We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Portofino Beach Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Portofino Beach Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

32 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 29: English reviews
Murrieta
Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

Had a quick trip to Encinitas stayed at the Portofino the hotel has changed a lot great service and way cleaner. Got lucky stayed in a large room with king bed. Would recommend for location to beach! I really enjoyed walking down 101 to some great food/restaurants!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jbmaverick
WEST COVINA
Reviewed 8 October 2016

The room itself was tired and run down. Bed itself not too bad and location close to beaches. BUT, horrible customer service when I had to change my reservations and no response when I tried to email about my issue. They were supposed to refund me my money for a cancelled night and that was never noted for over a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TERESA M
El Monte, California
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

The cost wasn't bad and not far from the beach so we decided to see how we like it. It wasn't the best but it wasn't the worst either. First thing is the room was so hot we were sweating...but we were on the 3rd floor so it took awhile to cool. We went to dinner and came back and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frances G
Murrieta
Reviewed 2 August 2016

Location is great and walking distance pretty for pretty much what you need on a holiday trip. Great price for what is needed to be in Southern Calif beaches. I recommend this hotel because the staff is very nice and personable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jbmaverick
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewed 28 June 2016

Convenient location. It is an older hotel, but the staff was friendly. Beds and room were clean. Towels were a little on the small/thin//time to replace side, but not that big of deal. Only blocks to the beach and great food within wall distance.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bc904
Dallas K, General Manager at Portofino Beach Inn, responded to this review

Mc904, Thank you for your recent stay with us! We know you have many choices of where to stay while visiting Encinitas and I thank you personally for choosing to stay with us. Hope to see you back. Until then, thank you for the candid feedback. Best Regards, Dallas King

La Jolla, California
Reviewed 21 April 2016

This place was perfect for me, I stayed two nights, enjoyed the spacious jacuzzi and was very comfortable. And it's within walking distance of all the great things you can do in Encinitas, especially the great restaurants and bars.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George N
Reviewed 9 March 2016 via mobile

My two kids and I stayed here while visiting a friend... When we walked in we were disappointed to say the least ... Stains on carpet old outdated furniture cobwebs in Windows rusted towel storage stains on comforters Beds were very comfortable and staff was mostly nice

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Erin L
Dallas K, General Manager at Portofino Beach Inn, responded to this review

Erin L, We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations during this stay. This is an ongoing project that is always moving forward. We hope you might consider returning in the future to take advantage of the new product we create has to offer! Kindest regards,...

Baja California Norte, Mexico
Reviewed 11 January 2016

Oh my... after booking this hotel for a six hour stop over back home to Mexico.... ( non refundable ressies) I read the reviews.. " Nah... can't be that bad." This can easily go down in history as the WORST room I've ever stayed in. At the risk of being redundant.... I'll not go into details.. as the other reviewers...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ladykate_7
Dallas K, General Manager at Portofino Beach Inn, responded to this review

Dear ladykate_7, Thank you for posting feedback from your recent stay with us. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience these issues may have caused you during your stay. Rest assured, your comments will be shared with our planning team as we head into renovations. Kindest regards, Dallas King

Reviewed 30 December 2015 via mobile

Stayed here with a couple business partners and had a great time! Hotel was very cozy with a very friendly staff. Rooms were very spacious and very clean. Would stay again. The best part is it is literally right by the beach! Luxury location with a economy price!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert E
maine
Reviewed 6 September 2015 via mobile

After reading the reviews I decided to take a chance and book a room. I was trying to economize and spend money elsewhere. So I was surprised at how ok the room was. It's a dated motel but I hear renovations are planned. The AC is good and very quiet,even when cycling on and off. There is a fridge,iron/board and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank stjojo
Dallas K, General Manager at Portofino Beach Inn, responded to this review

Hi Stjojo, Thank you for the pleasant review! We appreciate your comments and look forward to having those towels you suggested on your next visit to the hotel. Kindest regards, Dallas King

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Encinitas
0.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Encinitas Inn & Suites at Moonlight Beach
0.8 km away
Days Inn Encinitas- Legoland Moonlight Beach
2.5 km away
Rodeway Inn - Encinitas
Rodeway Inn - Encinitas
#8 of 9 in Encinitas
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
96 reviews
5.5 km away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
3.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - ...
#2 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Portofino Beach Inn Hotel in Encinitas California is located 18 miles from San Diego Airport and 25 miles from downtown San Diego. Along the historic stretch of Hwy 101 and just 2 blocks from the Legendary Moonlight Beach, the Portofino Beach Inn Hotel stands as a hidden treasure for those travelers seeking a charming atmosphere and comfortable beach-life accommodations at an affordable price.The boutique hotel charm and elegant, Mediterranean-inspired rooms are unique among all others in the area. The Hotel offers these newly renovated rooms with upgraded amenities to meet the needs of the business traveler or leisure guest. The Portofino Beach Inn Hotel is convenient to many area dining, shopping and entertainment venues. Long known for its coastal views and nostalgic feel, this oceanfront community of Encinitas provides the ideal backdrop for the newly remodeled Portofino Beach Inn North Coast Encinitas Hotel. Our motto is to provide Clean Comfortable rooms with COURTEOUS services at AFFORDABLE prices. Helping our guests to have an enjoyable experience while they are away from home is the goal for everyone working here at Portofino Beach Inn hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Portofino Beach Inn

Address: 186 N Coast Highway 101, Encinitas, CA 92024-3251 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites North Coast)
Region: United States > California > Encinitas
Price Range: €59 - €121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Portofino Beach Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Portofino Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn & Suites North Coast Hotel Encinitas
Quality Inn And Suites North Coast
Quality Inn North Coast
Quality Inn Encinitas
Encinitas Quality Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Portofino Beach Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Portofino Beach Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Hard to say. I guess ask for a north facing upper floor.”
 of 5 bubbles TERESAM439, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on third level are great!”
 of 5 bubbles jbmaverick, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room near the back looks forward ocean. Also closer to bigger parking spaces.”
 of 5 bubbles Bc904, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“If you have difficulty with stairs insist upon a ground floor room. We were told they only had two and they were both unavailable despite a request submitted months in advance when the initial reservation was made.”
 of 5 bubbles sweetkap, 9 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Jacuzzi room was large-room for 4”
 of 5 bubbles jodydaboss, 1 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay