We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Samesun Venice Beach

Save
Share
25 Windward Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90291-4102
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
eDreams
Hotels.com
FindHotel
US$114
US$100
View deal
SAVE US$14
Booking.com
Travelocity
Expedia.comUS$114
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (157)
360
Panoramas (9)
Room & Suite (153)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
A note from Samesun Venice Beach
Updated 14/04/20

About

#9 of 391 Speciality lodging in Los Angeles
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Step out the front door and onto the Venice boardwalk. Being at the beach and close to LAX, we are the best and most convenient spot for exploring LA's beaches and beyond! Iconic Venice beach is world renown and we're right in the heart of it. Many of our dorms and privates have a full or partial ocean view, but you can also just walk out the door and be on the beach in 30 seconds. And after you've had a day of sunning, swimming or just people watching, come hang out in our newly renovated lounge to swap stories or just kick back. Our friendly and local staff will clue you in on the best happy hours, favorite places in Venice or sort you out for a surfing lesson or tour. And, you can join our own weekly activities including Taco Tuesday, our Venice favorites bar crawl and our limo tour. And if you need a break from sun and sand, we're surrounded by places to shop, eat and relax and are just a short bike ride or walk from most of the sites you'll know from the movies including Muscle Beach, our famous Venice Skate Park and the Santa Monica Pier.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Breakfast buffet
Beach
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Budget
Languages Spoken
English
839Reviews15Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 299
  • 286
  • 128
  • 59
  • 67
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
joelincoln l wrote a review Aug 2020
5 contributions8 helpful votes
I've stayed here in past with no issues but this time its like going to a terrible hostel. Due to covid kitchen and lounge closed but they don't mention that on the website I used which is agoda. Fairly certain they stopped requiring passports due to covid, as people aren't supposed to be flying into USA for vacations. As a result I had issues with people in the rooms that wouldn't normally be able to stay at this hostel. One guy wanted window closed. Thats dangerous due to coronavirus. Later I saw him with the crazies on the boardwalk. The 2nd room everyone was smoking in the room. They both were friends i did not feel comfortable switching on them. How can I snitch on two guys and then sleep in the room. The desk girl previously told me it was the last room she could offer me. So I left and slept in my car and no refund was allowed. To me they are running a scam operation. If i sell a pizza at work, and its the wrong food and the person doesn't want it, I have to give a refund if they don't want another one. Will not return.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Sara Booth, General Manager at Samesun Venice Beach
Responded 1 Sep 2020
Thanks for the feedback and sorry to hear about all the complications with your stay. There are several different room types that we offer that vary on building placement and amenities offered. The 4 bed shared room does not have a bathroom or an ocean view. That was the original room type that you booked. When you came down and stated you wanted a room with a view we did upgrade, free of charge. It is always frustrating when there are conflicting sentiments towards the room temperatures between hostel roommates, which again is why the front desk understood your desire to change rooms again. Due to the social distancing and existing reservations, the room choice was limited so the third room we put you in was the last dorm room option, which was mentioned to you at the time of the second room change. Of course if anyone is smoking in the rooms it is very important for us to know, and follow up with accordingly because we do have a no smoking policy. We do wish this was communicated to us, instead of leaving without contact, preventing us from further addressing the issue. Sorry that your experience was unpleasant and we do hope that you provide us with the opportunity to serve you in the future to show the high quality service we do offer. Best, Sara, manager
Read more
Galen C wrote a review Jul 2020
Atlanta, Georgia3 contributions3 helpful votes
Upon arrival the place smells moldy and of cheap cleaning products but I know it’s a cheaper place so no worries. When I go to check in they say I booked the night before by accident. The front desk was not willing to move my reservation or offer me anything. I work in hospitality and therefore I know it’s possible for the hotel to move my reservation over to a new night or at least show some type of empathy. However, I got an attitude and was told it’s my fault. As I was talking to lady, a guest came to front desk to get his room key reprogrammed 3 times. He was pissed. I took that as a sign that this place isn’t for me. Maybe train your people on how to retain business.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sara Booth, General Manager at Samesun Venice Beach
Responded 29 Jul 2020
Hi Galen - thanks for the feedback. We are aware of your situation where you provided a date earlier than you needed. We were more than happy (and able to) accommodate you when you arrived. The rate and availability did not suit your needs, which unfortunately is not something that we could fix. Given Covid-19, our cleaning products have in fact changed, and are actually the opposite of 'cheap cleaning products'. Perhaps the smell was from one of the multiple hand sanitizing stations throughout the hostel, which although functional, aren't the most pleasant smelling, I will agree with you there. Best of luck in your future travels. Sara, manager
Read more
Fang D wrote a review Feb 2020
Berlin, Germany5 contributions5 helpful votes
I stayed at Samesun 2 nights with my friend. We had a shared room with 4 beds and one bathroom. The whole team is so friendly especially Gustavo. His welcoming was great because he immediately included us in the events happening around Venice and gave us smart suggestions about the tourist things to do :) the room was clea, quite and had a nice view to the beach. The breakfast was the best I ever had in a hostel and we even got a towel and a hairdryer when we asked for it. I’m very happy about my stay and will definitely come again. Love you Samesun Team <3
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from samesunvenice, Manager at Samesun Venice Beach
Responded 4 Feb 2020
Hi Fang - thanks so much for the great feedback! So great to hear you enjoyed your time at Samesun We will make sure to pass along you glowing comments about the staff - they will be very happy to hear. Hope to see you next time. Cheers, Sara, manager
Read more
Melani B wrote a review Jan 2020
Manila, Philippines28 contributions27 helpful votes
I especially loved staying here due to its location and overall cool vibe. The room we had had a view of the ocean, too! Wish we had more time to participate in the many activities they offer. Will definitely stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
61BIKER wrote a review Jan 2020
Texas7 contributions1 helpful vote
Everything was average to poor here. Not real clean. The quantity of bathrooms and showers is not adequate for the number of guests. Breakfast very simple. The staff was unfriendly and rude. I was told “ get out can’t you read the sign” when I entered the kitchen for breakfast a few minutes before 730am. SORRY!!!! I thought breakfast started at 7am. Definitely will not stay here again!!!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from samesunvenice, Manager at Samesun Venice Beach
Responded 4 Feb 2020
Thank you for the feedback. We appreciate you letting s know about your experience with us and areas that need improvement. We have followed up with the staff and how important it is to respond appropriately, and explaining that the kitchen is closed and breakfast is still being set up but will be ready shortly. We hope that you enjoyed your time in Venice. Safe travels, Sara
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$80 - US$177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
venice beach cotel hotel los angeles
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaLos AngelesWestside / Venice
NUMBER OF ROOMS
28
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Samesun Venice Beach
Which popular attractions are close to Samesun Venice Beach?
Nearby attractions include Venice Skatepark (0.08 km), Venice Beach Boardwalk (0.2 km), and Venice Beach (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Samesun Venice Beach?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, breakfast buffet, and laundry service.
What are some restaurants close to Samesun Venice Beach?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tocaya Organica, Larry's, and James Beach.
Are there any historical sites close to Samesun Venice Beach?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Annenberg Community Beach House (5.5 km), Shotgun House (2.0 km), and Luminaries of Pantheism Mural (0.5 km).
Does Samesun Venice Beach have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.