We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

92 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 77: English reviews
Start your review of Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg
 Click to rate
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Idwala ticks all the boxes as mentioned in the reviews, beautiful place with friendly staff. Once upon a time they surely deserved being a 5 star guesthouse. So why am I giving 1 star for a 5 star certified facility? Let me quote from their website: "Idwala’s passion is to care for guests who are looking for the finer things...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank royboy
JeanetteFriese, Owner at Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg, responded to this review

Dear Pastor Harris Thank you for taking so much of your valuable time to give us feedback on your experience at Idwala. We are of course sorry that our hotel was not a good match for you. As I personally told you after breakfast, we regret that you did not enjoy the meal you had, and I apologise once again...

Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 17 February 2017

I had an excellent stay at the Idwala Boutique Hotel. Both the place itself with its lovely huts with plenty of space, the excellent breakfast and the friendly and very attentive staff made this a unique hotel experience. Thank you again, Jeanette and your team!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IAmABerliner
JeanetteFriese, Owner at Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writing about our hotel - we are delighted that you enjoyed your breakfast and that you found your stay to be such a good experience - this is what we work towards, and it is wonderful and very rewarding to get such appreciative feedback from our guests! Please do come back to Idwala when you...

Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

Excellent stay, beautiful scenery, felt like you not in the busy city of Jhb. Service and food was excellent. Staff very friendly and helpful.Will definitely make a return stay. Beautiful fire place set outside of the main restaurant.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zeyn J
JeanetteFriese, Owner at Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg, responded to this review

Thank you very much for reviewing Idwala - our team are always so happy to get such positive feedback, and we are really pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and the meals you had during your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy an evening drink in the Boma!

Bergisch Gladbach, Germany
Reviewed 14 December 2016

Back after more than 3 years and it is still an amazing experience to stay here ! The staff - food -service-room : still caring and attentitve / still highest german quality ( windows etc) The new Boma area is divine .... Am so impressed that the standart and impression I have had in 2013 has not changed at all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EWS1711
JeanetteFriese, Owner at Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writing about your experience at Idwala - it is really rewarding for all our team to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and we appreciate you taking the time and trouble to share your impressions! We were delighted that you liked our new Boma - please come back soon, perhaps there will again...

Wedel, Germany
Reviewed 9 November 2016

Well-located in the north-west of Johannesburg and yet still in close proximity of Sandton and central Johannesburg. Located on a estate in a residual area, Idwala is a real escape, no traffic noise, green small rooms of privacy in the garden. The staff is very professional, the rooms cosy and the restaurant very good and the wine cellar will meet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 332tosv
JeanetteFriese, Owner at Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on Idwala - we really appreciate this and are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the meals you had in our restaurant. We hope that you will soon return to South Africa ---- and Idwala, for another visit! Best regards from the Idwala team.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 30 June 2016

We needed a weekend break but still wanted to be close to home. We found Idwala to be exactly what we were looking for. As soon as we arrived it felt like we were a long way from home (albeit a very short drive). The staff were wonderful and the evening meals were tremendous - Big Thank You to Maria...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nzjasonx
JeanetteFriese, Owner at Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your week end break at Idwala, thank you for all your kind words about our staff and the evening meal! We hope you will be back again soon to enjoy another relaxing week end!

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 23 June 2016 via mobile

The food was outstanding, the service was fantastic and the African bush theme was tastefully and charmingly executed. Idwala is a 'hidden gem' - while it is central, well connected and easy to find it is definitely unexpected. Thatched chalets, stone paths, cushioned fire pits and a cozy reception and dining room make all areas a pleasure. The bar has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 462stevief
JeanetteFriese, Owner at Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg, responded to this review

Thank you so much for reviewing Idwala - we are delighted that you enjoyed your break and look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future!

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 20 June 2016 via mobile

Idwala boutique hotel took me by surprise. Nestled in the northcliff neighborhood this intimate guest house is charming, elegant and just plain adorable! What makes this location so unique is its bush like charm. It indulges your senses and allows you to forget about city life. And let's be honest Joburgers how many of us lust after a city escape!?...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beespinner
JeanetteFriese, Owner at Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg, responded to this review

I was so pleased to read your review and to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at Idwala. This is what we always hope to achieve and the Idwala Team put so much effort into making each and every guest have a wonderful experience. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Idwala again soon -...

Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 18 March 2016

Idwala is close to the Cresta shopping center (Cresta/Northcliff) so lots to do close by but that's not its greatest selling point. I have NEVER had a chocolate mousse like the one served at Idwala. The food is generally very good - bit man - that chocolate mousse....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johann B
JeanetteFriese, Owner at Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg, responded to this review

Thank you Johann we are so glad that you found our chocolate mousse so memorable!!! Please come back again soon to have another one and to enjoy a peaceful stay at our paradise "in the bush"! Best regards from the Idwala Team!

Reviewed 31 January 2016 via mobile

We spent 2 nights here on vacation. The staff was amazing, from the time we arrived until checkout. The food was top notch. I recommend the springbok. The room was just as pleasant ( especially the heated floor in the bathroom). We will definitely be staying here again on our return trip.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rick C
JeanetteFriese, Owner at Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg, responded to this review

Dear Rick Thank you so much for writing a review after your visit to Idwala. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the good service given to you - our staff aim to pamper guests and to ensure that everything runs smoothly! We are also delighted that you enjoyed the Springbok Carpaccio and hope you will...

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (54)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
1:19
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Randburg
2.4 km away
The Fairway Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
3.7 km away
Apollo Conferencing Hotel
8.4 km away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Johannesburg
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Road Lodge Randburg
Road Lodge Randburg
#5 of 7 in Randburg
34 reviews
6.7 km away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
8.2 km away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bush Lodge Feeling in one of Johannesburg's finest Boutique Hotel! Enjoy an African 5 Star Experience in the middle of Johannesburg with perfect access to business areas and tourist attractions. For both tourist and executive alike, Idwala offers tranquil surroundings where you can immerse yourself in luxury while at the same time carry out your business efficiently. Room Service, Laundry, Credit Cards, secure parking, conferences, wireless ADSL, transfers/tours, booking services, Restaurant on the premises. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg

Address: 13 Garrick Road | Johannesburg, Randburg 2194, South Africa (Formerly Idwala Boutique Guest House)
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Randburg
Price Range: €94 - €185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg Randburg, Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Select a garden room if available.”
 of 5 bubbles 332tosv, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room not directly opposite the entrance gate.”
 of 5 bubbles nzjasonx, 30 Jun 2016 | Read review
“I am sure all rooms would be suitable”
 of 5 bubbles jlabberte, 22 Aug 2015 | Read review
“We only saw the rooms in the main building and we were delighted.”
 of 5 bubbles marmil52, 15 Aug 2015 | Read review
“We stayed in the main building - room 1. The outer buildings also looked lovely.”
  • Our bedroom
  • Lovely gardens
 of 5 bubbles BarbaraJimVictoria, 17 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5