We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Monarch Beach Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Monarch Beach Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,990 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,947: English reviews
Start your review of Monarch Beach Resort
 Click to rate
Fresno, California
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I enjoyed the resort! Staff was very helpful and attentive. Food was great. The rooms are spacious and inviting! Will definitely come back. I didn't get to visit the pool, seemed like everyone else with our group enjoyed the pool!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank allygirlz
Pasadena, CA
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We loved this property when it was the St. Regis. We were a little skeptical of what the experience would be like as a non-Starwood hotel, but we shouldn't have been. The new family pool area was amazing! Service throughout the property is still top notch, except maybe the older tram driver who seemed a little grumpy. I especially appreciated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank baby8684
Shafter, California
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

From the moment we drove up to the moment we drove away, the service was amazing & every single person we came in contact with was wonderful! We strongly recommend this location to anyone with children too. There was not a single moment the kids weren't being entertained. We will definitely be coming back!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank berenicehooper
MonarchBResort, General Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear berenicehooper, Thank you for the incredible compliment! I look forward to having you return for many years to come. Sincerely, Ian Pullan Vice President & General Manager

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The room was gorgeous and the bed was so comfortable!! This room's bathroom was larger than the room we had stayed in the night before. The staff was so friendly and helpful. From check-in the check-out, we had a wonderful experience.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank taffetapple
MonarchBResort, General Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear taffetapple, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope we will have the opportunity to welcoming back to our coastal beach house in the near future. Sincerely, Ian Pullan Vice President & General Manager

California
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The group which owned Hotel Del sold it to a group from China and purchased the St Regis. They have done several renovations to the property, and the results are wonderful. From the moment you arrive, the service is outstanding. The valets, front desk, concierge, housekeeping, tram operators, wait staff are all top notch. The only parking available is valet....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LivinTheDream90272
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

I had a reservation at The Monarch last week that I cancelled one and a half days before arrival. I had called two days before to see if I could get in early as I had fallen and hurt myself and needed to get settled in my room. They told me they were fully booked and had no openings. So,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lisamichelles
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My family spent one night at this very nice hotel/resort. It was an unforgettable experience since all the staff we have encountered were very nice and accommodating especially, Ms. Bernice, of the front desk office. She was very friendly and naturally hospitable as if she's enjoying and loving her job. Thumbs up too to Mr. Marcel for taking us for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cassandra S
MonarchBResort, General Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Cassandra S., Thank you for staying at the Monarch Beach Resort. I am very pleased to learn that our team provided you with exceptional service throughout your stay. Thank you for the kind words and lavish praise you bestowed upon Bernice & Marcel - I will share your feedback with our associates. Thank you again, and I hope we...

Old Bethpage, New York
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Excellent first rate hotel. Every detail is attended to. Beautiful grounds and very polite attentive staff. I like this hotel better than the Ritz which is located nearby. Beautiful room, pool area, health club and spa.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kevinbO5142CN
MonarchBResort, General Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear kevinbO5142CN, Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your recent stay at Monarch Beach Resort. Hearing feedback from guests such as you is one of the many reasons our staff members are so proud to be a part of our one-of-a-kind beach house hospitality family. I look forward to having you return for...

Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We found this online and decided to give it a try. We were not disappointed and it surpassed our expectations. The staff is professional, friendly, and attentive. You are treated like royalty and the rooms are big and comfortable. I would recommend this as a getaway and a must visit.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
MonarchBResort, General Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Michael D., Thank you for the incredible compliment! I look forward to having you return for many years to come. Sincerely, Ian Pullan Vice President & General Manager

San Francisco, CA
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Two nights at this resort for a conference we were trending. Nicely appointed and clean rooms and good amenities. A Blow Dry Bar own the hotel which is a great plus for the ladies. We did not realize that the Miraval Spa had opened there. Next time we will bring our workout clothes to try the classes and the different...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aluor
MonarchBResort, General Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Aluor, Thank you for your review of Monarch Beach Resort. I am pleased to hear you had an exceptional stay with us and that you had the chance to enjoy the resort during your business trip. I look forward to welcoming you back to our coastal playground in the near future. Sincerely, Ian Pullan Vice President & General Manager

1,352 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (893)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (197)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (107)
Viewed
Room/Suite (115)
Viewed
Bathroom (47)
Viewed
Dining (42)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (45)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (334)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (395)
Viewed
Amenities (34)
Viewed
Beach (12)
Viewed
Deluxe Studio Suite (38)
Viewed
Ocean View Suite (56)
Viewed
Ocean Vista Suite (71)
Viewed
Pool (25)
Viewed
Premium Resort View Queen (39)
Viewed
Resort View King (33)
Viewed
Dining (42)
Viewed
The Hotel (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
0.9 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
4.6 km away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
519 reviews
16.7 km away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 km away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
697 reviews
31.7 km away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 22 in Huntington Beach
3,072 reviews
3.0 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our AAA Five-Diamond sanctuary is sublimely located near Southern California's renowned destinations, including Catalina Island and Dana Point Harbor. Nestled hillside overlooking a private beach, discover an array of adventuresome experiences at our coveted Orange County resort. From thrilling water sports, to championship golf links, to acclaimed Miraval Life in Balance Spa, encounter lasting memories at our pristine coastal locale. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Monarch Beach Resort

Address: 1 Monarch Beach Resort, Dana Point, CA 92629-4085 (Formerly St. Regis, Monarch Beach)
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Price Range: €426 - €846 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Monarch Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Monarch Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis, Monarch Beach Hotel Dana Point
St Regis Dana Point
St Regis Resort Monarch Beach
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#3 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#4 Family Hotel in Dana Point
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Monarch Beach Resort staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Monarch Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Westernmost ground floor rooms are best with kids”
 of 5 bubbles LivinTheDream90272, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“This Hotel is Pet Friendly”
 of 5 bubbles audreymG4080HG, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Overlooking the golf course”
 of 5 bubbles TarunW_12, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the outdoor fireplace rooms. Very nice feature to sit outside and have a gas fire on your patio in the evening.”
 of 5 bubbles BMandJS, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Request Ocean view or you end up with mountain view.”
 of 5 bubbles 1948Steven, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5