We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN John Jay Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN John Jay Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

97 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 94: English reviews
Start your review of BEST WESTERN John Jay Inn
 Click to rate
Bakersfield, California
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We often stop here on our way to Los Algadones. The staff is very friendly. The rooms are moderately upscale. The breakfast is above average. There are a number of nearby restaurants and a movie complex.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Merl R
Amsterdam
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

In a great location, opposite walmart and next to movie theater. Choice of restaurants in neighbourhood. The pool was clean and came with a warm whirling pool. Management very friendly and helpfull. The suite where we stayed was very big, big balcony and very nice and not too expensive.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank zgt
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Charlene S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN John Jay Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. We are happy to know you had a great stay. We hope to see you back soon. If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at (760)768-0442. Thank...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As other reviews state, if you find yourself in Calexico, this is a good option. I had a quick one night stay and it was just fine, clean and comfortable. The gym is small but I appreciated it being there. I also really appreciated the complimentary printing at the business center. I saw a lot of off road vehicles in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tara S
Charlene S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN John Jay Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. We are happy to know you had a great stay we hope to see you back soon. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us...

Riverside, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We needed an earlier check in and employee accommodated with no hesitation. Was professional and very friendly. We felt welcomed. Employee remember our names from prior phone call. Housekeeping was deliver on a very timely manner

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank soniav618
Charlene S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN John Jay Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come...

Adelanto
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

For an excellent stay, where the breakfast area is fantastic, the employees curious and the rooms are comfortable this John Jay Best Western in Calexico California was great! We where there for a family emergency and this Best Western made us feel like we where home.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eloisa R
Charlene S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN John Jay Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. We are very happy to know you had a great stay. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you...

Rialto, California
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

We have stayed here quite frequently in the last couple of years when we go over to Mexico. I had made reservations and when we arrived, I found the elevator had been broken for over a week, (why wasn't I told that when I made my reservation)? There were no first floor rooms available. We would have had to carry...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Julie W
Charlene S, Manager at BEST WESTERN John Jay Inn, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Julie W, We are very sorry you had such a bad experience at our property during your last visit, unfortunately our elevator company is Schindler Elevator located up in San Diego, CA. and that's the closest office available for maintenance/repairs; due to a broken valve in need of replacement has taken 3 weeks for them to place order...

West Yellowstone
Reviewed 7 February 2017

Coming back from Baja, after a long drive we needed to sleep and clean up. This place was perfect. Everything worked well. The laundry room was clean and working. Comfy bed, good breakfast. We would stay again.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank patit
Charlene S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN John Jay Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. We are happy to know you had a great stay. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and...

San Leandro, California
Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

Staying a week here in Calexico. Had a little problem with first room, air condition wasn't working, and little feet jumping off beds above us on next floor. Called downstairs and had everything handled with a new, quiet, third floor room in no time at all. Hotel has all the perks tired travelers want, HBO, Showtime, and microwave, fridge, lots...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shellqueen666
Charlene S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN John Jay Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. We happy to know you had a great stay. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other...

Riverside, California
Reviewed 19 December 2016

This is a great hotel to stay at if you are in Calexico, California. The service is excellent, the rooms are clean, and the hotel is quiet. The continental breakfast has many great options. The hotel is located close to stores and access to Calexico.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank PS P
Charlene S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN John Jay Inn, responded to this review

Thank You so much for your feedback we appreciate your time and we are glad you had a great stay we hope to see you back soon. If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at (760)768-0442. Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to...

Reviewed 12 December 2016

Less-than-professional staff. Meager offerings at the breakfast buffet. Outdated rooms. Scratchy, over-used sheets. If I hadn't pre-paid the entire stay, I would consider checking out early and booking elsewhere for the duration of my work assignment in Calexico.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grant G
Charlene S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN John Jay Inn, responded to this review

Dear Grant, Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. At Best Western we strive every day to provide a superior customer experience. I am sorry we weren’t able to do that for you. We will use the feedback...

25 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calexico
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Calexico
6.3 km away
Fiesta Inn Mexicali
Fiesta Inn Mexicali
#1 of 21 in Mexicali
581 reviews
31.5 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Main Street Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 km away
Hotel Lucerna Mexicali
Hotel Lucerna Mexicali
#4 of 21 in Mexicali
169 reviews
8.5 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites El Centro
9.9 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 19 in El Centro
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Best Western John Jay Inn in Calexico opened in 1998 and the hotel staff has been trained to maintain the high level of standards you expect when staying with Best Western to assure that your stay will be as comfortable as possible. In the Imperial Valley in the southernmost part of California, just across the border from Mexicali, Baja California, Mexico, lies Calexico, a delightful multi-cultural community with a small town lifestyle and a history rich in agriculture. This area has greatly benefited from the international trade that has developed south of the border over the past three decades. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN John Jay Inn

Address: 2421 Scaroni Road, Calexico, CA 92231-9731
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Calexico
Price Range: €72 - €102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN John Jay Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Best Western so you can book your BEST WESTERN John Jay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN John Jay Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN John Jay Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stayed on the first floor and it was quiet and comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles michaellE9790UV, 17 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Best value!”
 of 5 bubbles 410natashar, 3 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Suite was great if you are with 3 persons”
 of 5 bubbles 153petras, 9 Sep 2015 | Read review
“1000 bonus point for each stay now.”
 of 5 bubbles TomY736, 1 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Lower-floor rooms seem cooler in the hot summer.”
 of 5 bubbles georged731, 27 Jul 2014 | Read review
5 of 5