We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Management photos
Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

191 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 171: English reviews
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

I suspect like many other visitors we came to see the platypus and were not disappointed. Within a 10 minute easy stroll from the resort we found ourselves at a viewing platform about 4:00 pm where 3 platypus were busy foraging for their evening meal. It was interesting, entertaining and relaxing to watch them bob to the surface for a... More 

Helpful?
Thank HappyInBlueJeans
BrokenRiver, Manager at Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella, responded to this review

It doesn't matter how many times you sight the platypus it is always exciting. Guests have been having great viewing this week, I'm glad you got good viewings as well. More 

Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having travelled down the Queensland coast this was the perfect antidote to all those lovely,albeit, scorchingley hot beaches. Situated high on a plateaux Broken River is refreshingly cool, quiet and tranquil. The lodges are basic but fine. If it rains be prepared for the surrounding forest to come alive at night with the calls of the many different frogs that... More 

Helpful?
Thank PhilReed186386
BrokenRiver, Owner at Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our Resort - I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the tours with Myles. We are very pleased to have him working with us for the very reasons you stated and I will certainly pass on your kind words to him. I'm sorry you had a disappointing experience in the Restaurant - I will... More 

Level Contributor
132 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2016

We stayed two nights here on the edge of the Eungella National Park. This is possibly the best place in the world to see Platypus and only a minutes walk from the holtel. Lodges inn the resort are well fitted and clean each with its own verandah to sit out enjoying the local wildlife of the grounds and surrounding forest.... More 

Helpful?
Thank DevonEcologist
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

This is a wonderful place with beautiful grounds. I am sure young children would love it. We did. Yes it is basic but that is part of the charm. It is also very reasonably priced. The units are very clean. Good bed and pillows. And most importantly we saw platypus. Yay! Very happy.

Helpful?
Thank flickymicky
BrokenRiver, Manager at Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella, responded to this review

Glad you got to see the platypus. They are such cute creatures. I still get excited each time I see one even though it is nearly every day. More 

Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

Been going annually to this location for over a decade. A wonderful place to offline and take in nature. Virtually guaranteed to see platypus as you will be able to spend time at the best viewing times. The accommodation is starting to become old, however it's clean and the beds comfy. I am now starting to bring kids and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank bigj369
BrokenRiver, Manager at Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review. We also love having you here. I have passed your comments onto the chef about the music and I will try and find him some more suitable music. Until next year. More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed one night at this resort and it inspired us to create a new theory: eco-tourism=nagging tourism. There were so many signs in our room telling us what we could and couldn't do that it made us cranky (and rebellious). One sign pointed out the loft in our room and forbade us to use it under any circumstances. And... More 

Helpful?
Thank HelenandTrevor
BrokenRiver, Manager at Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella, responded to this review

I am sorry that you did not seem to have enjoyed your stay with us. I feel that your comments were a little harsh. We have the top Eco accreditation given to us by the independent board that vets business to see if we are eligible for accreditation. This involves everything from rubbish/recycling, water waste and treatment to what chemicals... More 

London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

3 nights stay in this very friendly and welcoming lodge. Platypus viewing morning and evening with great walking all around the lodge. Finch Hatton Gorge nearby and a must to trek. Restaurant gives excellent meals with Possum viewing too !

Helpful?
Thank NubianLondon
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

Visiting Eungella national park or in search for the Platypus ... Broken river mountain is the place to be. You have to drive a little bit more than a 30 mins from Mackay inland. Try to do it during the day, since at night you have lots of animals ( frogs ) crossing some little street which result in some... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vincent_D_BE
BrokenRiver, Owner at Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella, responded to this review

It seems like you had a very enjoyable stay. We are at least an hour from Mackay and I wouldn't worry about the frogs as they are actually Cane Toads and they are declared a feral pest and we would like to see the end of them all. For information of others the Continental Breakfast is not included in the... More 

Home Hill, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2016

We took 3 nights here for a nice relaxed mid-week break. Wow, couldn't have been better. Spotted platipus from the garden. A short walk to the river for more sightings. National park is beautifully maintained and right on our door step. Don't miss the drive to Eungella dam. Room was great especially on those cold nights when i had no... More 

Helpful?
Thank Graeme H
BrokenRiver, Owner at Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella, responded to this review

I'm glad you enjoyed our wood fires - they do help take the edge off the Chilly nights. I have passed on your comments to Chef and he was most grateful. Look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Mackay, Queensland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2016

The Broken River Mountain Resort has long been a favourite location for my wife and I. It is good all year round but is at its best, for us, in winter when the log fire places in the cabins help create a snug, romantic sense of isolation. During our recent three night stay it did not stop raining. The rain... More 

Helpful?
Thank Craigusb
BrokenRiver, Owner at Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella, responded to this review

Thank you for coming back to us and I'm glad the Rain didn't put you off. Look forward to seeing you again soon (hopefully before next winter) More 

118 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (114)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersGold level
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella

Address: Eungella Dam Rd., Eungella, Queensland, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Eungella
Price Range: €96 - €133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broken River Mountain Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“In winter ask for the built in fire place - wood supplied. For larger families there are separate cabins with more bedroom space.”
 of 5 bubbles Craigusb, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“If you have small children ask for a room near the swings. There are also BBQ facilities near most rooms.”
  • Pot belly in our room
  • More gardens
  • The garden near our room
 of 5 bubbles lavinniaj, 17 Jun 2016 | Read review
“All very good”
 of 5 bubbles Matt47Coventry, 2 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Really enjoyed our one bedroom unit in Cedar Lodge - especially the log fire because it was rather chilly at night!”
 of 5 bubbles WFKtravels, 20 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Shop in Mackay for self contained requirements”
 of 5 bubbles CuriousQueenslanders, 25 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay