We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Fort Ross Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Fort Ross Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

247 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Fort Ross Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 243: English reviews
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 14 October 2015 via mobile

Driving up from San Francisco along H1 coastal route, as was late was trying to find someplace for the night, as this trip decided just to wing in on accommodation. Unfortunately everything to that point had no external indications of availability, no 'vacancy/no vacancy' signs that i could see. This was the first we came across after an hour or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank C M
TinaRomeo, Front Office Manager at Fort Ross Lodge, responded to this review

So happy that you found us on your drive along Highway One. We look forward to having you visit us the next time you are in our area.

Berkeley, California
Reviewed 30 September 2015

My husband and I wanted to go up the Sonoma coast to spend a few days. Bodega Bay can be busy and even touristy in late September, and the accommodations are expensive. We kept looking north and discovered this wonderful lodge. We stayed two nights in one of the units with an ocean view from the private patio. The property...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judith D
TinaRomeo, Front Office Manager at Fort Ross Lodge, responded to this review

Judith, Thank you, thank you, thank you for such a great review of our lodge. We would love the opportunity to have you as our guest again soon. Be on the lookout for our email newsletter in the next couple of weeks. Hope to see you soon.

Reviewed 25 September 2015 via mobile

We should have come earlier! The cabins provided everything we needed and more! They were spacious, everything was perfectly clean, there is a private patio, a small but sufficient kitchen, a barbecue and a fireplace! I guess all of the cabins have the same nice seaside view as we had. So all in all, the perfect stay in the way...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robert_4223
TinaRomeo, Front Office Manager at Fort Ross Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Robert for the great review. We can't wait to have you as our guest again.

Reviewed 14 September 2015 via mobile

We're actually there on Labor Day night 2014. Seemed like we were the only ones in our section. Had a great view of the ocean from our room. There is a bluff that it was easy to walk out onto. Did not see any access to the beach. But felt very much alone ( a good thing) Rooms were nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill W
TinaRomeo, Front Office Manager at Fort Ross Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Bill for your kind review. Hope to see you again soon.

Brevard, North Carolina
Reviewed 30 July 2015

Only disappointing lodging on this trip. You cannot access the beach and it is treacherous trying to walk out on the bluff to see the ocean as the ground is full of gopher holes and you are warned. Room was dark and dowdy and smelled stale. No counter space in bathroom. No breakfast. Sunroom not opened up and full of...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Lorie M
TinaRomeo, Front Office Manager at Fort Ross Lodge, responded to this review

Sorry you were disappointed during your visit to our lodge. We are on a rigid part of the rocky Sonoma Coast, and we do not claim to have beach access. We do warn our guests of the trail to the cliff, only because there are gophers/holes and it is State Park Property that we cannot maintain. Not sure what room...

Coarsegold, California
Reviewed 19 July 2015 via mobile

We found the Fort Ross Lodge on here and the prior reviewers made our decision for us. This place is great! Right on the ocean in Sonoma County. All of the rooms have patio charcoal grills with grilling utensils and wood burning fireplaces in the room. The lodge provides the charcoal and also wood and a fire starter for the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Karsay
TinaRomeo, Front Office Manager at Fort Ross Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. We have been trying new in room coffee packets, and will keep looking. Glad you enjoyed the coffee in the lobby. The Wifi is being improved upon, but it is a struggle to reach the lower building. Our sunroom by the central spa area is a great place to use your devices...

Reviewed 18 July 2015 via mobile

My husband and I come here often. It's always been a wonderful place to go, reasonable prices, rooms are ALWAYS spotless. All the amenities unlike the so called 4 star hotel a couple miles away that's twice the price. David & Prudence are absolutely wonderful. Always inviting & friendly. Since they came aboard it made it all that much better

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kymberly M
TinaRomeo, Front Office Manager at Fort Ross Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review of our lodge. We love having you as a guest. Hope to see you soon.

Hayward, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewed 18 July 2015 via mobile

I booked two double beds and received a confirmation email stating that along with welcoming statements. Check in needed to be before 8pm. We were traveling from San Francisco in the fog, and so I called to let front desk know we would be checking in late. That's when I was told we would not be receiving the room I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cooper2004
TinaRomeo, Front Office Manager at Fort Ross Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our lodge. I am very sorry with the error on your reservation with the room type. I have spoken with our staff and we have gone over procedure to make sure this does not happen again. Please accept my apologies, and we hope to have you as our guest in the near...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 12 July 2015

Fort Ross is right on the rugged Northern California Coast. Each room at the Fort Ross Lodge is like your own mini-cottage with a patio that faces the Pacific Ocean. This is a rustic get-away. No fancy stuff. No cell service. No room service. Limited WiFi which is all you need to quickly check email. Sometimes the power goes out....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NewsStar
TinaRomeo, Front Office Manager at Fort Ross Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for such a great review. It is always a pleasure to have great guests like you. Hope to see you again soon.

Plano, Texas
Reviewed 4 July 2015

Room was clean, no problems with check in or staff. View was nice and hot tub was well maintained. The property offered adequate privacy with was appreciated and the landscape was beautiful and well maintained. We had to walk around with caution due to the natural vegetation on the hillsides, but it was worth it. We saw lots of birds...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank christine7688
TinaRomeo, Front Office Manager at Fort Ross Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of our lodge. We look forward to having you as our guest in the near future.

176 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (154)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jenner
30.8 km away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,063 reviews
22.4 km away
Sea Ranch Lodge
Sea Ranch Lodge
#1 of 1 in The Sea Ranch
737 reviews
29.1 km away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.1 km away
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
#5 of 5 in Bodega Bay
196 reviews
1.4 km away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#1 of 2 in Jenner
47 reviews
15.5 km away
The Jenner Inn
The Jenner Inn
#2 of 2 in Jenner
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
22 cozy, romantic rooms on the beautiful Sonoma coast. Each room is individually decorated and has all the comforts of home. Most rooms offer: Ocean View, Fireplace, private patio with BBQ, microwave, small refrigerator, coffee maker, satellite TV with HBO, and DVD player. Some rooms offer private patio hot tub, or in room jacuzzi tub and sauna. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fort Ross Lodge

Address: 20705 Highway 1, Jenner, CA 95450-9743
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Jenner
Price Range: €155 - €156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fort Ross Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Fort Ross Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Ross Hotel Jenner
Fort Ross Jenner
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fort Ross Lodge staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Los Angeles, California
over a year ago
napa, ca
over a year ago
Turlock, California
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Fort Ross Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Glorious location, fireplace in room great for cold December nights.”
 of 5 bubbles rosannem900, 24 Dec 2016 | Read review
“the cleanist model we have ever, absolutely charming. sit in the hot tub looking at the ocean and then go into a real wood fire.”
 of 5 bubbles 562sherric, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Just an FYI--There isn't much in restaurants or groceries close by, come prepared.”
 of 5 bubbles SueK893, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get a room with a full ocean view. Some seemed to be obstructed. I believe we were in room 6 and it was perfect.”
 of 5 bubbles rsoucy20, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“West of the highway with private hot tub and ocean view.”
 of 5 bubbles DeeinSacramento, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay