We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Shelter Hotels Los Angeles

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Shelter Hotels Los Angeles
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

280 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Shelter Hotels Los Angeles
See the most recent reviews
Showing 232: English reviews
New Zealand
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Comfortable bed. Internet was fine, both wired & wireless. Was a good location for me (without car), with easy access to train and buses, and food places nearby. Was not as quiet as I wanted, with lots of sound on the floor above and in the corridor coming through, and some noise from vehicles on the street. The woman who...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank whosebob
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Room was nice and big, bed was comfy but the shower was never very hot and really crappy pressure. Rooms don't have a bar fridge or hair dryer which was very inconvenient. Good cable tv channel and never had any problems with the wifi. As someone mentioned in a previous review, they lock the doors after a certain time and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jessking87
ShelterGM, General Manager at Shelter Hotels Los Angeles, responded to this review

Thank you for the review and kind words. If you do choose to come back, please feel free to ask for a fridge or hair dryer. We have them upon request. Hope to see you soon

SF
Reviewed 20 January 2012

I stayed for a week on business in October 2011. There is no ways that it is a 3-star accommodation. I'd rate it 1 star, if that. While the staff are nice, the place is extremely run down, poorly taken care of, and not very clean. Examples: stains on the sheets and the walls, holes in the walls, paper-thin walls,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank SFLASf
ShelterGM, General Manager at Shelter Hotels Los Angeles, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. Clearly, you did not enjoy your experience while staying with us and for that we apologize. We are currently going through renovations that force us to have certain parts of the walls to be exposed due to ongoing inspections. I'm sorry that you had to witness them. Stains on sheets are not acceptable and if...

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Decent place to stay, I would stay again. Went for a week long trip in August and the location was centrally located, though not the greatest area, not terrible though. When you arrive you walk in and notice that the reception area looks like a college dorm room, a couch and a desk with a computer on it. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank L S
ShelterGM, General Manager at Shelter Hotels Los Angeles, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again. Regarding the neighborhood, Koreatown is a diverse area that is populated mostly by families and young adults and overall is a very safe neighborhood with plenty of eating and drinking establishments. If you choose to come back, we'll be sure to direct you to some of the great...

Oviedo,FL
Reviewed 26 December 2011

We chose Shelter because it was just 3 blocks from friends we were visiting.When we reserved the room we requested a fridge.After a quick check-in it was not in the room but we called and it was delivered quickly.It was much larger than the usual hotel room.As you can tell by the name,it was kind of stark.No dressers,no towel racks,no...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vjl330
ShelterGM, General Manager at Shelter Hotels Los Angeles, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We truly appreciate the suggestions that were listed in your review. We are constantly implementing new procedures and purchasing new items to make our product even better. Without reviews like yours, we would not be able to improve. Thanks much.

Campinas, Sao Paulo, Brazil
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Very good location, helpful staff. Large and comfortable rooms. I recommend this hotel! But make sure you have a car in LA!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leonardo T
ShelterGM, General Manager at Shelter Hotels Los Angeles, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind review. Hopefully we will see you again in the future.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 14 December 2011

We stayed 6 nights and had a very large, clean and comfortabel hotel. We chose the hotel because it was cheap and we only use hotels for the night - we leave early in the morning and return after dinner. We travelled with our 7 y.o. child and were happy with the Shelter. We had a car so it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Crisw300
ShelterGM, General Manager at Shelter Hotels Los Angeles, responded to this review

Thank you for the review.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 November 2011

We stayed here in October 2010. Our final stop was in LA. we stayed at the Shelter because it was cheap in comparison to other hotels and the location was great! The name of the hotel at first did put me off. But when we arrived, we were promptly checked it. they had an underground car park which was a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Saintlysinner
ShelterGM, General Manager at Shelter Hotels Los Angeles, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words. The staff was happy to hear that they were able to make your stay great. We are working on getting more items for the rooms to liven them up a little more. Great suggestion.

Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Stayed at the Shelter Hotel from November 5-8. Free parking was great! The internet was great! The room was nice and tidy. Nice modern fixtures. A short walk to Metro train. I heard lots of negatives about Koreatown, but we had no problem walking around and not harrassed by anyone. The lady in the office was nice and accompanyed me...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TNboi
ShelterGM, General Manager at Shelter Hotels Los Angeles, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. Koreatown is a great neighborhood in LA. Centrally located, great restaurants and more history in one square block than Hollywood could ever imagine. Thank you for spreading the word.

Reviewed 5 November 2011

we booked here due to all the hotels near the la live being sold out. hotel is in the heart of korea town anr only a short walk from the 720 cross town bus. rooms were huge and staff friendly. free wifi as well.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gristy58
ShelterGM, General Manager at Shelter Hotels Los Angeles, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review. We hope to see you again.

256 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (144)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (73)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (109)
Viewed
Amenities (13)
Viewed
Pool (10)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (23)
Viewed
Standard King Room (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hotel Normandie
#22 of 347 in Los Angeles
508 reviews
Central L.A
The Line
The Line
#38 of 347 in Los Angeles
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden Suites Hotel & Resort
#197 of 347 in Los Angeles
72 reviews
JJ Grand Hotel
#217 of 347 in Los Angeles
39 reviews
Oxford Palace Hotel
#198 of 347 in Los Angeles
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in the heart of Los Angeles, two blocks from Wilshire Boulevard, Shelter Los Angeles is a 48-room boutique hotel filled with spacious, comfortable, and soothing rooms. The hotel features contemporary interiors, luxurious bedding, dark hardwood floors, and stylish bathrooms. Amenities include hardwood Floors/ 50" LCD Flat Screen Televisions/ Complimentary High Speed Internet/ Individual High-Definition Receivers with over 100 Television Channels/ I-Home I-Pod Docking Stations. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shelter Hotels Los Angeles

Address: 457 S. Mariposa Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90020
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles
Price Range: €143 - €219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shelter Hotels Los Angeles 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shelter Hotels Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelter Hotels Los Angeles Hotel Los Angeles
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Shelter Hotels Los Angeles staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Shelter Hotels Los Angeles staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to get a room on the 4th floor.”
 of 5 bubbles oozzy4208, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a frig.”
 of 5 bubbles ChristieG412, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a room Rooms outside street facing, tell them you have a small car.”
 of 5 bubbles BodoButzek, 21 May 2016 | Read review
“Room on the south side was quet.”
 of 5 bubbles bmoss1340, 16 Apr 2016 | Read review
“If you want 2 double beds instead of a king, you need to call and request.”
 of 5 bubbles saboa, 4 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5