We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella

Hotwire.comUS$104*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

202 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 181: English reviews
Start your review of Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella
 Click to rate
Townsville, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here three nights and had a lovely time apart from the bad weather which was no ones fault. Rooms were clean and very cosy. The location is convenient for rainforest walks and platypus spotting. The staff were all friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank barr1984
BrokenRiver, Owner at Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments about our Staff - sorry about the weather.

Moranbah, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

"Get out of town" o/n trip to broken river cabins, Eungella proved a fantastic idea, should've had more time, log fire cabins were awesome and cosy, a bit dated but still in immaculate condition. Minimal wifi but it's their if you want it. Staff were friendly and very helpful. To see the platypus stick to LATE DUSK or EARLY DAWN....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnOA87
BrokenRiver, Owner at Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay and the Log fires and thank you for your comments about our Staff. We think it's more important to have the pot belly stoves for winter rather than Air Conditioning, partly because we are an Eco Resort and partly because we are usually about 7 degrees cooler than the Coast - in Winter our temperature...

Mackay
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were welcomed at reception with an update of the walking tracks which were open.We stayed at the double rooms with the kitchenette. Very clean. We ate dinner and breakfast at the restaurant with great quality food and friendly service. We saw our complementary platypus in broken river just before sunset. This is our 4th visit to Broken River Resort.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MicknSteph
BrokenRiver, Owner at Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella, responded to this review

Thank you for coming to see us again - sorry about the tracks but Cyclone Debbie did the Rainforest no favours - I will pass on your complements to Chef

Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

We had a wonderful two days in a plain but very clean and comfortable cabin. The staff are very accommodating and friendly. Our evening meal in the restaurant was very tasty and attractively presented. Will definitely return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Desley P
BrokenRiver, Owner at Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments about our Staff. I will also pass on your comments about meals to our Chef. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 25 February 2017

Came up for the weekend to see the platypus, saw lots of these littles fellas. This resort is right on the river where you can view the platypus. We did not stay here but enjoyed an evening meal. The food and service was lovely, actually had carpet bag steak, yum. The ambience is relaxing and the nightly visits of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robyn L
BrokenRiver, Owner at Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella, responded to this review

I'm glad you saw lots of our Platypuses and possums-the possums are Common Brush Tail I'll pass on your complements to the Chef.

Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

Have just spent 2 nights at Broken River Resort. Saw the platypus in the river on numerous occasions, delightful. We did the evening walk with Miles, very informative with local area and Clark ranges unique species. Day 2 walked the 8 klm along the river back to the car park. Chris dropped us off and it probably took good part...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denise K
BrokenRiver, Owner at Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella, responded to this review

I'm pleased you enjoyed the Spotlighting Tour with Myles. During the Wet season we do have lots of leeches and always provide small plastic bags of salt to sprinkle on them - they don't like it and shrivel up and fall away. We advise guests to never pull them off as the puncture will continue to bleed. I have passed...

South Yorkshire, UK
Reviewed 6 February 2017

Was recommended this and we're grateful they did! On an extended visit to Oz we were getting a little jaded by the constant heat down on the coast where apparently there is a heatwave so we slotted in a two night break. Having stocked up on a few basics we arrived in heavy rain which obscured the fantastic views but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 7276gb
BrokenRiver, Manager at Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella, responded to this review

Also being from UK originally I never thought I would say "thank goodness for the rain" I am glad that you enjoyed your visit. I came up from the valley yesterday and it was 30 deg there and a very pleasant 24 when we got back up here. Bliss. Enjoy the rest of your stay in Australia and a safe...

Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

My wife and I visited Broken River on a campervan trip through Queensland, hoping to see platypuses. The local campground we had planned on using had shut down and we asked Jenny Acre at the Resort if she had a room available. She had and, at five minutes notice, we had accommodation. The room was well equipped, clean and very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leigh H
BrokenRiver, Manager at Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella, responded to this review

I am so glad that we were able to help you out and you had the added bonus of seeing platypuses. Being right next to the river you can just pop back whenever you want another sighting. Enjoy the rest of your travels.

Airlie Beach, Australia
Reviewed 28 January 2017

I spoilt myself and took a short break from work to stay at Broken River Mountain Resort. We choose the most economical option and were happy with the room. It was lovely and cool and great to snuggle down for the night. Jenny was very welcoming and the restaurant operated by Brett and his young son Memphis was a real...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AirlieAptsinAirlie
BrokenRiver, Manager at Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella, responded to this review

It certainly was cooler up here than down in the valley. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Young Memphis was very pleased with himself when he read your comments. Nice when they get good reviews for their good behavior. Thanks you.

Cairns, Australia
Reviewed 7 January 2017

Stayed overnight on Christmas Eve (2016), staff were friendly and welcoming. We emailed prior to arrival and replies were promptly replied and informative. Cabin was comfortable, clean and tidy. Information provided by staff was useful to the location of the Platypus viewing. We slept well and the bed was comfortable. Unfortunately due to Christmas Day the tours the following day...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GLR01
BrokenRiver, Owner at Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments about staff and responses. As advised in response to your Guest Survey, we plan a refurbishment after the wet season.

121 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (117)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (71)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersGold level
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella

Address: Eungella Dam Rd., Eungella, Queensland, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Eungella
Price Range: €91 - €126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broken River Mountain Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Personal choice depending on cost”
AirlieAptsinAirlie, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“In winter ask for the built in fire place - wood supplied. For larger families there are separate cabins with more bedroom space.”
Craigusb, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“If you have small children ask for a room near the swings. There are also BBQ facilities near most rooms.”
  • Pot belly in our room
  • More gardens
  • The garden near our room
lavinniaj, 17 Jun 2016 | Read review
“All very good”
Matt47Coventry, 2 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Really enjoyed our one bedroom unit in Cedar Lodge - especially the log fire because it was rather chilly at night!”
WFKtravels, 20 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotwire.com
US$104* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$104
TripAdvisorUS$104
Elvoline
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates