We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
985 N Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-1416
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$764
Hotels.comUS$764
Booking.comUS$766
PricelineUS$766
Agoda.comUS$766
FindHotelUS$764
View all 13 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (165)
Dining (46)
Room & Suite (45)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#12 of 22 hotels in Laguna Beach
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Hotel Joaquin is a refuge for the world traveler who revels in living off the beaten path, the adventurers who embrace the beauty of nature, and the lovers of life who appreciate the finest attention to detail. When you’re with us, you’re home. We invite you to come swim a while at the pool, take a spin on anything in our Adventure Garage, start your day with hand delivered coffee service and a decadent breakfast – all on the house.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycle rental
Baggage storage
Concierge
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Board games / puzzles
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Value
Quaint
131Reviews4Q+A37Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 108
  • 9
  • 5
  • 7
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
kristin n wrote a review Aug 2022
Boston, Massachusetts2 contributions1 helpful vote
I have stayed at Hotel Joaquin in the past and had wonderful experiences. Unfortunately my most recent experience was unsatisfactory for the type of amenities and service Hotel Joaquin promotes on its website and on social media, plus the $600 + per night cost for rooms and services. I hope management is able to address these issues so other guests don't experience the same things we did during our stay. First, a couple positives about our stay: the two female servers were absolutely lovely as well as the two bartenders. They did the best they could despite issues at the hotel. The bed was very comfortable. Issues: -No one was available to help with luggage or offered ( two 65+ woman and me 8 months pregnant) -Perche room had a musty smell. Asked to be moved, but no other rooms available. The front desk host sprayed cleaner, we slept with windows open. -Mold visible in hotel sink and in pool -Marks on furniture and fabric. -Water at the pool, but no cups. No pool service for food or cocktails at the pool. - Used towels around the pool area. We cleaned up a space to sit and covered with fresh towels. -No service at the pool area and messy. At dinner there were no lights on outside. I believe the power was out at the hotel. No candles -- we turned on iPhone flashlight so we didn't have to eat dinner in the dark. No cream for coffee and the restaurant was out of two dishes we hoped to have for dinner. On our last morning, we waited close to an hour for 3 simple breakfasts - oats and eggs with sausage, 2 smoothies. We served ourselves orange juice, salt / pepper, from the waiters stand after requesting from waiter, but it was never brought to our table. My mom brought coffee and coffee cups down from our room to have with breakfast. Management seemed to be missing during our stay and lack of overall upkeep at the Hotel, no attention to details. I love the overall concept and hope Hotel Joaquin can get back to standards of amenities and service it had in the past.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Starkisser_10 wrote a review Jul 2022
New Jersey45 contributions16 helpful votes
+1
I cannot wait to tell you all about Hotel Joaquin! I was nervous after reading a couple negative reviews but I am here to let you know that this place is incredible. I do a lot of traveling globally and have stayed in all kinds of places - I think I have a good idea of what a great place provides: Hotel Joaquin is not cheap but the quality of the experience is worth it. Hotel: Gorgeous interior, from the front desk to the pool, the landscaping and decor are in great taste - the front of the hotel is unassuming but the minute you open the front door, you are hit with a view all the way to the ocean - it has an interesting design, not incredibly accessible for wheelchair users but they do have chair lifts to get to the main levels but I would imagine not all the rooms are ADA accessible, it's a bit of a maze (in a fun way) - I work in disability access and justice so I look for this stuff and know people need to know. We loved the fact that the whole property is indoor/outdoor, we are still wearing masks and felt comfortable in all the common spaces maskless as the ocean breeze moves through the whole space - the adult only aspect was great and made it seem serene and quiet - overall the vibe is chill, they call it a retreat for a reason and it really feels that way - we stayed M-F and there were less guests during this time which was nice, we noticed more people come in on Th evening. I also really appreciated the location, it was a bit away from the main part of town, so it felt more local and private - but still walkable to town. Room: Not all rooms are created equal :) as you can tell in the pricing, the ocean view rooms and rooms away from the busy pacific coast highway are better and cost more - we stayed in Cress, mainly because we were staying for 4 nights and wanted to save a few bucks but if we make it back, we will pay more for the nicer spaces - the room was smaller but we were able to unpack and use the closet and drawers and push the suitcases under the bed - the rooms are lovely and we had loads of natural light - we loved the private sitting area outside the room and had our morning coffee there every day (which is quite delish by the way) - please note that if your room says mountain view, it means it faces the loud pacific highway - bring earplugs and you will be fine - but overall we got used to it and it wasn't a deal breaker, but if you are used to complete quiet while sleeping, this may not be good for you - the bed was super soft, the pillows were quality, good air con Pool: Warm and salt water! There were several times when we were the only ones in the pool! It was so peaceful and the day beds were comfy and lush - they provide pool towels and water - you can also get pool service, I had a cocktail delivered to me as I was in the pool - holiday bliss! Even when we weren't the only ones, everyone was respectful and quiet - great place to read and relax. Beach Access: Shaw's Cove is a gem!! We spent a lot of time in downtown Laguna and the main beach was def not as appealing - it was so amazing to have this beach basically to ourselves - we often went right after breakfast between 9-10am and no one was there - we only requested the beach chairs once, and they are def nice but we realized we didn't need them and just brought the towels offered by the hotel - there are a lot of steps to and from the beach - if you need access to a beach, the main beach has more direct access but besides that I noticed all the beaches have steps Food: DIVINE!! The food here is terrific, I do not understand any negative reviews on the food - I am a massive foodie and we ate some wonderful meals in Laguna but the breakfasts and dinner we had at Saline were exceptional (I will add a bit at the end on my fave places to eat in Laguna) - the breakfasts are all good, we tried them all, the coffee they bring to your room in the morning is also yummy (I'm a coffee snob and this did not taste like gas station coffee lol) - I have heard folks complain about the resort fee - news flash - this is normal - I live on the hudson on the other side of NYC and often stay in hotels in the city, they all charge this, and often you get nothing for it -Joaquin actually gives you breakfast, free boxed water, a welcome drink, and even free evening cookies! We ate dinner there on our last night and OMG, the scallops, steak and salmon were so MOREISH - we even had the mousse and decaf coffee that was excellent to end the meal - HIGHLY RECOMMEND doing this at least once! We had a snack once, the hummus and it was also great - the cocktails really shine here and I def indulged! Service: Everyone we interacted with from the bar staff, pool staff, front desk, housekeeping etc, everyone was lovely and helpful and welcoming - absolutely not one complaint. I did yoga on the Wednesday morning and I highly recommend, the roof area that overlooks the pacific while surrounded by herbs was so calming - I even shed a tear! Minor issues: these are just super minor issues - none that would deduct a star from my review - bring an eye mask, there is a smoke detector in the room that blinks and it's super distracting when you try to sleep - the air con unit was also quite bright at night - the records are a nice addition but they all were in terrible shape (my dad owned a record shop, I am picky about my records) - many of them just skipped and needed to be cleaned - I almost bought a kit to clean the ones in my room haha - the sliding doors in the bathroom hardly worked, so you could def see your partner while they shower :) didn't bother us but I am sure it would bother others Bottom Line: This place is a gem - the experience is remarkable and we will def try and return next summer. The guide they send ahead of time (and is also in the room) is a must read - loads of good recommendations and history of Laguna! Laguna Tips: Las Brisas has overpriced/ok food but the view is wonderful! 242 Fusion sushi is hands down some of the best sushi I have ever eaten - their outdoor dining wasn't all that great (indoors is cuter but we are only doing outdoor things right now) but the omkase was the stuff of gods, Rastatacos is a great outdoor spot for fun tacos, Sapphire had good cocktails but we were disappointed in the food, the Sawdust festival was so GREAT - well worth admission, Buck Gully trail is harder then was stated haha - but was a nice medium hike (I suggest going early to avoid it being too hot), the Deck bar was overcrowded and had a party vibe - we didn't enjoy it, Heisler park is so beautiful - we loved walking through it at sunset!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Mountain rooms are louder - it's worth it to pay more for an ocean view!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
wchueire wrote a review Feb 2022
Los Angeles, California6 contributions6 helpful votes
Liked: Cute boutique hotel. Liked the simple designs, good taste, and quietness. Staff was friendly and helpful. The pool had enough chairs to accommodate all current guests. They bring you coffee in the AM at your desired waking time in your room, which was a nice detail. They have yoga on Saturday morning on the roof top, which I enjoyed. The staff communicates via text and books reservations for you around town efficiently. Disliked · So many things....I arrived and upon checking in, realized that my $600+/night room (The Thalia Room) was practically in the basement, without any natural light. The only tiny corner window couldn't be opened because people passing in the common ally of the hotel and ally way for the street would have a direct look into my bedroom. I have added pictures here but unfortunately they were deleted by the system the first attempt to upload. Clearly Booking receives money from the property to promote them and didn't want me to post them or a review that may be too-honest. Selling this room at this rate was a rip off. The staff moved us to a "top" room upstairs, which was better since we had an ocean view but the bedroom window/door opened to a common hallway, so you can only have privacy with the windows closed. Anyways, that would have been fine, except that after moving us they told us they would only have the room available for that night and we needed to move back to the Basement room. So in a 2 night weekend of Valentines, I had the choice of staying in the Thalia dungeon for 2 nights or having to move which is an inconvenience when you are staying for two nights only. Please note that the "Breakfast Included" is 1 choice of 5 items on the menu. It is limited, and once again not transparent. You cannot even ask for a second glass of orange juice. Also, although we ended up finding parking, it was limited in the property and most of the time it was full. The hotel offers no pool service. I regretted spending this much and having this room experience. I could have stayed at the Waldorf in Dana Point which was a beautiful resort for $200 more, it would have been worthier without a doubt. The boutique experience here is overrated here. Haven't posted this experience on social media but I am tempted to. There should be more honesty in the sale of rooms so you don't get disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Most rooms offer low privacy, no TV at an expensive room rate. Not worth it
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Amy W wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
My husband and I were during the peak of Omicron and not a single person who worked at the hotel wore a mask. NOT ONE SINGLE PERSON! They should all be fined!! They are a hotel, dealing with domestic and international travelers on a daily basis. The least they can do is show that they care about the health and safety of its occupants by wearing a mask. Our room was smaller than we anticipated. And people have already mentioned the problems with the extravagant taxes that are tacked on afterwards. Our room was $500 but after taxes, became almost $700. It's insane. To be prepared for that. Overall, service was slow. They function through a text regime where you text them if you require anything. I would say about 50% of my requests were ignored. My husband joked and said the placed reminded him of the British show - Fawlty Towers. The view/location is nice but it really is not worth the money for the service, room size and the unsafe practices happening within the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Mombeto wrote a review Oct 2021
Glenview, IL115 contributions43 helpful votes
+1
My husband and I we’re on a 10 day trip visiting friends and family and hotel Joaquin was our final hotel. It was my favorite!! At first I thought our room would be noisy but not in the least. I guess requesting a room you should request an interior property room. They all face a small courtyard and a lovely pool with lots of double lounge chairs. I did love the vicinity. Close to all the restaurants that we had reservations at. The price tag is hefty. There is not a full breakfast in the morning. It had a small… Sampling of a menu. We did not eat there. Here’s my favorite part. The rejuvenation antique brass fixtures. Their soaps are by Le Labo. My favorite scent Santal 33 !!!! The shower was quite large. I loved it. We can’t wait to return!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reinhard Otto, General Manager at Hotel Joaquin
Responded 27 Oct 2021
Thank you for spending time with us. Please contact me directly when you book your next rip.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GustheAlpaca wrote a review Sep 2021
Chicago, Illinois7 contributions
+1
We loved staying here. The atmosphere is so breezy and chill. The food and service were spectacular. I can’t stress that part enough. The staff here were so accommodating and so eager to please. It was incredibly relaxing to stay here and we would absolutely come back again. We had come in for a ohana Festival. It was a little out-of-the-way and getting a ride back on the three evenings was a little challenging but the stay was so wonderful we would put up with that again a heartbeat.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reinhard Otto, General Manager at Hotel Joaquin
Responded 27 Oct 2021
Thank you for your nice words. We are grateful we could add to your Ohana experience. We hope to see you again. All the best.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
WillD wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Really enjoyed our time here over the holiday weekend. Very quaint and quiet oasis. We decided to stay in and eat at the restaurant two nights in a row just to be able to make it through all the menu options. Definitely go for the lamb meatballs and the gnocchi. Room was on the smaller side but we enjoyed having some lazy mornings with coffee on the little patio just off the bedroom. We both enjoyed having the text communication with the staff as they were very helpful with questions and responded to requests quickly. Recommend getting a cocktail or two while you're here. Nick and Cody have come up with some interesting drinks we had never heard of before. Sitting at the bar with them was a cool experience while overlooking the Pacific.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Reinhard Otto, General Manager at Hotel Joaquin
Responded 26 Sep 2021
Thank you so much for your comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay/drinks and had time to interact with our team. Hope to see you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Leo D wrote a review Sep 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
We would highly recommend Hotel Joaquin. The location is perfect -- 150 yards to beach access, pool with ocean view on premise, staff was amazing and very attentive throughout the course of our stay. The food and drinks are also top notch so stop by the bar and Saline restaurant. Different rentals are available from snorkeling to bicycles are available during your stay. Definitely worth the visit if passing through or staying in OC!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Reinhard Neubert, Owner at Hotel Joaquin
Responded 27 Jan 2022
Hello Leo! I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your experience. We so look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jamie D wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution3 helpful votes
+1
I love everything about Hotel Joaquin. It is one of my favorite hotels in Orange County and I am always excited to stay there! I've stayed here 5 times in the past year, there's a reason why I keep coming back! The hotel itself is intimate and quiet which make it a perfect place to relax and get away from the craziness of life. It's steps away from my favorite beach, Shaw's Cove, and the staff are always so friendly and helpful when I've interacted with them. The rooms are decorated with intention and so much thought which made me feel right at home. I can't say enough about how much I love the decor and design of the entire property. My favorite room I've stayed in is definitely SOLEIL, it has a gorgeous view of the ocean and a stunning bathroom with a tub! My second favorite room is THALIA which is near the rooftop patio and also has a great view of the ocean from the sitting area! I love that it's in North Laguna which is my favorite area because it's so calming and quiet. I like how secluded it is on their property and that there are plenty of spaces to sit on their patio, sit by the pool, or even get a drink at the bar! The two bartenders Cohdy and Nick make incredible drinks and always make sure you have a great time! I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a great location and a relaxing stay. I've never regretted staying here and I'm sure you won't either!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: There are a few less desirable rooms, so I would call ahead and ask if you're unsure where...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Reinhard Otto, General Manager at Hotel Joaquin
Responded 26 Sep 2021
Hello Jaime, you are part of our "house" as I can see you truly understand where we are coming from. Serenity and nice people. All the best.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
victoriamoriarty wrote a review Aug 2021
New York City, New York37 contributions63 helpful votes
This hotel is a quaint property with lovely ocean views, centrally located in Laguna Beach. However, I would not say it's worth the almost $600 price tag per night. Although the bathroom in our room was quite spacious, the room itself was pretty small, with the bed and our suitcases taking up most of the space. We also had a room facing the highway, which made for a noisy night of cars whipping by at all hours. I enjoyed my stay, but would not pay $600 to experience it again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Avoid a room facing the highway if possible. Cars speed by and are very noisy
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Reinhard Otto, General Manager at Hotel Joaquin
Responded 26 Sep 2021
Hello Victoria, I am sad to hear that your stay was not all to your satisfaction. Please come and visit us and check out a different room. Call us directly, we will take care of you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$593 - US$800 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
laguna beach motor hotel laguna beach
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaOrange CountyLaguna Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
22
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Joaquin
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Joaquin?
Nearby attractions include Heisler Park (0.9 km), Crescent Bay Point Park (0.5 km), and Main Beach (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Joaquin?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Joaquin?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Joaquin?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Joaquin?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Joaquin?
Conveniently located restaurants include Urth Cafe, Las Brisas, and 242 Cafe Fusion Sushi.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Joaquin?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Joaquin?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Murphy-Smith Historical Bungalow (1.4 km).