We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
5480 Grand Pacific Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Expedia.com
US$380
View deal
Travelocity
US$380
View deal
Destinia.com
US$303
View deal
Booking.comUS$379
Agoda.comUS$379
EtripUS$387
View all 18 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (71)
Room & Suite (59)
Dining (10)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Updated 10/01/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Westin Carlsbad Resort & Spa
Updated 10/01/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#34 of 42 in Carlsbad
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Enjoy California dreaming at The Westin Carlsbad Resort & Spa. Make memories with a California getaway your family won't forget. Our Carlsbad CA resort features suites with coastal views, and endless hotel activities with something for everyone.
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Shuttle bus service
Paid private parking on-site
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Vending machine
Golf course
Waterslide
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
Steam room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Family
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
150Reviews14Q+A20Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 75
  • 23
  • 23
  • 15
  • 14
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
G N wrote a review 25 May
1 contribution
I regretted no reading the recent reviews here before booking my stay at Westin Carlsbad. The customer service is non-existent here. The front desk staff was rude, and the manager do nothing about it. Should’ve stick with Park Hyatt. The regular room there is faaaar better than the suite in Westin.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Take pictures, record conversation with front desk. They can be very rude.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at The Westin Carlsbad Resort & Spa
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Guest, We are sorry to hear about your experience with the front desk. Please know we deeply apologize, and we will inform management. Please also know if there is anything we can do to please contact us at info@sheratoncarlsbad.com. Again, we are very sorry, and we do hope you return so we can give your the quality of service you deserve. Kind Regards, The Westin Carlsbad Resort & Spa Management
Read more
Oliana L wrote a review 21 May
1 contribution
We spent $1300 for 2 nights in this hotel and this was a stay worth $400 at best. At about 5pm I called the hotel to let them know we would arrive late at night and I would need a crib in our room as my kids will be sleeping, when arriving the person answering the phone let me know that there was no problem and the crib will be ready, we arrived at 11pm and of course no crib in the room, I called reception to let them know there is no crib and they told me « housekeeping already left, do you really need it today », unfortunately yes I did really need it as they saw me arrive with a baby and I gave a call to know if I should bring my own crib just in case and they told me not to worry one would be there .. a very nice security guard about 30/40 minutes later. I have to specify that we paid extra for a premium room with coastline view, the only view we had was of the very not kept up little hill and the building roof covered in turf, I would have gotten a better view staying in a normal room and saving money as well. Not only was the view subpar as best, but my family (with 2 smaller children) were put in a room on the same floor as the wedding reception floor. We had loud music the entire night, which we did mind for the price we were paying, one could expect better insulation or to no be placed in a room so close to the wedding reception room. BUT at around 10:30pm after the whole family is asleep we get woken by EXTREMELY loud noise as the only way out of this wedding reception is the elevator that is by our room, which really is not the wedding reception’s fault but the least the hotel could do is to let us know in advance there is a wedding going on and apologize if you and your 2 kids randomly gets woken up at 10:30pm by 100 drunk people leaving a party. When I called the front desk I got greeted by the ABSOLUTELY RUDEST man, I let him know how surprised and disappointed I was and I would have appreciated a heads up when we were checking in, I kept cool and nice, he did not keep cool and nice and his answer was “well ma’am unfortunately wedding happen”, and I 100% agree but please if you expect your customer to pay $1300 for 2 nights they better not get woken up in the middle of their sleep and if they do the least you could do is apologize for it. I would recommend this place to absolutely NO one, please do yourself and your wallet a favor and go to another hotel that actually respects their customers. And if you do not have a choice then to stay here do yourself a favor and not pay for the premium room as you won’t get premium service or premium view.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at The Westin Carlsbad Resort & Spa
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Oliana, Please know how sorry we are to hear about this experience. Please also know that management has been notified, and we will take action to make sure this does not happen again. We are deeply sorry to hear that your stay was interrupted by loud noises at 10:30pm, we take that very seriously. Please also know that if there is anything else we can help with please email info@sheratoncarlsbad.com. Once again, we are very sorry and we do hope you come back to regain your trust and give you the quality of service we are known for. Sincere Regards, The Westin Carlsbad Resort & Spa Management
Read more
Sabine K wrote a review 19 May
Schallstadt, Germany2 contributions
Extremely incompetent and inflexible stuff at the reception. We wanted to change the credit card for invoicing. We couldn’t do it at the desk, we had to call the invoicing department. Stuff cannot make any decision without frequently asking their managers.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Arriving tired after a long trip
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at The Westin Carlsbad Resort & Spa
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our Carlsbad hotel. We are sorry this happened to you. Please know our staff is doing everything to make each guests stay as easy and enjoyable as possible, and we apologize that this was not the case for you. Please let us know if there is anything we can do by reaching out to us at info@sheratoncarlsbad.com. Again, please accept my sincere apologies for your experience, and we hope you come back soon so we can provide you with the quality of service you deserve. Sincere Regards, The Westin Carlsbad Resort & Spa Management
Read more
DanaAndHim wrote a review 9 May
Old Greenwich, Connecticut51 contributions58 helpful votes
Still okay but not as good as usual. In the first few minutes upon entering room, I called concierge to fix a broken item in room and this never happened during our 3 day stay. Lots of guests made noise in halls and I didn't feel as safe for some reason. I will give this one more try because of past experience but that's about it. It's difficult to find a nice hotel in Carlsbad in my opinion that's under $650 and we've tried several. I never liked having to go through gates to go from hotel room to lobby or pool area. Beds are very comfortable and clean and room was very clean.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at The Westin Carlsbad Resort & Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Dana, Thank You for the detailed feedback about your stay at The Westin Carlsbad Resort & Spa and for being our loyal guest. Thank you also for appreciating our clean room and comfortable bed. Please allow me to apologize for the broken item found in your room and the disturbance you had due to the noise. It is disappointing to know that we were not able to provide you with the hospitality that we are known for. I hope you will give us another chance to serve you much better in the future. Kind Regards, The Westin Carlsbad Resort & Spa Management P.S. Don't forget to book your next stay directly on westincarlsbad.com, where you will get exciting offers and great discounts!
Read more
Mel T wrote a review 4 May
Cupertino, California69 contributions67 helpful votes
Booked at the Westin for a conference. It was $500 a night. I checked in online in advance and never got a notice. Finally waited in line at the desk. After 20 minutes they said they had no rooms and rebooked me at the Sheraton. The room at the Sheraton was an absolute dump- moldy bathroom floors, peeling wall paper, lumpy bed with linens that looked like they had been around since 1995. So if you are thinking of staying at either of these places for a conference, don’t.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at The Westin Carlsbad Resort & Spa
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, We are very sorry to hear about your experience. Please know that we have brought these concerns to management to fix. We will make sure your experience is not repeated. Thanks, The Westin Carlsbad Resort & Spa Management
Read more
lucycan wrote a review Apr 2022
Minneapolis, MN2949 contributions1464 helpful votes
I stayed 3 night this week. First time at this property. It is an absolutely gorgeous setting and location. My room had sweeping ocean views. The property itself is large and very well maintained. Great areas for families around the pool and firepits. Valet was great as were the bar staff in the main restaurant. Room was huge (suite) with a massive patio overlooking the ocean and another patio looking at the pool area. Bathroom was large and functional. Bed was very comfortable. Plenty of space. All in all a nearly perfect stay and I can't wait to return!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: 4th floor Grand View building has amazing views
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at The Westin Carlsbad Resort & Spa
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi there, Wow!!! Thank you so much for writing us a PERFECT SCORE REVIEW!!! It feels great to know that you had a wonderful stay with us. I am glad to learn that you loved our gorgeous location and sweeping ocean views. Thank you for also appreciating the services by our staff as well as the room. It makes our day to read that we were able to provide you a perfect stay. We cannot wait to host you again when your travels bring you back to Carlsbad. Best Regards, The Westin Carlsbad Resort & Spa Management PS: Book your stay directly on our official website westincarlsbad.com instead of online travel agents and get excellent deals and discounts!
Read more
kmwillson777 wrote a review Apr 2022
Peoria, Arizona2 contributions2 helpful votes
We are currently staying here at the Westin and we have no air conditioning! Today was 90 degrees in Carlsbad. We spoke with the front desk at 8pm and told them, and was told someone from engineering would come fix it. Waited an hour and no one showed so much husband walked down to the front desk and spoke with a gentleman who said again that he would send someone right up. Waited another hour and again, no one came. Called back down at 10 pm and the front desk girl said she knew nothing about it! Apparently no one communicates at the front. Jennifer at the front called engineering and then called us back at 10:15 pm, to tell us the AC is broke, and needs freon, and they wouldn't be able to fix it tonight! They did offer to move us to another room but it’s now 10:20pm now and our small children have already fallen asleep. They should have offered that at 8pm when we called them in the first place. It’s hot, we have no AC and no one at the front desk seems to communicate well. We stay with Marriott all the time, but this is not off to a great start.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at The Westin Carlsbad Resort & Spa
Responded 12 Apr 2022
Hello, We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. Please know we are sorry to hear about the inconvenience, and we will let our engineering department know about the situation right away so it does not happen again. We sincerely value our guests and want them to be as comfortable as possible, and we are deeply sorry your stay was not the five-star resort we value it to be. Thank you again for all your feedback and please feel free to contact us at (760) 827-2800 if you have any more questions or concerns. Sincerely, The Westin Carlsbad Resort & Spa Management
Read more
4np4 wrote a review Feb 2022
San Francisco, California5 contributions12 helpful votes
We just stayed at the Westin and it was wonderful! The whole family had a wonderful time. The staff was so friendly and helpful. Hunter at the front desk and Michael at the 20Twenty restaurant (breakfast) were two staff members who stood out for us. We had a very large suite which was a nice treat. The view was great because we could see the sunset every night. The hotel was a quick walk to Legoland which was very convenient for us. Not only would I recommend this hotel, I also can’t wait to come back and visit!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Due to Covid, housekeeping came every other day.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at The Westin Carlsbad Resort & Spa
Responded 4 Mar 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for giving The Westin Carlsbad Resort a PERFECT SCORE RATING. We are delighted that you and your family had such a pleasant and relaxing stay with us! Thank you for complimenting our staff and their services, especially Hunter and Michael. It's an honor that you appreciated the view from our suite room and made so many memories. Thank you for also mentioning our fantastic location. We would be delighted to host you again on your next visit to the surrounding areas. Once again, thank you for choosing to stay with us and recommending us. Regards, The Westin Carlsbad Resort & Spa Management
Read more
Richard O wrote a review Jan 2022
Cockeysville Hunt Valley, Maryland59 contributions53 helpful votes
I visited here on a business trip. The hotel is steps from Legoland but also central for many nearby businesses. An open airy feel pervades with a very nice outdoor heated pool and hot tub. The room (you walk outside to get to these) was ample, clean and well appointed with a somewhat tiny balcony. Staff were accommodating and the restaurant, though a bit pricey, had an assortment of good food. There are also several restaurants nearby accessible by hotel shuttle. Overall a pleasant stay. I’ll stay again in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at The Westin Carlsbad Resort & Spa
Responded 31 Jan 2022
Dear Richard, Thank you so much for the 5-star rating and detailed feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed our open-air feel, heated pool, hot tub, and clean room during your business trip. It's also great to know that you found our location convenient to many central businesses and LEGOLAND. Lastly, thanks for the positive comments regarding our accommodating staff and nearby restaurants. We would love to host you again on your next visit to Carlsbad. Once again, thanks for choosing to stay with us at The Westin Carlsbad Resort & Spa. Your recommendations are highly appreciated. Take care, and stay safe! Regards, The Westin Carlsbad Resort & Spa Management P.S. For the lowest rates, we recommend booking your stay directly on our official website WestinCarlsbad.com.
Read more
mike k wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution
Staff was excellent, special shout out to Hunter at the front desk and all the Managers and Sheraton Manager Dolores! They all assisted in a difficult situation when we left some items behind and helped us track it down. So professional and courteous. Hotel was super clean and refreshing. Thank you so much!!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at The Westin Carlsbad Resort & Spa
Responded 28 Jan 2022
Dear Mike, Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, thank you so much for appreciating our efforts. I will share your feedback with our front desk staff to let them know how much of an impact they made on your stay. We keep our hotel clean so that our guests can feel comfortable and relaxed while they're staying here. We would love to host you again on your next visit to Carlsbad. Once again, thanks for choosing to stay with us at The Westin and for all of your kind words. Your recommendations are greatly appreciated. Take care, and stay safe! Regards, The Westin Carlsbad Resort & Spa Management P.S. For the lowest rates, we recommend booking your stay directly on our official website TheWestinCarlsbad.coms.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$322 - US$542 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaCarlsbad
NUMBER OF ROOMS
208
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Westin Carlsbad Resort & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to The Westin Carlsbad Resort & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Museum of Making Music (0.8 km), Carlsbad Premium Outlets (1.2 km), and Sea Life Aquarium (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Westin Carlsbad Resort & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Westin Carlsbad Resort & Spa?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Westin Carlsbad Resort & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Westin Carlsbad Resort & Spa?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Westin Carlsbad Resort & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Karl Strauss Brewing Company, Bricks Family Restaurant, and 20|Twenty.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Westin Carlsbad Resort & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does The Westin Carlsbad Resort & Spa have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Westin Carlsbad Resort & Spa offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Westin Carlsbad Resort & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Westin Carlsbad Resort & Spa?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Westin Carlsbad Resort & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.