We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
825 S Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2784
E-mail hotel
9 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!FALL SEASONAL SAVINGS
Expedia.com
US$286
View deal
Booking.com
US$281
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Official Site
US$213
View deal
Hotels.comUS$286
TravelocityUS$286
Agoda.comUS$306
View all 15 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (366)
Room & Suite (352)
Videos (1)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#15 of 22 hotels in Laguna Beach
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Relax year-round at this beachfront hotel, set in tropical gardens terraced to the ocean's edge in the heart of Laguna Beach, California. Enjoy the ocean surf and spectacular views in a quiet setting along the California coast. Enjoy our indoor salt-water pool and Jacuzzi. Limited parking is available on site for a fee.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Vending machine
Beach
Water sport equipment rentals
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Car park
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Saltwater pool
Shallow end in pool
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Sofa
Telephone
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Price:FALL SEASONAL SAVINGS
486Reviews14Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 229
  • 114
  • 60
  • 39
  • 44
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Whitney M wrote a review Sep 2022
2 contributions
Juanita and Micaela and all the staff of Laguna Rivera were excellent…from start to finish they made a family visit amazing from chaises and umbrellas on the beach to the live guitar music at sunset! A true gem and amazing view!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Laurie K wrote a review Jul 2021
Las Vegas, Nevada11 contributions7 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Everything was great. Right on the beach. The room comes with a kitchen. They provide coffee and a coffee maker. The bed was comfy. The only complaint is no full length mirror. Which a girl loves. The hot tub and pool area was nice. Although why use the pool when you have the ocean. Hotel tip: they charge a lot for parking but if you go right up the street and park on a residential road its free and safe. They also provide chairs and umbrellas for the beach These pictures are from the hotel
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
kim v wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
The rooms were clean and spacious. Close to restaurants and grocery store. Downtown is a quick free trolley ride away. Friendly and helpful staff. Bonus beach chairs set up for us on the beach! ☀️☀️☀️
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthew Weeks, General Manager at Laguna Riviera
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you so much for staying with us and for providing us this wonderful feedback. It was our true pleasure to have you and we all look forward to hosting your next trip to Laguna Beach.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kt wrote a review Sep 2022
Denver, Colorado4 contributions12 helpful votes
This place is disgusting, dont be fooled. It is “going through a redo” and they use that excuse all over but the truth is they are charging way more than nearby hotels that are FAR nicer. The lady who works at the front desk is rude and many people checking in the same night as me were frustrated because she messed up bookings and lied about charges. The clientele are trashy and always drunk and screaming, it is not a nice place especially when I was trying to get work done. They tout themselves as pet friendly but then they have people screaming all night who disturbed my dog and then they charged me for my poor dog being terrified and barking. Was looking at this as a potential location for a large group because I work for a huge corporation with an office near here and looking to host employees to come back and instead have added it to the list of hotels that our company will never use and eager to bring our business down the street to Casa Del Camino instead where they are very clean, nice, accommodating, and well priced.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthew Weeks, General Manager at Laguna Riviera
Responded 1 week ago
Katie, We apologize your stay went this way. I can assure you we all were just trying our best with the situation. The dog was neglected and alone scared and barking all the way to 1:00am while you were at the bar, and we were doing our best to deescalate the many things wrong with this situation. We hope you can understand we were doing our best to accommodate the many rooms affected by this.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kathalia wrote a review Sep 2022
7 contributions
+1
We decided to stay at the Laguna Rivera and it didn’t disappoint! What makes this place so wonderful is the staff and the hospitality. Diana got us checked in and made sure we were accommodated. One our favorite moments was Friday evening where the hotel host their guest to wine and music. Picture this, while watching the sunset you are listening to acoustic paired with wine and every melody gives you chills. yes, please! Michael (singer) has the most beautiful voice, he even sang “Baby Shark” for our 4yr son to which got us all dancing. Mr. John was so kind my our son❤️ Every time we ran into him. Everything about this Friday evening was amazing! We hanged out by the beach all Saturday, we walked to restaurants/shops and took the trolley around the city for scenery and we loved it! We also checked out the sister hotel Seven4One where we would go for coffee/tea runs, Nahid is warm-hearted that I kept going back for her fun energy. All the staff made us feel like a local, and the best part was that! This weekend felt so stress free that it was sooo hard to leave. I can’t wait to go back🙏🏽
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthew Weeks, General Manager at Laguna Riviera
Responded 1 week ago
We love this so much! Thank you once more for staying with us and taking the time to provide us kind words on our team and your experience. It is our goal that every guest leaves as happy as you all did and gives us such joy to read. Until next time, be well!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Matthew B wrote a review Aug 2022
2 contributions
+1
Really enjoyed this hotel. Has a cool California vibe to it. Staff was friendly & helpful. They give beach chairs, umbrellas, towel, even had boogie boards free to use on the beach. Beach is very clean in a very good location. Pool /Hot tub was cleaned everyday. Good size on both. You can walk to lagunas main beach within mins from the hotel beach. Grocery store, restaurants, shops, gas all in close range. Trolleys take you where you need to be in summer. There is a stop right in front of the hotel. Last but not least the valet parking is super convenient. Ethan & Daiki were true professionals, super courteous, polite, had awesome attitudes, and very attentive. They made us feel safe leaving our car at laguna Rivera. Was a great place to get away for the day to day!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Donna S wrote a review Aug 2022
4 contributions
Juanita at the desk has been unbelievable! Always pleasant, patient and super responsive. I have stayed at many 5 star resorts that don't have front desk people of her caliber. The Valets are also very spot on. I am currently staying at the Riviera, and the hotel location is perfect. The hotel needs a bit of love.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthew Weeks, General Manager at Laguna Riviera
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback, and for spotlighting our dear Juanita! We look forward to hosting you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robin G wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
For years, my family loved coming here. Nothing fancy, just clean, comfortable rooms with spectacular views, complimentary breakfast bags, and free parking. Hah! Just arrived after 3 years away, to find none of that. No breakfast, $38/day parking, tap water from such filthy pipes that it reeked of rotten eggs, an unspeakable shower, and a deck furnished with the most uncomfortable chairs and no umbrellas to shield you from the sun. We all know it’s getting hotter, even by the beach. Do the rooms come with ceiling fans? No. They provide you with a small fan “tower” that only cools the person directly in front of it. We used to love it. Never again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthew Weeks, General Manager at Laguna Riviera
Responded 29 Jul 2022
Robin, On behalf of our team, I am very disheartened to hear of your unpleasant experience. The Laguna Riviera signifies 75 years of tradition of warmth and compassionate service. We are doing our best to transition poorly executed aspects such as the breakfast of the past to a professionally executed, service focused experience. We thank you very much for your business this trip, and we wish you well for the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ana Munoz wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
This was definitely an awesome experience! Staff is really friendly, Juanita went an extra mile to show me around. My room was clean, and well kept. There is valet parking and it’s $38 a night but it’s so worth it because you don’t need to move your car, everything is walking distance. 3/4 min walk to the resultant “Cliff” with an ocean view. Easy access to the beach, they provide you regular and pool chairs and cutest umbrella. I sat at the beach for hours soaking everything in. I felt so relax with no worries on this stay. I love everything about this hotel! Easy access to Everything. The balconies views are amazing. Laguna is so beautiful. Also visited their sister hotel Seven4One, that another relaxing quiet gem.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthew Weeks, General Manager at Laguna Riviera
Responded 29 Jul 2022
We are so overjoyed to read this feedback and to hear you soaked up everything we have to offer. We will continue to raise the bar as we transition the hotel over the next few years. We look forward to hosting you and yours again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chloe R wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I liked my stay here. I stayed with my parents for 3 days. We booked an ocean view suite with a private balcony. We got the living room ocean view, but not the bedroom sadly. We didn’t get a private balcony but it wasn’t a big deal to us. The parking was pricey. They did not restock towels and soap often enough. The floor didn’t get cleaned often either, especially under the sofa bed. There were a few great things about this hotel though. First off, it’s location was nice and there were a lot of shops in walking distance. The beach was nice and clean, although it is a steep walk down. The pool and hot tub were nice but I wish they stayed opened until midnight because most of the days we didn’t get back to the hotel until late and didn’t have much time in the pool and hot tub. Secondly, there were no bugs. I heard reviews of bugs being here but there were none at all. Next, the staff wasn’t rude at all. I wouldn’t go as far to say they were super nice, but they were paitent and never annoyed. Lastly, the room had pretty much everything we needed for a short trip. They had a tv, microwave, oven, stove, fridge, safe, cabinets. I wouldn’t recommend staying here more than a week though because of the towel and soap situation. Overall, this is a nice place to stay for a small family. It did have a lot of things that weren’t great, but it was cheap for an ocean side hotel. I would mainly recommend this place for small families or a young solo person. Like I said, I wouldn’t stay here more than a week if I were you.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthew Weeks, General Manager at Laguna Riviera
Responded 24 Jun 2022
Thank you for sharing your experience. I truly appreciate your candor and honesty. We have zero bugs, and we do in fact pride ourselves on the most helpful and genuine service team in all of Laguna Beach. Our greatest priority is ensuring our guests are well cared for and enjoy their time with us. That's why we do what we do! We have noted your detailed feedback, we appreciate it, and we plan to work diligently to ensure the things that did go wrong are corrected.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$224 - US$333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
laguna riviera beach hotel laguna beach
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaOrange CountyLaguna Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
41
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Laguna Riviera
Which popular attractions are close to Laguna Riviera?
Nearby attractions include The Sandpiper Lounge (0.4 km), Twig of Laguna (0.2 km), and Laguna Surf & Sport (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Laguna Riviera?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and a hot tub.
Which room amenities are available at Laguna Riviera?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Laguna Riviera?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Laguna Riviera?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Laguna Riviera?
Conveniently located restaurants include Orange Inn, The Deck on Laguna Beach, and The Cliff Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Laguna Riviera?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Laguna Riviera?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Laguna Riviera?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Murphy-Smith Historical Bungalow (0.9 km).
Does Laguna Riviera have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.