We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis
Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis
Panoramas (25)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

278 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis
See the most recent reviews
Showing 274: English reviews
poway
Reviewed 6 November 2016

Welk Desert Oasis Resort From check-in to check out this was a very pleasant week! The entire staff was very friendly and helpful. the resort is near the middle of the Palm Springs Indio valley and easy access to everything and all local sightseeing. The room was a one bedroom with a kitchen, dining area and living area. All the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jergmar
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am glad to hear your family enjoyed our on-site activities and amenities during your vacation here at Welk. I appreciate the highlights and feedback from your visit with us. We take great pride in our resort. Thank you for highlighting the golf facilities.We look forward to you and your...

Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewed 1 November 2016

I have had my time share since 1975 and this is one of the best properties I have been to. The property , the staff and the ground are just amazing. Everything is great, the pools are so nice and clean, the grounds are immaculate and kept very clean.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael R
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis, responded to this review

We are happy to hear you continue to enjoy your vacations with us at Welk Resorts Desert Oasis. Thank you for your comments and feedback on your recent stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 1 November 2016

We spent time here, and it was well worth the trip! The breathtaking view of San Jacinto mountain with sunsets out of a western novel were inspiring. The staff was eager to help with any issue. We need our car, but otherwise we were centrally located.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth M
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis, responded to this review

I appreciate the feedback from your visit with us. It is great to hear you enjoyed the views and tranquility here at the Welk Resort. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to post a review. We hope you visit us again if you return to the area.

Simi Valley, California
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Older time share resort maintained in good condition. Large pool and activity room for kids. Courteous and helpful staff. Rooms have a full kitchen that is well stocked for a weekend or week stay. All rooms are 1 bedroom and have a sleeper sofa with good furniture. The Cathedral Canyon golf course close by is poor, you can do MUCH...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nickesquire
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis, responded to this review

It is great to hear your family enjoyed their visit here at Welk Resorts Desert Oasis. I appreciate you taking the time to post a review and the highlights and details provided on the resort activities, features and staff. It is wonderful to hear your family had a fantastic vacation with us. We look forward to you returning to visit...

Beaver Creek
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Poorest Wi-Fi I have ever experienced in the last 10 years. I tried to talk to the GM. I went three times. Once in the morning once mid day and once in the afternoon. he was not there any of those times and never bothered to reach out after I discussed this with the front desk agent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Randy S
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We’re certainly disappointed to read that our property didn’t meet your expectations during your stay. It is our priority to provide all of our guests with exceptional service and accommodations and we apologize that we fell short of these expectations during your vacation. We would very much like the opportunity...

Reviewed 22 October 2016

I really enjoyed my stay here...was in the newly renovated building 500's ... kitchen well equips...central location...fun activities ...the only feedback that I would give the resort was the entire week I was there the heater for the pool was broken and it was cold...for such a nice resort surprised they didn't fix it quickly!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank buffyno1
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We appreciate the feedback you provided on the resort. It is always nice to hear back from families after their vacation because their comments help us decide in what areas we need to improve service. Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope to welcome you back the...

Rutland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 October 2016

A visit in September - allow for the temperature - upto 104degF. Clean & tidy resort - good apartments with comfortable beds, large bathroom, lots of storage and hanging space for clothes. The unit had a good kitchen with most utensils needed and a lounge with balcony. 24 hour receiption was very welcoming and the was a small business center....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am happy to see your family had a great stay here at Welk resorts. I apologize you were not notified prior to your arrival of the closure of the Golf Club and restaurant. We look forward to your return visit, as well as the opportunity to create fantastic vacation...

Reviewed 23 September 2016

We stayed in unit 303, ground floor unit due to traveling with an elderly person. Although they do provide a dumb-waiter or "lift" it just seemed easier to not have to deal with stairs or the slow-moving lift. The furnishings were updated. I did sleep on the sofa bed which wasn't too bad (normally I would never opt for that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis, responded to this review

We apologize that your stay was less than perfect. We appreciate your letting us know some of the challenges you experienced during your stay. We have a very stringent pest inspection and treatment program throughout the year. Unfortunately there may still be challenges that arise on occasion. We appreciate you taking the time to post a review which gives us...

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 15 September 2016

I was fortunate to go with a friend that had this as a timeshare. We had a nice relaxing time. We utilized the large adult pool and the jacuzzi. The rooms have all the kitchen utensils you need. Comfortable seating and beds. They could use more handicapped parking as it was prime and hard to get a spot. Workers were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheresaD0906
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis, responded to this review

Thank you for staying here at the Welk Resort and taking the time to post a review. I appreciate the wonderful review and the feedback from your stay with us. I also appreciate your positive comments and your thoughts on the areas for improvement. If you return to the area please be sure to stay with us again.

Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for two weeks and used it as a base to explore the surrounding area. Our villa was beautifully furnished and the kitchen well equipped. We had a large flat screen tv in our lounge and another in the bedroom. There are good laundry facilities on site. The staff could not be more pleasant or helpful. The pool...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keith F
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis, responded to this review

It is great to hear your family enjoyed their visit here at the Welk Resorts. I appreciate you taking the time to post a review and the details provided on the resort features. It sounds like your family had an excellent vacation. Thank you for the highlights and feedback from your stay. We look forward to your return visit.

283 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (139)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (50)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (137)
Viewed
Adult Only Pool (9)
Viewed
Amenities (38)
Viewed
Main Pool (17)
Viewed
One Bedroom King Bed (42)
Viewed
The Hotel (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cathedral City
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs)
9.5 km away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
5.4 km away
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
#2 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Golf Resort Palm Springs
4.7 km away
Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa
7.8 km away
Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Welk Resort Desert Oasis boasts 350 days of sunshine a year, with an average yearly temperature of 75 degrees. With breathtaking panaramic views of the San Jacinto Mountains, the resort is located 10 minutes from Palm Springs in Cathedral City, California. Swim in a large pool or lap pool, soak up some sun, or enjoy championship golf and tennis at our adjacent Cathedral Canyon Golf and Tennis Club, including a restaurant with locally inspired cuisine. Experience luxurious vacation villa accommodations that include full kitchens, living and dining areas, and private bedrooms with king beds. Activities Center includes fitness room, billiards, air hockey, darts, and Ping-Pong tables with planned activities and classes for all age groups. An arcade is next to the Activities Center. And when you’re ready to explore, nearby Palm Springs offers plenty to see – You won’t want to miss the Aerial Tramway, The Living Desert, Indian Canyons, Knott’s Soak City, Children’s Discovery Museum and Air Museum, world-class dining and shopping, including the popular Cabazon outlet, thrilling casinos, and more. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis

Address: 34567 Cathedral Canyon Dr, Cathedral City, CA 92234-6637 (Formerly Desert Oasis Resort)
Region: United States > California > Cathedral City
Price Range: €124 - €431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Oasis Hotel Cathedral City
Desert Oasis Cathedral City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Kelowna, Canada
2 months ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were facing the golf course and loved the views. Pool views are nice though too, depending on what you prefer.”
 of 5 bubbles debbiesZ675RV, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room that faces the hills, and preferably not on the bottom floor.”
 of 5 bubbles anan685, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for golf course view”
 of 5 bubbles 77maple123, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“golf course view is best and quietest”
 of 5 bubbles gerleg12, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room overlooking the mountains and away from the parking lot as you can hear the traffic along Cathedral Canyon.”
 of 5 bubbles jminett, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5