We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Novotel Balikpapan

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Novotel Balikpapan
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

468 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Novotel Balikpapan
See the most recent reviews
Showing 327: English reviews
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 15 November 2015

For the most part the hotel was very nice. Large well appointed room, friendly service, nice bar and very central location. However, it was let down by a very dated and run down bathroom, terrible food in the restaurant, and difficulty in accessing the main road by foot.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shane W
Novotel_Balikpapan, Front Office Manager at Novotel Balikpapan, responded to this review

Dear Shane W, Thank you for sharing at TripAdvisor. On behalf of our General Manager & the management, I would like to sincere my apologies to you. At Novotel we strive to forward an excellent service, however your comment is valuable for us. We are taking the necessary action to improve & to prevent future occurance. We wish to welcome...

Paris, France
Reviewed 15 November 2015

I am staying there couple of nights per months because my company decide it. Big minus for the internet connection. Free but very very bad. Slow speed, slow connection and it disconnect automatically every 5-10min. If you're using it, browsing, then you stop because you're at the toilet or you're writing something on your notes, then system will recognize that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank N3668GPtom
Novotel_Balikpapan, Front Office Manager at Novotel Balikpapan, responded to this review

Dear N3668GPtom, Thank you for sharing your concern. We appreciated of your comment On behalf of the General Manager & Management, I would like to sincere our apologies to you. This such comment that we learned & we're taking necessary action to prevent the future occurence. We hope you will give us a chance to serve you better in the...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 12 November 2015

I was only one night staying in the hotel but my impression of the hotel facility and it services is very good. The hotel is cozy, quite spacious room, great breakfast, fast internet and very helpful Hotel staffs.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank patric925
Novotel_Balikpapan, Front Office Manager at Novotel Balikpapan, responded to this review

Dear Patric925, Thank you for sharing your experience at Novotel Balikpapan. It is our pleasure to know that you were very happy while staying at our hotel. This great comment will motivate us to give better & better to our customer We wish to welcome you back in the near future. Regards, Jurice Elviera M. Front Office Manager

Kuala Terengganu, Malaysia
Reviewed 12 November 2015

Overall the toom was ok but the toilet and bathroom was not very clean. Bathroom looks very old and some of the tiles were broken. Brings negative environment when people enter the bathroom. Bath tub were not clean

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank afat909
Novotel_Balikpapan, Front Office Manager at Novotel Balikpapan, responded to this review

Dear Afat909, Thank you for sharing your concern. On behalf of the General Manager & Management, I would like to sincere our apologies to you. This such comment that we learned & we're taking necessary action to prevent the fure occurance. We hope you will give us a chance to serve you better in the near future, Regards, Jurice Elviera...

Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewed 11 November 2015

location in the centre of balikpapan, 20 minutes to airport and lot of restaurant nearby. The room was spacy and from the window you can see sun rise from the horizon above the sky. service and food is good.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ariniproject
Novotel_Balikpapan, Front Office Manager at Novotel Balikpapan, responded to this review

Dear Arini project, Thank you for sharing your experience at Trip Advisor. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the service & food at our hotel. We will keep improving our service to make our customer happier while stay at our hotel. Hope to welcome you back in the near future. Regards, Jurice Elviera M. Front Office Manager

Metz, France
Reviewed 11 November 2015

Very good restaurant (breakfast as well as menu and drinks) Very cool swimming pool. In addition to my ratings, I really liked the window wall between bathroom and sleeping room (light, sensation of space.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank juliena161
Novotel_Balikpapan, Front Office Manager at Novotel Balikpapan, responded to this review

Dear Juliena161, Thank you for sharing your experience at TripAdvisor. We are glad to know that you were enjoying our restaurant & swimming pool. We hope to welcome you back at Novotel Balikpapan and you can try other facility at our hotel. Regards, Jurice Elviera M. Front Office Manager

Samarinda, Indonesia
Reviewed 2 November 2015

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank leagon_lee
Novotel_Balikpapan, Front Office Manager at Novotel Balikpapan, responded to this review

Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewed 23 October 2015

Complained about my stay few months ago. Had to stay again, this time client's choice. - no small towels - wifi connection unstable - welcome drink voucher says juice OR beer. You don't get beer. You get juice, which is hard to identify, in a tiny glass, half-filled with ice.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank eechiverri
Novotel_Balikpapan, Manager at Novotel Balikpapan, responded to this review

Dear Eechiverri, Thank you for telling us about your experience at Novotel Balikpapan. It was hard to read that you still not found satisfactory on your return stay at our hotel. Trully it become our priority to make it better in the future. I have communicate this matter to Management & Head of Department concern to take action & make...

Tangerang
Reviewed 23 October 2015 via mobile

I stayed there after booked from accor member. Not so impressive. The room was big but have black ceramic floor. So I was not feel cozy and not comfort. Breakfast was good with many kind of foods. May be, I most prefer to stay in Ibis in my next visit. Better rate could be give better.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rahadian S
Novotel_Balikpapan, Front Office Manager at Novotel Balikpapan, responded to this review

Dear Rahadian S, Thank you for sharing your concern. On behalf of Novotel Balikpapan General Manager & Management I would like to sincere our apologies because your staying were not meet your expectation. I have noted your feed back & will share it to all deparment concern for review and make improvement. We hope that you will not determine our...

-
Reviewed 20 October 2015

One of the better hotels in Balikpapan, a known brand should guarantee you know what you are letting yourself in for.. however, standards have definitely slipped since my previous visits and the hotel is beginning to show signs of neglect. Despite requesting a non-smoking room I was allocated a smoking room with a "take it or leave it " attitude...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank RichardDavis2015
Novotel_Balikpapan, Front Office Manager at Novotel Balikpapan, responded to this review

Dear RichardDavis2015, Thank you for choosing Novotel Balikpapan as your preffered accommodation during your visit to Balikpapan. On behalf of the General Manager & Novotel Management I would like to sincere my apology to you in regard your unpleasant stay. I have share your comment to the management for review & we have taken some action to improve. I hope...

275 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (213)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (82)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (62)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (37)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Balikpapan hotels
1.2 km away
Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence
0.8 km away
Swiss-Belhotel Balikpapan
Swiss-Belhotel Balikpapan
#8 of 35 in Balikpapan
307 reviews
2.8 km away
Grand Jatra Hotel Balikpapan
Grand Jatra Hotel Balikpapan
#4 of 35 in Balikpapan
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Platinum Balikpapan Hotel & Convention Hall
1.9 km away
Le Grandeur Balikpapan
Le Grandeur Balikpapan
#11 of 35 in Balikpapan
217 reviews
2.7 km away
favehotel MT. Haryono
favehotel MT. Haryono
#1 of 35 in Balikpapan
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Novotel Balikpapan is a 5 star hotel located in the centre of Balikpapan. The ideal choice for business trips and holidays alike, the hotel features 198 rooms and offers a range of conference facilities. Enjoy a choice of two restaurants, relax witha drink in one of our three bars and unwind with our swimming pool and fitness centre. The Novotel Balikpapan is centrally located close to shops and the entertainment precinct. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Novotel Balikpapan

Address: Jln. Brigjen Eri Suparjan no. 2, Balikpapan 76112, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Kalimantan > East Kalimantan > Balikpapan
Price Range: €39 - €53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Balikpapan 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, ACCOR and Expedia so you can book your Novotel Balikpapan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Balikpapan Hotel Balikpapan
Balikpapan Novotel
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Balikpapan
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Novotel Balikpapan staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Novotel Balikpapan staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“mine is ok 706”
 of 5 bubbles balrajs2017, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“See view rooms”
 of 5 bubbles NabilA_12, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“this is a tale of two hotels - old and tatty on the lower and modern and bright on the upper levels”
 of 5 bubbles melissakatea, 25 May 2016 | Read review
“Not really enjoy”
 of 5 bubbles inditg, 21 Mar 2016 | Read review
“do not stay here go next door to the new IBIS”
  • peeling window stickers due to damp in room
  • dirty light fitting
  • wet and mouldy wall
 of 5 bubbles mafmeijer, 4 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5