We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Management photos
Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

191 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella
See the most recent reviews
Showing 171: English reviews
Mackay, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2016

I had both my wedding ceremony and reception at Broken River Mountain Resort in April this year. It was an absolutely magical day, made all the more easier by the resort management and chef. Management worked with us at all times to provide the wedding of our dreams and the chef provided a delicious menu. It was the perfect place... More 

Helpful?
Thank laurenmurray87
BrokenRiver, Manager at Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella, responded to this review

I am so happy we could make your day a special one. You looked beautiful and vey radiant. Our good wishes to both of you for a long and happy marriage. More 

Los Osos, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2016

We stayed here on a cool, rainy day and evening. We enjoyed the wood fire in our cabin. The beds were comfortable. We enjoyed the convenient restaurant and good food. The main lodge also had a wood burning fireplace. The staff were friendly. The highlight of our stay were the numerous duck-billed platypuses that were swimming in the river nearby.... More 

Helpful?
Thank onaroll56
BrokenRiver, Owner at Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella, responded to this review

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to see lots of Platypus and enjoy our walking tracks. I have passed on your comments about the Restaurant and food to our Chef who was most grateful. We look forward to you spending more time with us next time. More 

Moranbah
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2016

We have stayed here three times now, over 14 years and visited the area many more times on day trips. I love that the rooms are surrounded by beautiful gardens and rainforest. The cabins/lodges we have stayed in had pot belly stove/ fires in them which made the rooms toasty and the restaurant is unberlievable. The service on our most... More 

Helpful?
Thank lavinniaj
BrokenRiver, Owner at Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments - we look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2016

We stayed here because of the chance to see platypus and were not disappointed. With some patient waiting (not too long) we saw them on four different occasions. We were told that there are about 13 breeding pairs in the immediate area so you have a good chance of seeing them. The accommodation was good and well equipped. There is... More 

Helpful?
Thank MrsWoowar
BrokenRiver, Owner at Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella, responded to this review

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the walk through the Rainforest. We were pleased to be helpful but I'm sorry you were disappointed with the Restaurant. I'll discuss your comments about the food with the Chef, but I believe the prices are reasonable considering the costs involved in our remote location. More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2016

Arrived on a rainy day so the place felt a little gloomy being down in the valley, however there was a lovely manager present to welcome us and show us the available rooms. The communal area was lovely and cosy with board games etc and felt like a nice environment for families. There was also several other activities for families,... More 

Helpful?
Thank deluxetrolley
BrokenRiver, Owner at Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella, responded to this review

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and saw some of our local wildlife.One of the joys or otherwise of living in mountain country is the lack of mobile coverage, however we do offer free Wi-Fi to our guests in the Guest Lounge and all rooms have phones. More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2016

The cabin was good but fairly expensive. Had a stove top and microwave for cooking. Also a restaurant on site but fairly expensive.Wonderful to see the platypus each morning and night just a few steps away but noticed since we were here four years ago that the water has become very much cloudier.If you are going to self cater buy... More 

Helpful?
Thank Doubledares
BrokenRiver, Owner at Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella, responded to this review

I'm glad you enjoyed seeing the Platypus even if the water was cloudier. The water quality varies depending on whether we have had recent rain and sometimes it is caused by the Platypus themselves if they are feeding vigorously. I'm sorry you found our Accommodation and Restaurant expensive - we try and keep our prices reasonable but unfortunately our costs... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2016

Real estate mavens like to squawk about location, location, location. Well, you couldn't get better than this. If you plan to go to Eungella National Park to commune with platypuses, Broken River Mountain Retreat is just steps away from what may be the best spot to sight this elusive monotreme in all of Australia. The trails and bridge to sight... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen W
BrokenRiver, Manager at Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review and lovely comments. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and as you say location, location, location. The platypus are excelling themselves with sightings at the moment. They must be loving the cooler weather. More 

Proserpine, Australia
Level Contributor
335 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2016

Not too cold, but not hot either. Our family with children aged 10 and 12 visited here recently and just love the place. This is not our first visit and won't be our last. The staff are very friendly, helpful and happy to have a chat. The cabins are simple, clean the fireplace makes it cosy. A great place to... More 

Helpful?
Thank blaintm
BrokenRiver, Manager at Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments. The weather is cooling down at last and the fires are going on. I love the atmosphere it creates. The young paddymelon is now out of the pouch and hopping around on its own. Life is good. More 

Meerbusch, Germany
Level Contributor
136 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2016

The cabins at the Broken River Mountain Retreat provide all the necessities and are kept clean and welcoming. The retreat is set in the Eungella National Park and provides a unique opportunity to view the duck billed platypus in its natural habitat. We were able to enjoy watching these unusual mammals as they enjoyed their evening swim. We also sighted... More 

Helpful?
Thank Keith S
BrokenRiver, Manager at Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella, responded to this review

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to see so much wildlife. The cockatoos do get a noisy but thankfully usually not all day. More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2016

My partner and I have just come back after spending Easter in the resort. It is a lovely place very quiet and peaceful the cockatoos like to break that a bit though. The rooms are adaquate and clean and comfortable. Judy and Denis the owners of the resort go out of thier way to make sure you enjoy your stay.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sue N
BrokenRiver, Owner at Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments about the Resort and Staff. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to enjoy some of our wildlife. Look forward to seeing you on your next visit to North Qld. More 

118 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (114)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersGold level
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella

Address: Eungella Dam Rd., Eungella, Queensland, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Eungella
Price Range: €96 - €134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broken River Mountain Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“In winter ask for the built in fire place - wood supplied. For larger families there are separate cabins with more bedroom space.”
 of 5 bubbles Craigusb, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“If you have small children ask for a room near the swings. There are also BBQ facilities near most rooms.”
  • Pot belly in our room
  • More gardens
  • The garden near our room
 of 5 bubbles lavinniaj, 17 Jun 2016 | Read review
“All very good”
 of 5 bubbles Matt47Coventry, 2 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Really enjoyed our one bedroom unit in Cedar Lodge - especially the log fire because it was rather chilly at night!”
 of 5 bubbles WFKtravels, 20 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Shop in Mackay for self contained requirements”
 of 5 bubbles CuriousQueenslanders, 25 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay