We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Travelodge Berkeley

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Travelodge Berkeley
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

242 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Travelodge Berkeley
See the most recent reviews
Showing 237: English reviews
Santa Rosa, California
Reviewed 15 September 2016

This hotel has been recently remodeled and is very nice. Excellent location to Uc berkeley and parking is available and easy. Staff was also friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 515kathleenp
mannyamingm, General Manager at Travelodge Berkeley, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked our renovations. From location to service it sounds like we were the perfect fit for your hotel needs. We'll be sure to pass along your kind words to the rest of the team. We hope to see you soon...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 12 September 2016

The place was under construction. Half of the rooms were being worked on. We were not told this was going on at the hotel or we would have stayed someplace else. Very rude Managers were yelling and slamming doors. No place to park. Very little food because the construction workers were in the office taking all of it. Room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank susanbW622SL
mannyamingm, General Manager at Travelodge Berkeley, responded to this review

Dear guest, we apologize that the improvements happening around our hotel negatively affected your stay. We have made it clear to our team to keep the noise level to minimum and instructed them to do the work only during a certain time-frame to ensure our guests have a comfortable stay with us. Once again please accept our apologies that this...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 8 September 2016

very nice remodeled room & nice owners. when the renovation is completed, the parking lot will be easier to navigate.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidkC9600MO
mannyamingm, General Manager at Travelodge Berkeley, responded to this review

From remodeled rooms to service it sounds like we were the perfect fit for your hotel needs. We'll be sure to pass along your kind words to the rest of the team and appreciate your patience as we remodel! We look forward to welcome you back again soon. Thank you for taking time to leave us your review. Best regards,...

Bay Area
Reviewed 30 August 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SayiBear
mannyamingm, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Berkeley, responded to this review

Monterey County, California
Reviewed 24 August 2016

For one night, this was a decent hotel. However, keep in mind that it is one step above Motel 6. Very basic. Unfortunately, I chose to stay here for the price which was $200. The hotels in Berkeley raise their prices exorbitantly when Cal parents are in town which happened to me. Ordinarily, I would not pay this amount for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelingnancy2015
mannyamingm, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Berkeley, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for staying with us and sharing your concerns with us. As you mentioned, Berkeley's hotel prices tend to be higher during peak seasons, however, we do keep our prices competitive for this area. We always aim to provide clean comfortable stay for all our guests, so we are glad to see that we achieved that goal...

Irvine, California
Reviewed 24 August 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WhiteMay16
mannyamingm, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Berkeley, responded to this review

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 16 August 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 625ritaj
mannyamingm, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Berkeley, responded to this review

Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewed 7 August 2016

Clean room. They are in the progress of upgrading the hotel. The bathrooms are very nice. Bear bite breakfast simple, but not maintained well. Late coming out and usually out. Had to wait more than one hour on the second day to get anything to eat.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank U3555UWRobert
mannyamingm, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Berkeley, responded to this review

We're glad that your time here was comfortable -- thank you for the kind review! We apologize for the extra wait during your stay. We would like to assure you that this is not the usual situation. We hope you will stay with us again. Thank you! Warm Regards, Manny P. General Manager

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 2 August 2016

They are doing renovations on half the hotel. it was noisy, hard to park, and all around no fun. They made no mention of the disruptive renovations on the web site when I booked, so they were holding that back until you get there and it's too late to cancel. Sloppy and unethical.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank williammN7059UZ
mannyamingm, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Berkeley, responded to this review

Dear guest, we apologize that the work happening around our hotel negatively affected your stay. Once construction is over, we'll be in better shape than ever before. We are almost done, and we hope this hasn't affected your decision to stay with us in the future. We'd love to have you again! Thank you, Hotel Management

Berkeley
Reviewed 31 July 2016

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank philipl504

7 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
0.8 km away
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
#8 of 20 in Berkeley
315 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,106 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Durant
Hotel Durant
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Nash Hotel
Nash Hotel
#10 of 20 in Berkeley
74 reviews
0.2 km away
Quality Inn University
Quality Inn University
#15 of 20 in Berkeley
50 reviews
1.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Energize your next trip to the beautiful San Francisco Bay area and book a room at our Berkeley Travelodge hotel. Centrally located in the heart of East Bay, our Berkeley, CA, hotel is only 3 blocks from University of California Berkeley places you within minutes of great restaurants, shopping and top attractions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Travelodge Berkeley

Address: 1820 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94703-1516
Region: United States > California > Berkeley
Price Range: €93 - €204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Berkeley 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Travelodge Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Berkeley Hotel Berkeley
Berkeley Travelodge
Berkeley Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Berkeley
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge Berkeley staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Travelodge Berkeley staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room on the back of the property. Very Quiet!”
 of 5 bubbles mgeorge557, 19 May 2015 | Read review
“Request a room with a bathtub because the shower has issues.”
 of 5 bubbles GalFromVegas, 3 Mar 2014 | Read review
“Go to a different hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles viinccee, 23 Jan 2014 | Read review
“Apparently some rooms are better than others. Ask to see some first to choose.”
 of 5 bubbles Happib, 3 Sep 2013 | Read review
4 of 4
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay