We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Golden Bear Cottages Resort

Visit hotel website
Traveller (97)
Room & Suite (210)
Pool & Beach (8)
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Golden Bear Cottages, the best place for lodging accommodations in Big Bear Lake, California. We have 29 cabins to choose from on a historic big five acre resort. Rustic cabins nestled among 200 year old big pines just a block from Big Bear Lake. You will find our clean AAA approved cabin and cottage rentals as cheap as local mountain hotels. A cozy smaller studio or a one bedroom cottage is perfect for romantic couples, and our bigger 2, 3, 4, 5 and 7 bedroom cabins are the better size for families or big groups. Clean AAA historic mountain cabins and resort lodge where the service is friendly and your family pets are welcome. If you plan on bringing your pets, make sure to choose designated cabins where pets are welcome in fenced pet yards.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Pool
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Heated pool
Hot Tub
Non-Smoking Hotel
Outdoor pool
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Show more
Room features
Family Rooms
Kitchenette
Microwave
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Quaint
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Hotel deals
Reviews & more
297Reviews
332Photos
7Q+A
41Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 165
  • 48
  • 13
  • 20
  • 51
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Friendly clean and roomy took the hole family my 6 children one girlfriend and 2 grandchildren and they had a blast and the cabin was great and everyone was super friendly . Loved it so much we can’t wait to go back out last stay at a different cabin was not as good it was
Read more
Stayed there, terrible, dirty! NOT RUSTIC, just filthy!!! They NEVER returned the deposit and we called endlessly and they kept on promising to ON TOP of that, they kept on charging our credit cards for five months!! We definetly had to cancel them and make dozens of calls to
Read more
Response from LMDU, Manager at Golden Bear Cottages Resort
Responded 29 Nov 2018
I’m so confused as to why The same individual is allowed to write reviews over and over again under different names. And, to top it off the name on the review is blank so that they cannot be contacted. I’m sorry to say that the only time a deposit is charged or of a guest is charged again, it is because they caused some type of damage or it is payment for their stay. We value each and every guest and we work hard to make sure our cabins are clean and homey. Our guest return rate is 88% which we are so proud of. And, if we do make a mistake, we will always address and correct it. The problem with reviews like this is that there is no name associated with it therefore we cannot contact them to resolve any issue they may have had. We are happy to address any issue and correct it if it is not correct.
Read more
We stayed there in July 2018. The cottage was old, very dirty, the toilet leaking and the assortment of old bed very uncomfortable. After we left the over charged our credit card for $250 for no reason what so ever. Twice since then they have charged our credit card for over
Read more
Response from LMDU, Manager at Golden Bear Cottages Resort
Responded 23 Nov 2018
the $250 is a security deposit. If the deposit didn’t cover the damages that occurred while the guest was occupying the cabin, then the guest signed a document stating the card that they used will be charged for the amount that the damages cost to fix. Unfortunately we can not be responsible for the damages others cause and we have to charge if this occurs. I am not sure that this happened in this case, because the guests name is not In Our system, however it is what it sounds like. If the guest would like further assistance or if this did not occur, we are happy to discuss it with them at any time.
Read more
Had an amazing stay at Golden Bear Cottages. I was running late and had a late check in. They had Keyes waiting for me and instructions for fireplace, jacuzzi and map of the cottages. The jacuzzi was very nice as I was expecting only a jacuzzi tub. The kitchen had everything we
Read more
Response from LMDU, Manager at Golden Bear Cottages Resort
Responded 14 Nov 2018
Thank you so much for staying with us. It was an honor that you choose us! Come see us again soon
Read more
Comfortably and cozy. Our cabin had a neat kitchen and a comfortable feel to it. The bed downstairs didn't work well for me but the one upstairs was good. We had a fantastic wedding anniversary though we both think it would have been better with friends.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining Family and Play AreasBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorGolden Bear Cottages Resort
The Large Two Bedroom Cottage with Kitchen and Fireplace at the Golden Bear Cottages Resort
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorGolden Bear Cottages Resort
The Two Bedroom Cottage with Kitchen and Fireplace at the Golden Bear Cottages Resort
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorGolden Bear Cottages Resort
The Large Two Bedroom Cottage with Kitchen and Fireplace at the Golden Bear Cottages Resort
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorGolden Bear Cottages Resort
The Large Jacuzzi Studio Cottage with Kitchen and Fireplace at the Golden Bear Cottages Resort
Interior of cabin
PreviousNext
12345642
Honestly, I did seek legal advice on this matter! Your gift certificate is an insult for the mess you caused. And I do have a leg to stand on with the proof I provided. I dont have the time or the energy to fight with you! God has blessed me in better ways and I pray that you will see your wrong doings that you did and are doing to others and will fix it. You cant fo business the way you are doing and think its going to continue. It's not my battle to fight. Good luck! And God Bless you and yours.
0 votes
Show all answers
No on from our company sent a price match email whatsoever. I don’t even know where you are coming up with that information. Interesting enough, you stayed and signed for the $422 which I have all copies of. You then (because of a computer error on an email you claimed to recieve) tried to only pay $91 for your entire stay of 2 nights In a 3 bedroom which you agreed and signed to pay $422. I have every single signed document from you and you used what you paid for. I’ve never seen someone fight so hard to not pay for what they’ve agreed to and used. Your account had been charged back and credited multiple times. All we ask is that you pay for what you agreed to which is $422. Nothing more and nothing less. That by far is nothing but honest and what you agreed to pay. Your credit card company even has noted that you called them to initially authorize the $422 charge. They have sent me documentation attesting to that as well. You stayed and when you stay somewhere you have to pay for what you agreed upon. That’s all we are asking you to do.
0 votes
Show all answers
Sorry but security deposit was not given after days of calling them in fact we have to dispute to our credit card company. Also as for carpets. Its really filthy as if you entered a garage service
1 vote
Show all answers
There was actually no fraudulent charge. The guest that wrote that was upset because an online reservation was made and he was charged for it and said he did not want the reservation. I have refunded that guest for that transaction and cancelled the online reservation. The guest said they would be editing the review to reflect that the situation was taken care of and was not fraudulent. You are safe booking with us, we'd love to have your family stay with us. Rest assured, you will be taken care of and if it makes you feel more at ease, 85% of our guests are repeat guests that come multiple times a year.
1 vote
Show all answers
We are about 6 miles from BBHS
0 votes
PreviousNext
12
"They have small to large cabin rentals"
"Get as far away from the road as you can. Get one with screens on the windows."
"Golden Bear 's cottages are comfortable, have nice furniture, and above all, are clean and cozy."
"They have all sizes of cabins available. See the website"
"You can bring pets, bring them inside at nights; there is wild life in Big Bear. The kitchens are well stocked with what you need to cook."
PreviousNext
1234569
PRICE RANGE
US$128 - US$303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
golden bear cottages hotel big bear lakegolden bear hotelgolden bear resort
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaBig Bear Region
NUMBER OF ROOMS
29
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing