Chan Boutique
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Chan Boutique

多彩な照明。
Traveller (143)
Room & Suite (38)
屋上のレストラン
Dining (28)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#1 of 1 boutique hotel in Sihanoukville
2.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Chan Boutique Hotel features an outdoor swimming pool, garden, a restaurant and bar in Sihanoukville. Each accommodation at the 3-star hotel has pool views, and guests can enjoy access to a sun terrace. The accommodation provides a 24-hour front desk, airport transfers, room service and free WiFi. All units are equipped with air conditioning, a flat-screen TV with satellite channels, a fridge, a kettle, a shower, free toiletries and a desk. At the hotel every room is fitted with bed linen and towels. The daily breakfast offers continental, Full English/Irish or Italian options. Popular points of interest near Chan Boutique Hotel include Otres Beach, Ochheuteal Beach and Ream Beach. The nearest airport is Sihanouk International Airport, 12 km from the accommodation.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Kids stay free
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Swimming pool toys
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Express check-in / check-out
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Bath / shower
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English

Location

256 Marina Road, Sihanoukville 18000 Cambodia
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 48 out of 100
48
Sihanoukville Airport
Phu Quoc International Airport
65.1 km
See all flights
58Reviews3Q+A6Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 25
  • 15
  • 6
  • 4
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
chhunhy wrote a review Sept 2023
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
4.0 of 5 bubbles
When I reached inside the room am feel surprised about bathtub and balcony are very close and look very nice with boutique swimming pool. The room is comfortable,environment and breakfast very nice. And who serve the breakfast are friendly and helpful. Thank you so much. I sure will see you again very soon.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Who the new which’s looking for room to stay in Sihanouk should try this one make your holiday...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steve W wrote a review Nov 2022
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This a great hotel with very comfortable beds and light open rooms. It seems pretty new so has very effective air-conditioning. The hotel is one street off the beach, with a few options for dining along there. The area itself is a bit sad, obviously planning to be a major tourist area but with very few around and many half built or empty developments. I swam at the beach though, in very nice water and had a couple of good meals.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sarom OP, General Manager at Chan Boutique
Responded 25 Jul 2023
Dear Steve W, Thank you for taking the time to review our property, your comments are very much valued. We appreciate your comments regarding our customer service and ongoing upgrades. Our staff are trained to provide only the best in customer service, and we are pleased that you found value and hospitality during your stay. Our commitment to investing in our property will continue this winter with renovations to our banquet and convention areas. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Chan Boutique! Best Regards, Ratha., General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Katie P wrote a review Jan 2018
Brisbane, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had the most wonderful stay here at Chan Boutique for four nights. The rooms are extremely clean and the beds are to die for, soft with crisp white sheets.

The manager Chheang Srey Mons was extremely helpful and was able to assist us with every need during our stay.

Each morning Rathanak greeted us for breakfast and was very attentive with our needs.

Fabulous stay at a gorgeous hotel,
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kunrachana R, Front Office Manager at Chan Boutique
Responded 27 Jun 2018
Dear Katie P, Thanks a lot for such a nice and warm feedback. We are so pleased to read it. We are non-stop work to make your impression and memories the best and really happy that you feel it! Thanks for your review and pleased you enjoyed your stay at the hotel - I will pass on your comments to all staff We hope to see you come back again. Once again thank you and very warmest regards, Vireak Ratha FOM & Chan Boutique's team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
maurizio2019 wrote a review Apr 2024
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
1.0 of 5 bubbles
During my brief two-night stay at this hotel, I encountered several issues that significantly impacted my experience. Upon arrival, the air conditioning in the room was not turned on, leaving the room uncomfortably hot. Additionally, one of the air conditioning units malfunctioned, requiring a technician's intervention.
Hoping to rest after a tiring journey, we were further disappointed by the excessive noise from children at the pool, preventing us from getting the relaxation we needed. Despite attempting to return later for a peaceful night's sleep, the noise persisted due to the management allowing guests, especially children, to use the pool late into the night and early morning.
Furthermore, the breakfast offerings were disappointing, consisting mainly of noodles, rice, eggs, and sweet bread. Considering the hotel's price point of over $150 USD per night, I expected a more varied and higher-quality breakfast selection.
While the line staff were friendly, the management lacked authority in enforcing policies to ensure a comfortable stay for all guests. It's worth noting that the hotel is locally managed and owned, which could explain some of the issues encountered.
In conclusion, my stay was far from satisfactory, and I do not plan on returning. I hope this honest review assists others in making an informed decision when choosing accommodation.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Do not book this hotel!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul from London wrote a review Jan 2019
London, United Kingdom
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I have taken a couple of weeks before I can even bring myself to write a review of the Chan Boutique hotel in Otres Beach, Sihanoukville. First off, the entire journey from the airport was via a narrow road filled with a constant stream of massive oncoming trucks that made it very frightening. Then, just past Sihanoukville town, we turned onto a red clay mudtrack towards Otres Beach.. this was not fit for cars as it had deep potholes larger than a car wheel. The driver was laughing all the way and pointing at various horrors and saying "Welcome to Chinatown" as all the locals know (and are angry) about the Chinese developers that have basically bought the ENTIRE area and are either mass clearing land in all directions as far as the eye can see (all the landscape was flattened red mounds with lumps of concrete or huge concrete tubes lying all over it; it is a bizarre and ugly place. We eventually arrived at the end of the long red track where we saw a VAST concrete city of empty apartments on and behind the beach; there were no facilities or infrastructure and the whole thing was deserted so it is clearly just Chinese investment for the future.
The Otres Beach hotels are a short distance along the track from here and, when we got to the first one (White Boutique) we laughed as we drove past since it was so inaccessible - however, about 200 metres further up, and without seeing anything else nicer, our car skidded to a halt outside the Chan Boutique.
I am disabled and walk with sticks so was pretty horrified that I was expected to get out of the car in deeply flooded mud and somehow gain access to the entrance stairs across the sloppy, filthy mud. When I got to reception I thought I'd stepped in something as there was fetid stench but was told that was the general smell of the whole area due to the bins only being emptied weekly. We ALMOST just got straight back in the taxi but we had friends in the White Boutique Hotel who had assured us the beach was nice. Whilst waiting for our room in reception some other guests who'd been on our plane arrived and they were equally as aghast - that became a recurrent theme where EVERYBODY in Otres Beach who we spoke to told us that they absolutely hated it and had plans to check out early - plans that we soon copied.
The beach is only a short walk through the Ren Hotel in front of Chan Boutique but we were told that route was totally off-limits and you have to walk 150 metres either left or right and go round construction works and through mud and filth. I simply refused and said they had to let me go via the Ren Hotel as I'm disabled and literally couldn't make my way through it - my partner and our friend from White Boutique did try the long-way-round beach walk and arrived back ankle deep in what I thought was red clay but they told me was rotten fish gut blood and my friend said he vomitted before they eventually turned back; in the end we all just ignored the instructions and went through the Ren Hotel to the beach though, even when we did that, we encountered mountains of rubbish which was set on fire each day due to lack of bin collection; I had to shower each of the few times I left the hotel (for an evening meal) as I stank of sewage and bonfire. Other than that I was a prisoner in the hotel and basically read a book on my balcony or, if lucky, one of the 5 sunbeds.
We tried eating on the beach and, every time a plate of food arrived, so to did a plague of flies and the whole experience was disgusting. We found one bar called Sams Place which was a bit better than the others and served a decent Chicken Amok curry which I had each time I ate on the beach as it didn't make me ill, was delicious and the staff were really nice; my one thing that I liked about the whole of Otres!
The Chan Boutique hotel staff were largely rude and unhelpful apart from the cleaning staff who were nice. However, when speaking to reception staff, I had to grit my teeth and smile every time I spoke to them as they were so rude and, at one point, told me they had closed my booking and refunded my card (they hadn't and were lying) and told me if I wanted the room for any longer I needed to pay them directly at a rate of $200 per night. I clarified with Agoda that they hadn't cancelled the booking but it was the nudge I needed to book a car and just check out of the hotel at 7am the following morning in order to get the first possible transport that we could arrange.
There should be an overall closure of the Otres Beach area until the has been a major clean-up of the beach, installation of infrastructure such as roads and sewage and refuse collection, and proper accessibility (including disabled access) to the few actual hotels that are charging the same prices as 5* hotels in properly developed Asian cities such as Bangkok (other cheaper hotels seem to be made up of near-derelict beach huts).
DO NOT GO TO OTRES BEACH IN 2019/2020; It is like a war zone, there are no proper facilities, the beach and surrounding areas are FILTHY and the roads are being churned up by endless concrete trucks pulling in to start the major construction projects advertised on billboards behind the beach. I'll let my photos show the route from the Chan Boutique to the beach - it is disgusting.
Otres Beach and Sihanoukville are VILE VILE VILE and the taxi drivers both in and out both found it hilarious that anyone (including us) would ever choose to go there.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Traveler51713898774, Manager at Chan Boutique
Responded 28 Apr 2019
Dear PaulrG841OX, Thank you very much for your time to write us your comments on our property and services. our hotel is a long distance from town I would say that this is the location of hotel appointed to build up and focus on the far beach we are. but for our teams service provider I would be doing our best to develop and train the teams worker for your need and want if you'll prefer to use our property in the future. however our teams are awaiting for you and your business partners to return for next trip at Sihanouk Ville. Best Regards, Sarom OP
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PineapplePie wrote a review Jul 2019
Singapore, Singapore
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
First of all, I do not want to even give 1 star but 1 star is the lowest rating TripAdvisor will allow me to post. Secondly, I have been seething with resentment and humiliation with the way we were treated at the Venice 1 Resort that I had to take a week to bring myself to write an objective review.

First of all a quick background on Sihankoukville. Sihankoukville has been invaded by Chinese tycoons looking to make it the next Las Vegas, imagine an Asian "Sin City" if you will. As a result, there are over 150 cheap looking casinos and an even greater number of on going construction sites. As a result, every time you go into town or anywhere for that matter be prepared to walk in mud and around mounds of construction materials, it is virtually impossible to avoid doing so.

Even though this hotel is located at the far end of Otres 2 beach,there is still an immense amount of construction going on, as well as, the aforementioned cheap looking casinos surrounding the property which was truly an eyesore hence rendering the hotel figuratively inaccessible for two principal reasons. Firstly, absolutely no driver knows where is "Venice 1 Resort" and this is because it is actually the Chan Boutique, imagine our confusion when we first arrived at this so called "resort"(The Chan Boutique is no where close to a resort, think of it more as a motel with a less cheap looking facade). As such, every time we took a tuk-tuk to and back to the Venice 1 resort, the driver would always ask us for more money at the end of the trip, this happened EVERY SINGLE TIME which constantly put us in a horrible and awkward position, in the beginning we would ask the reception at the hotel to help us communicate with the tuk-tuk drivers but this did not help at all and when negotiating the price with the drivers, the hotel staff and driver would simultaneously laugh, mind you we don't understand Khmer however it truly made us feel that they were laughing at our expense. Secondly, because of the ton of construction, the roads to the Venice 1 Resort is not even a road but rather, a mud road with a copious amount of pot holes, some the size of bomb craters. This was particularly difficult for my partner since he was recovering from bruised ribs and every single journey to and from the resort put him in so much agony that it made my heart weep seeing him in so much pain.

When we initially arrived, there was no one to help us with our luggage (we had to trek through mud with our suitcases to get to the entrance). The check-in was mediocre at best and our room was not ready( this was acceptable for us and we understood) however when we returned 7 HOURS LATER we were given the wrong room (we reserved our room much in advance), which was soon rectified by the staff however, the room we had requested, had no hot water, a malfunctioning safety box, an army of ants at our balcony door, mold in the corners of our shower, a mini fridge that smelled so strongly of durian so potent whenever we opened the mini fridge door, our room was engulfed in the wretched odor. We were exhausted and it took the staff over an hour to attempt to replace the batteries of the safety box (which in mine and my partners experience would ordinarily take no longer then 10 minutes and that's really stretching it) that we finally asked them to come back later.

Later that evening, we made our way to the beach and took a walk on Otres Beach to catch the sunset which seemed like a good idea at the time however shortly after the sun had set we were robbed at knife point by three punks who thankfully only wanted our cash and nothing else from us. When we returned to the hotel and explained what had happened to the front office, we were coldly brushed off as if this kind of thing happens so routinely that there would be no point to "bother" the police.

Going back to asking the front office to assist us with calling and communicating with the tuk-tuk drivers, we specifically asked them to call a tuk-tuk driver they knew and trusted. When the tuk-tuk arrived, the hotel staff, tuk-tuk driver and ourselves agreed on a price and everything was amicably however when we got to our destination, lo and behold the tuk-tuk driver quoted us a higher price, we couldn't believe this was happening after we were promised and assured by the hotel staff that everything would be okay "this time". We eventually ended up checking out of this hotel and moved to a much more accommodating hotel where the staff were courteous, professional and ever so helpful, our experience there truly saved our vacation.

During our brief stay at the Venice 1 Resort, we requested several times to speak to the GM because of our dissatisfaction. The female receptionist, Ms. PONG told us the GM had already 'checked-out' and subsequently, every time we requested to speak to any senior management, we were given excuses accompanied with sheepish smirks as to why they were unavailable. The GM, Mr. SAROM of the property finally ended up gracing us with his presence at some point and when we expressed our appalling experiences so far in and out of the hotel he assured us he would make it right and promised that he would follow up with our complaints and he would personally come to greet us again once it was done. Furthermore when we asked him how many stars the property was and the relationship between the Chan Boutique and Venice 1 Resort, he scoffed and nonchalantly conveyed to us that it is not a 4 star property as advertised. By the end of our stay NOTHING was addressed and NOTHING was done at all, in fact, that was the first and last time we saw the GM.

On the day of check-out, we respected the check-out time and went to settle our bill, we once again inquired about speaking to the GM (seeing that nothing was done about our complaints and concerns) but he had hid himself, we say this because it was midday on a Thursday and from our previous conversation with the GM accompanied by the Front Office Manager - Mr. DARA refusing to call him. So we spoke to the front office manager and when we asked him a few basic questions like why our safety box was never fixed/replaced during our entire stay, he aggressively complained that they didn't have a chance to do anything in our room because we constantly had the DND sign on. This was laughable since we regularly went out of the hotel and the housekeeping had even cleaned our room. What followed was the most UNPROFESSIONAL check-out we have ever experienced. The front office manager informed us that their credit card machine was not working and then went on to COMMAND us to go to the bank with their staff and withdraw money. After all of our experiences so far we found it super fishy and couldn't help but feel that we were getting scammed or being set up for something much more nefarious. Further more they don't know the percentage on the transaction fee, and my card is simply a credit card, cash withdrawal will cost me interest rate plus transaction fee. We were hard pressed, all we wanted to do was pay our hotel bill and leave this sorry excuse of a 3-4 star resort and really really really did not want to waste anymore of our time while on our precious holiday in which me and my partner has so few together. When I raised the concern about the transaction fee and traveling to and from the bank, there was no attempt of compensation for our lost time or the monetary issue at hand.

Needless to say, we did not feel safe or secure being escorted by these men to the bank so that we could withdraw money while in their "custody" and when I broached the subject of letting them charge my credit card when their credit card machine was working (they have my credit card information in their records and it's common practice for 3+ star properties to do this for pre-paid reservations and fast check-out options). They immediately refused and then went on to THREATEN us by saying they would call the police and we would be thrown in jail. Hotel staff are trained to be hospitable not hostile with their guest! Since we did not trust this place at all, we ended up leaving our luggage at the hotel (as a guarantee we would return) and walked to an ATM quite some distance away and feeling extremely unsafe and returning to the hotel and settled our bill. We had finally put this nightmare of a hotel behind us.

In Conclusion:
The hotel itself is ok if you lower your expectations of what a 3 to 4 star property should be but to make it worse, the staff are extremely unprofessional and often rude, with the exception of the trainee, the barman who always had a smile, the housekeeping ladies who were friendly with us and the gentleman who worked the night shift at the front office. Mind you, the individuals spoke limited English but they were more hospitable and welcoming.

If you're the hotel owner and you're reading this, you should hire a whole new front line team and change your General Manager. I guarantee you will receive more bad reviews from other guests if you do not change your key persons in the management team.

If you're a traveler considering staying here, DONT!!!! There are better properties which are cheaper, have a more appealing layout with more professional and helpful staff and if you think staying at the end of the Otres beach will present you with an escape from the pestering construction and gaudy casinos then think again, it is as chaotic as ever with piles of construction materials, mountains of trash and rundown buildings that can only be described as the aftermath of a tsunami.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ratha Vireak, General Manager at Chan Boutique
Responded 25 Jul 2023
Dear pinelaw, Thank you for your comments. I apologize for the problems that you encountered during your last stay. This is not the type of review that we like to see, and I assure you that I will be looking into each point that you have made. If it is convenient, I would like to discuss your experience further, so that I might learn more about how to improve our property and service for you and our other guests. Please feel free to call me at the office number below. Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to another chance to serve you. Best Regards, Ratha, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Edeard wrote a review Feb 2018
Sydney, Australia
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Disorganised, dirty, noisy. It is amazing that they could open a new hotel and put in so little effort or thought. The staff showed no indication of caring about the problems. I would sooner sleep on the beach in a tent than stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kunrachana R, Front Office Manager at Chan Boutique
Responded 27 Jun 2018
Dear Edeard, Thank you for your review - and sorry that your stay at Chan Boutique was not to your expected. We has been informed you for our hotel has been grand opening around 10 days ago during you check-in with Chan Boutique - during your stay we suggest you to inform us if you have any problem but you stay we didn't some comment from you. About the noisy from the construction near by is far away of our control and it's a sign of develop in Otres II - and the street in front the hotel is dirty, we has been fill up the sand but it's under the state of Cambodia, so all the hotel around here join to clean every Monday. We are apologize for didn't get solution from my team. I will take your comment to develop our staff and our hotel. Once again thank you for your review - and we will always work on improving our services to our guests. Warmest regard, Vireak Ratha FOM & Chan Boutique's team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PoolRob wrote a review Feb 2018
Jönköping, Sweden
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Chan Boutique is a new hotel, but the service is non-existing.

The breakfast is extremely poor.

I stayed in the most expensive room in an Executive Suite and did not have WIFI in the room and they did not clean the room properly in 3 days.

I told the staff several times about this issues but met no understanding at all.

Most of the staff can not speak any English.

When I wanted a bottle of water they booked a taxi. When I asked for a beachtowel I had to wait more than 10 minutes.

The management has opened this hotel to fast without any understanding that they need English speaking staff at least in the reception and routines to meet guests when things are not working or guests have any questions.

They did not even try to help me to get a properly working WIFI in my room.

It was a waste of money to stay in Chan Boutique.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kunrachana R, Front Office Manager at Chan Boutique
Responded 27 Jun 2018
Dear Pool Rob, Thank you for your review - and sorry that your stay at Chan Boutique was not to your liking. We have taken note of your complained - and will address it with the staff - on their English speaking with the guest - however our hotel just grand opening one week ago - so every staff is under training. If you don't mind we would like to invite you to stay here again for testing our service - however we apologize of something happened with you. Once again thank you for your review - and we will always work on improving our services to our guests. Warmest regard, Vireak Ratha FOM & Chan Boutique's team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
YY.K wrote a review Sept 2018
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a very bad experience in this hotel. We chose this hotel because it is a new hotel and the desgin of hotel is very good but we are totally disappointed with the hotel finally. We booked 2 rooms here and both were smell and dirty, especially the pillow which were smell and wet.There were some dead mosquitoes in the bathtub and a bottle of water they provided was opened and used already. It seems nobody tidy up the room. Moreover, they provide a almost damaged hairdryer for us and intend to charge for it .It is really really ridiculous .The hairdryer was always on and off and then we asked a staff to change it but the staff is very very impolite and unfriendly. (I think she is a senior staff. Actually, only this woman are not friendly while other junior staffs are nice)She said that we should use the hairdryer carefully and blame us that we damage thier hairdryer and charge for it after we checked out and told our taxi drvier in combodia language not to let us go to airport. Hence, we spent a lots of time to argue with them about the hairdryer problem and we would not pay for it as it is their problem. It is unacceptable and unreasonble. I think this behaviour like cheating. They try to shirk their responsibility. I've never seen such bad hotel before. BAD SERVICE AND BAD ATTITUDE. I will not book this hotel again. Also, around the hotel there are all under construction and road was very very dirty and air pollution is quite serious and the hotel far away from the downtown.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kunrachana R, Front Office Manager at Chan Boutique
Responded 5 Sept 2018
Dear Kwong yuk yu, We are much appreciated for your time to review of our hotel. In responding to your review we would be pleasured of your comments, however our rooms and facilities we are always tidy up by daily with vacant rooms or occupied rooms, with your request or need during your accommodation our housekeeping teams are assisting to change to move up to another room of your preference if you haven’t said or request our teams we would said that we do not well known of your need, we are warmest welcome you and business partners for the future inquiry and holiday’s trip in Sihanouk Ville at Otres II. There is second confirmed for the hairdryer broken we would interesting inquiry with the human usage to the dead of the facilities however our housekeeping teams are always check and worked on it before we are releases each room to the arrival of each guest. So the broken and damaged facilities in each room is the responsibility of who has accommodated in those rooms then pay back to the hotel is indeed. By the way we are thankful for your comments and accommodated with our Chan boutique hotel, in next accommodation we are awaiting for your next serving you and your business partner a better. Warmest regards, Vireak Ratha Front Office Manager.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
estherlmolinari wrote a review Feb 2018
St Martin / St Maarten
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Close location to the beach, the rooms are brand new and very clean. Also you get breakfast included on the rooftop which was great. Awesome selection of fruits and very good ommlets. All the rooms have a pool view so there are no dud rooms. Also the pool was very nice as well as all the staff. Note currently there is some construction going on in the area from other new hotels being built but that did not disrupt us. But some people might complain.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kunrachana R, Front Office Manager at Chan Boutique
Responded 13 Mar 2018
Greetings from Chan Boutique Hotel team. We would like to warmly thank you for your nice words and the Chan Boutique relaxing atmosphere you noticed. The pool and restaurant with local products daily sourced from the market are both really enjoyable and offer indeed our guest a quiet time. I am deeply sorry if you got annoyed by the construction around here. As our pool is inside the hotel, restaurant in the rooftop and reception all outdoor areas and we haven't right to stop the new building in front our hotel we would like to apologize to the guest for this case, occasionally they will stop to construction around evening time. Thank you very much for understand and enjoy to stay with us. We are wishing you a wonderful month of February and are hoping welcoming you again soon, Warmest regard, Vireak Ratha
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chan Boutique asked a question Apr 2019
Sihanoukville, Cambodia
It's about 300ms from the beach. Than you!
Answer from Chan Boutique
Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Dear Mattmu593. We are really so sorry for your late reply. I'm a new once to replace the x. manager. by the way, our policy is 2 person in one room double/ Twin and included with buffet breakfast. if you have extra person, he will be charge extra US$30.00/ person. Best Regards. Sarom OP
Will S asked a question Apr 2018
Skien Municipality, Norway226 contributions12 helpful votes
How far from the beach?
Answer from jen s
Phnom Penh, Cambodia62 contributions34 helpful votes
A lot of other resorts near to this boutique that offers a private beach at affordable price. The walk to the beach from this boutique hotel isn’t far either.
maurizio2019 wrote a tip Apr 2024
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam5 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not book this hotel! "
Read full review
chhunhy wrote a tip Sept 2023
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates3 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Who the new which’s looking for room to stay in Sihanouk should try this one make your holiday nicely and you will get experience from here"
Read full review
Mark_SS3872RD wrote a tip Sept 2018
Atlanta, Georgia, United States10 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"book first floor room, and download pass app and taxify, getting a tuk tuk is hard or expensive in this area."
Read full review
Rosanna White wrote a tip Jul 2018
Melbourne, Australia73 contributions56 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ground floor have balconies that you can step directly into the pool, so higher floors more private and quiet."
Read full review
Gavin Wong wrote a tip Apr 2018
Malaysia165 contributions16 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"get ground floor room for direct access to swimming fr veranda"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Sihanoukville area.
PRICE RANGE
€39 - €47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Venice1 Resort
LOCATION
CambodiaSihanoukville ProvinceSihanoukville
NUMBER OF ROOMS
32
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CHAN BOUTIQUE - UPDATED 2024 Boutique Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Sihanoukville, Cambodia) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Chan Boutique
Which popular attractions are close to Chan Boutique?
Nearby attractions include 7Deuce 72 Poker at DV Casino Sihanoukville, Cambodia (7.5 km), Otres Beach (1.8 km), and Otres Market (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Chan Boutique?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Chan Boutique?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Chan Boutique?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Chan Boutique?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Chan Boutique?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sandan, Papa Pippo Bar, Restaurant & Bungalows, and Bamboo Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Chan Boutique?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
All Sihanoukville HotelsSihanoukville Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in SihanoukvilleHotels near Chan Boutique
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire