We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Welk Resort San Diego

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Welk Resort San Diego
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,412 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Welk Resort San Diego
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,396: English reviews
Long Beach, California
Reviewed 19 May 2015

My friends and I have been coming to this resort for years , it just keeps getting better and better. the villa are well maintained and the grounds are beautiful, The pool areas are very inviting and they have an adult only pool which is inforced. They have a farmers market and craft fair on thursday,they have great food and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jacque H
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review

Jacque H, I appreciate you making Welk Resort San Diego your choice for a annual getaway. Thank you for the compliments and the information on our resort amenities and local activities. I appreciate you taking the time to post your review. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Reviewed 18 May 2015

As always, Welk resorte took care of my husband and I. The room was spacious and clean, our balcony view was so peaceful, and the location to wineries and other attractions in San diego were amazing! Their food is delish, and all their employees were so sweet. Can't wait to go back 😄

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tanyna S
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review

Tanyna S, I am happy to hear you and your husband had an excellent stay with us. It is great to hear you enjoyed your villa and our team took great care of you. We can't wait to have you back either! We look forward to you returning for another excellent getaway.

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 May 2015

The hotel is near the main roads but the closest place which we went was a minimum of 30 minutes away... clean, quiet, nice gardens and golf course. Cannot really fault the hotel... just the location, which may have been my fault for not researching.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review

Paul M, Thank you for the great review I am glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Reviewed 16 May 2015

My wife and I stayed here for a spring break vacation in San Diego, CA and stayed at the Welk Resort. It is a big property with very nice golf courses and very near a lot of great sites. The staff was always attentive and the buildings are well maintained.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 935ricardog
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review

935ricardog, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I appreciate all of your positive comments. I will be sure to pass your thoughts on to our resort team. We look forward to you and your wife returning for another vacation sometime in the near future.

Pasadena, California
Reviewed 9 May 2015

Rented a two bedroom condo for a family reunion. The condos are very large, we were on the ones on The Greens. The family all golfed. Beautifully manicured landscaping and grounds. The beds are not the best, but the room was nice and great for a family. Would rent here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnnieP7
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review

AnnieP7, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It is great to hear you were able to get your family together for a reunion and play some golf as well here at Welk Resort San Diego. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to you returning for another visit in the future.

Long Beach, California
Reviewed 9 May 2015

Stayed during spring break April 8th with wife and 2 boys in a 1 bedroom villa on the green. The sofa bed was horrible, just springs. Luckily we brought a queen size air mattress. The toilet room door that separates the toilet from the rest of the bathroom didn't close all the way. Left about a half inch gap opening....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Robert H
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affgairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review

Robert H, I am sorry to hear about the challenges with your villa. I will share your information with my resort management team. We are upgrading some of our recreation areas so they will be closed while construction is happening. We are fortunate to have five separate recreation areas so we will always have areas open for the enjoyment of...

Grandview, Washington
Reviewed 8 May 2015

Spent a week here with my husband and 3 y old daughter. The villas are nice and so is the pool area. The only complaint I have is that we couldn't get cell phone service in our villa (Mountain Villas) and the wi-fi wasn't great. It isn't such a bad thing to be unplugged when on vacation, however.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joanna F
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review

Joanna, It is great to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. The are occasions where the Wi-Fi and cell service can be a little challenging. I am glad you had a great vacation. Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We hope to see you again if you return to the area.

Fremont, California
Reviewed 6 May 2015

This is a nicely maintained resort property, but it's quite a way from any other services. Located along side Highway 15 between Esondido and Temecula. About 40 miles north of San Diego. It is adjacent to the freeway (about 1/4 mile), but I heard very little noise from it other than the occational excessively noisy motorcycle and the like. The...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Chuck D
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review

Dear Chuck D, Thank you for your detailed review. It will help our future guests get an idea of what to expect when they visit Welk Resort San Diego. I am glad you enjoyed your exchange stay with us. We would love to have you return to stay with us again if you return to the area.

White Mountains of New Hampshire
Reviewed 1 May 2015

Kitchen great, bath great, living area and balcony great. But...wifi totally awful and the business centers always busy. The beds are not comfortable. The sofa bed was just springs. We had to get 5 down quilts to put on top of it. They need temperpedic sofa beds at the next upgrade. The hot tub wasn't really hot. Lovely grounds and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank VWH
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review

Dear LWH, I am glad to hear you enjoyed your villa and our resort grounds. I appreciate you letting us know of some of the things you enjoyed as well as some of the areas where we might improve service. I will share your thoughts with our resort team. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We hope to...

Tyler, Texas
Reviewed 30 April 2015

Reservations were made several months in advance. Plane flight was cancelled due to dangerous weather. Resort was informed promptly. Arrived the next day for second reserved night. They would not grant us another night for the one missed(our preference) and did not offer to refund the funds. Even though had "reservations" and requested upstairs room WERE PLACED ON A BASEMENT...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Jim A
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review

Jim A, I am sorry to hear about your travel challenges. I apologize that your stay was less than perfect. I know we do offer travel insurance when you book your reservation. That would be the avenue to use to secure a refund if you are unable to travel due to weather. I checked into your villa location, I understand...

1,122 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (664)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (83)
Viewed
View from Room (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (163)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (62)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (16)
Viewed
Other (242)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (426)
Viewed
Amenities (19)
Viewed
Boulder Springs Club House (49)
Viewed
Mountain Springs Rec Centre (24)
Viewed
Mountain Villa (73)
Viewed
Resort Villa (93)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)
Viewed
Villas On The Green (123)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escondido
10.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Escondido Hotel
23.5 km away
Rancho Bernardo Inn
Rancho Bernardo Inn
#31 of 279 in San Diego
1,826 reviews
19.3 km away
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Tuscany Hills Resort
Tuscany Hills Resort
#8 of 16 in Escondido
86 reviews
13.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido
20.0 km away
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welk Resort San Diego is a Southern California vacation all suite/villa destination Resort and Water Park offering couples and families the ultimate San Diego getaway experience. Just minutes from world famous destinations San Diego Zoo's Safari Park (20 minutes), LEGOLAND (25 minutes), San Diego Zoo (40 minutes), San Diego Gaslamp District (35 minutes), SeaWorld (40 minutes) Temecula wineries, area casinos, and some of the most beautiful beaches (30 minutes) in the world! Welk Resorts offers luxurious and spacious one and two bedroom villa suites, with panoramic views of golf courses or surrounding mountains. Villas include sitting and dining areas, complete kitchens with full cookware and dishware, patios or balconies, and complimentary WiFi access. Parking is complimentary and there are no resort fees. Guests will experience casual dining at Canyon Grille restaurant or Pizza Hut Express, fun in the sun at Five Clubhouses featuring one colossal pool and seven large pools & 8 spas, two water slides, two kids' splash pads and playgrounds, table games, catch and release fishing pond, hourly planned activities for all age groups, new for 2016 state of the art fitness center, lighted tennis courts, and a relaxing round of golf on one of two 18 hole golf courses. The Welk Resort Theatre is home to top-notch talent performing Broadway style musicals and starring in comedy and variety shows, including tribute bands. During the Summer are music festivals at the Welk Amphitheatre on the Greens. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Welk Resort San Diego

Address: 8860 Lawrence Welk Drive, Escondido, CA 92026
Region: United States > California > Escondido
Price Range: €140 - €290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Welk Resort San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Welk Resort San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welk Resort San Diego Hotel Escondido
Welk Hotel Escondido
Welk Resort Escondido
Welk Hotel San Diego
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Welk Resort San Diego staff and other travellers.
68 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (68)

Questions? Get answers from Welk Resort San Diego staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you have kids ask for a room in Mountain Villas over the pool area.”
 of 5 bubbles LiveToGetaway, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Avoid rooms close and facing the freeway.”
 of 5 bubbles mychef1985, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room in the Resort or Mountain area.”
 of 5 bubbles Buddy-Bear, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in the Mountain Villa's. They were great.”
 of 5 bubbles 832markc, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Golf course views are nice.”
 of 5 bubbles Cilantro63, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5