Little Toni's, Urban Skillet, and Idle Hour.
Are pets allowed at Colony Inn North Hollywood?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Colony Inn North Hollywood?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Hindi, and Dutch.
Are there any historical sites close to Colony Inn North Hollywood?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Greystone Mansion and Park (8.0 km), TCL Chinese Theatres (7.0 km), and Sierra Towers (7.9 km).
Is Colony Inn North Hollywood accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.