We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
11136 Ca - 140, El Portal, CA 95318
5 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$311
View deal
Free cancellation until 18/08/22
Booking.com
US$283
View deal
FindHotel
US$256
View deal
Free cancellation until 17/08/22
Hotels.comUS$311
TravelocityUS$311
HurbUS$357
View all 19 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (2231)
360
Panoramas (10)
Room & Suite (1063)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#1 of 2 hotels in El Portal
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Everyone needs a place to lay their weary head. For travellers visiting El Portal, Yosemite View Lodge is an excellent choice for rest and rejuvenation. Well-known for its family-friendly environment and proximity to great restaurants, Yosemite View Lodge makes it easy to enjoy the best of El Portal.

The rooms offer a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a kitchenette, and getting online is possible, as paid internet access is available, allowing you to rest and refresh with ease.

Yosemite View Lodge features 24 hour front desk, a picnic area, and a gift shop. In addition, as a valued Yosemite View Lodge guest, you can enjoy a pool and an on-site restaurant that are available on-site. Guests arriving by vehicle have access to free parking.

During your visit, be sure to check out a popular El Portal shrimp restaurant such as The River Restaurant & Lounge, which is a short distance from Yosemite View Lodge.

There is no shortage of things to do in the area: explore popular historic sites such as Yosemite Valley Railroad.

Yosemite View Lodge is sure to make your visit to El Portal one worth remembering.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Convenience store
Parking
Paid wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Vending machine
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
4826Reviews80Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 720
  • 1,701
  • 1,440
  • 611
  • 355
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Stephen W wrote a review 11 Aug
England, United Kingdom42 contributions43 helpful votes
My wife and I stayed here for two nights as part of our honeymoon. We appreciate that it is Yosemite, however the room was extremely basic and in urgent need of an update/refresh. The location for access to the park is great but that is the only positive! The on-site shop and restaurant (which also has bad reviews) were an absolute rip off averaging $25+ for a takeaway pizza.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Pascal F wrote a review 10 Aug
Nivelles, Belgium32 contributions8 helpful votes
This hotel is really close to Yosemite and this is quite important. What I liked is that you can find everything you need in the minimarket even you want to buy something to eat in your room. Pizza restaurant is OK, there is another restaurant but I dind't tried. The negative point is the wifi access you need to pay for $9 per day. People are friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Clive wrote a review 8 Aug
Horsham, United Kingdom7 contributions1 helpful vote
Great location and views from the balcony but everything inside such as restaurants, shops is EXPENSIVE! No free water on offer and the water foundations in the indoors pool was digusting. Wifi is expensive whereas other hotels included this so why is this chargable.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Melanie K wrote a review 4 Aug
Newport, United Kingdom49 contributions41 helpful votes
+1
Room in excellent position and paid extra for river view which was full of people shouting so did not sit on balcony Room very tired and dated with filthy carpet - booked for 4 guests but not enough chairs, Crockery or cutlery (2 knives) - very poor!! Toaster didn’t work and freezer so tiny could not fit in food!! Told not to empty bins as this would be done - returned to overflowing rubbish so ended up doing it! Apart from that it was a good shower and close Proximity to the park which is what we came for! Overpriced restaurant and shop And to be charged for Wi-Fi is dreadful - been travelling around Canada and US for 3 weeks and never had to pay - Money-making!!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: $10 for 24 hr Wi-Fi Bring own food as expensive onsite Don’t walk barefooted on carpets as filthy
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
jesolimoor wrote a review 1 Aug
3 contributions
Staff were very welcoming on arrival, the accommodation was better than expected due to it being a lodge and not a hotel. We (4) shared a room which was more than adequate for our needs due to spending the days in the park which was a short journey up the road. The kitchen space was ok with a large fridge cooker microwave etc a lovely pizzeria and restaurant on sight. Some previous reviews complained about the lack of room service we certainly didn’t find this a problem all with a drought there was no unnecessary changing of towels and bedding but if you wished for it to be done you just let the desk know and it was done straightaway. We would definitely be returning to the lodge in the near future
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Didi_Isr wrote a review Jul 2022
Jerusalem, Israel33 contributions4 helpful votes
We stayed 2 nights at this lodge. The staff is extremely friendly and nice. HOWEVER, the rooms are outdated. No cleaning services “due to Covid” (are you real?? The place is packed with people without masks all over). No privacy (people walking in front of the room, hanging on the balcony fence on their way to the river). You even need to pay for Wi-Fi access. Overall this place is a super basic accommodation. Would not recommend to anyone who wants more than that.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
JeffinNJ wrote a review Jul 2022
Bridgewater, New Jersey293 contributions151 helpful votes
We planned to spend 3 days here but a fire in the park caused us to consolidate down to two. We were told we would not be charged for the third day which hopefully will be the case. Everything about this property was satisfying, from the attractive Yosemite decor to the comfortable beds and many amenities. We took advantage of two pools and the two restaurants. A large store on the property was an added bonus. The staff kept their composure in spite of a high volume of guests. By only minor gripes: clogged drain in the tub and a mediocre shrimp dinner in the restaurant. Considering their close proximity to the Western entrance of the park and the lack of competition nearby, the proprietors here really deserve a lot of credit. We would certainly be delighted to come again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The lobby for checking in is poorly marked but it's roughly in the center of the property near...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Theresa wrote a review Jul 2022
7 contributions
We spend two nights there to visit Yosemite NP; hotel room is old fashioned and location was okay, unfortunately we had an issue with a double booking, there was no chance to talk to the manager in person, nonetheless the staff assured us they help us to get a refund for the wrong booking. Back home we did not get any response from the hotel itself, according to our booking agency (which also has troubles to get in contact with the manager) the accommodation denied any kind of refund. The result: we stayed two nights, paid four nights and not even got any voucher/answers. Although the location to the NP entrance is great, we would not recommend to stay there!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Julie A wrote a review Jul 2022
Chesterfield, Michigan90 contributions71 helpful votes
This hotel is most conveniently located a few miles from Yosemite Park Entrance. It looks like an old motor lodge with great views, kitchenettes, and wonderful balconies with views of a river and granite mountain. It's a bit "tired" in decor but I overlooked it. The restaurants are good, staff most friendly, on property store is well stocked and convenient.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Philip wrote a review Jul 2022
Hoersholm, Denmark1 contribution
Very large and worn hotel. However, good location for the Park and a large and usable bathroom. Extremely bad that you have to pay for wifi, 10USD/day! We have travelled across the US this summer and this is the first time wifi cost money - it won't go in 2022!Greetings Room 3334
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$240 - US$326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
yosemite view hotel el portal, yosemite view lodge, yosemite view motel
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaEl Portal
NUMBER OF ROOMS
335
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Yosemite View Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Yosemite View Lodge?
Nearby attractions include El Portal Market (1.6 km), Elizabeth Lake (3.0 km), and John Muir presentation by Lee Stetson (5.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Yosemite View Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Yosemite View Lodge?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Yosemite View Lodge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Yosemite View Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Yosemite View Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Parkside Pizza, The River Restaurant & Lounge, and Little Bear Pizza.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Yosemite View Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Yosemite View Lodge?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Yosemite View Lodge?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Yosemite View Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.