We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Oceanpoint Ranch

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Oceanpoint Ranch
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

55 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Oceanpoint Ranch
See the most recent reviews
Showing 48: English reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2016

If you're looking for a little nostalgia, and want to experience what it was like to stop at a motel in the 60's-70's, then this is the place. It's campy and dated, and most likely nothing has been updated since it opened...but it's pretty close to Hearst Castle, and better than some of the dumpy motels nearby. If you like...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ryan M
Benjamin T, General Manager at Oceanpoint Ranch, responded to this review

Dear Ryan M, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback regarding your recent stay. We would first like to extend our apologies that the room you were given was dated and not up to par; it had been a long while since our rooms were updated. I am pleased to tell you that we are...

Fremont, California
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Underwhelmed is the feeling that stands out when I reflect on my stay at the San Simeon Pines Resort. The impression that first struck me was that the 'retro chic' appearance of the rooms in website photos does not reflect the rooms, or at least, the room we stayed in (54). Our room did not have the pretty wooden ceilings...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Nelginy
Benjamin T, General Manager at Oceanpoint Ranch, responded to this review

Dear Nelginy, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback regarding your experience at the San Simeon Pines. We strive to deliver value to each and every one of our guests and are so sorry for the frustration you must have felt. I am pleased to say that our first phase of completely renovated rooms are...

Burbank,Ca.
Reviewed 13 September 2016

After reading the reviews on tripadvisor which compared the San Simeon Pines to "The Bates Motel" and recommended it's need for an immediate update, I will admit that I was more than reluctant to stay at this outdated hotel which my sister-in- law had reserved for a family vacation in July. I spent nearly 20 minutes attempting to persuade her...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank trvlbugBurbank_Ca_
Benjamin T, General Manager at Oceanpoint Ranch, responded to this review

Dear trvlbugBurbank_Ca_, We would like to thank you for your kind and entertaining words! Although we have retained our retro charm, our rooms have now been updated so that you can have both luxury and good ol' fashioned family fun! We have also painted the exterior of our buildings a lovely grey and white contrast to bring out the beautiful...

Reviewed 7 September 2016

The motel is a take back to the 1950's. Quaint and in a good location. A little bit quiet because it's on the far end of Moonstone Beach Dr. but everything is in walking distance. The hotel is going through major renovation and it appears that its' keeping it's nostalgic charm with upgrades. Until then, be prepared for service trucks...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Patty D
Benjamin T, General Manager at Oceanpoint Ranch, responded to this review

Dear Patty D, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your thoughts on your previous visit! We are so sorry that the construction was unpleasant for you and understand that it can put a damper on an otherwise lovely stay. We would love to welcome you back soon to a completely revamped room - without any distraction! Warm...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 24 August 2016

I stayed at this hotel for two days over a weekend, and while there was nothing particularly wrong with it, it didn't seem worth the price of $255/night. This is an older, slightly quant hotel, though the rooms have been updated. The small pool was closed for remodeling, and they lacked a hot tub. They describe several of their rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ardi_DJ
Benjamin T, General Manager at Oceanpoint Ranch, responded to this review

Dear Ardi_DJ, Thank you for taking the time to leave us valuable feedback! Please accept our sincerest apologies that we did not deliver the value that you and all our guests deserve. We understand how frustrating it can be to spend your hard earned money and leave dissatisfied. Your input is very important to us as we are always looking...

Oak Park, California
Reviewed 17 August 2016

Stayed here for two nights in August. This is a great motor inn from the 50's. Nice quiet rooms, shuffleboard, croquet, 50-yard golf... and right across the street from the ocean (but not much of a view of the water). Only other things worth mentioning is that the rooms need updating (but it seems this is in progress), there is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveller550
Benjamin T, General Manager at Oceanpoint Ranch, responded to this review

Dear WorldTraveller550, All of us here at San Simeon Pines would like to thank you for your kind words about our unique property! We would also like to extend our apologies that breakfast left you unsatisfied. Along with updates to our guestrooms, we are also working on expanding our breakfast items, so please stay tuned! When we see you next,...

Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

Excellent helpful staff. Rooms clean and tidy. Access to beach with fantastic views of the Pacific beach. Just off the Pacific Coast Highway. Beds are very soft and cosy. Wifi was not working but was informed they are working on it. Ashley at reception was very helpful with advise on restaurants and places to eat.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anish S
Benjamin T, General Manager at Oceanpoint Ranch, responded to this review

Dear Anish S, We would like to thank you for taking the time to review our property and compliment our staff! Ashley and the rest of our family here at San Simeon Pines are passionate about creating the best possible experience from start to finish and we are so happy to hear of another happy customer. Until next time, safe...

Tustin, California
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

We have been using San Simeon Pines as our primary family and couples get-a-way on the Central Coast for three decades. It has filled the bill for romantic long weekends and family reunions. If in "couples" mode we would always stay in the wing by the little golf course, usually opting for a room with a garden patio. We read...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
Benjamin T, General Manager at Oceanpoint Ranch, responded to this review

Dear Mike S, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on such a major transition. We are very sorry that you did not have the special experience that you have had for over thirty years and would love for the opportunity to make it up to you. We can understand how disappointing it must be to pay...

Fresno, California
Reviewed 31 July 2016

No internet unless you stayed in the lobby. The furnishings are from the early 1970's but they are undergoing a renovation. The room was clean. The bed was average. No check in until 3 - there was a line of people waiting beginning at about 2PM - you would think they could have at least one room ready but it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank groupcookie
Benjamin T, General Manager at Oceanpoint Ranch, responded to this review

Dear groupcookie, Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with such valuable feedback! First of all, we would like to apologize for not wowing you during your stay! As an older hotel in transition, we can understand that it can be disappointing to have to deal with the bumps in the road. I have spoken with...

Western Australia, Australia
Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

We didn't get to spend much time here as we had to check in late after a long day of driving and leave early after breakfast the next day. We found it to be very cosy and comfortable. We were upgraded to a cottage room for free due to renovations.I enjoyed the fireplace as it can get cold at night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lelomufo
Benjamin T, General Manager at Oceanpoint Ranch, responded to this review

Dear lelomufo, From all of us here at the San Simeon Pines, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your experience with us! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your night in one of our lovely cottages! Thank you for bringing to our attention the fact that you were not warned of...

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.6 km away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
1.0 km away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#5 of 12 in Cambria
1,570 reviews
1.2 km away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#6 of 12 in Cambria
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
El Colibri Hotel and Spa
El Colibri Hotel and Spa
#10 of 12 in Cambria
119 reviews
0.9 km away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
4.5 km away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
2,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At San Simeon Pines Seaside Resort our spacious grounds and outdoor activities set us apart from the other inns on Moonstone Beach Drive. We are the only motel in Cambria with private beach access and room for the kids to play. Enjoy shuffleboard and croquet on our lawn, or take a swim in our solar-heated outdoor pool. Take advantage of our complimentary Continental Breakfast daily as well as cookies, tea and coffee in the afternoon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oceanpoint Ranch

Address: 7200 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1824
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Price Range: €111 - €277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oceanpoint Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Oceanpoint Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Simeon Pines Hotel Cambria
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Oceanpoint Ranch staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Laguna Beach, California
2 months ago
Goleta, California
2 months ago
6 months ago
Modesto, United States
7 months ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Oceanpoint Ranch staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are options for quieter rooms and views but there is an extra charge for these selections.”
 of 5 bubbles 478lennied, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Right across the street from the beach, some rooms have a view of the beach.”
 of 5 bubbles 233elizabethj, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Wait til the renovation is complete and wifi is available.”
 of 5 bubbles mschoemann, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Our room was 76, it was quiet even though next to main road, easy to walk to beach.”
 of 5 bubbles MarlynnP_12, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Stay elsewhere.”
 of 5 bubbles travelinfull, 22 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay