We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Durham House Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durham
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Durham House Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

15 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 15: English reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have stayed at this beautiful and historic Victorian home 4 times and in four seasons. We have stayed in various rooms and all have been a delight. The grounds are amazing with a wide variety of trees and plants, garden sculptures,and unique works of art. Cheryl and James are wonderful hosts and the breakfast always delicious. The swimming pool...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
Stonyford, California
Reviewed 11 September 2016

A family member booked us to stay in the cottage to attend a wedding nearby. When we arrived I saw that it wasn't handicap accessible; my mom is in a wheelchair. But James and Cheryl made every effort for us to be able to be in the cottage, James went above and beyond in accommodating us by even having us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hbarrere
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewed 21 August 2016

We rented out the entire B&B (3 bedrooms each with a private bathroom and patio), including the adorable 1 bedroom detached guest house for our wedding weekend. The parents of the bride and groom, as well as the siblings stayed in the main house, while we used the guest house as the bridal suite. Cheryl and James (owners- live on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scthomps1
Reviewed 13 June 2016

When visiting Chico, I prefer this inn even though it is 10 minutes from town, because of the wonderful lush garden setting, the pool, and the balconies off the room that allow you to have a comfortable private outdoor seating area. (I also like that I can safely leave the balcony door open at night for fresh air.) We stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lindan735
Reviewed 23 May 2016

This was a return trip to the Durham House Inn for me. I absolutely love this B and B! It starts with the owners, James and Cheryl. They are super accomodating and will do everything they can to make sure your stay is perfect! But they won't have to do much, as the stay there is ALWAYS perfect! The rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michael b
Atco
Reviewed 20 March 2015

Durham House Inn is a beautifully furnished and decorated Victorian tucked away minutes from Chico, CA. The hosts are flexible, welcoming, and friendly. The breakfast was delicious with local products making their way to the table.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ed D
norco
Reviewed 11 September 2014

Wow! What a lovely Inn. We had such an amazing stay. The Inn Keepers, Cheryl and James, were just about the nicest folks you'll ever meet! Beautiful antiques, comfortable rooms, delicious food, and an inviting pool in such lush surroundings. We can't wait to stay again! Great place to stay when visiting Chico. Highly recommend!!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bbasher
San Carlos, California
Reviewed 10 September 2014

Impressed with the property when I first arrived, but...it all turned horrible within minutes after checking-in. Bed was not a King, but a small Queen. Mattress topper was lumpy and not supportive. Pillows barely had any down filling and were uncomfortable. A/C kept the room at about 60 degrees Fahrenheit and had no adjustments. Smoke alarm went off at 12:21...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank simondsl
Cheryl F, Owner at Durham House Inn, responded to this review

We are very sorry a guest had such a negative experience at our Inn. We take every review very seriously and hope to move forward in a positive way. This is the first guest we've ever had that was not happy and we've been Innkeepers for 25 years. This is the third Inn we've started as we love what we...

Redding, California
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We had a fabulous time staying at the Durham House Inn. It was relaxing and beautiful. We ended up having to bring our 2 young kids with us and she was very sweet and accommodating about it. We definitely plan to go back again on our own. The breakfast was beyond delicious!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynda T
Cave Junction, OR
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We were making a trip from Southern Oregon to Yosemite and decided to break up the drive with a stay in the Chico area. This B and B is about 10 minutes outside of Chico in the small town of Durham. The main part of the B and B is a restored Victorian but the owners built a cottage in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jann01

2 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durham
9.9 km away
Hotel Diamond
Hotel Diamond
#2 of 17 in Chico
245 reviews
8.7 km away
Oxford Suites Chico
Oxford Suites Chico
#1 of 17 in Chico
935 reviews
7.7 km away
Residence Inn Chico
Residence Inn Chico
#4 of 17 in Chico
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
Courtyard Chico
Courtyard Chico
#6 of 17 in Chico
130 reviews
19.4 km away
Paradise Lodge
Paradise Lodge
#2 of 7 in Paradise
78 reviews
12.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Heritage Inn - Chico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about Durham House Inn

Address: 2280 Durham Dayton Hwy, Durham, CA 95938-9651
Region: United States > California > Durham
Number of rooms: 4
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Durham House Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms are nice. They have a real cute cottage by the pool that is just lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles bbasher, 11 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Given my experience there are NO GOOD ROOMS in this Victorian Farm House (1884) in the small farming community of Durham, CA (just south of Chico, CA). DO NOT PLAN A STAY HERE. Their website is nice, the home charming, the operations terrible!”
 of 5 bubbles simondsl, 10 Sep 2014 | Read review
“The cottage was delightful. We didn't see any of the other rooms but the dining room in the main house was very pleasant.”
 of 5 bubbles Jann01, 26 Feb 2014 | Read review
“The Dragonfly Cottage and the Durham Suite are especially spacious, elegant and private.”
 of 5 bubbles EdD855, 1 Jan 2014 | Read review
“Depending the tempeture in the saison ; because Springtime we preferred the Sunny side of the house. By day warm, by night chilly. There is a swimming pool, only in summer, we think.”
 of 5 bubbles 407JanD, 17 Apr 2013 | Read review
5 of 5