We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
33 Highway 60 Km Lake of Two Rivers, Algonquin Provincial Park, Ontario P1H 2G9 Canada
Visit hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
Overview
Visit hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
33 Highway 60 Km Lake of Two Rivers, Algonquin Provincial Park, Ontario P1H 2G9 Canada See on map
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Beachfront
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Family Rooms
3 Star accommodation
Additional information
Visit hotel website
About
Description
The Lodge is located right inside Algonquin Park on a private peninsula on Lake of Two Rivers. We offer individual lakeside cabins, your own canoe, fine country dining and friendly personal service. Our More central location in the Park provides a convenient way to explore and enjoy this lovely wilderness area in comfort and at your own pace. Walk or hike, canoe or bike ... There's so much to do. The spectacular Park Visitor Centre, the instructive Logging Museum and the stunning Algonquin Park Art Centre are each only minutes away. Attend one of the many interesting programs offered by Park naturalists, or let our knowledgeable staff here at the Lodge help plan an enjoyable day trip for you! Come join us ... In the heart of Algonquin Park. Eric and all of us here at Killarney Lodge. (Pets accepted in limited number of cabins only - please enquire) Less
Hotel class
Contact Information
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Parking
Restaurant
Beachfront
Free Internet
Breakfast included
Breakfast Available
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wheelchair Access
Pool
Room Service
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Contact Information
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Number of rooms
27
Price range
US$537 - US$1,432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Killarney Hotel Algonquin Park
Location
Canada > Ontario > Algonquin Provincial Park
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Algonquin East Gate Motel
67 reviews
21.86 km away
Algonquin River Inn
29 reviews
22.90 km away
Parkway Cottage Resort & Trading Post
73 reviews
40.78 km away
Algonquin Lakeside Inn
382 reviews
40.96 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 7 nearby restaurants
Bartlett Lodge Restaurant
77 reviews
9.54 km away
Chris ' Diner and pizzeria
79 reviews
21.85 km away
Porterville Diner
24 reviews
47.20 km away
Henrietta's Pine Bakery
221 reviews
49.16 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 49 nearby attractions
Lookout Trail
133 reviews
5.64 km away
Centennial Ridges Trail
44 reviews
6.86 km away
Two Rivers Trail
19 reviews
2.39 km away
Highland Backpacking Trail
18 reviews
3.30 km away
Reviews & more
293Reviews
284Photos
2Q+A
83Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 197
  • 64
  • 23
  • 7
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
This turned out to be exactly what we hoped it would be, a lodge by the lake with great hospitality. The cabin was comfortable and the meals we wholesome and pleasing, but not fine dinning as on their posters. It is a great base for driving to set walks and the people at Killarne
Read more
Response from Eric M, Owner at Killarney Lodge
Responded 3 weeks ago
"a lodge ... with great hospitality" That's what we aim to do ... thank you so much! And thank you as well for pointing out that it's "a great base" for getting to all the walks. We appreciate as well your compliments about our meals. We do need however to specifically point out that we do not advertise "fine dining". Rather we use the term "fine country dining" which we do feel is an accurate representation of our offerings. Glad you enjoyed them :)
Read more
We have been to Killarney Lodge three times in the past three years - once as a couple, once with two of our young adult children (and elderly dog) and then again this year with my elderly parents. All times we were extremely pleased with the accommodations, food and overall fee
Read more
Response from Eric M, Owner at Killarney Lodge
Responded 6 Nov 2018
Thank you so very much for the opening summary of your detailed review: "All times we were extremely pleased with the accommodations, food and overall feel of the resort." Allow us to offer below a couple of clarifications to some of your comments :) 1) We have different categories of cabins which do have different prices. Cabins that face "Beaver House Bay" to which you referred are in fact less expensive. Nevertheless we do have guests who, for a variety of reasons including privacy, specifically ask for them. Not everyone necessarily feels the same way as you might think. 2) We have always included lunch to keep everything simple with one price ... in fact just so there are no "add-ons" ! Don't forget that the majority of our guests DO want lunch. As an alternative one can of course always choose to order a small picnic lunch/snack to enjoy at your cabin or elsewhere. 3) Yes, the meals are plentiful and we pride ourselves on that! If guests are going to be active in the Park we want to make sure that they are well-fed. Now one always has the option, at any meal, of just asking your server for a smaller portion ... some of our guests do in fact do that (I often do myself ;) Or one can always skip the odd dessert. LOL 4) Not that we get many but mice are a fact of life in Algonquin Park ... and when they want to get in, they will always find a way. It's unlikely that any "non-exorbitant" price could keep them out. At certain times of the season we just do need to put out traps ... sorry. And yes we do hide them under furniture ... but frankly most guests would prefer it that way. (PS: in the 35 years I've been here we've never had a child "spring" a trap ;) Finally, we are a bit perturbed about your comment "after looking at their 2019 price increases". In fact our 2019 increases are less than our 2018 increases, and are effectively in line with our 2017 and 2016 increases. And we know that our price increases over the last several years have been in line with those of most comparable Ontario resorts ... so it's not like we are getting way more expensive or anything. IF you find things getting a little pricey for your budget may we suggest: > coming during our less expensive Regular (rather than High) rate period > OR coming during our significantly less expensive Spring period And before anyone says something about bugs in the spring be aware that: May in Algonquin Park is normally largely bug-free ... compared to cottage-country! That is because the Park is the high point of Southern Ontario and as such is cooler, and as such ... the bugs don't start til the very end of May or early June. Try it sometime ;) Thanks again so much for your comprehensive comments about your three visits. We do hope that by rethinking your travel calendar ... we'll be able to have you visit us again. Best wishes!
Read more
We were here for dinner last month for the first time and were very disappointed. The service from the moment we were greeted was impersonal and rushed. The food was very much sub par even for 'casual' fine dining. Comments from our table ranged from 'I think I had this at Cra
Read more
Response from Eric M, Owner at Killarney Lodge
Responded 6 Nov 2018
We are sorry you didn't enjoy your meal. Your description of your dining experience is quite different from what other guests say in their reviews so we don't quite know what to say. We wish that you had spoken to us at the time. We would certainly have tried to address your concerns. We do value the opinion of everyone who comes to the Lodge. Thank you for taking the time to write ... and we do hope that you'll scan through some of the other reviews and, based on them, give us at least one more try :)
Read more
+3
Killarney Lodge retains all of the rustic charm of its original 1935 construction - log cabins located on beautiful Lake of Two Rivers within Algonquin Provincial Park.
The cabins have been renovated to modern standards and decorated in a style that is reminiscent of a mid-centu
Read more
Response from Eric M, Owner at Killarney Lodge
Responded 6 Nov 2018
What wonderful ways to describe the Lodge! "... retains all of the rustic charm of its original 1935 construction" "... reminiscent of a mid-century fishing lodge" Thank you so much ... and thank you so much for all the complimentary things you had to say about the meals, food preparation and generous portions ... as well as the "can do" attitude of all the staff. We absolutely loved how you encapsulated your experience here with us ... "thoroughly enjoyed the cozy comfort, easy hospitality and quiet location ... Highly recommended." Thank you for taking the time to write and share your experience with potential future guests.
Read more
We spent 2 nights at this careful development of about 25 cabins on a small peninsula of land looking over two lakes south of and close to the main Highway 60, which runs from east to west across Algonquin Park. Each cabin has its own heating , bathroom and living room ( includi
Read more
Response from Eric M, Owner at Killarney Lodge
Responded 6 Nov 2018
Thank you for taking the time to send in your wide-ranging comments ... including your very complimentary comments about the staff here. We'll try and touch briefly on some of your other comments. While you refer to our rates as unexpectedly expensive, they are comparable to those of the other two lodges in the Park. In much broader terms you would also find our rates comparable with those for similar-type lodges in other national parks across Canada and the US. We were also surprised by your view that "Europeans who travel widely" would find our rates expensive. We get many visitors from all over the world (and not just Europe) and while certainly none would characterize our rates as inexpensive ... most tell us (when asked) that our rates are not unreasonable on an international basis. When it comes to "no wifi in the cabins" we can tell you that your view is certainly a minority view amongst our guests. Provided that wifi is available somewhere on the property ... the significant majority of our guests, including international, are appreciative of our wifi policy ... no matter how "out of touch" in your view it may be ;) As far as our cooking goes we will just point out that your comments are quite at variance with most of the review comments we receive from guests ... for example the review following next after yours made just three days later. Finally we need to address your comments about dinner winding down too early for you. It appears that you were here during the high summer months when after dinner ... > there are evening programs at 8:30pm every day run by the Park; > there is still time for a canoe paddle or a short walk/hike; > there is still time for a drive to look for moose or other wildlife > you can sit on your deck or at the beach sipping some wine as the sun goes down. To be honest the vast majority of our guests in the spring and summer choose not to linger in the dining room. Nevertheless to avoid slower diners from feeling uncomfortable we do make a point of speaking to each of those tables inviting them to just take their time and not to feel rushed ... we point out that are always around until at least 10pm. We sincerely apologize if somehow one of us failed to convey such invitation to you. Once again thank you for taking the time to write.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachFamily and Play Areas
Photo provided by managementKillarney Lodge
Comfortable fully furnished cabins
Photo provided by managementKillarney Lodge
The deck at Cabin 20
deck view
The cabin
Previous
Hi do you have tea/ coffee making facilities in the rooms? Many thanks Ann
Killarney has a nice selection of complimentary tea, coffee, cocoa and cookies in the guest lodge at all times (with complimentary cold drinks and snacks in the paddle shop), but no kettles or coffee makers in the cabins. I noticed that the owners commented on an earlier review that, being a historic property, the wiring in the cabins couldn't necessarily handle kettles on top of lights and hair dryers without tripping the fuses. The guest lodge and paddle shop are easily accessible, so we didn't mind.
0 votes
Would this be an appropriate place to take a 3 year old and 1 year old?
"Ask for a cabin overlooking main lake"
"Far from entrance from Highway 60"
"Crowe Cottage, excellent but difficult to find!"
"Cabin 29 is on the tip of the peninsula so best for privacy and views."
"Get a cabin not facing the road"
Previous
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing