We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

304 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
See the most recent reviews
Showing 302: English reviews
Parker, Colorado, United States
Reviewed 29 November 2016

These rooms are inconveniently laid out with door to bathroom 2 feet from side of bed. Train runs through the room. Housekeeping was non-existent and when reported nothing is done. Parking overpriced and even as an Honors Member no complimentary breakfast. Parking overpriced.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dennis G
Bill R, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review

I regret hearing that your stay was less than satisfactory. I can understand your frustration when calling for services that are not taken care of. Rest assured that I take your comments extremely seriously and will be addressing your concerns with the housekeeping team. As a valued Hhonors member we strive to provide the best service possible and it is...

Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

Wow...worst Doubletree, no worst Hilton I've ever stayed in. Room was gross and missing TP and towels. No coffee available in the lobby and seeing that the room was so gross there was no way I was using the in room maker. Nice little crack in the sink on top of that. The people were nice at least ... If...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ceasar73
Bill R, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review

I apologize for the condition of your room and take your comments very seriously. I am sorry that we were unable to address them while you were here but understand that you were tired and didn't want to report them. You will, however, be happy to know that we now have coffee in the lobby in the morning. We do...

Cincinnati, United States
Reviewed 29 November 2016

It was a surprise to find out they charge for self parking. That being said, I won't go with this hotel again. Rooms were clean. Location is a little loud being at the intersection of two roads. Short trip to the beach.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 521anitaw
Bill R, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review

Thank you for giving the hotel a 4 star review. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again at our beach front location. Bill Reider General Manager DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point Bill.Reider@Hilton.com 310-420-0146

Tucson, Arizona
Reviewed 28 November 2016

Two friends and I just stayed in this hotel for the weekend for a bridal trip for my friend so she could try on wedding dresses. We drove for 6 hours from Arizona and we were anxious to unpack and relax for a bit in the room before heading across the street to the beach and to eat dinner. Immediately...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Valerie S
Bill R, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review

Thank you for your candid review. Based on your experience I sincerely apologize. There is no excuse for you being placed in rooms that are not up to our standards and I will address these issues with the staff. The lack of empathy that you encountered is not acceptable, nor common, for our property. I take your comments very seriously...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 28 November 2016

For the price this hotel was not worth it. The furniture in the living room needs updating. The bed was good, but that 1950's retro aqua blue wool couch was embarrassing. Also the breakfast was too expensive at $20 for mediocre food. Although the valet guys were cute and friendly.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BillDKilgore
Bill R, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review

Your comments are appreciated and I apologize that you were not satisfied with your stay. The hotel completed a full renovation earlier this spring and part of the new design is the retro look. We strive to offer a breakfast menu that has value and we will be discussing your concerns with our culinary team. We hope that you are...

Sunnyvale, California
Reviewed 27 November 2016

Lets start with the good. Rooms are bright and clean. A nice sitting area in the room. Lobby area is fresh and open. That is pretty much it for the positive. Location not the easiest place to find. Hidden away in Dana Point not in a good spot to shops and pier. No recognition or benefits for being a Diamond...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrwheels12
Bill R, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to comment on your recent stay with us. I am very happy that your guest room and hotel lobby experience was positive and that our recent renovations have hit the spot. As a Diamond Member myself, I appreciate the 250 "My Way" Bonus Points per stay with free breakfast and Wifi. I too expect to...

Vacaville, California
Reviewed 27 November 2016

Beware if you expect to use the "suites" to let kids sleep while the adults stay up. Despite listing the rooms as suites with both a living and bedroom there is no door between the spaces after a recent remodel. The coffee machines spit it black gunk or mold - even after being replaced.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank K9953LB
Bill R, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. You are correct that our suites do not have a dividing door. We strive for transparency and hoped that the photos of our suites would have indicated the lack of a door. I apologize for the lack of clarity and any inconvenience this might have caused you. There...

Dana Point, California
Reviewed 25 November 2016

Restaurant was super slow. Bartender was super lazy. Multiple random individual charges for the stay made throughout the stay without advance notice, rhyme or reason including one large (Over $700.00) pending charge made after we paid and checked out that took three days to drop off!

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Normandy1066
Bill R, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review

Very sorry to read that your stay was less than you deserve. I appreciate the comments and will review the service issues with the Food and Beverage Team. I would like to gather more information from you about your pending charges to find out what happened. I welcome the opportunity to discuss further and please feel free to contact me...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 23 November 2016

My daughter and I stayed here for 2 nights when she was moving from Dana Point. We arrived after 4:00 and our room was not ready. The lady next to us received vouchers for her inconvenience (her room wasn't ready either) but we didn't because we did not complain about it as she did. The room we had definitely needed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 827virginian
Bill R, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review

Thank you for providing us with your honest feedback. I apologize for the issues that you had during your most recent stay. I have spoken to our front office team and discussed your concerns. As a result we have implemented changes to our procedures so that this should not occur again. I'd be happy to follow up with you if...

Whittier, California
Reviewed 22 November 2016

We never sleep as well away from home. The GOOD rate on sleep quality reflects this rating. The cookies make that better! We had breakfast twice and both times the food was good, the fresh salas was fantastic.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Y613YGdeniseb
Bill R, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review

I am thrilled to hear about your stay and your good nights sleep. I am passing your positive comments on to the food and beverage team! Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

277 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (171)
Viewed
Amenities (17)
Viewed
Double Queen Room with Ocean View Balcony (30)
Viewed
King Room with Ocean View Balcony (24)
Viewed
King Suite with Ocean View Balcony (41)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
The Hotel (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (77)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
0.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel
3.8 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
1.4 km away
Dana Point Marina Inn
Dana Point Marina Inn
#8 of 12 in Dana Point
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanview
0.9 km away
Capistrano Surfside Inn
Capistrano Surfside Inn
#7 of 12 in Dana Point
89 reviews
12.4 km away
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in enchanting city of Dana Point, Orange County midway between Los Angeles and San Diego along the Pacific Ocean. Our hotel has proven a consistently popular choice among beach city tourists, wedding planners and business guests looking to turn that conference travel into a great Southern California getaway. Great location for work and play! ... more   less 

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point

Address: 34402 Pacific Coast Hwy, Dana Point, CA 92624-1211
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Price Range: €149 - €269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point Hotel Dana Point
Doubletree Dana Point
Doubletree Hotel Dana Point
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Dana Point
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There was a train that ran by the hotel but it didn't bother us. Not sure if the room location helped with that but you should ask.”
 of 5 bubbles roberthH2666FO, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you want a room that you can kind of see the ocean request one in the front of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles ValerieS871, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Non ocean view rooms are facing the train tracks!!! Trains run early and late!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles mrwheels12, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get an ocean view.”
  • View from our balcony.
 of 5 bubbles dcstep, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“South facing rooms looking over pool area more enjoyable in late afternoon because sun not beating in directly”
 of 5 bubbles 687beverlyd, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay