We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cedar Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
Panoramas (4)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,935 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Cedar Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,244: English reviews
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 8 April 2012

The Cedar Lodge is one of the closest hotel value if you're visiting Yosemite Valley (the Yosemite View Lodge is 10 minutes close but a lot pricier; the Tenaya Lodge is closest to Yosemite's South entrance, a good 40 minutes away from the Valley). Just stayed a couple of nights in the junior suite and was happy enough that I...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank ALTippet
cedar002, General Manager at Cedar Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We do have rooms with flat screens, but you are right not all of them yet. We are adding more. We just recently added some new sofa sleepers too. We look forward to your return stay to see our other improvements. Thanks Colleen

Fleet Hampshire
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Cant argue with the price of the room. Poor service from reception staff. Restaurant was average and expensive, but the only local option. Indoor swimming pool was great. Hotel is outside El Portal, and about 10 miles from park entrance. Good cheap accommodation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HeyMG
cedar002, General Manager at Cedar Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We will make reception our top propriety to improve. We look forward to your return visit. I will let the owner of restaurant know about your review. Thanks Colleen

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We booked to stay here for three nights (only made it for two nights as there was a road closure and we had to sleep in the car overnight....a long story.Will try and leave details elsewhere on Trip Advisor). We were umm-ing and ahh-ing over Yosemite View Lodge over this one. Am so glad we went with the Cedar Loadge...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Olives333
cedar002, General Manager at Cedar Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write the review. I'm so glad you have a good stay. We Just received a new shipment of magnets with different price ranges. We hope to have you stay with us again. Thanks Colleen Griffin Manager Cedar Lodge

Lake Hughes, California, United States
Reviewed 2 April 2012

The location is good, less than ten minutes from Yosemite entrance. It's nice that it has an indoor AND outdoor pool, plus and indoor jacuzzi. The food from the bar & grill was really good, but the restaurant's was not great, and extremely overpriced, even with the $4 salad bar price added on to everything, the salad bar was poor...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Leigh N
Berkeley, California
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I booked a room for two nights in Cedar Lodge, but due to a car accident could not arrive on time, so I was late one day. I called to the hotel right after the accident to ask them to move my reservation to one day later and they said that they could easily do it. However when I arrived...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maria K
Sacramento, California
Reviewed 24 March 2012

This is a motel campus, 6 buildings of rooms plus a gift shop, indoor and outdoor pools, restaurant, bar & grill, and many bear sculptures spotted around the property. There is a Yosemite Regional Transportation System (YARTS) bus stop on the property so you can get to Yosemite Valley by public transportation if you choose. (You can also take YARTS...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Anne A
Reviewed 20 March 2012

On a recent trip to Yosemite we stayed at the Cedar lodge. We booked three rooms. We were all sad to hear that the rooms did not have Wifi or cell service, but we were on vacation and could get by without it. Next when we did get into our rooms my brothers room was not even cleaned. The beds...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Billhoward
Santa Cruz
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We stayed here after purchasing a Groupon deal for March. The positives are - location to Yosemite - about a 15 minute drive that is spectacular, beautiful surroundings, indoor pool - was closed, but still a nice ammenity, bar and grill - not a lot of food choices close by, rooms clean and hotel nicely kept. The not so positives...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Caibo
New York City, New York
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Stayed a night on a return trip to Yosemite during winter. I usually stay in Oakhurst because of the wide variety of lodging and dining options there. Oakhurst is good if you want to start your day at the Mariposa Grove but El Portal is the closest to Yosemite Valley. Cedar Lodge is only 7 miles from the entrance to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank EatSeeDo
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We stayed here for 2 very pleasant nights when visiting beautiful Yosemite. We were very happy with the room we received, while it wasn’t decorated to our taste, it was big, clean and comfortable with everything you would hope for. We were very happy with the indoor swimming pool which is a nice way to relax after a day in...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank daai
cedar002, General Manager at Cedar Lodge, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review. We are very happy you had a good time. We look forward to your return stay with us. Thanks Colleen

635 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (541)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (162)
Viewed
Room/Suite (112)
Viewed
Bathroom (36)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Other (172)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (93)
Viewed
Amenities (15)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (1)
Viewed
Outdoor Pool (8)
Viewed
Private Pool (3)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Standard Two Queen (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Portal
24.0 km away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
17.1 km away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
307 reviews
28.0 km away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 km away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3,616 reviews
28.3 km away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
13.0 km away
Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Cedar House Restaurant
Cedar House Restaurant
Cuisines: American
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Cedar Lodge

Address: 9966 Highway 140, PO Box C, El Portal, CA 95318
Region: United States > California > El Portal
Price Range: €88 - €216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cedar Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 211
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Cedar Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Hotel El Portal
Cedar Lodge Yosemite
Cedar Lodge El Portal
Cedar El Portal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cedar Lodge staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question
Boulder, Colorado
Leek, United Kingdom
9 months ago
22 hours ago
1 month ago

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Cedar Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Beware the property is directly off & facing 140 HWY. The ROOMs 140's are above the Housekeeping Laundry which runs all day until 10pm.”
 of 5 bubbles rgNjg60, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“try to get a room with a balcony with view on the hills”
  • View from the balcony on the hills
 of 5 bubbles MichelCee, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The travelers were killed in room 509.”
 of 5 bubbles jaysab2016, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Get a Deluxe Queen Room as it has a sofa seating area which will give more space for your belongings.”
 of 5 bubbles Boowicked, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“It is scenic all around ... maybe the room facing the heated pool could add more value.”
 of 5 bubbles RanjanGoenka, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5