We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

El Rancho Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
El Rancho Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

170 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for El Rancho Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 127: English reviews
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewed 1 August 2016

We had a party of 6 (4 adults + 2 kids). This provided sufficient space for all of us. Kitchen was supplied with some basics though we did not try to cook. We did have cold breakfasts there, and it was nice having plates/cutlery etc to eat with. Bathroom tiny.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LizM01
El Rancho M, General Manager at El Rancho Motel, responded to this review

Dear Liz, Thank you so much for your feedback we are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the El Rancho Motel.thank you so much for being our guest we hope to have you here again in the future. Sincerely Crystal and Steve

Ridgecrest, California
Reviewed 23 July 2016

Room was small but clean and within walking distance of store and restaurants. AC worked good but was a little noisy. Coke machine outside made some noise at night also. Would stay again for a quick overnight visit to Bishop area. Price was right.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SierraDan
El Rancho M, General Manager at El Rancho Motel, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for being our guest and hope to see you again in the future .sincerely Crystal and Steve

Reviewed 23 July 2016

Don't look at the pictures, the motel is very old. I spent one night with my family on July 16 and it has been my worst experience during the whole trip to US The facility is old, the mattresses are uncomfortable and they need to be replaced. Room was not dirty but it was full of small flies and it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paolo B
El Rancho M, General Manager at El Rancho Motel, responded to this review

Dear sir first let me say im sorry you did not have a great experience at the El Rancho Motel, yes the motel is one of the original motels of bishop but we have done alot of upgrades.we will definately address the issues you had during your stay as our guests comfort is the number one priority. sincerely crystal

Ober-Ramstadt, Germany
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed in this motel on the way to Yosemite State Park. Motel is clean and in walking distance to the restaurants on the main street. WiFi should be available, but failed in zhe whole town that night. Price is too high for this hotel category, but based on missing alternatives.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Werner K
El Rancho M, Manager at El Rancho Motel, responded to this review

we would like to thank you for being our guest im very sorry about the internet problem that night was beyond our control. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future. sincerely Crystal and Steve

Lyttelton, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 July 2016

We returned to this motel twice after trips in the Sierra and enjoyed the comfortable rooms with all the facilities expected in a motel. Rooms were clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful in fitting us in - we hadn't booked ahead. They happily stored our gear while we were in the mountains. We did feel that room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil S
El Rancho M, Manager at El Rancho Motel, responded to this review

thank you for being our guest glad you enjoyed your time in the sierras

San Diego, California
Reviewed 8 July 2016

Went with it because of price / good reviews. When we drove up it was like a million other small old motels, we were nervous. But when we opened the door to the room we were pleasantly surprised. Clean, newly updated with clean white duvets and four good pillows per bed. Full separate little kitchen area. Mounted flat TV with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lori W
El Rancho M, Manager at El Rancho Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest . we hope you will stay at El Rancho should you visit bishop again.

Sacramento, California
Reviewed 5 July 2016

Pro's: Clean, comfortable, safe-feeling motel. Cute, nicely decorated rooms, appear recently remodeled, including wood floors. Park right outside your room. Walk-able to food, coffee, shops on Main street. Friendly owners. A/C, fan, flatscreen tv with 100+ channels including HD network channels. Nice brochures in lobby area for national parks and local things to do. Fridge, microwave. Con's: Phone couldn't find...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ellen E
El Rancho M, Manager at El Rancho Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for being our guest we look forward to your next visit Crystal and Steve

Penzance, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 June 2016

We arrived here around 630pm, checked in and parked outside our room, the room itself was nice, bright, airy and more importantly clean. The bathroom was ok with a good hot powerful shower. My only problem was the air condition unit, the room was very hot so the A/C needed to be on, however It had seen better days it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kernowstar1
El Rancho M, General Manager at El Rancho Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest .We will work hard to illiviate the issues you found during your stay as our guests comfort is of utmost importance regards crystal and steve

Ojai, California
Reviewed 25 March 2016

Stayed for couple nights for a guys fishing trip. We stayed again in one of the bungalows. We checked in, eveything seemed ok and in order. On closer look, the room had not been cleaned thoroughly from past guests. I asked front desk to do extra celaning of bathrooms and living area. This was taken care of and all was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ed P
El Rancho M, Manager at El Rancho Motel, responded to this review

Dear sir , we thank you for your review and are happy that you enjoyed your stay here at the EL RANCHO MOTEL. We hope that you will be our guest on future visits to Bishop. Thank You Steve and Crystal.

Holderness, New Hampshire
Reviewed 23 February 2016

I made a last minute stop in Bishop instead of setting my tent up in the cold, so my expectations were low--I just wanted a bed. The couple who owns the property was so friendly and accommodating, and while my room was small and modest, it was comfortable, attractive, and clean and felt as though somebody actually cared when putting...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank teaching36
El Rancho M, Manager at El Rancho Motel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Steve and I are pleased that you enjoyed your stay here at the EL RANCHO MOTEL. Customer satisfaction is our number one goal. We hope that you will consider staying with us again should you find yourself here in Bishop CA.thank you for taking the time to write your review. Best Regards CRYSTAL AND STEVE

80 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bishop hotels
0.9 km away
Bishop Creekside Inn
Bishop Creekside Inn
#1 of 20 in Bishop
1,404 reviews
1.4 km away
Vagabond Inn Bishop
Vagabond Inn Bishop
#2 of 20 in Bishop
425 reviews
0.8 km away
Travelodge Bishop
Travelodge Bishop
#4 of 20 in Bishop
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 20 in Bishop
222 reviews
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Bishop
0.7 km away
The Trees Motel
The Trees Motel
#9 of 20 in Bishop
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a Pet and People Friendly Establishment. We offer 22 units total 7 kitchen units, Suites 1 bedroom and 2 bedroom are available. In-room Coffee, Microwaves and Refrigerators, Duvet Comforters and Flat Screen TV's in all Rooms. Non-Smoking Rooms, Daily housekeeping available. We are walking distant to the Bakery for Breakfast and Lunch and Several restaurant and bars. Free Shuttle to the Paiute Palace Casino. Come and enjoy your stay ant The El Rancho Motel! ... more   less 

Additional Information about El Rancho Motel

Address: 274 Lagoon St, Bishop, CA 93514-3405
Region: United States > California > Bishop
Price Range: €57 - €125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Rancho Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your El Rancho Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rancho Hotel Bishop
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from El Rancho Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are on main level, so no noise from guests above or below.”
 of 5 bubbles mzjeepco, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the east side away from the coke machine will be quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles SierraDan, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the room in the SE corner. Wifi doesn't work and shadier.”
 of 5 bubbles neils31, 16 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Nice for a short stay.”
 of 5 bubbles Arno0571, 5 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Choose another hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles 852wendyb, 24 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay