We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Sunburst Calistoga

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Sunburst Calistoga
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

481 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 475: English reviews
Walnut Creek
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great value and fun location for a quick girls trip. As other reviewers have noted the walls are a bit thin, but it's to be expected in an older property. The rooms were unique and fun. The bed was probably one of the best I've slept in ever! So comfortable, and perfect pillows! Our rooms were ready well before check...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jenniferpH4136HR
Martha S, Manager at The Sunburst Calistoga, responded to this review

Dear jenniferpH413HR, Thank you for staying at The Sunburst Calistoga in your recent visit to Napa Valley. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the stay and especially the bed. We appreciate the feedback for the robes, and wanted to let you know that we hope to have this as an added amenity for all of our rooms when we...

bend
Reviewed 1 week ago

I've been visiting Calistoga for years. The Sunburst is now going to be one of my go to places. Simple, great design touches, adorable, immaculate, quiet, all the thoughtful amenities, clean, warm and private soaking experience, dog friendly, walk to town - this is a fantastic value. Love❤️

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tripsandtrails
Martha S, Manager at The Sunburst Calistoga, responded to this review

Dear tripsandtrails, Thank you for the wonderful words regarding the hotel. I'm very glad to hear that you are making us part of your to go places when in the area. We look forward to sharing the exciting new offers with the renovation, and having you back soon. Martha Solorio

San Francisco
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

At check in we were given the wrong room number and waited for 1 hr while it was being cleaned. After informing the front desk, we received a measly "oops, I gave you the wrong number" without any offer of compensation of any kind. Unfortunately, I am dissatisfied with their service. The pools are nice though!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank maxwellm2017
Martha S, Manager at The Sunburst Calistoga, responded to this review

Dear Maxwellm2017, I wanted to apologize for the inconvenience you had during your check in process. I have spoken to the front desk manager to provide the feedback and prevent any situations such as this. I am glad to hear that even though you had the check in inconvenience, you were still able to enjoy the mineral pools. We hope...

Clayton, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great hotel to stay in. Rooms have been upgraded. It is in a perfect location to walk downtown Calistoga to go shopping and get something to eat. Everything is close. They give you vouchers for breakfast at the coffee shop. We would stay there again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Eileen P
Martha S, Manager at The Sunburst Calistoga, responded to this review

Dear Eileen, Thank you for staying at The Sunburst Calistoga. I'm glad that you enjoyed the upgraded rooms, as we just went through our room renovation. The location is great as you highlighted and pleased to hear that the vouchers for breakfast were appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you soon. Martha Solorio

St. Petersburg, Florida
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Pool temperatures were inconsistent. Filled with frolicking children splashing water in my face. Hot tub was scalding hot then in the morning it had so much chlorine that it burned my eyes and sinuses.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank avidtraveler79
Martha S, Manager at The Sunburst Calistoga, responded to this review

Dear avidtraveler79, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Sunburst Calistoga in your recent visit to Calistoga. I apologize if the pool temperatures were not as you desired and for the chlorine level. I have spoken to our chief engineer and assure that they are monitored for adequate temperatures and chlorine levels. We hope to welcome you soon as...

Paris, France
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is really a motel. It's old school. One story. Better suited for families. We stayed new year's eve. there were a few glitches in the reservations process. Although the reservation was made by one person for two rooms (two parties), we had challenges getting them to assign reservation numbers and email confirmations separately. We had to make multiple phone...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Parisfoodie2010
Martha S, Manager at The Sunburst Calistoga, responded to this review

Dear Parisfoodie2010, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Sunburst Calistoga, taking the time to provide us with your experience feedback. I apologize if the reservation process, and do want to let you know that we are going to have a different booking system soon. Our property is going through a renovation, and will have a lot more to...

Mill Valley, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Paper thin walls. Need I say more? We were in room 217 on NYE. The couple next door sure enjoyed themselves but we were pretty grossed out and miserable. We were traveling with our son, we won't go back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cobramom415
Martha S, Manager at The Sunburst Calistoga, responded to this review

Dear Cobramom415, I apologize if the rooms did not meet your expectations. Our property is going through a renovation period and as we continue this is being looked into to accommodate soundproofing. If you have the time, you are welcome to contact me. Martha Solorio

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The temperature in the large pool was a major disappointment. It was not as warm as last year. We will not return unless this is corrected. Otherwise, we really like the place. The staff was friendly and helpful and we enjoyed our room.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richardmmm G
Martha S, Manager at The Sunburst Calistoga, responded to this review

Dear Richardmmm G, Thank you for the kind words about the staff. I apologize if the pool temperatures were not at the desired temperatures, I have since them spoken to our team members to monitor temperatures and we truly hope that next time you are here you can enjoy them. Martha Solorio

Modesto, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed 4 nights. Staff were friendly and helpful. The pools and areas around them were kept clean and uncluttered. We plan on returning in 2017 to try out the new additions such as the restaurant, pools, mud spas, and other new improvements.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank X9783AAgarym
Martha S, Manager at The Sunburst Calistoga, responded to this review

Dear X9783AAgarym, Thank you for sharing your experience! I'm very glad to hear the kinds words mentioned about our staff and that you enjoyed the pools and areas. We also look forward to welcoming you back when we introduce the new "Calistoga Motor Lodge & Spa". Martha Solorio

San Jose, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Meh. Tripadvisor steered us wrong. Overall, an exceedingly poor experience. The staff was very helpful. But they couldn't overcome a dubious stay. Constantly running out of towels. No robes in our room. Ran out of plastic glasses. Hard mattress. Chair broken in our room. Felt like I was staying in a cheap motel.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shelly S

65 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calistoga hotels
1.4 km away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
477 reviews
0.9 km away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#6 of 15 in Calistoga
376 reviews
0.2 km away
Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Stevenson Manor
1.3 km away
EuroSpa & Inn
EuroSpa & Inn
#9 of 15 in Calistoga
410 reviews
0.9 km away
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
#10 of 15 in Calistoga
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This freshly renovated boutique hotel provides the perfect accommodations for your Napa Valley getaway. Located at the beginning of the world-famous Silverado Trail, each bright and clean retro-modern guest room offers a flat-screen TV, iHome alarm clock, compact refrigerator with minibar snacks, single-serve gourmet coffee machine, and complimentary Wi-Fi. After a leisurely bike ride to one of the dozens of nearby vineyards, soak up the sun and relax in our three on-site hot spring mineral water pools, perhaps with a glass of wine from one of the bottles you purchased along during the day. For breakfast, feel like a local at the Calistoga Roastery (best breakfast sandwiches in town) with an espresso across the street at El Ray. As the sun climbs high, hike or bike the adjacent Oat Hill Mine Trail where breathtaking views of the Valley are around every corner. Then, pamper yourself at one of Calistoga's numerous renowned spas where mud-baths have been the norm for 100 years. Later in the day sip Napa Valley's famous wine in our backyard or at any of the local wineries in town - most are easily within walking distance or via Calistoga's growing bike path. Most guests simply love the scenic 8-minute stroll into the heart of town where you can enjoy restaurants, shopping, local museums, art galleries, and more. And at any time of day, visit the lobby for freshly brewed coffee or tea and recommendations from our knowledgeable hosts that will make your experience a memorable one. The hotel is located just 40 scenic minutes north of the City of Napa and 75 scenic miles from San Francisco. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Sunburst Calistoga

Address: 1880 Lincoln Ave, Calistoga, CA 94515-1115
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Price Range: €145 - €368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Sunburst Calistoga 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Sunburst Calistoga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calistoga Village Hotel Calistoga
Calistoga Village Inn And Spa
Calistoga Village Resort
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Calistoga
#9 Family Hotel in Calistoga
#11 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Sunburst Calistoga staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Sunburst Calistoga staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Bring bug spray”
 of 5 bubbles jerryp1969, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Look for deals! I won't pay the published rate, if I can avoid it.”
 of 5 bubbles mariace2014, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“bring your swimsuit & make time to enjoy the pools!”
 of 5 bubbles lorrabell7198, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“like the rooms around back”
 of 5 bubbles andyzPortland_Oregon, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Decent hotel stay in Napa region”
 of 5 bubbles E7253CGmaryb, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay