We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

FogCatcher Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
FogCatcher Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,630 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for FogCatcher Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,580: English reviews
Devon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2014

First time at Fogcatcher Inn this July, though not our first visit to Moonstone Beach. Fogcatcher is bigger than some of the inns on this stretch and benefits from this in my opinion. Reception is staffed 24 hours and free tea, coffee and water is always available. A full buffet breakfast is served in a breakfast room - so much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nitoda
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review

It sounds like you really enjoyed your visit here with us and we are delighted to hear it! Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We look forward to having you as a guest in the future. Kind Regards, Karen Maraschiello, General Manager

Reviewed 9 September 2014

I totally enjoyed my stay at the Fogcatcher Inn. The room was very spacious, clean with a lovely set-up. The inn sits directly across from the ocean with a beautiful scene that is breathless. The staff was so responsive, helpful and extremely helpful. The only complaint I have, which is no fault of the hotel but location, is my cell...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VoyageUpNorth
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review

Happy to hear you were able to enjoy your visit here at the FogCatcher Inn. We always like to hear positive feedback from guests like you and it is appreciated. Kind Regards, Karen Maraschiello, General Manager kmaraschiello@fogcacherinn.com

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2014 via mobile

On our honeymoon trip along the coast we chose to stay here as it looked warm, inviting and romantic. How wrong we were! The photos are highly misleading. The rooms are depressing with few having decent views, we upgraded and spent $300 just to get a half decent view. The rooms smell damp, the beds are uncomfortable and make you...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank garethwri
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for providing valuable feedback to us. I am truly sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Since we guarantee the full satisfaction of all our guests, I would like the opportunity to speak with you directly about your concerns. Please contact me at your convenience. Karen Maraschiello, General Manager kmaraschiello@fogcatcherinn.com 805-927-1400

Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed 3 September 2014

The hotel's location is very good. We got a room with a partial view of the ocean but the ocean could be seen only from the door At the reception were polite and provided all the information needed pleasantly. The room (two double beds) was clean, but not all accessories working properly. The breakfast was good and the trip along...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kblecher
England
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We loved the Fogcatcher Inn, it was good value and well located near Hurst Castle. Surprisingly they do a very good 'help yourself' breakfast every day which added to the good value. We had a lovely room (#106) just across from reception. There is a small pool and jacuzzi just right for relaxing after a day driving and sightseeing -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bubbles311
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the FogCatcher Inn. We appreciate your feedback and comments it will help us improve. Warm Regards, Karen Maraschiello, General Manager

San Diego, California
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Arriving without reservation, we were lucky being assigned room # 303 in the front, facing the ocean with the surf muffling the sound of the occasionally passing car. The hotel is wedged front to back between Moonstone Beach Drive and US 1 in the back. The latter may make rooms in the back less desirable, besides lack of ocean view....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank silvergate
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your feedback. We hope to have you back as a guest in the future. Kind Regards, Karen Maraschiello, General Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We stayed just one night after a fantastic drive down highway 1. This is a small hotel in a very quiet road of hotels directly opposite the beautiful beach just off the main road. Our room was lovely with high ceilings and a fire that we used as it was chilly in the evening and early morning. The staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lesley I
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments about the FogCatcher Inn. We will look forward to your return trip and hopefully next time you can stay longer! Kind Regards, Karen Maraschiello, General Manager

Spring Valley Lake, California
Reviewed 27 August 2014

The Fogcatcher is located right across the street from Moonstone Beach. The rooms are charming and conveniently located. The pool is small, but kept at a comfortable temperature. Breakfast is provided and there are plenty of choices. Beautiful views of ocean from front of property.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SVLTraci
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review of the FogCatcher Inn and happy to hear you enjoyed your visit with us. Kind Regards, Karen Maraschiello, General Manager kmaraschiello@fogcatcherinn.com

Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Our stay at FogCatcher was a wonderful one. We were travelling with 2 small dogs, there to visit Hearst Castle. The Inn caters well to those travelling with dogs...they even have a doggie bed and water bowl for the little ones! The rooms were very nice (no A/C, but with the windows open, there is enough of a cross breeze...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the FogCatcher Inn. We appreciate your positive comments. I am happy that you and your dogs were able to enjoy all of the amenities the FogCatcher Inn has to offer. We will look forward to welcoming you back soon! Karen Maraschiello, General Manager kmaraschiello@fogcatcherinn.com

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 22 August 2014

After several stays on the famous moonstone beach in Cambria I have to say the this is by far my absolute favorite!!! Great view, wonderful amenities, and excellent and always helpful staff! I would definitely recommend this hotel to all my friends as well stay again and again!!!!! A must if you're visiting Cambria.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Grady P
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the FogCatcher Inn. We strive to exceed our guests’ expectations and I was delighted to hear that we were able to do that for you! Karen Maraschiello, General Manager kmaraschiello@fogcatcherinn.com

643 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (619)
Viewed
Room/Suite (124)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (123)
Viewed
View from Room (60)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (241)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.4 km away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 km away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#4 of 12 in Cambria
796 reviews
3.5 km away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
3,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
802 reviews
0.4 km away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#5 of 12 in Cambria
753 reviews
0.2 km away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ideal for romantic getaways, families and groups, FogCatcher Inn is located within easy reach of the Hearst Castle, the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery, an assortment of wineries and beautiful Moonstone Beach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about FogCatcher Inn

Address: 6400 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428-1808
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Price Range: €163 - €310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — FogCatcher Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your FogCatcher Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fogcatcher Hotel Cambria
Fog Catcher Inn Cambria
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cambria
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from FogCatcher Inn staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from FogCatcher Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Splash out if you can, the ocean view rooms are delightful.”
 of 5 bubbles Buggsi, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The inn is not inexpensive but fairly priced for the area. The rooms are modern, but the overall setting retains its older charm.”
 of 5 bubbles donnac557, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Reserve a second floor oceanfront room. They're awfully nice.”
 of 5 bubbles 2peripatetics, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Most rooms have views of the Pacific Ocean.”
 of 5 bubbles jill_yelling, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I had a corner suite and could see the sunset ....beautiful !”
 of 5 bubbles , 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5