We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Fort Ross Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Fort Ross Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

264 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Fort Ross Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 260: English reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2015 via mobile

We're actually there on Labor Day night 2014. Seemed like we were the only ones in our section. Had a great view of the ocean from our room. There is a bluff that it was easy to walk out onto. Did not see any access to the beach. But felt very much alone ( a good thing) Rooms were nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill W
TinaRomeo, Front Office Manager at Fort Ross Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Bill for your kind review. Hope to see you again soon.

Brevard, North Carolina
Reviewed 30 July 2015

Only disappointing lodging on this trip. You cannot access the beach and it is treacherous trying to walk out on the bluff to see the ocean as the ground is full of gopher holes and you are warned. Room was dark and dowdy and smelled stale. No counter space in bathroom. No breakfast. Sunroom not opened up and full of...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Lorie M
TinaRomeo, Front Office Manager at Fort Ross Lodge, responded to this review

Sorry you were disappointed during your visit to our lodge. We are on a rigid part of the rocky Sonoma Coast, and we do not claim to have beach access. We do warn our guests of the trail to the cliff, only because there are gophers/holes and it is State Park Property that we cannot maintain. Not sure what room...

Coarsegold, California
Reviewed 19 July 2015 via mobile

We found the Fort Ross Lodge on here and the prior reviewers made our decision for us. This place is great! Right on the ocean in Sonoma County. All of the rooms have patio charcoal grills with grilling utensils and wood burning fireplaces in the room. The lodge provides the charcoal and also wood and a fire starter for the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Karsay
TinaRomeo, Front Office Manager at Fort Ross Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. We have been trying new in room coffee packets, and will keep looking. Glad you enjoyed the coffee in the lobby. The Wifi is being improved upon, but it is a struggle to reach the lower building. Our sunroom by the central spa area is a great place to use your devices...

Reviewed 18 July 2015 via mobile

My husband and I come here often. It's always been a wonderful place to go, reasonable prices, rooms are ALWAYS spotless. All the amenities unlike the so called 4 star hotel a couple miles away that's twice the price. David & Prudence are absolutely wonderful. Always inviting & friendly. Since they came aboard it made it all that much better

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kymberly M
TinaRomeo, Front Office Manager at Fort Ross Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review of our lodge. We love having you as a guest. Hope to see you soon.

Hayward, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewed 18 July 2015 via mobile

I booked two double beds and received a confirmation email stating that along with welcoming statements. Check in needed to be before 8pm. We were traveling from San Francisco in the fog, and so I called to let front desk know we would be checking in late. That's when I was told we would not be receiving the room I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cooper2004
TinaRomeo, Front Office Manager at Fort Ross Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our lodge. I am very sorry with the error on your reservation with the room type. I have spoken with our staff and we have gone over procedure to make sure this does not happen again. Please accept my apologies, and we hope to have you as our guest in the near...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 12 July 2015

Fort Ross is right on the rugged Northern California Coast. Each room at the Fort Ross Lodge is like your own mini-cottage with a patio that faces the Pacific Ocean. This is a rustic get-away. No fancy stuff. No cell service. No room service. Limited WiFi which is all you need to quickly check email. Sometimes the power goes out....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NewsStar
TinaRomeo, Front Office Manager at Fort Ross Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for such a great review. It is always a pleasure to have great guests like you. Hope to see you again soon.

Plano, Texas
Reviewed 4 July 2015

Room was clean, no problems with check in or staff. View was nice and hot tub was well maintained. The property offered adequate privacy with was appreciated and the landscape was beautiful and well maintained. We had to walk around with caution due to the natural vegetation on the hillsides, but it was worth it. We saw lots of birds...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
TinaRomeo, Front Office Manager at Fort Ross Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of our lodge. We look forward to having you as our guest in the near future.

San Francisco Bay Area
Reviewed 29 June 2015

We spent two nights at Fort Ross Lodge. we were taking my wife's elderly father for a short road trip. Fort Ross Lodge is quiet and in a good location to explore the surrounding coastline. Sea Ranch is 20 minutes away as well as Gualala and beyond. There are enough good restaurants to satisfy most tastes for a couple of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Weldo-N-Wher
TX
Reviewed 23 May 2015

Was excited to stay along California coast line so chose historic Fort Ross for lodging. Room was OK--was a warm afternoon upon arrival and room was hot and stuffy... no AC and sun was harsh coming through windows on the roofline--had to open patio door to get ventilation, so it cooled off nicely once sun went down. Tried to walk...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank kjonesee
Fairbanks, Alaska
Reviewed 22 May 2015

Nice, quiet room with a fireplace and a great view of the ocean. We opted for a King unit with a outdoor Jacuzzi and it was well worth it. it was beautiful to sit outside in the tub and watch the stars. Although the room was a little dated, having a kitchenette was a bonus. The downside is that there...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ken P
TinaRomeo, Front Office Manager at Fort Ross Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a nice review for our lodge. We are trying to improve the wifi, but it isn't happening as fast as I would like. We hope to have you stay with us on your next trip to California.

192 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (165)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (56)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jenner
1.4 km away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
59 reviews
30.8 km away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,087 reviews
22.4 km away
Sea Ranch Lodge
Sea Ranch Lodge
#1 of 1 in The Sea Ranch
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.1 km away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
466 reviews
15.5 km away
The Jenner Inn
The Jenner Inn
#1 of 1 in Jenner
287 reviews
4.8 km away
Ocean Cove Lodge Bar & Grill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
22 cozy, romantic rooms on the beautiful Sonoma coast. Each room is individually decorated and has all the comforts of home. Most rooms offer: Ocean View, Fireplace, private patio with BBQ, microwave, small refrigerator, coffee maker, satellite TV with HBO, and DVD player. Some rooms offer private patio hot tub, or in room jacuzzi tub and sauna. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fort Ross Lodge

Address: 20705 Highway 1, Jenner, CA 95450-9743
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Jenner
Price Range: €115 - €154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fort Ross Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Fort Ross Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Ross Hotel Jenner
Fort Ross Jenner
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fort Ross Lodge staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Los Angeles, California
over a year ago
napa, ca
over a year ago
Turlock, California
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Fort Ross Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms 14-17 for best ocean view”
 of 5 bubbles cameronp27, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms have wet bars with mini fridge, microwave & BBQ with charcoal. Bring a cooler & groceries. Limited dining choices nearby.”
 of 5 bubbles Raiderfanann, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Upgrade it's worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles joshuagatesis, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Look at the pictures on the website ahead of time. They well represent the rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles L4386CBamys, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Amazing views from any room but I think the rooms up on the hill are the best!”
 of 5 bubbles jeffliggett09, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5