We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ikhaya Guest House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Management photos
Ikhaya Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

23 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 22: English reviews
Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

My room was comfortable and everyone who I encountered were warm and friendly. I was always greeted with smiles and great hospitality. Breakfast was always delicious and everyone was extremely helpful and accommodating.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fkinsey
George, South Africa
Reviewed 2 May 2016

We needed a place to stay for a night on very short notice. It had everything required to stay for a night. We were comfortable, however other guests were extremely noisy and kept us awake and woke us up very early in the morning by chatting very loudly. Everything was clean and neat, we had no issues with the accomodation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colleen L
IkhayaGuestHouseJHB, Manager at Ikhaya Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Colleen, Thank you so much for your feedback. I am so pleased to see that your room was clean & neat, it is so lovely to get both positive and negative feedback. I have gone back on our booking sheet, to investigate the 'noise' issue. October was our busiest month last year and that would make sense that you...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 29 February 2016 via mobile

Our family of four, kids 13 and 8 enjoyed our week at Ikhaya with owners and hosts extraordinaire Coralee and Rui. So why visit this gem? The accommodation was warm, cozy, creature comforts...breakfast served to order and nothing was too much trouble. Centrally located, secure and everything in spitting distance. Highly recommend this home away from home, enjoy!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate T
IkhayaGuestHouseJHB, Manager at Ikhaya Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you Kate for your very kind words, our staff loved being of service to you and your family. We look forward to your next visit to Ikhaya, in Joburg, South Africa. We will bring out the welcome mat for special guests like you anytime.

Reviewed 18 August 2015

As a business traveler I often have to sacrifice aesthetics on the altar of convenience. That's why this lovely guest house was a surprising treat. Even though it is conveniently located near shops and provides easy access to main routes, it still feels like a rustic getaway out of the bustling cityscape. The rooms are large and comfortable and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phillip L
Ikhaya, Owner at Ikhaya Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Philip, your review is encouraging for Memory, Alina and myself .We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to write a generous and positive response, all too often the positive is forgotten. If you felt at home and at peace with us, then we are achieving our goal. We wish you a safe trip and look forward to your return....

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 15 January 2015

We stayed at Ikhaya on a recent visit from Australia. Beautiful location - stunning rooms very tastefully decorated - the property is child friendly and has a lovely big garden to play in. The owners are so friendly and helpful and went beyond making us feel at home and comfortable, making sure that we left wanting to come back as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 100macfam2014
Lusaka
Reviewed 31 December 2014

Stayed two nights with my family based on a suggestion from a friend. We had to pay upfront for the room to secure the reservation unlike other places that we have visited within and outside South Africa. The cab driver had a difficult time finding the place and we spent close to an hour trying to locate it. We only...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Namukulo M
Ikhaya, Owner at Ikhaya Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to note that you were not entirely satisfied with your stay. Allow us to address the concerns you raised, it should be of value to other potential guests. Your first concern is that you had to pay upfront, for the reservation. It is common practice in our industry to request a deposit,...

Austin
Reviewed 12 November 2014

Stayed at the guest house during a business trip for 6 days and I can not wait to go back. The service and facilities were fantastic. The property is beautiful and the neighborhood in which the guest house is located is fantastic. The only reason why I have to give it a 4 and not a 5 is that the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim K
Ikhaya, Owner at Ikhaya Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. It was a pleasure to host you at our guest house. Our sincere apologies for the mishap you experienced upon check in, with electricity not being available. Unfortunately our generator had broken down, it was an embarassement to us. Our apologies again. I am happy to inform you that the emergency power generator is now...

Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My family from the UK recently stayed at Ikhaya for a week on a referral from a friend. After a long flight, the welcome they received from the staff was incredible. The room they stayed in was tastefully decorated and very comfortable. The staff and management went above and beyond to make my family's stay incredible! Thank you Ikhaya. You...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Treeman2014
Ikhaya, Owner at Ikhaya Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, it is highly appreciated. We look froward to hosting you again, hopefully in the near future. Kind regards.

Riverbank, California
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We stayed three nights during our first visit to South Africa. All we can say is "What's not to like?" The room was large and very comfortable, the staff were graciously accommodating. We had some great conversations with the owner during breakfast (did we mention good food?) and he fixed us up with anything we needed, like a driver, directions...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sandy V
Ikhaya, Owner at Ikhaya Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, it was good to host you at Ikhaya. We hope you had a great holiday in our lovely country and are safe back home. We look forward to seeing you again, if you ever come back this way again. Take care!

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2013

My wife & two boys stayed a total of nine nights in rooms 1 (Mum & Dad) & 2 (our boys) which we thoroughly enjoyed. The beds were so big & comfortable, mattresses & pillows were just right & it was exceptionally clean. As we had a busy family holiday time we wanted to be as free as possible with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AntonioBandana
Ikhaya, Owner at Ikhaya Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay at Ikhaya. It was a pleasure to host your family at our establishment and we look forward to hosting you again, hopefully in the near future. Our best regards to you all!

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Randburg hotels
3.3 km away
Road Lodge Randburg
Road Lodge Randburg
#5 of 7 in Randburg
32 reviews
2.9 km away
The Fairway Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
4.9 km away
Apollo Conferencing Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Sierra on Main
Sierra on Main
#6 of 7 in Randburg
48 reviews
3.7 km away
Mercure Johannesburg Randburg
4.3 km away
Twin Waters Guest House
Twin Waters Guest House
#2 of 47 in Randburg
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Guest House is a luxurious 4 star guest house, with an exclusive boutique hotel feel. Located in a quiet and safe upmarket northern suburb of Johannesburg, Ikhaya Guest House is ideal for the business individual or tourist. Branded by our guests as the best kept secret in Johannesburg, Ikhaya offers luxury accommodation, in a secure and quiet environment. We are conveniently situated, close to the N1 freeway, shopping centres, the Ticket Pro Dome, Akeso Crescent Clinic, Rhema Bible Church, Trinityhouse Randpark and Randpark Golf Course as well as Lifestyle Nursery. With us you will not feel like you're staying in a traditional guest house. Each room has its own private entrance; guests come and go as and when they please. Nestled on the slope of Bush Hill, a designated nature reserve and bird sanctuary, enjoy great views of Johannesburg and its northern suburbs. You will feel like you are in the heart of Africa yet only minutes away from city life. 8 Minute walk to shops and restaurants. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ikhaya Guest House

Address: 31 Boschkop Avenue | Boskruin, Randburg 2188, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Randburg
Price Range: €40 - €55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ikhaya Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Ikhaya Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ikhaya Guest House Randburg, Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ikhaya Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Maybe rooms upstairs are better.”
 of 5 bubbles Edwin_Mwa, 31 Dec 2014 | Read review
“In my opinion room 1 & 3 are excellent choices as they are spacious, airy & light in the mornings. Room 2 comes very close to these also.”
  • Our son learnt to make his own & our teas & coffee in the morning.
  • Enjoying our breakfast looking out into the guarden.
 of 5 bubbles AntonioBandana, 28 Aug 2013 | Read review
“We had the first room on the right of the gate - really lovely and very private.”
  •                   wagon in the garden
 of 5 bubbles waters0ng, 10 Feb 2013 | Read review
“The room next to the dining room is spacious”
 of 5 bubbles leilahN, 12 Dec 2011 | Read review
4 of 4
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay