We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
647 South Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2415
11 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Special rate available
Booking.com
US$362
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/02/23
Reserve now, pay at stay
Travelocity
US$230
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/02/23
Vio.com
US$182
View deal
Hotels.comUS$230
travelup.comUS$214
PricelineUS$230
View all 18 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1324)
Room & Suite (528)
Videos (1)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#14 of 22 hotels in Laguna Beach
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
WELCOME TO PACIFIC EDGE HOTEL | Laguna Beach Overlooking the Pacific Ocean on Highway 1, this boutique hotel is blocks from Laguna's restaurants and bars. The bright, modern, individually decorated rooms come with minifridges and Wi-Fi, and many have balconies and vast ocean views. Suites add wet bars, while apartments have kitchenettes and separate living and dining areas. Amenities includes 1 outdoor pool, a hot tub and meeting space, and there's an open-air beachfront restaurant and a lounge. Beach gear is complimentary, while bungalows and valet parking are available for a fee.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Telephone
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Rate:Special rate available
2075Reviews35Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 859
  • 475
  • 241
  • 218
  • 282
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Miss M wrote a review 2 Feb
Colorado Springs, Colorado2 contributions
Great place to end up randomly. Kiora helped me get the room I wanted and was super helpful. Room is good, not immaculate, but it’s great for my needs. Very dog friendly here too. Valet people very nice too.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
ittoksd wrote a review Mar 2022
San Diego, California6 contributions6 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
My boyfriend and I decided to take a little anniversary staycation in Laguna Beach and the Pacific Edge truly went above and beyond to make our stay such a memorable one! Kris at the front desk went out of her way to get us early check in and the hotel manager Ryan even sent us some complimentary champagne! Such a cute gesture! Highly recommend this quaint and inviting hotel for your next stay in Laguna! We’ll be back for sure!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from PacificEdgeHotel, General Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel
Responded 24 Mar 2022
Thank you for your wonderful review and feedback, ittoksd! We're so glad you enjoyed your anniversary staycation and we will definitely pass your kind words along to Kris and Ryan! We would love to host you again sometime soon and we appreciate your recommendation! Jeroen Quint Managing Director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LNCJJC1 wrote a review 2 Feb
Irvine, California1 contribution
I stayed for 2 nights, and I was transferred to 4 rooms. No internet, roaches, doors wouldn't unlock, there was a homeless inside one of the rooms they tried to transfer to. The manager at the end was being very rude to my boyfriend, he had to ask him to come to the room and look at the lock of the room, there was no way to enter the rooms because the keys wouldn't work. The last day we stayed in the lobby for 4 hours before they gave us the 4th room. While waiting there people came in with the same issues, and other issues. This hotel is going through renovations sometime next year, they don't tell anyone this, they accept new people there, take their money, and put them in a bad room. The only person that was really nice is Keona, excellent customer service, and was so sweet. The rest, I can't explain! It was a horrible experience, and Expedia needs to put on their site additional fees that this hotel has.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Almacita wrote a review Jan 2023
2 contributions
The hotel is old but comfortable. Its central location is perfect with short distances everywhere. Our room was right on the beach which is the reason we'd stay there again. Front desk staff...could be friendlier. Snack bar items were EXTREMELLY expensive.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from PacificEdgeHotel, General Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for the 4/5 rating, Almacita! We're happy you had a pleasant stay with us and appreciated our comfortable accommodations and central location. It's unfortunate you had such challenges with our staff members. We hold ourselves to a higher standard. We'll address your concern with our team moving forward. We strive for excellence so we look forward to sharing an even better experience with you soon! Jeroen Quint Managing Director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
beckyjake123 wrote a review Jan 2023
San Clemente, California274 contributions72 helpful votes
+1
If you want an ocean front room by the water, at a reasonable rate, this is your perfect destination. Manny the hotel manager is kind, professional, and does anything to make the stay comfortable. For an additional fee, Eireen afforded me an oceanfront room upgrade right above the surf. Please understand I checked in on Jan. 2, 2023, typically, after Christmas in the USA, this month in many hotels, is low season & hotel rates are reduced. The room I stayed in doubles in cost by April. The hotel is old, and not in a “charming” way. However, my room had updated faux wood floor. Updated big screen tv. However it was not a smart tv, so if you watch Netflix, or YouTube channels, those must be watched on personal devices. The wifi is adequate. The dated wall heaters don’t work; however portable space heaters are provided, & keep the room temp just fine. As it was winter, there was no need to use the wall unit a/c. The hotel is located on a cliff; so it is not very “handicap” friendly. Only valet parking for I believe $38/night is available. However, one does not mind walking, there are ways to avoid this charge. Be sure and ask them to waive a random $25/night hotel service fee that is some how connected to The Driftwood Restaurant next door. I recommend any rooms in the oceanfront building with the blue doors. I was in room #130. No need to go up and down stairs. Any room on this floor is more handicap friendly. I think there are four floors in this building, and no elevator to these ocean front rooms. The room was spacious enough with a king bed. Because of the high surf, at high tide, the white water splashed right up to hotel walls below. The sound of the surf is therapeutic. There was no microwave, but the room had small dorm size 4 cu. Ft. Refrigerator. Because this was a staycation, not too far from home, I brought my electric tea kettle, & an electric skillet. I only ate out once. There is a supermarket just a four minute walking distance away. Quesadillas, grilled cheese sandwiches, hamburgers, and even cup-o-noodles were easy meals. The hotel is pet friendly. However, my service dog goes anywhere I go. I brought an extra down comforter, and throw blanket. This is simply a courtesy to housekeeping. The hotel linens are are of good quality. The beach is just down a few flights of stairs. At low tide, it is an easy walk to main beach & all the beautiful downtown shops. After Labor Day & before Memorial Day, dogs are permitted on the beach in Laguna. Because the oceanfront room was not available my first night’s stay I was in another room in another building. Again old and dated, but there was a fully stocked kitchen in this room. i.e. pots, pans, utensils, etc.; so for extended stays this would be a good option.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: After Labor Day & before Memorial Day, Laguna Beaches are dog friendly
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from PacificEdgeHotel, General Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thanks for the review, Becky. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Pacific Edge Hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your updated ocean front room, and that our team went above and beyond to make your stay special. It is also great to know that you found our WiFi to be good. We do regret to hear the the heater in your room was not working, but that this was easily solved with a space heater. We are also happy to know that you enjoyed our prime location, and found it a convenient distance to nearby stores. We look forward to sharing another wonderful experience with you again soon! Jeroen Quint Managing Director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jennifer B wrote a review Jan 2023
St. George, Utah
This was the worst stay I've ever had at a hotel. Ever. My room was like a closet and the "partial view" was not a view of anything but a old gross ally. The sheets feel like rubber, there wasn't blankets or heat. No shampoo, conditioner, or bodywash... I had to ask for some at 12:30am when we got in. Light bulbs burnt out in the bathroom. The staff was nice for the most part and was good at suggesting eating places. But, in all I would never go back... Location was the only positive and there are plenty of better places to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Only book with a full ocean view.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from PacificEdgeHotel, General Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback, jenniferbM9196UU. It's disheartening your stay with us was disappointing. We strive for quality so it's unfortunate that our room size and views didn't meet your expectations. We also regret that our amenities, bedding and condition of our accommodations was less than ideal. We'll be sure to discuss your concerns moving forward. We hope to host you again soon for a more positive experience. Jeroen Quint Managing Director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sightseer19270452784 wrote a review Jan 2023
One star for the bed which is all they really invested in to upgrade this place from a serious dive beach motel. Probably had more charm when it was pretending less. 1. We actually could not get our own room key because their machine was broken, so we essentially could never leave our room without calling someone from the front desk to come and let us back in when the door locked behind us. 2. Our room had a constant smell of sewage which created a gag reflex. Impossible to enjoy oneself. 3. The shower which was the only form of bathing was broken believe it or not! 4. After all of this, they couldn't see the incredible lapses in the hospitality ethic and their customer service was unable to handle what should've been a complete comp situation. They offered us $50 off!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don't be fooled by the pictures
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from PacificEdgeHotel, General Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
We appreciate the feedback, Sightseer19270452784. It's unfortunate your stay in our hotel didn't exceed your expectations. We regret you weren't entirely satisfied with our furnishings and accommodations. We care deeply about the happiness and satisfaction of our guests so we'll address all of your concerns with our team moving forward. We do hope you give us another opportunity to share a more positive experience with you soon. Jeroen Quint Managing Director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Starbuck90275 wrote a review Jan 2023
Rancho Palos Verdes, California3 contributions2 helpful votes
Live cockroach in the bathroom. bathroom sink was dirty. Pool's hot tub wasn't working...we don't believe it/staff is too lazy to clean it. Extortionist "Resort Fee" on top of that..for what? Forced to pay $40 per night for parking? You'll be better off staying ANYWHERE.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
BakoMarkie wrote a review Dec 2022
Bako23 contributions49 helpful votes
The skinny: Pacific Edge Hotel is a gem! What really stands out is the incredible location and friendly staff. You will not find a better location for a relaxing beach stay within walking distance to amazing world class food, art and shopping. It’s like a more walkable “Cinque Terre”…… if you know you know. I stayed in an oceanfront room with a private wraparound balcony that was simply stunning! The rooms seem to have been recently renovated. The room was perfect with a “Beach Bungalow” feel that captures the Artsy community of Laguna with a slightly retro feel. The oceanfront King is around 400 square feet with a kitchenette, more than enough space for two. Best thing about my stay: By far the most surprising part of my stay was the staff at the Pacific Edge. In a time where quality professionals can be hard to find this is not a problem at Pacific Edge. Martin at the front desk was helpful and pleasant. Check in was so smooth almost too smooth a little more Martin time would have been nice, but I digress. Ryan, the valet. The valet parking is a bit tricky but all the valets were great especially Ryan. We were all over the place and pulling in blocking pretty much everything but Ryan was not rattled. He was patient, pleasant and so helpful in pointing us. In the right direct. He also said that our room was among the properties very best with a “best view” in the entire complex. He was spot on! Britt, handled our checkout by text (texting direct is rare in high end resorts) and he was also helpful and pleasant. I had a few questions for him and he was prompt and friendly in his responses.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: King wraparound private balcony is a must for the sophisticated traveler!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from PacificEdgeHotel, General Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thanks for the splendid review, Bako! It's fantastic you had such an excellent experience at Pacific Edge Hotel and that our team took such great care of you. We want you to feel right at home as soon as you walk through our doors! Our team will love to hear they made such a wonderful impression on you. We look forward to hosting you again soon so we can share another amazing experience with you. Jeroen Quint Managing Director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
conniemoss wrote a review Dec 2022
Ventura, California1 contribution
LTo write a review I had to give a star. from my 1st and last experience with Pacific Edge it is a No Star kinda place. Run down buildings sandwich between their dinning buildings and Main Street. Part ocean view is really full view of a valet alley with continuous noise from cars and people. That was our first impression. Once we enter our room which looked nothing like the picture I reserved online. DIRTY RUN DOWN OUT DATEd DUMP, Send the front desk pictures of dirty nasty towels left in closet from previous guest & housekeeping was never done on our room. The walls, kitchen, bath , carpet Disgusting.. We were lucky our family lives in the Area and we stay most of our weekend with them. Of course the 38. A night Valet would leave my window down over night, we didn't not use any resort amenities as there were none (internet down) I did see a pool but it was December. Beware and really take your money & family elsewhere I also have been over charged !! Still waiting to see how this plays out
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from PacificEdgeHotel, General Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, Connie. We were disappointed to learn that the condition of our hotel did not meet your expectations. Please be assured that this is not the standard that we aspire to and we will share your concerns with the appropriate members of our team moving forward. We hope you allow us the chance to share a more positive experience with you soon. Jeroen Quint Managing Director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$152 - US$262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel pacific edge, pacific edge laguna beach, vacation village laguna beach
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Vacation Village Hotel
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaOrange CountyLaguna Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
110
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PACIFIC EDGE HOTEL - UPDATED 2023 Reviews & Price Comparison (Laguna Beach, CA) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Pacific Edge Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Pacific Edge Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Ruth Mayer Gallery (0.4 km), Thomas Studios (0.2 km), and Brown's Park (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Pacific Edge Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Pacific Edge Hotel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Pacific Edge Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Pacific Edge Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid private parking nearby, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Pacific Edge Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Gelato Paradiso, Nick's Laguna Beach, and Orange Inn.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Pacific Edge Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Pacific Edge Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Laguna Beach.
Are pets allowed at Pacific Edge Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Pacific Edge Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Murphy-Smith Historical Bungalow (0.7 km).
Does Pacific Edge Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.