We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Blue River Resort & Hot Springs

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

908 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
See the most recent reviews
Showing 715: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed for two nights with our two girls ages 10&13. We had a lot of rain showers, but that did not deter from the fun. The butterfly garden was beautiful with many Mariposa butterflies. The botanical garden contained humming birds, koi fish, and gorgeous fauna. The girls delighted in the hot springs and the mud bath- even in the rain....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Blue River R, Owner at Blue River Resort & Hot Springs, responded to this review

Hola! We greatly appreciate your review and are thrilled to learn you had a wonderful time. Kids love it here, as you point out. Sometimes the weather dictates whether the tour can go ahead, but its rare. Our Eco-adventures are a great way to experience Costa Rica. We hope you return to our paradise on earth soon! Again, thank you....

Manassas, Virginia, United States
Reviewed 26 August 2016

If you don't want to read the whole review, the short story is that this place is a must go, if only for a few days! This place had a few minor Kinks, but i highly recommend it. I'm not sure there is another place in Costa Rica quite like this. Before I booked the trip, all communication was clear...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rose P
Blue River R, Owner at Blue River Resort & Hot Springs, responded to this review

Hola! Thank you for your kind and detailed review. Indeed, we take pride in abundance of extra-ordinary nature found here and how its harnessed responsibly to entertain our clients. We are discussing, in detail, your points for improvement. Again, with sincere appreciation. Yours truly, Kevin

San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewed 25 August 2016

Main thoughts up front: call them before you come and verify your reservation, rate and any excursions you believe you've booked. If possible, stop along the way and lay in a supply of snacks you can munch on to avoid paying the high prices at the restaurant for every meal (there's a mini-super across from the soccer field in the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank coobert
Blue River R, Owner at Blue River Resort & Hot Springs, responded to this review

Hola! And thank you for your review. We are extremely happy to learn you had a great time. However, I also sincerely apologize for our mistakes and for the unfortunate check-in that you witnessed. I was not there and cannot comment about it at this time. However, we are getting together to discuss it, as that is unacceptable. Again, with...

Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

This is not your big name luxury resort but it is authentic and amazing. I went on a trip with my adult daughter and had so much fun relaxing in the hot springs, eating great food, and enjoying all of the many exciting tours! The cabins are quaint and comfortable. There are many tours to pick from and they all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank faithtadra t
Blue River R, Owner at Blue River Resort & Hot Springs, responded to this review

Hola! The staff and ownership, greatly appreciate receiving your review. Here, the natural amenities have been harnessed to the benefit of our customers in an environmentally responsible manner and our services are offered with great pride. Again, thank you. See you soon. Yours truly, Kevin

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 13 August 2016

All the staff at the resort along with the amenities and the service were purely beyond my expectation. The resort was full of exotic trees and animals that we saw every day as we soaked in the 5 different temperature natural hot tubs and slid down the water slide. After which we would casually wander into the cantina for an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeffkaemm
Blue River R, Owner at Blue River Resort & Hot Springs, responded to this review

Hola! Thank you for this kind review. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed our "Paradise on Earth". I did not quite understand the paragraph concerning seeing more of the surrounding area. Several tours are offered, that require a minimum of 4 participants, so permit me to clarify. On our, website, look under "Guest Tours". These longer duration excursions...

Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

Another great visit. Gardens, humming birds, butterflies, hot mineral pools wonderful As always. New Dino park is really well done. My 6 year old grandson had a ball there. Also on the water slide, and the horseback tour to The waterfalls. Been there 4 or 5 times now. Ready to go again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Willkaki
Blue River R, Owner at Blue River Resort & Hot Springs, responded to this review

Hola! Thank you for your kind review and for your return visits. All the staff and management read reviews and ones like this re-energizes our work. Again, with sincere appreciation and gratitude. Yours truly, Kevin

Olympia, Washington
Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

I booked Blue River based on the positive reviews from my fellow Trip Advisor folks, and I was not disappointed. As other reviews stated, the ride from the Liberia Airport is not for the faint of heart, but the shuttle driver was skilled and wonderful. The cabanas are beautiful and spotless! I could go on and on about how beautiful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank almawilliams
Blue River R, Owner at Blue River Resort & Hot Springs, responded to this review

Hola! Thank you for your kind words. Everyone here, both staff and management, reads and are revitalized by such reviews. In response to the comments about that section of dirt road, please permit me to repeat that the road is being repaired as I write this. We look very forward to your return visit! Yours truly, Kevin

Key West, Florida
Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

My family has been vacationing in Tamarindo area, but decided to make an overnight trip to Blue River Resort to have a change of pace and change of scenery. It's not far from Liberia, but the last 20km leading to resort are bumpy dirt road, and some areas are thick mud if it's been raining 4x4 is definitely helpful. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank elliong123
Blue River R, Owner at Blue River Resort & Hot Springs, responded to this review

Hola – Such an experience in our restaurant is not acceptable. I am very sorry and we are looking into that and your other comments – TV, fridge and sauna. Again – my apologies. Yours truly, Kevin

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Volcanic mud body/hot springs were a new experience - nice. Beautiful vegetation, butterflies, humming birds. 3 days is plenty - booked for to long. Take mosquito spray - lots. Only restaurant nearby.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank susyqno
Blue River R, Owner at Blue River Resort & Hot Springs, responded to this review

Hola from Blue River Resort! Thanks for staying with us. A couple of comments, if I may: 1. Bring mosquito spray: Yes, we agree, especially those who seem to attract bites. Most people do not use it around the activity areas like the pools, Tiki Bar, rooms and spa. But in places like the botanical gardens, butterfly gardens and when...

Reviewed 26 July 2016

The location is breathtaking, the accommodation is high standard, the food is very nice and it is all delivered with great service. A week here will leave you feeling new and ready to take on the world. You can fill your days with activities or just relax and enjoy the peace of the rainforest. Somewhere that stays with you and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul G
Blue River R, Owner at Blue River Resort & Hot Springs, responded to this review

Hola Paul! Special thanks for your kind words. All reviews are shared with the staff and an extra desire to do more results when our efforts are acknowledged. We hope you return soon. Again, with appreciation. Yours truly, Kevin

1,042 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (808)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (71)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (228)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (74)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (34)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (5)
Viewed
Other (341)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (182)
Viewed
Amenities (47)
Viewed
Double Room (47)
Viewed
Hot Spring Pools (12)
Viewed
Pool (8)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)
Viewed
Waterslide Pool (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon de La Vieja
17.5 km away
Hacienda Guachipelin
Hacienda Guachipelin
#3 of 6 in Rincon de La Vieja
1,156 reviews
28.5 km away
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
#4 of 6 in Rincon de La Vieja
236 reviews
39.0 km away
Celeste Mountain Lodge
Celeste Mountain Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.3 km away
Tenorio Lodge
Tenorio Lodge
#3 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
277 reviews
13.6 km away
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
#1 of 6 in Rincon de La Vieja
684 reviews
37.2 km away
Rio Perdido
Rio Perdido
#1 of 1 in Bagaces
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Blue River Resort and Hot Springs is an authentic Costa Rica experience in the rainforests of Rincon de la Vieja. Our jewel is the spectacular natural mineral "green" hot spring pools – but that’s just the beginning. There is a large fresh water pool & bullet slide, the spa, botanical gardens, butterfly farm, iguana and frog pond and much more. Set out on several authentic eco Costa Rica adventure tours, all nearby. Eco-tours include visits to gorgeous blue volcanic rivers and waterfalls by horseback, nature walks, volcano hike, zip-lining across waterfalls and much more. The breadth of eco-nature tours will amaze you. Blue River Resort & Hot Springs offers luxury accommodation in new, spacious 720 square foot cabanas. Book your dream Costa Rica vacation! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Blue River Resort & Hot Springs

Address: | 600 m West of la Puente and Rio Azul, Rincon de La Vieja 21306, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Rincon de La Vieja
Price Range: €73 - €188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue River Resort & Hot Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Blue River Resort & Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs Hotel Rincon De La Vieja
Blue River Resort And Hot Springs
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Blue River Resort & Hot Springs staff and other travellers.
34 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (34)

Questions? Get answers from Blue River Resort & Hot Springs staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The cabin rooms were large with just the right amount of amenities.”
 of 5 bubbles 799genevag, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Some cabins are individual and others are a duplex style. Individual cabins will be quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles RelentlessAdventurer, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The wheelchair accessible room was very good. It was close to the restaurant and the pools. There was paving everywhere we went.”
 of 5 bubbles Gummy65, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All cabins are very nice and modern, cant say one is better than another.”
 of 5 bubbles 86andreg, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The resort is less busy on weekdays and you'll have a very personalized experience with staff and excursions when there are less people!”
 of 5 bubbles maisunshine55, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay