We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad

Save
Share
1929 Palomar Oaks Way, Carlsbad, CA 92011-1307
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Traveluro
Travelocity
View all 19 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (44)
Room & Suite (28)
Dining (7)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Updated 09/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
Updated 09/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#12 of 42 in Carlsbad
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located in Sunny San Diego Carlsbad, the Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott offers guests amenities like thoughtfully designed guest rooms and suites that allow you to work and relax, free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel to stay connected during your stay, and complimentary hot breakfast to jump-start your day! Explore our beautiful city and head out for an adventure at LEGOLAND, enjoy the sun at local beaches or during a round of Golf at The Crossings, shop until you drop at the Carlsbad Premium Outlets plus much more - getting there is easy, we are minutes away. Whether you are planning a family vacation, or business trip to CAMP PENDLETON, NORTEK LINEAR, VIASAT, THERMO FISHER, COVIDIEN-MEDTRONIC, INTEGRA SPINE, DJO, or other local corporations in Carlsbad, Vista, and San Marcos, you'll always find the courteous service you deserve, plus all the little things you expect from Fairfield Inn & Suites to help you get it done when you travel.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Boating
Kids stay free
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Hiking
Horseback riding
Snorkelling
Tennis court
Bowling offsite
Tennis court offsite
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Cable / satellite TV
Hair dryer
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
345Reviews11Q+A58Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 209
  • 92
  • 20
  • 11
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
ILmomofthree wrote a review 5 May
Tinley Park, Illinois13 contributions17 helpful votes
The only issue I had was with the noise from the room above us. It seems as though their ceilings are very thin. Every time someone above us made a move, I thought they would fall through the ceiling. The hotel is near Legoland and the Flower Fields. If you visit in the spring, you must visit The Flower Fields. Overall a nice hotel, but I wish it had a hot tub.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Glick, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, ILmomofthree! We are very sorry to hear that the noise above you was disruptive during your stay. We hope you can give us another chance in the future! Thank you again for sharing your experience so that we can continue to improve our service and provide the value you expect and deserve.
Read more
Billy K wrote a review Apr 2022
Los Angeles, California6 contributions2 helpful votes
Stayed here for a Legoland trip. Found some ants in the first room, got switched to a king suite for the inconvenience but the sofa bed mattress was super thin and ridiculously springy, had to get switched again. Front desk person who helped me was very nice and accommodating. Unfortunately the hotel is just okay, it might be great value for some who are looking to save on hotel costs but personally wouldn't stay there next time.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Glick, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
Responded 11 Apr 2022
Dear BillyK9999, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to share your experience about the Fairfield Carlsbad. I am sorry to find out that there were ants in your room, and that the sofa bed was uncomfortable. Since you let us know about the ants we have had our certified pest control company treat the room, to ensure that they will not be back. I am sorry to find out that you didnt enjoy your stay, but I hope whenever your travels bring you back to Carlsbad that you will give our hotel another opportunity.
Read more
Duffyruns wrote a review Apr 2022
Santa Clarita, California69 contributions52 helpful votes
Home was in a location really close to LEGOLAND and was much cheaper than staying at LEGOLAND. The hotel is also not far from the beach and is near shopping and restaurants. The hotel was clean and quiet. The staff was friendly and accommodating.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Glick, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you so much, Duffyruns for sharing that you enjoyed your stay! It really helps us reinforce the work that our staff is doing to know that our guests were pleased with their stay. We appreciate you and we hope to host you again in the future!
Read more
art b wrote a review Mar 2022
2 contributions
Good location to legoland would stay again. The breakfast was decent and the staff was pleasant. We stayed there for 2 nights and we were very comfy. Kids enjoyed the pool also pretty close to shopping centers.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Glick, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you so much for your positive feedback, arthurb439! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate you for taking the time to let us know that we are meeting your expectations and we would like to thank you for being our guest. We hope you come back to visit us again next time you're in Carlsbad!
Read more
Ralph F wrote a review Mar 2022
Long Beach, California22 contributions28 helpful votes
The property is decent, around 10 minutes from Legoland and the rooms are ok as well. But the morning breakfast is quite bad. I am a Titanium Elite guest. I stay at Marriott a lot. This was the worst breakfast I’ve ever had. The plates were so cheap they were breaking with any weight. Breakfast was scrambled eggs and sausage and bagels and muffins. The coffee tasted horrible. And the hot water came out of a coffee thermos so it had coffee dregs in it or a coffee color to the water.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Glick, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
Responded 15 Mar 2022
Dear 546ralphf Thank you for taking the time out of your day to fill out your review about the Fairfield. I am sorry to find out that you did not enjoy the breakfast. We are working with our vendors to ensure that we get the correct items for our breakfast, and I do again apologize that you did not like what we had to offer. I hope whenever your travels bring you back to Carlsbad that you will give our hotel another opportunity. Warm Regards,
Read more
Carolyn R wrote a review Mar 2022
Edmonds, Washington155 contributions81 helpful votes
Stayed here after a long day at Legoland. Very convenient to the park - about five miles away. Rooms were clean, beds were comfy. Complimentary breakfast in the morning - lots of options. Free parking. Close to several restaurants, stores etc. Staff very friendly. Would totally stay here again -- just an awesome spot for families on vacation in Carlsbad area.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Glick, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you so much for this positive feedback! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate you taking the time to let us know that we met your high expectations. We will definitely be posting this for all of the staff to see. We hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Francisco M wrote a review Feb 2022
Salinas, California2 contributions
They allowed guest to be loud in the lobby until 1am. I called 4 times and they said they are being lenient. I asked to have the manager call me and they never did. Thry reimbursed me 30 dollars but that is not enough and to make it worse After leaving the next day we felt a little under the weather. We ended up getting covid here.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Glick, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
Responded 24 Feb 2022
Dear franciscomata0423, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. In your comments, you mentioned that your stay was interrupted by a loud disturbance caused by guests being loud in the lobby until 1am. I will reinforce our quiet hour protocols with my staff, and I am sorry that guests were loud after 10pm. My hope is that all our guests experience a relaxing and peaceful stay, and I am very sorry that this wasn’t your experience. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest, and I hope you give us an opportunity in hosting you again, whenever your travels bring you back to the area. I am sorry that our front desk supervisors compensation of $30 off of your stay was not as much credit as you were hoping for. I am sorry to find out that you ended up getting sick at our property. This is the first I have heard of any guests getting sick at our hotel, and I hope you and your family have a speedy recovery. Sincerely,
Read more
amazinglife21 wrote a review Jan 2022
Washington DC, District of Columbia46 contributions16 helpful votes
We stayed at this location for 2 days. The location is nice but although I made and paid for my reservation on Marriott Bonvoy app, the attendant Pahme, charged my card a 2nd time the full amount plus an upcharge 42.00 for incidentals. As a result, I paid 268.00 on the Bonvoy app and then was charged an ADDITIONAL 310.00 upon arrival We drove across country and this was the 4th Marriott we stayed at during our trip, no other location did this. I called Marriott rewards line and was told by a rep named Priya that this was just something I will have to wait to fall off 3 to 5 business days! She told me there was no one else I could speak to, she was the only supervisor and no matter if I called back, Marriott would tell me the same. No apology, no empathy, no adjustment, just too bad. Be weary of double charges to your account.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Glick, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
Responded 20 Jan 2022
Dear amazinglife21, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to share your experience about the Fairfield. I am sorry to find out that you experienced billing issues at our property. Whenever you get a moment can you please call the hotel at 7605790155 so I can learn more details about your situation. Based on your details it appears that you talked to someone from central Marriott and not someone on property. I would love to further investigate the billing discrepancy, so I can ensure that there are no extra charges. I hope whenever your travels bring you back to the Carlsbad area that you will give our hotel another opportunity.
Read more
sherryanne1 wrote a review Nov 2021
Columbia, South Carolina58 contributions1 helpful vote
Hotel meets the Fairfield Inns & Suites standards however I encountered an issue when I plugged in my Roku. Apparently no one had access to the TV remote to adjust the volume. Front desk staff stated they only had hotel remote to use on the tv. Unable to watch local CBS and other channels on the tv due to a Dish dispute. Very disappointed in staff as they harrassed me because the tv was loud. Called my room several times eventhough they knew the issues. So unprofessional and not at all like my previous Fairfield hotel experiences. Front desk staff asked me to call their contractor who trouble shoots their tv issues. The contractor told me this is a regular issue at this site. Maintenance personnel were not available according to front desk personnel. For the price, I expected better service. Didn't even get housekeeping during my stay. I was also promised some loyalty points that have yet to show up in my account.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Glick, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
Responded 23 Nov 2021
Dear sherryanne1, I am sorry to find out that you had troubles connecting your Roku device to our TV which caused your stay to be unsatisfactory. I will make sure to share your feedback with our staff so we can be better prepared on connectivity issues in the future. I am sorry that our technical support team was unable to assist and that you were unable to watch. I hope whenever your travels bring you back to the Carlsbad area that you will give our hotel another opportunity. Warm Regards,
Read more
Linda G wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Before I flew to California, I knew I would be staying in Carlsbad for several weeks and wouldn’t be able to afford the resort or hotel I normally stay at. I found the best rates and reviews for this Fairfield Inn and knew the location was convenient for getting on and off I-5 as well as close proximity to Costco or Legoland if you have children. I ended up spending over 3 weeks in Carlsbad while my good friend was hospitalized w/ a serious illness. I found the hotel clean and liked the roomy shower instead of a tub/shower combination. The lobby & breakfast area was spacious. Michael the manager and his outstanding front desk staff and Payman who set up the weekday breakfast were friendly and helpful from the moment I checked in. They were like family by the time I left! I travel 9 months a year and have never seen a manager more visible than Michael or a front desk staff as competent & caring as Tim, Jennah and Tiffany. They were the bright spot in each day for me. The housekeepers were always willing to exchange fresh towels when they were near my room. I highly recommend this property for a vacation, business or personal stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$156 - US$265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaCarlsbad
NUMBER OF ROOMS
100
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
Which popular attractions are close to Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad?
Nearby attractions include Craftsmanship Museum (5.0 km), Moonlight State Beach (7.9 km), and Museum of Making Music (2.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad?
Conveniently located restaurants include GelatoLove, PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar, and The Naked Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Leo Carrillo Ranch Historic Park (5.0 km) and St. Michael's by-the-Sea Episcopal Church (7.4 km).