We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield

Expedia.comUS$54*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

565 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 515: English reviews
Start your review of Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield
 Click to rate
Bakersfield, California
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The room wasn't cleaned, the Walls were covered with mold. I was very upset about this conditions. The light went on if you move to the bathroom in the nigjt, you couldn't switched it off, unbeliveable...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 548sabinew
Montpellier, France
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Ok, 60$ night room. But still. The room wasn't clean. There were holes, spots of dirt and hair in the sheets (lovely start). The bath tub was super dirty too. The paint was falling down the ceiling on the balcony. And the best, the cherry on the cake, there were a spider crashed on the wall (and not removed) and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Viosby
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We strive to ensure all our guests are satisfied with their stay. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations. I will pass the message to that department. I hope you give us a second chance. Best Regards

Berkeley, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

The grounds and reception area are attractive and spacious. Nice gardens & pool. The hotel is walking distance to the Buck Owens Crystal Palace -- great fun music experience for the "Bakersfield Sound". Our room was nice and large but located overlooking the parking lot. I recommend asking for a room overlooking the pool. Still and all, there were numerous...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pkbrand
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are so happy your stay was comfortable, it tells us we are doing something right. Your positive comments are greatly appreciated and glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Come visit us again in the near future.

Vallejo, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

Cannot rate room for anything.. zero is correct for that night for everything.. need new employees, new beds, sheets. Everything at your hotel was horrible.. I want a full refund and will contact the health dept

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank gaylords351
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We strive to ensure all our guests are satisfied with their stay. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations. I will pass the message to that department. I hope you give us a second chance. Best Regards

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Well I read the reviews and we thought it was fantastic for a travelling group of Aussies. We could not get this room for $67 back home. King bed fantastic, huge rooms, no complaints at all. Sure the rooms may be a little dated but a great stay none the less. Breakfast was average but included. We thought it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 45rossite
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are so happy your stay was comfortable, it tells us we are doing something right. Your positive comments are greatly appreciated and glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Come visit us again in the near future.

Davis, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Location is next to highway 99 and close to downtown. We were pleasantly impressed by the accommodations. The room was very clean, large and the amenities sufficient. The full breakfast and service was a very good value.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank nancybS6245SZ
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are so happy your stay was comfortable, it tells us we are doing something right. Your positive comments are greatly appreciated and glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Come visit us again in the near future.

Bakersfield, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Pleasantly surprised, room had balcony Great value, TV micro, mini fridge AC cooled room quickly. Very please with stay. I would recommend red lion inn. I did reserve my room on booking.com so I saved $26, even so at regular price this is a great room.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 522janeyw
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are so happy your stay was comfortable, it tells us we are doing something right. Your positive comments are greatly appreciated and glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Come visit us again in the near future.

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

First room was filled with mold. Entire hotel had no air conditioning when I was switched rooms the air conditioner did not work they leave all the ac units off until people get there so it's incredibly hot in the summer and easy for mold to set in. Dirty. Not worth it

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We strive to ensure all our guests are satisfied with their stay. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations. I will pass the message to that department. I hope you give us a second chance. Best Regards

San Leandro, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed 1 night passing through Bakersfield and was glad the rate was so good because this hotel is very outdated and need of a facelift. Pet friendly no charge for our 2 small dogs. 6 breakfast choices at their restaurant for free was good, restaurant employees very nice. The beds were comfortable, but the furnishings were very outdated and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 892willyq
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are so happy your stay was comfortable, it tells us we are doing something right. Your positive comments are greatly appreciated and glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Come visit us again in the near future.

Humboldt County, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here with my 8 week-old baby, eleven-year-old son, and fiancée. The hotel was very run down, the bed skirt was dirty and stained, the sheets had black hairs on them. My fiancée and son thought they were being bitten by something on their legs. Then I found a BED BUG on the bed next to me and my...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chelsea B
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We strive to ensure all our guests are satisfied with their stay. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations. I will pass the message to that department. I hope you give us a second chance. Best Regards

82 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (63)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
2.1 km away
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
#19 of 63 in Bakersfield
121 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Rosedale
Hotel Rosedale
#28 of 63 in Bakersfield
311 reviews
0.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bakersfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.5 km away
Best Western Heritage Inn
Best Western Heritage Inn
#9 of 63 in Bakersfield
286 reviews
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central
6.9 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A tropical Bakersfield, CA Hotel Near Downtown Welcome to a tropical oasis in the heart of Bakersfield. Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield is set amidst lush landscaping with an Olympic-sized swimming pool, soothing hot tub and relaxing courtyard, among other unique features. Suitable for business trips, family vacations, special events and groups, our Bakersfield, CA hotel is conveniently located within easy access of the vibrant downtown area, where guests will find a variety of shops, restaurants and attractions. Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield features 198 spacious and well-appointed guest rooms with amenities like 42" flat screen TVs with HBO and free Wi-Fi. Just outside your door, our hotel in Bakersfield, CA offers complimentary made-to-order breakfast every morning, a modern fitness center and 4,000 square feet of flexible meeting space. Centrally located to Freeway 99 and Highways 58 and 178, our Bakersfield hotel offers guests premier access to such attractions as the Kern County Fairgrounds, the Buck Owens Crystal Palace, Camelot Park and the Fox Theater. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield

Address: 2620 Buck Owens Blvd, Bakersfield, CA 93308-6310 (Formerly Crystal Palace Inn & Suites)
Region: United States > California > Bakersfield
Price Range: €54 - €79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Crystal Palace Hotel Bakersfield
Best Western Bakersfield
Bakersfield Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Medford, Oregon
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not stay here, period.”
tortola1993, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room 134 sucked”
Monaw51, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Some rooms have better internet connectivity than others.”
589nicholasg, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor was great”
RogerDieppe_Canada, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get a room away from the front of the hotel near Buck Owens Blvd and Highway 99.”
TomF893, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$54* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$72
TravelocityUS$54
Hotwire.comUS$54
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates