We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Welk Resort San Diego

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Welk Resort San Diego
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,437 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Welk Resort San Diego
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,420: English reviews
Goodyear, Arizona
Reviewed 18 April 2015

We stayed at the Welk Resort April 13-18. This is a wonderful resort that has plenty of awesome features. My wife and I are Marriott owners in multiple locations. We always look for, and expect, high quality from 5 star resorts like Welk. Overall, this is a terrific time share resort. First, the good stuff. The facilities and grounds are...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank warste
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review

Hi warste, Thank you for choosing to stay here at Welk Resort San Diego. Your comments will certainly educate our future guests on some of the great things to expect while staying with us. We appreciate your feedback regarding the wireless connection. We will be sure to look into this further. Thank you for taking the time to leave us...

Detroit, Michigan
Reviewed 18 April 2015 via mobile

We visited from Michigan on a gifted week from friends. We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the villa. Being spring break week the pools were expectedly crowded. My son was disappointed with the essentially non operational splash pad near our pool, and the mountain pool one was completely closed. For spring break it seems that those should have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Parker J
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review

Hi Parker J., Thank you for staying at the Welk Resort San Diego. We are very happy to hear that you were pleased with your accommodations. We apologize for any inconvenience at the pool area or the restaurant. We are, however, happy to hear that you and your family had a great stay, otherwise. Thank you for taking the time...

Leitchfield, Kentucky
Reviewed 17 April 2015 via mobile

Room was clean but dated. Parking is major issue. Too much noise - not well insulated: hear upstairs guests walk like elephants, flush toilets. Had to call security due to lock-off neighbors partying after 10:30. No elevators anywhere except building where they sell timeshares. Housekeeping noisy - allow door to slam when coming & going; also saw PDA by Welk...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Red4life270
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review

Dear Red4life270, Thank you for your feedback. We have noted your concerns and we will be sure to address this with our staff. Thank you for staying with us, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Bogalusa, Louisiana
Reviewed 13 April 2015

We have stayed at this resort before therefor that's why we chose to come back. I am so embarrassed!! I booked a 2 bedroom in January and invited another couple to come with us. My reservations are/were from March 29 - April 5. I called several times to tell them we were gonna arrive a day late. I even called...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Love2Travel570
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review

Dear denvercharlie123, Thank you for staying at the Welk Resort San Diego. We are very happy to hear that you were pleased your accommodations and found the resort amenities to be enjoyable. It is also wonderful to hear that you had a great time at some of the local attractions, as well. Thank you for your review. We hope to...

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 8 April 2015

I did time share trade and was not sure what to expect out of my three kids (11, 11, 9) and my adventure, yet have to say was much better than expected and really great! This resort is huge!! I do know who Lawrence Welk was and I expected more of a geriatric set. I was so wrong - there...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank denvercharlie123
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review

Dear denvercharlie123, Thank you for taking the time to post our review. It is great to hear you and your kids had an excellent stay with us. I appreciate the details you provided on our resort. We look forward to having you back for another excellent vacation if you return to the area.

Phoenix
Reviewed 6 April 2015

My family and I recently returned from a week long stay at the Welk Resort San Diego. We chose the resort for its proximity to the sites of San Diego, affordability, spatious accomodations and the scenic and warm mountain locale. The resort is a bit of a drive to many of the sites in San Diego, however, the warmth and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Amanda D
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review

Dear Amanda D., Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We regret to hear that you had some unpleasant interactions with our staff. We strive to provide the highest in quality customer service and we apologize if we fell short in this area. We have noted your concerns and we will be sure to address these items with...

Parker, Colorado
Reviewed 5 April 2015

Welk resort is a good place to stay and relax,We had a higher room on the hill and it was new and clean,No complaints on room at all.Resort was OK,Food was not great.Big complaint is distance to attractions in Orange Co. Some road noise from hywy could be heard at balcony,not a big deal but if You crave quiet It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review

Hi Mark D, Thank you for staying at the Welk Resort San Diego. It is great to hear that you found your accommodations to be clean and comfortable. We thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, as well as some feedback. We hope to have you back soon!

Denver, Colorado, United States
Reviewed 3 April 2015

I was very happy with my recent visit to the Welk Resort Villas San Diego. We stayed there 4 years ago and the experience was good, but not great. However I can say that this year we really enjoyed our stay. Our 2-bedroom condo was recently remodeled and the new interiors and furnishings look great. The condo was very clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe B
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review

Hi Joe B, We are pleased to hear that you had a great stay here at Welk. We are happy to hear that you found your unit to be spacious and comfortable. We strive to provide the highest in quality accommodations and we are thrilled to hear that this fell in-line with your experience. We look forward to having you...

Reviewed 31 March 2015

They overbooked the hotel and had nowhere for us to stay. Flew cross country and they left us stranded. This is the worst of the worst of the timeshare industry! Front desk had no explanation after I showed my confirmation that she finally left the from desk never to return. There is no rating low enough for this company, I...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank Jjh49
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review

Dear Jjh49, I apologize for any challenges you had during check-in. I have my resort management team investigating this matter. I will message you directly with my contact information so we can properly address your concerns.

Reviewed 29 March 2015

We just returned from a vacation at Welk Resort. We had an updated 2 bedroom Resort Villa. The unit was clean and comfortable. The kitchen had everything we could have possibly needed. It is a bit of a distance from San Diego, but the drive wasn't too bad. We did make the drive a few days. We also spent a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vamotherof4
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review

Hello vamotherof4, Thank you for your kind compliments. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations and found your unit to be comfortable and well-kept. We thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We hope to see you again if you return to the area.

1,145 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (687)
Viewed
Room/Suite (169)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (91)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
View from Room (54)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (62)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (16)
Viewed
Other (251)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (426)
Viewed
Amenities (19)
Viewed
Boulder Springs Club House (49)
Viewed
Mountain Springs Rec Centre (24)
Viewed
Mountain Villa (73)
Viewed
Resort Villa (93)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)
Viewed
Villas On The Green (123)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escondido
10.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Escondido Hotel
19.3 km away
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
23.5 km away
Rancho Bernardo Inn
Rancho Bernardo Inn
#31 of 279 in San Diego
1,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.5 km away
South Coast Winery Resort & Spa
2.5 km away
Tuscany Hills Resort
Tuscany Hills Resort
#8 of 16 in Escondido
89 reviews
20.1 km away
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welk Resort San Diego is a Southern California vacation all suite/villa destination Resort and Water Park offering couples and families the ultimate San Diego getaway experience. Just minutes from world famous destinations San Diego Zoo's Safari Park (20 minutes), LEGOLAND (25 minutes), San Diego Zoo (40 minutes), San Diego Gaslamp District (35 minutes), SeaWorld (40 minutes) Temecula wineries, area casinos, and some of the most beautiful beaches (30 minutes) in the world! Welk Resorts offers luxurious and spacious one and two bedroom villa suites, with panoramic views of golf courses or surrounding mountains. Villas include sitting and dining areas, complete kitchens with full cookware and dishware, patios or balconies, and complimentary WiFi access. Parking is complimentary and there are no resort fees. Guests will experience casual dining at Canyon Grille restaurant or Pizza Hut Express, fun in the sun at Five Clubhouses featuring one colossal pool and seven large pools & 8 spas, two water slides, two kids' splash pads and playgrounds, table games, catch and release fishing pond, hourly planned activities for all age groups, new for 2016 state of the art fitness center, lighted tennis courts, and a relaxing round of golf on one of two 18 hole golf courses. The Welk Resort Theatre is home to top-notch talent performing Broadway style musicals and starring in comedy and variety shows, including tribute bands. During the Summer are music festivals at the Welk Amphitheatre on the Greens. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Welk Resort San Diego

Address: 8860 Lawrence Welk Drive, Escondido, CA 92026
Region: United States > California > Escondido
Price Range: €151 - €306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Welk Resort San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Welk Resort San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welk Resort San Diego Hotel Escondido
Welk Hotel Escondido
Welk Resort Escondido
Welk Hotel San Diego
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Welk Resort San Diego staff and other travellers.
72 questions
Ask a question
Glendale, New York

See all questions (72)

Questions? Get answers from Welk Resort San Diego staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request a mountain view! There are some buildings that look over parking lots.”
robt257, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Property is beautiful but thats about it!”
sdvinolover, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Traveling with kids, stay at the Mountain Villas”
752mccormick, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We like the rooms at the end across from the recreation center. Quiet and very spacious.”
256caroleh, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“There seems to be less small children in the rooms near the adult (18+) pool.”
AlexisD_13, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5