We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Golden Bear Cottages Resort

Save
Traveller (95)
Room & Suite (210)
Pool & Beach (8)
Overview
  • Excellent59%
  • Very good16%
  • Average4%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible15%
Travellers talk about
“the kitchen”(34 reviews)
“the cottages”(18 reviews)
“honey pot”(4 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Family Rooms
Kitchenette
Pets Allowed
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Additional information
Offers from Golden Bear Cottages Resort
Hotel deals
Offers from Golden Bear Cottages Resort
Hotel deals
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (276)
Filter reviews
275 results
Traveller rating
156
45
13
19
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
156
45
13
19
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe kitchenthe cottageshoney potbig bearwarm feelingfamily reunionmountain cabinvolleyball netlarge cabinhot tubwhite christmasgreat resortevery eveningtwo storygreat weekendhiking trailsliving room
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 275 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent 4 nights during January 2018. Magnificent place. They charged my credit card 100% of the nights late last year, which was ok. HOWEVER!!!! they charged it again 3 more times: early January (+60% MORE), April and May, each time with +60% of the...More

Thank Lorenzo O
Response from LMDU, Manager at Golden Bear Cottages ResortResponded 2 weeks ago

This guest disputed his stay with the credit card company and continues to do so. Our system has credited back the deposit and we have documented this with his credit card company. We have also verified with his credit card company that the charges that...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a great winter experience. Our family booked a large four bedroom cabin for a week. We felt just like it was our own place. The kitchen was fully appointed and it had three bathrooms. We enjoyed daily naid service and they even dug the...More

1  Thank patocarlos279
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Amazing!! This is my new place to stay up at Big Bear. The cabins are very roomy and very clean. I was able to stay in the Honeypot 5 room which had an awesome porch swing that me and my kids loved, as well as...More

1  Thank ashley a
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our refrigerator didn't work, and we were told that it was because we put warm water in it. Still, they got it fixed in one day, but it wasn't because of warm water. The spa near the pool was broken and didn't get fixed all...More

Thank davidjankowski
Response from LMDU, Manager at Golden Bear Cottages ResortResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your input. I spoke with quite a few of your family members who actually loved their stay and said they’d definitely be back. We he cabins are definitely rustic which is what we pride our property on. It is a historic property...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The cottage we stayed in was sparse which was expected. However, when we reported that our fridge wasn’t working they were not concerned. A “maintenance” man came to look at it and tried to tell us it was the 6 bottles of water we had...More

Thank clearyk72
Response from LMDU, Manager at Golden Bear Cottages ResortResponded 4 weeks ago

As soon as this guest came into the office, we sent maintenance to help her. We tried to adjust the temp and called the refrigerator repairman. He said he’d be there in the afternoon sonin the meantime we allowed the guest to use the refrigerator...More

View more reviews
About
Description
Golden Bear Cottages, the best place for lodging accommodations in Big Bear Lake, California. We have 29 cabins to choose from on a historic big five acre resort. Rustic cabins nestled among 200 year old big ...More pines just a block from Big Bear Lake. You will find our clean AAA approved cabin and cottage rentals as cheap as local mountain hotels. A cozy smaller studio or a one bedroom cottage is perfect for romantic couples, and our bigger 2, 3, 4, 5 and 7 bedroom cabins are the better size for families or big groups. Clean AAA historic mountain cabins and resort lodge where the service is friendly and your family pets are welcome. If you plan on bringing your pets, make sure to choose designated cabins where pets are welcome in fenced pet yards. Less
Hotel class
Contact Information
Hotel class
Contact Information
Hotel Style
Top resorts Hotels
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Parking
Pool
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Business Centre with Internet Access
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Heated pool
Hot Tub
Meeting Rooms
Microwave
Outdoor pool
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Refrigerator in room
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style
Top resorts Hotels
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Hotel class
Contact Information
Hotel Style
Top resorts Hotels
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Hotel class
Contact Information
Hotel class
Contact Information
Hotel Style
Top resorts Hotels
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (95)
Room & Suite (210)
Pool & Beach (8)
Dining (3)
Amenities (17)
Family and Play Areas (2)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Roderick C
4 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Roderick C | Reviewed this property |
Sorry but security deposit was not given after days of calling them in fact we have to dispute to our credit card company. Also as for carpets. Its really filthy as if you entered a garage service
0
Votes
chrissy s
27 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from LMDU | Property representative |
There was actually no fraudulent charge. The guest that wrote that was upset because an online reservation was made and he was charged for it and said he did not want the reservation. I have refunded that guest for that... More
1
Vote
mommacoby
20 May 2015|
Answer
Response from lisaduran | Property representative |
We are about 6 miles from BBHS
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Despite the charging issues, great location in Big Bear, service, beautiful."
Read review
"They have small to large cabin rentals"
Read review
"Get as far away from the road as you can. Get one with screens on the windows."
Read review
"Golden Bear 's cottages are comfortable, have nice furniture, and above all, are clean and cozy."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing