We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

646 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 638: English reviews
Start your review of African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
 Click to rate
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed today NEW

My husband and I just spent the weekend at Mount Grace to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. This was the first time that I had been there and I had been really looking forward to the stay, however I do find myself now slightly disappointed for a few reasons: The online booking on their website was a bit of an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnushkaHJ
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

I've been putting off a visit to Mount Grace for years - suspecting all this time that their prices were bloated. Their world class facilities, super comfortable rooms, and the friendliest staff, all proved me wrong! Absolute heaven!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Devan M
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We went for lunch over the Easter weekend and what a disappointment. The service was non existing we had to ask three waiters for toothpicks and were waiting so long for our desert that we eventually left without it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank louisek255
MountGrace, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review

Dear louise255, Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor. It saddens me to hear that your Easter Lunch with us was a disappointment. And your comments haven't been taken lightly either as my Food and Beverage Team and along with the Chef will be addressed as to this matter. I would like to invite you back for a Sunday Lunch...

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

The place is lovely but we were treated like we were at a three star hotel. There was a shortage of whiskeys and wine. When complaining the management were friendly but it felt like it was just lip service. They were not well organized there were to many incidents to mention.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tristian M
MountGrace, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Tristian M, Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor. It is with regret that I read that you felt you were treated as if you were at a 3 star hotel GUEST. As that is certainly not our intention for you or any GUEST that stays or visits us. Your feedback as to the shortage of whiskeys and wine...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I truly enjoyed the experience from the booking - we were truly amazed and surprised. The staff is so genuine and so helpful and so wonderful. The grounds are amazing and best of all a kiddies club. Packed full of activities and closes quite late. Also found that there are baby sitting services available on request. There is a heated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mosidi S
MountGrace, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Mosisi S, As a valued GUEST, we thank you and appreciate your feedback posted onto TripAdvisor. As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, and I’m happy to read that we have done that during the school holidays. Your comments will most certainly be shared with the rest of the TEAM and with our...

Reviewed 1 week ago

Mount Grace is just what the name indicates a beautiful and graceful setting. The Villa where we stayed was stunning, room service was excellent. The reception when we arrived was however average and I expected more in terms of welcoming, it was lacking explanations in terms of setting and orientating us to the hotel and the facilities available. I had...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Robert M
MountGrace, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Matthews, As a valued GUEST, we thank you and appreciate your feedback posted onto TripAdvisor. I know that you have received a call from our General Manager and in contact with our Deputy General Manager. Your feedback has no doubt be addressed by both parties with the respective hotel TEAM members. Please accept our sincere apologies for the...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I just arrived at Mount Grace and was looking forward to spending my weekend in the lap of luxury, based on the beautiful images I booked a luxury room because the first thing I base my stay at any hotel on is the bathroom. According to the pictures on the Mount Grace website the room that I booked had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shilimas
MountGrace, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review

Dear shilimas, As a valued GUEST, we thank you and appreciate your feedback posted onto TripAdvisor. As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, we have unfortunately fallen extremely short of our goal during your stay. Please accept our sincere apology for the experience that you had with us, as this is not what I...

Reviewed 1 week ago

We celebrated our anniversary at Mount Grace three years ago and I was tempted to book somewhere different this time, but opted for 'better the devil we knew'. And I'm so glad that we did as it was a blissful weekend stay... The service from our arrival to departure was impeccable and our luxury room spotless and with beautiful views...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GaRoo2010
MountGrace, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review

Dear GaRoo2010, Thank you for sharing your experience at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa through TripAdvisor. With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that you decided to visit us on your special occasion. And that we were able to make what was already...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A wonderful experience yet again This time to celebrate our marriage. We decided 5 days before our wedding we would have a 'minimoon' at one of our favorite spots. This time we decided to book a luxury room! On arrival the shower was a little low for my 6ft husband, so we were a little disappointed. It was no problem...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claudia D
MountGrace, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Claudia D, As a valued GUEST, we thank you and appreciate your feedback posted onto TripAdvisor. As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your minimoon travels, we have succeeded by your kind feedback as to your recent stay with us. Your feedback as to the swiftness of Billy will be shared with him and the...

Pretoria
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel’s location is beautiful, and the setting for the spa really stunning. But, the overall experience was disappointing for a variety of reasons – which can all be easily addressed with proper management. Below is a summary of what went wrong. Upon booking our stay (for two adults and two teenagers) I called the hotel to confirm that we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ErnstGouws
kimroberts7574, General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Ernst Gouws, As a valued GUEST, we thank you and appreciate your feedback posted onto Trip Advisor. As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, we have unfortunately fallen short in our goals which is not the standard we are known for. So please accept my / our apology for the not making the...

447 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (283)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (74)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (121)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (164)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (64)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magaliesburg
3.4 km away
Magalies Manor
Magalies Manor
#6 of 7 in Magaliesburg
52 reviews
2.0 km away
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
#4 of 7 in Magaliesburg
298 reviews
2.5 km away
Budmarsh Country Lodge
Budmarsh Country Lodge
#2 of 7 in Magaliesburg
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
De Hoek Country Hotel
De Hoek Country Hotel
#1 of 7 in Magaliesburg
438 reviews
30.9 km away
Misty Hills Country Hotel
Misty Hills Country Hotel
#4 of 5 in Muldersdrift
445 reviews
11.2 km away
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just one hour's drive from Johannesburg or Pretoria, the exclusive famed African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa is a timeless gem where luxury and peace are in abundance. Oozing old world charm but boasting modern opulence, Mount Grace Country House & Spa is the perfect retreat for team building, conferences and relaxed weekend getaways away from the hustle and bustle of city life. The picturesque country house started life as a private residence and farmhouse and has hosted a number of dignitaries and A-list visitors over the years. Located on a hillside with unspoilt views of the valley and boasting some ten acres of manicured gardens as well as pristine bushveld, the sprawling property is a balm for the city weary soul. Take a leisurely drive along country roads or land in a helicopter. While at the Mount Grace indulge in good food, fine wines and relaxing spa treatments in the award winning Mount Grace Spa. The African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa TEAM prides itself on creating a home away from home for all our GUESTS, where time stands still, allowing you to enjoy that rare opportunity of complete relaxation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa

Address: Old Rustenburg Rd | Private bag 5004, Magaliesburg 1791, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Magaliesburg
Price Range: €133 - €224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Grace Country House Hotel Magaliesburg
Mount Grace Country House And Spa
Mount Grace Country Hotel
Mount Grace Country Magaliesburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for room away from the pool & children's play area for more peace. Bring ear plugs & eye masks if you are staying in the Std rooms.”
AnushkaHJ, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The villa's are stunning for a bit extra you step in to luxury with your own private heated pool.”
, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Request a luxury room close to the spa, away from the main hotel and with beautiful views.”
GaRoo2010, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If you have the budget, book a luxury villa”
IllseN, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get a room that has a wi-fi signal... avoid the top luxury villas in this case.”
AubreyW_11, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5