Everyone needs a place to lay their weary head. For travellers visiting El Portal, Yosemite View Lodge is an excellent choice for rest and rejuvenation. Well-known for its family-friendly environment and proximity to great restaurants, Yosemite View Lodge makes it easy to enjoy the best of El Portal.
The rooms offer a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a kitchenette, and getting online is possible, as paid internet access is available, allowing you to rest and refresh with ease.
Yosemite View Lodge features 24 hour front desk, a picnic area, and a gift shop. In addition, as a valued Yosemite View Lodge guest, you can enjoy a pool and an on-site restaurant that are available on-site. Guests arriving by vehicle have access to free parking.
During your visit, be sure to check out a popular El Portal shrimp restaurant such as The River Restaurant & Lounge, which is a short distance from Yosemite View Lodge.
There is no shortage of things to do in the area: explore popular historic sites such as Yosemite Valley Railroad.
Yosemite View Lodge is sure to make your visit to El Portal one worth remembering.
My wife and I stayed here for two nights as part of our honeymoon. We appreciate that it is Yosemite, however the room was extremely basic and in urgent need of an update/refresh. The location for access to the park is great but that is the only positive! The on-site shop and restaurant (which also has bad reviews) were an absolute rip off averaging $25+ for a takeaway pizza.
This hotel is really close to Yosemite and this is quite important. What I liked is that you can find everything you need in the minimarket even you want to buy something to eat in your room. Pizza restaurant is OK, there is another restaurant but I dind't tried. The negative point is the wifi access you need to pay for $9 per day. People are friendly.
Great location and views from the balcony but everything inside such as restaurants, shops is EXPENSIVE! No free water on offer and the water foundations in the indoors pool was digusting. Wifi is expensive whereas other hotels included this so why is this chargable.
Room in excellent position and paid extra for river view which was full of people shouting so did not sit on balcony Room very tired and dated with filthy carpet - booked for 4 guests but not enough chairs, Crockery or cutlery (2 knives) - very poor!! Toaster didn’t work and freezer so tiny could not fit in food!! Told not to empty bins as this would be done - returned to overflowing rubbish so ended up doing it! Apart from that it was a good shower and close Proximity to the park which is what we came for! Overpriced restaurant and shop And to be charged for Wi-Fi is dreadful - been travelling around Canada and US for 3 weeks and never had to pay - Money-making!!!!!
Staff were very welcoming on arrival, the accommodation was better than expected due to it being a lodge and not a hotel. We (4) shared a room which was more than adequate for our needs due to spending the days in the park which was a short journey up the road. The kitchen space was ok with a large fridge cooker microwave etc a lovely pizzeria and restaurant on sight. Some previous reviews complained about the lack of room service we certainly didn’t find this a problem all with a drought there was no unnecessary changing of towels and bedding but if you wished for it to be done you just let the desk know and it was done straightaway. We would definitely be returning to the lodge in the near future
We stayed 2 nights at this lodge. The staff is extremely friendly and nice. HOWEVER, the rooms are outdated. No cleaning services “due to Covid” (are you real?? The place is packed with people without masks all over). No privacy (people walking in front of the room, hanging on the balcony fence on their way to the river). You even need to pay for Wi-Fi access. Overall this place is a super basic accommodation. Would not recommend to anyone who wants more than that.
We planned to spend 3 days here but a fire in the park caused us to consolidate down to two. We were told we would not be charged for the third day which hopefully will be the case. Everything about this property was satisfying, from the attractive Yosemite decor to the comfortable beds and many amenities. We took advantage of two pools and the two restaurants. A large store on the property was an added bonus. The staff kept their composure in spite of a high volume of guests. By only minor gripes: clogged drain in the tub and a mediocre shrimp dinner in the restaurant. Considering their close proximity to the Western entrance of the park and the lack of competition nearby, the proprietors here really deserve a lot of credit. We would certainly be delighted to come again.
We spend two nights there to visit Yosemite NP; hotel room is old fashioned and location was okay, unfortunately we had an issue with a double booking, there was no chance to talk to the manager in person, nonetheless the staff assured us they help us to get a refund for the wrong booking. Back home we did not get any response from the hotel itself, according to our booking agency (which also has troubles to get in contact with the manager) the accommodation denied any kind of refund. The result: we stayed two nights, paid four nights and not even got any voucher/answers. Although the location to the NP entrance is great, we would not recommend to stay there!
This hotel is most conveniently located a few miles from Yosemite Park Entrance. It looks like an old motor lodge with great views, kitchenettes, and wonderful balconies with views of a river and granite mountain. It's a bit "tired" in decor but I overlooked it. The restaurants are good, staff most friendly, on property store is well stocked and convenient.
Very large and worn hotel. However, good location for the Park and a large and usable bathroom. Extremely bad that you have to pay for wifi, 10USD/day! We have travelled across the US this summer and this is the first time wifi cost money - it won't go in 2022!Greetings Room 3334