We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sideways Inn

Booking.comUS$81*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Sideways Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

37 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 34: English reviews
Start your review of Sideways Inn
 Click to rate
Tampere, Finland
Reviewed 9 March 2017

This place was called Days Inn Buellton when we stayed here. The reason we chose this place to stay was entirely because of the movie Sideways. Great movie. Unfortunately we didn't get the room 234. The wifi was slow but other than that we were pleased with the room and the motel. And the Firestone Walker taproom is quite nearby.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan R
Joe G, Manager at Sideways Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We hope that you will visit us again once our renovations are complete.

California
Reviewed 5 March 2017

Very pleased w/new room renovation. All the extras, large room & bathroom. Coffee maker, hair dryer, iron,etc. Beds were like heaven. The decor is very stylish. A free continental breakfast. Returning in the summer, can't wait to see the completed exterior renovation. Inn is close to everything.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cambria40
Joe G, Manager at Sideways Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing these comments. We look forward to sharing our newly renovated amenities and accommodations with you.

Gilroy, California
Reviewed 31 January 2017

we usually get a hotel on the cheap side, just because money is always an issue. we chose this one, not realizing they were under construction renovating. This did not hinder our stay one bit, in fact we found it enhanced, because the Mgmt went above and beyond to give us the nicest room OF OUR CHOICE- even though we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cbarr63
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 6 January 2017

I am between 3 and 4 stars with this one. As has been noted previously, the rooms are in the process of a serious upgrade and we were given one of these. Given the price point, the room quality is way above the norm for this kind of motel. That said, the outside and general vibe of the place is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aylwin_Forbes
Joe G, Manager at Sideways Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback. We strive to provide excellent service here at Sideways Inn. We will use this feedback to help fine tune our services and amenities to help improve upon the overall guest experience. We look forward to your next visit.

Pleasant Grove, Utah
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

For New year's eve, the only thing I wanted to do was go to the Chumash casino. After checking all hotels around the area, this was the only one that was available, nearby, and at a reasonable rate. My boyfriend and I booked a room for about $155/night. It had one King bed, staff in the front office were extremely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abbie G
Joe G, Manager at Sideways Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. As you may have noticed, we are in the middle of renovation projects that include both room and amenities upgrades. We hope that you will visit us again to experience these exciting changes and our on-site bar & grill.

Goolwa, Australia
Reviewed 22 November 2016

The Sideways Inn is being transformed into a top hotel. The new rooms are well equipped with new facilities throughout and nice finishings. Our room had a new fridge TV and microwave along with air con and heating. The pool area is being re landscaped, the sports bar is very good and having access to the burger bar in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank piebee
Joe G, Manager at Sideways Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind feedback regarding our current improvement projects. We look forward to providing a more valuable experience for our guests as we continue to upgrade our accommodations and amenities.

Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

We have traveled in the US for 1,5 months staying in a lot of different motels. This was by far the worst experience. The lobby was empty when we arrived with a note saying that they would be right back. We waited for more than 30 min and no one came to check us in. We had bought food on...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Frida T
Joe G, Manager at Sideways Inn, responded to this review

We are disappointed to hear that you had a negative experience with us but are glad you brought this to our attention. Our General Manager would like to speak with you further regarding these concerns. Please contact our GM at (805) 688-8448 to discuss what we can do to help.

Reviewed 30 October 2016

Charged twice the advisor rates. $159.00 that was with a senior discount and at midnight. The ceilings had cracks wider than the Grand Canyon. Air/heat did not work. Shower head fell off and wouldn't go back on.Fiberglass shower had holes bigger than golf balls. Black mold through out bathroom . Pillows made in 18th century. The towels were clean. if...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tom B
Joe G, Manager at Sideways Inn, responded to this review

We apologize for any miscommunication that occurred and thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention. We have been renovating our rooms and amenities and are happy to provide a new and improved inn for guests visiting Buellton. Our General Manager would like to speak with you further regarding your concerns. Please contact our GM at (805) 688-8448 to...

Vista, California
Reviewed 27 October 2016

We pulled into Buellton after a long day of driving, remembering there was a Days Inn right off the freeway. What a surprise when we pulled in to register and the place was under new management. It was a good surprise - our room was big, updated, had a microwave and refrigerator, and very clean. The bed was comfortable and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nanaof4321
Joe G, Guest Relations Manager at Sideways Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We look forward to hosting you again during your next stop in Buellton!

Simi Valley, California
Reviewed 24 October 2016

We decided on Sideways Inn because it was priced well and centrally located to our wine tasting trip we took. This is a solid 3 star hotel. The hotel itself is quite big, good location, rooms are clean, in walking distance to food options and a great place to spend the night if you are doing a wine tasting weekend....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maggie P
Joe G, Guest Relations Manager at Sideways Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention. We are making numerous improvements to the rooms and amenities and will make sure to share this with our construction team. We hope that you will visit us again once our renovations are complete.

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buellton
0.2 km away
Pea Soup Andersen's Inn
Pea Soup Andersen's Inn
#2 of 8 in Buellton
363 reviews
0.8 km away
Quality Inn Santa Ynez Valley
4.8 km away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
0.6 km away
Santa Ynez Valley Marriott
4.5 km away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Travel the Highway West to Sideways Inn where you can unwind in a freshly updated rustic room with the Danish charm of nearby Solvang. Enjoy California's breathtaking central coast with a variety of amenities at our attached sister property Flying Flags. Guests can enjoy the resort swimming pool, playground, and complimentary Wi-Fi. Sideways Inn also allows guests to easily access many of the area's most popular attractions and destinations. Wine tasting at a local winery, the charming town of Solvang, and the serene surroundings of Lake Cachuma and Los Padres National Forest are just a few of the points of interest situated just moments away from our resort. The inn itself is an attraction as it was one of the shooting locations for the film Sideways. If you are looking for a memorable vacation experience in California's wine country, look no further than Sideways Inn! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sideways Inn

Address: 114 E Highway 246, Buellton, CA 93427 (Formerly Days Inn Solvang / Buellton)
Region: United States > California > Buellton
Price Range: €72 - €204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sideways Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Sideways Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Solvang / Buellton Hotel Buellton
Days Inn Buellton
Buellton Days Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sideways Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Sideways Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you're able to ask for new renovated rooms. do so. We stayed in room 227”
  • comfy chair
  • great barn door
  • fridge, coffeemaker & microwave
  • open concept shower
  • two queen beds
  • TV, desk area
cambria40, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“lower level, corner, facing parking lot on one side, pool on the other.”
cbarr63, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“In the back away from the main road is probably best”
  • The remodeled bathroom: stylish
Aylwin_Forbes, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a new room”
piebee, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“1st floor with a sliding door opening to pool/spa area.”
ylc515, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$81* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$81
TravelocityUS$81
Expedia.comUS$81
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates