We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Portaferry Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Portaferry Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

321 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 319: English reviews
Start your review of Portaferry Hotel
 Click to rate
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Called in for lunch whilst out on the bike with the son. Friendly staff, good choice on the menu and the food was good, sat in the bar area and ate. Price slightly high for the standard of food (just an opinion) but still good pub grub in a nice setting. Will be down again and have been a few...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
Cahal A, Owner at Portaferry Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Richard thanks for giving us a decent review. thanks for mentioning our "Friendly staff, good food,and menu choice" and we do take on board your comment on pricing Thanks Cahal

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Called into the hotel for a family lunch. Unfortunately despite the great location food was very poor. We had fish and chips and scampi but not off to a good start when you could see the oil on the plate! Given the prices the food just simply didn't match up.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michellec9905
Cahal A, Owner at Portaferry Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Michellec9905 sorry to hear that our food offering wasn't up to your expectations. Our Fish and Scampi are two of our most popular meals, and going by our reviews are generally well received. One star seems a bit harsh, no mention of hotel decor, toilets, or our staff etc thanks Cahal

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Visited yesterday for Sunday Lunch. Food excellent and staff efficient and attentive. A really great experience. Only one slight niggle.A basket of bread was brought to the table shortly after we were seated. We assumed that this was complimentary but found we had been charged for it when we received the bill.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eileen S
Cahal A, Owner at Portaferry Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Eileen, firstly can i apologise for the discrepancy on your bill. We don't charge for breads, so i don't know how this has arisen. If you would like to contact the hotel we will resolved this. Thank you you pointing out how good our staff were,"Food excellent" doesn't get any better. Hope to see in Portaferry again soon. Thanks...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the Portaferry Hotel on the first night of a three-night trip around County Down, and our room was very comfortable and welcoming, complete with four-poster bed. We took in Exploris shortly after arriving, and then went to dinner in the Hotel Restaurant. We were spoiled for choice, and opted for the Seafood Bouillabaisse and the Pan-fried Monkfish...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick C
Cahal A, Owner at Portaferry Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Nick, we hope hope you enjoyed visiting Portaferry, and Co.Down in general. Thanks for recognising Aiden in our bar, quality service needs quality staff. Its great to read a quality review including all aspects of our hotel. Maybe you will revisit us in the Winter when the fire is lit, and argue over a game of Scrabble. Thanks Cahal

Newtownards, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying in this lovely family hotel just before St Patrick's Day...our room was beautiful, overlooking the lough...our evening meal was delicious as was the breakfast the following morning. We were made very welcome by all . We look forward to returning and would like to thank everyone for being so warm and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Betty P
Cahal A, Owner at Portaferry Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Betty, Thanks for giving us a 5 star review. I'm delighted you enjoyed your visit to The Portaferry Hotel, and we look forward to you revisiting us. Our staff are encouraged to read all our guests reviews. Its important for us to see them get due recognition for what can be at times a very difficult job. Thanks Cahal

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Horrible urine smell, only worsened by the surly waitress who's only answer was, "no", with an air of annoyance, at our questions. This is the 4th time I've had to put this review up. Woeful place, used to be great, but is now terrible 👎

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Browners25
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

Called into the bar bistro just after lunchtime. No longer that busy. Drinks order was taken promptly and menus left with us. After quite a while I decided that I would go to our server rather than inconvenience her. She took our order without any apology for the delay. If we thought that had been a wait we were soon...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Victor T
Cahal A, Owner at Portaferry Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Victor, firstly on behalf of the hotel let me apoligise for our lack of service. I'm disgusted that you had to go and look for a waitress to take your order. As for an explanation, i have no idea what to say, but i can assure you this will be raised with our staff. I can only assume you...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2017

I have just returned from an overnight residential at this hotel and i just had to write a review because it was the PERFECT stay Food - the menu was comprehensive and was excellent quality. Being a pescatarian it can sometimes be hit and miss finding something decent on the menu, but not here. I had the bouillabaisse for lunch...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rogz
Cahal A, Owner at Portaferry Hotel, responded to this review

Hi rogz, I'm usually never stuck for words. But i don't know what to say, your review is without doubt the best, most detailed we have received to date. We appreciate the thought, effort and detail of your review. Its lovely to see our staff from the Kitchen to Housekeeping getting a mention. I have already shared this review on...

Portrush, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2017

We had lunch here a few years ago and it was just okay, however on this visit it was great, the whole place has had a freshen up the staff were really helpful and pleasant there was a great choice on the menu and the food was also as you would expect. Really good to see a local hotel like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Calhame
Cahal A, Owner at Portaferry Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Calhame, Thank you for reviewing our hotel. Delighted you enjoyed our food. Fair play for praising our staff, and a special thank you for your remark "Really good to see a local hotel like this doing well" Thanks Cahal

Ballygally, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 February 2017

We booked the one night dinner, bed and breakfast package and stayed in room 10 with beautiful views overlooking the pennisula. The room was clean and spacious with a large comfortable bed and all the extras you expect in an hotel room. Unfortunately the restaurant was not open so we dined in the bistro bar and the meal was very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Johnny M
Cahal A, Owner at Portaferry Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Johnny, Thank you for reviewing our hotel. Its always a great boost for us as a team to have a 5 star review. Room 10 is my favourite room, as the view East all the way through the Narrows to the sea is outstanding. We believe in cooked to order breakfasts, its usually the last dining experience our guests...

79 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (65)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portaferry
33.1 km away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
948 reviews
30.5 km away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
25.5 km away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.0 km away
Strangford Arms Hotel
Strangford Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newtownards
227 reviews
28.8 km away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
113 reviews
32.6 km away
The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Portaferry Hotel

Address: The Strand, Portaferry BT22 1PE, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Portaferry
Price Range: €113 - €162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Portaferry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Portaferry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portaferry Hotel Northern Ireland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Portaferry Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Ross-on-Wye, UK
3 months ago
Ross-on-Wye, UK
3 months ago
9 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Portaferry Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms with higher numbers > 6 face Strangford Lough”
nickcE5010HM, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I stayed in room 10”
rogz, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“all front rooms have views over Strangford Lough and harbour”
Calhame, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Sea view rooms are well worth the additional charge.”
O9271RJjohnm, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid rooms 1,2 and 3. Not very warm”
Knockgolfclub1, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5