We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel at the Convention Center

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel at the Convention Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

513 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 494: English reviews
Start your review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel at the Convention Center
 Click to rate
Woodstock, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

Due to an unexpected stay in Long Beach, I stayed at the BW Plus. The manager was so very helpful and friendly in many ways. Being far from home, a stressful situation was made easier by his assistance and I will remember his kindness. Highly recommended

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pauline A
Shawn J, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel at the Convention Center, responded to this review

Dear Pauline, Thank you for your kind compliments about me. It wouldn't be possible without my staff, however.It brings us great comfort that we made your traveling much less stressful. Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience here. We look forward to the next visit. Warmest Regards,

Wasco, United States
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 13 February 2017

We stayed at this Best Western on 2/11/17. We has a couple of hiccups on check in. We were charged for $15 parking and shouldn't have been. Also I asked about an automatic upgrade being a BW Rewards member. My understanding was I/we received one. That was in error. I pointed this out in my BW review. I was contacted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joel U
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Shawn J, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel at the Convention Center, responded to this review

Dear Joel, Thank you for the support as we are glad to hear that we were able to "make things right". We apologize again for incorrectly charging your room parking despite your Best Western Platinum membership. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand and will gladly look forward to your next visit. Thank you again you again for taking your...

Kansas City, United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This BW was excellent! Friendly staff, room clean, slept great. Breakfast was amazing!! Conveniently located, everything in walking distance: thus not needing a rental car. Will definitely return on our next visit to Long Beach!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank paulsK8616LW
Shawn J, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel at the Convention Center, responded to this review

Dear Paul, Thank you for the great support! It brings us great joy to know we accomplished an overall fantastic stay and easy of getting around due to our great location. We extremely look forward to your return as it was our pleasure. Happy Travels, Shawn Jones General Manager

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I came for a conference at the Long Beach Convention centre. This hotel is about a 5-10 minute walk so quite convenient. PROS: Excellent/Spacious rooms, very comfortable. Great staff such as Abraham, Katie and Shaun who provided great customer service. I forgot my suit and leather jacket in my room, but the reception staff were excellent and kept it safely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill792
Shawn J, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel at the Convention Center, responded to this review

Dear Bill, Thank you for staying with us. We are happy to know we were a convenient property for you. It was also our pleasure to keep hold of your items until your return. We apologize if our breakfast didn't have much variety apart from our Eggs, Bacon, Sausage, Potatoes, Waffles, different flavored yogurts, hot and cold cereal options, waffles,...

Modesto, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Were a family of four. The hotel was great! Its also great for couples w no kids because there's bars right accross from three hotel! My only complaint was that the beds were so small! They were two full beds, not even queen beds. Otherwise, the stay was great!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank niyaf2017
Shawn J, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel at the Convention Center, responded to this review

Dear Niya, Thank you for staying with us. It's our pleasure to know you had a great stay. We're sorry to hear that our bed size didn't work for you, however. Unfortunately, there is a limit on how many beds and what size they can be for the room to still be safe and comfortable. We hope to have another...

Gville
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were at a horrific hotel on a convention week and stopped in to see if there was any availabilities... Great gal Dilcia at front desk was fabulous. Found us a room with a great price, professional , helpful and friendly. Hotel was CLEAN, new and very nice. Breakfast was a bonus. Great staff , great hotel , great location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CynthiaGville
Shawn J, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel at the Convention Center, responded to this review

Dear Cynthia, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write about your experience. Dilcia is a great part of our team, and we're happy to know she made your travel experience that much nicer. Don't be a stranger and visit us again soon! Thank you again! Happy Travels, Shawn Jones General Manager

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had reserved Mar 13-16 at this location but due to the snow storm my flight from the east coast was cancelled. I had to spend a night in a crappy hotel in Washington DC, thus missing one night here at the Best Western Plus that I already paid for. I called and explained my situation to Shawn, and he...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Relz U
Shawn J, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel at the Convention Center, responded to this review

Dear Relz U, It was a pleasure helping out a stranded traveler. You and your family were awesome guests and we hope you make your way back to Long Beach for a future visit. Good luck with your continued venture's with photography! Warmest Regards, Shawn Jones General Manager

Bonita
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our first stay at this hotel in Long Beach. Check-In Desk staff was very helpful in providing useful information on the hotel and the surroundings. The breakfast room was pleasant and staff there, also, was helpful. The hotel worked out perfectly and cost about half of what we expected to pay.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank paulkV4687GT
Shawn J, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel at the Convention Center, responded to this review

Dear Paul, Thank you for the kind compliments and choosing us! It's an honor to know we beat your expectations and that you've enjoyed your stay at our property. Hope to see you again soon for the next visit to Long Beach. It was our pleasure! Warmest Regards, Shawn Jones General Manager

Sandia
Reviewed 6 March 2017

We had terrific service in downtown Long Beach! Close to everything, very friendly, safe and comfortable! Walking to the beach was easy as well as liquor stores, restaurants, and bars! I would highly recommend this hotel!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon D
Shawn J, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel at the Convention Center, responded to this review

Dear Sharon, It's a pleasure to know your stay was very convenient since were are literally right in the middle of everything! Thank you for recommending us to future travelers. We hope we have another opportunity to provide you with another great stay. Happy Travels, Shawn Jones General Manager

Sacramento, California
Reviewed 6 March 2017

The staff was extremely courteous, the hotel clean and modern. The manager, Shawn, went over and above to help out 2 women traveling in a strange city to feel safe and secure. The breakfast was amazing. I could go on, but suffice to say, we enjoyed our stay, and found it to be an excellent hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mikejones911ssd
Shawn J, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel at the Convention Center, responded to this review

Dear Mike Jones, Thank you for the compliments about me but I can't do it all this without my staff behind me. We're pleased to know that your time with us was well spent and want to thank you for taking your time to write about your experience. Please see us again soon. Safe Travels, Shawn Jones General Manager

128 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (80)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.7 km away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#3 of 56 in Long Beach
2,186 reviews
2.4 km away
BEST WESTERN of Long Beach
BEST WESTERN of Long Beach
#11 of 56 in Long Beach
872 reviews
0.8 km away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 56 in Long Beach
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Westin Long Beach
The Westin Long Beach
#8 of 56 in Long Beach
1,184 reviews
1.8 km away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#9 of 56 in Long Beach
5,776 reviews
0.9 km away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Halfway between Los Angeles and Orange County Airport, The Best Western Plus Hotel at the Convention Center is renowned for both convenience and its beautiful location. In the heart of the East Village, Long Beach’s art community this Best Western Plus hotel is less than a third of a mile from the beach, as well as walking distance to the Long Beach Convention Center and a few minutes to both the Aquarium of the Pacific and Long Beach’s Carnival Cruise Port. Our location and amenities make our hotel the perfect place to stay for your next visit to Long Beach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel at the Convention Center

Address: 517 E 1st St, Long Beach, CA 90802-5025
Region: United States > California > Long Beach
Price Range: €146 - €320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel at the Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Best Western, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel at the Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hotel At The Long Beach
Best Western Long Beach
Long Beach Best Western
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel at the Convention Center staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel at the Convention Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you want a quiet room, ask for one towards the back and on a higher floor.”
Bill792, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We were facing the intersection and they had the Taste of Long Beach going on so the music was loud, but I love loud music”
, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Close to the Long Beach convention center, and the beach.”
mikejones911ssd, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stay away from elevators and vending machines.”
vixnva, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms facing the courtyard are quieter, and rooms facing the street have a view.”
BlueSpruce80, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5