We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Parador de Santillana Gil Blas

Booking.comUS$140*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
09/06/2017 10/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$154*
US$140*
US$154*
US$140*
US$154*
US$140*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Parador de Santillana Gil Blas
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

393 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 167: English reviews
Start your review of Parador de Santillana Gil Blas
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is ideally located for exploring the region and in particular the town. There is free parking at the nearby Parador. The beds were reasonably comfortable and tastefully furnished.However the bar staff were very slow to serve, and in the end we went out for a drink.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom A
Kendal, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Dark and sumptuous decor with period features, everything we could need in our spacious, comfortable room except for a view, sadly all we had was a shed! It did have a nice tiled roof tho. Breakfast and dinner were excellent. Reception very helpful and patient while we practiced our language skills, the dining room was a little more challenging but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lollybird
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a problem finding this hotel but were helped by the tourist information office. The welcome was good and the room amazing, lots of highly polished wood floors and rugs which could be a little hazardous. The beds were great and the views from the windows onto the square fantastic. We had lunch at the hotel which was interesting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The parador is in a historic building right in the centre of a very pretty village. It is a short drive from Santander so a good place to stop if using the ferry. The village is pedestrianised with a splendid historic church. We dined in the restaurant which was a good experience.

Review collected in partnership with Paradores Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank U623KMkatherineb
Jose Carlos C, Gerente at Parador de Santillana Gil Blas, responded to this review

Dear U623KMkatherineb: We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to communicate your impressions about our Parador and specially about our restaruant. We are proud, and it gives us a great satisfaction to count on your opinions, which every day help us in our efforts to achieve the service you deserve. We trust that, on future visits, everything will be...

Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Parador is in a central location with poor direction to its location more signage is required. Some rooms are very dark which should be explained at the time of booking, having booked 5 months in advance I expected better organisation.

Review collected in partnership with Paradores Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank John S
Jose Carlos C, Director de Recepción at Parador de Santillana Gil Blas, responded to this review

Dear John S: We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to communicate your impressions about our Parador We regret that we were unable to satisfy your expectations with respect to this Parador in the way we had hoped, and about signals to arrive to the Parador are not permit because it's a medieval town. We are proud, and it...

Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A medieval manor set in the middle of The village of Santillana. Very atmospheric. The rooms were excellent both individual, and each with its own sitting room. The staff were very efficient and friendly. Breakfast was extensive, kept well topped up. The restaurant menu provided for all types, the staff very attentive. The food was excellent. All in all a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LynnPoly
Jose Carlos C, Gerente at Parador de Santillana Gil Blas, responded to this review

Dear LynnPolly, We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to communicate your impressions about our Parador and restaurant We are proud, and it gives us a great satisfaction to count on your opinions, which every day help us in our efforts to achieve the service you deserve. We trust that, on future visits, everything will be to your satisfaction....

Uzes, France
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This Parador is not too big, so it is easy to find your way around. The staff are so helpful and kind. They seemed to be always cleaning something in their slacker moments. Our linen was changed each day. Could has done with more coffee capsules. Breakfast fantastic. Dinners good, but too much. Driving a large car into the town...

Review collected in partnership with Paradores Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gillian S
Jose Carlos C, Gerente at Parador de Santillana Gil Blas, responded to this review

Dear Gillian S. We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to communicate your impressions about your stay in our Parador. We are proud, and it gives us a great satisfaction to count on your opinions, which every day help us in our efforts to achieve the service you deserve. We trust that, on future visits, everything will be to...

Santillana del Mar, Spain
Reviewed 20 April 2017

I am gluten and lactose intolerant. This hotel could no shave been more helpful when we ate in the restaurant last night, and had a good selection of marked foods at breakfast today. The restaurant staff were particularly helpful and pleasant.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colette87150
Jose Carlos C, Gerente at Parador de Santillana Gil Blas, responded to this review

Dear Colette87150: We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to communicate your impressions about yuor diner and breakfast in our restaurant. We are proud, and it gives us a great satisfaction to count on your opinions, which every day help us in our efforts to achieve the service you deserve. We trust that, on future visits, everything will be...

Arlington, Virginia
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

Check in desk was friendly and helpful. Nice parking deal for 6 euros. Great breakfast and perfect location for walking. Great firm mattress and bathroom. Courtyard nice at Easter with procession and bagpipes.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bethbirder
Jose Carlos C, Gerente at Parador de Santillana Gil Blas, responded to this review

Dear Berthbirder: We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to communicate your impressions about our establishment. We are proud, and it gives us a great satisfaction to count on your opinions, which every day help us in our efforts to achieve the service you deserve. We trust that, on future visits, everything will be to your satisfaction. Best regards,

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 12 April 2017

We have been travelling in Spain and Portugal and as it was a quiet weekday night with not much open we decided to go to one of the only restaurants open which was within this Parador. The starters were terrible and I became concerned when the man next to me took one bite out of his main and pushed it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda B
Jose Carlos C, Gerente at Parador de Santillana Gil Blas, responded to this review

Dear Amanda D: We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to communicate your impressions about our Parador We regret that we were unable to satisfy your expectations with respect to our restaurante in the way we had hoped. We feel that the cod did not like it, but I can assure you that all our products are of first...

167 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (151)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (75)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
09/06/2017 10/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santillana del Mar hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Casa del Marques
Hotel Casa del Marques
#3 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
310 reviews
0.0 km away
Parador de Santillana
Parador de Santillana
#10 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
151 reviews
0.1 km away
La Casa del Organista
La Casa del Organista
#1 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
La Casona de Revolgo
La Casona de Revolgo
#5 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
311 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Altamira
Hotel Altamira
#11 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
215 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Museo Los Infantes
Hotel Museo Los Infantes
#7 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Parador de Santillana Gil Blas

Address: Plaza de Ramon Pelayo 11, 39330, Santillana del Mar, Spain
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Santillana del Mar
Price Range: €107 - €176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Santillana Gil Blas 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parador de Santillana Gil Blas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Santillana Gil Blas Hotel Santillana Del Mar
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santillana del Mar
#4 Family Hotel in Santillana del Mar
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santillana del Mar
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Parador de Santillana Gil Blas staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Cronulla, Australia

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Parador de Santillana Gil Blas staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a balcony over the courtyard.”
lollybird, 18 May 2017 | Read review
“Large rooms on first floor overlook garden”
lindabB2105NQ, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had a room facing the courtyard and loved it because we could see the activity which, one morning, included a harp player.”
barbarabJ5125XF, 28 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a room facing the garden”
Flabbergast52, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Our dual aspect room had a nice garden/back terrace view”
Kathy121212, 27 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$140* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUS$140
Orbitz.comUS$140
CancelonUS$154
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates