We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Harare Road Lot 1 Bon Brae Farm Christmas Pass, Gweru 263 542 Zimbabwe
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (39)
Room & Suite (4)
Dining (2)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#2 of 14 Specialty lodging in Gweru
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Neatly thatched chalets with a touch of modernization, home to the only Chinese restaurant in Gweru and the flagship of The Village Lodes Group is The Village Lodge. It is located along the Harare Road, 5 kms from the CBD.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Shuttle bus service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Minibar
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available

Location

Full view
51Reviews7Q+A14Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 10
  • 22
  • 16
  • 1
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
NorthumberlandDan wrote a review Feb 2015
Northumberland38 contributions26 helpful votes
We stayed at the annex ... The Suburban having been bumped by important visitors. The Suburban was clean, quiet, safe with excellent staff. If food was improved including a toaster at breakfast, it would be super
Read more
Date of stay: January 2015
Helpful
Share
Response from TheVillageLodges, Manager at The Village Lodge
Responded 28 Aug 2016
Good Day NorthumerberlandDan Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Suburban Village. We also appreciate the time you took to review us online .Your feedback is very important as it assists us in improving our facility. Thank you for for the highlights you mentioned; the cleanliness, excellent staff and that the place is safe and quiet. However , we genuinely regret the inconvenience caused due to the absence of the toaster then. We would like to inform you that this was rectified and we acquired one. We always strive to provide the best service to our guests and on this occasion we did not exceed your basic expectation. Again, thank you for the feedback and the patronage. Your business support is invaluable to us. We look forward to hosting you on our next visit to Gweru. Kind Regards,
Read more
SequimWATraveler wrote a review Nov 2014
Hayden, Idaho190 contributions73 helpful votes
After staying elsewhere in Gweru, it was a delight to stay here! We were given a room in the new wing of the Village. The parking area is nicely gravelled. But, it is a little further to the hut where they serve meals. Power was intermittent and we ended up in the dark in the dining room. Fortunately we had finished eating and going back to the room was pointless without power. We rode out the storm until it subsided. My personal torch supplied light to the entire dining room -- there was no immediate backup power. Food was good and economical. Room was clean. Bed was okay. It would have been nice to have some mosquito netting. Staff was helpful and accommodating. Bathroom and shower were great. This is a great choice for Gweru!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2014
Helpful
Share
Response from TheVillageLodges, Manager at The Village Lodge
Responded 31 Aug 2016
Good Day SequimWaTraveler Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Village Lodge in November 2014. We also appreciate the time you took to review us online. Thank you very much for the positive, encouraging and candid feedback . It is pleasing to note that you appreciated the nicely graveled parking, the good and economical food, the helpful and accommodating staff, the great bathroom and room. We always strive to make sure our guests have the best possible stay thus kindly accept our apologies for the inconveniences that may have been caused by the intermittent power. Again, thank you for the feedback and for staying with us. We look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Gweru. Kind Regards
Read more
Andrew W wrote a review Aug 2014
Woking, United Kingdom38 contributions45 helpful votes
Village Lodge isn't the easiest place to find, but it is worth the effort. The room in the converted farmstead was spacious, and the bathroom, although dated, was perfectly functional. The shower was a refreshing waterfall and not the trickle that I had become accustomed to in Zimbabwe; and on the night I chose a bath, there was enough hot water for one. There are two restaurants, both of which have good food, although I definitely preferred the chinese option. Wifi was a bit dodgy, but then its dodgy almost everywhere in Zimbabwe, and there was a small challenge getting the Mastercard machine to work, but all said and done, I enjoyed the two nights spent at Village Lodge a lot.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2014
Helpful
Share
Response from TheVillageLodges, Manager at The Village Lodge
Responded 29 Aug 2016
Good Day Andrew W Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Village Lodge in August 2014. We also appreciate the time you took to review us online . Thank you for the positive, encouraging and candid feedback. It is our aim to ensure that all our guest are happy throughout their stay and we are pleased that you enjoyed yours especially the regular chalets, Chinese Cuisine and the shower. We would also like to take this opportunity to apologise for the inconvenience that might have been caused because of the dodgy WiFi and the POS. Again, thank you for the feedback and the patronage. Your business support is invaluable to us. We look forward to hosting you on our next visit to Gweru. Kind Regards,
Read more
Innocent wrote a review May 2014
Pemba, Mozambique223 contributions36 helpful votes
Very comfortable, private and secure motel in Gweru. I enjoyed my stay and the service was worth the money. The best place in Gweru so far and the food is also excellent. The rooms are neat and almost new.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2014
Helpful
Share
Response from TheVillageLodges, Manager at The Village Lodge
Responded 22 Aug 2016
Good Afternoon Innocent M Thank you for choosing to stay with us in May 2014 at The Village Lodge. We also appreciate the time you took to review us online. Thank you very much for the positive and encouraging feedback. It gives us a sense of pride when we know our guests have had the best stay and are sharing it with everyone else. We are glad you found the service to be worth the money. Once again we thank you giving our lodge a positive review. We appreciate your business support and look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Gweru. Warm Regards,
Read more
MrsMak wrote a review May 2014
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa48 contributions13 helpful votes
The first time I stayed at the Village I stayed in a standard room which wasn't the best and so this time I got a deluxe rooms and they are quite nice. King size beds, lovely hot shower, beautiful cocktail stools and tables in the rooms. Plenty of mirrors and stunning lighting. The service is professional and the breakfast had a good variety as well. Will be back again!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2014
Helpful
Share
Response from TheVillageLodges, Manager at The Village Lodge
Responded 22 Aug 2016
Good Afternoon SarMak1985 Thank you for choosing to stay with us in May 2014 at The Village Lodge. We also appreciate the time you took to review us online. Thank you very much for the positive and encouraging feedback. It gives us a sense of pride when we know our guests have had the best stay and are sharing it with everyone else. We are glad you found the deluxe rooms to be very good. Furthermore we are happy you enjoyed your breakfast. Once again we thank you giving our lodge a positive review. We appreciate your business support and look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Gweru. Warm Regards,
Read more
djnmusendo wrote a review Jan 2014
London, United Kingdom27 contributions35 helpful votes
I stayed at the Village Hotel in Gweru in January 2014. it was a pleasant surprise. The lodges are well spaced with nice parking. The reception doesnt give you a true picture of what to expect indoors. But once you are inside you will love it and enjoy a restful night. The bathrooms are spot on. More so, i loved their breakfast. its full english breakfast with all you could expect from a 5 star hotel. The staff were friendly and yes, i will recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2014
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from TheVillageLodges, Manager at The Village Lodge
Responded 22 Aug 2016
Good Afternoon djnmusendo Thank you choosing to stay with us in January 2014 at The Village Lodge. We also appreciate the time you took to review us online. Thank you very much for positive and encouraging feedback. It gives us a sense of pride when we know our guests have had the best stay and are sharing it with everyone else. We are glad you found our rooms, bathrooms and the parking to be good. Moreover, we are happy you enjoyed your breakfast. Once again we thank you giving our lodge a positive review. We appreciate your business support and look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Gweru. Warm Regards,
Read more
BIllMoyanne wrote a review Dec 2013
Johannesburg, South Africa80 contributions50 helpful votes
This is a relatively new motel in Gweru. This means that most of the hotel facilities are still operational and relatively modern. We booked the premium suite and we enjoyed the bathroom which had every modern convenience we could think of. the bed was quite comfortable. the lounge was very cozy though we didnt use it much. Price was reasonable. Staff is friendly but not as welcoming as other hotels. This would be my pick in Gweru if I want a good place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2013
Helpful
Share
Response from TheVillageLodges, Manager at The Village Lodge
Responded 21 Aug 2016
Good Evening BIllMoyanne Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Village Lodge. We also appreciate the time you took to review us online and writing good things about our lodge. It gives us a sense of pride when we know our guests have had the best stay and are sharing it with the whole world. We are glad you liked the bathroom, the comfortable bed and the friendly staff. Once again we thank you giving our lodge a positive review. We appreciate your business support and look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Gweru.
Read more
CarlNcube wrote a review Nov 2013
Harare, Mashonaland East, Zimbabwe159 contributions37 helpful votes
Checked into one of the neatly designed thatched rooms at the Village lodge ahead of a Stand Up comedy show I had in their bar. Room service was pretty quick considering the distance the waiters have to walk to get your order to your room. The chalets really make you feel like you are the only person staying there. This is such a great place for a layover if making a long drive to Victoria Falls or Bulawayo I would highly recommend it! Be sure to stay there when the top comedian from Zimbabwe is performing at their BONANZA BAR its guaranteed to be a special evening!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2013
Helpful
Share
Response from TheVillageLodges, Manager at The Village Lodge
Responded 21 Aug 2016
Good Evening Carl Thank you for staying with us at The Village Lodge in November 2013. We also appreciate the time you took to review us online. Thank you very much for the positive and encouraging feedback . It gives us a sense of pride when we know our guests have had the best stay and are sharing it with the whole world. We are glad you found chalets very refreshing, and the room service fast. Once again we thank you giving our lodge a positive review. We value your business support and look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Gweru! Warm Regards
Read more
Lyndon J wrote a review Jul 2013
Cape Town Central, South Africa31 contributions17 helpful votes
I was traveling with a colleague, and we arrived at the Village Lodge in the late afternoon. After checking-in and proceeding to my room, I discovered that only one of the rooms had aircon, despite the same rate being charged for both rooms. This was in the middle of a Zimbabwe summer!. After complaining to the staff, I was assigned another room with aircon. The bed was comfortable, and the room was clean. Bathroom amenities were satisfactory. Food at the restaurant was ok. Breakfast was a good English breakfast. The staff were friendly and eager to please.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2013
Helpful
Share
Response from TheVillageLodges, Manager at The Village Lodge
Responded 21 Aug 2016
Good Evening Lyndon J Thank you for staying with us at The Village Lodge in July 2013. We also appreciate the time you took to review us online. Thank you very much for the positive, encouraging and candid feedback . We are glad that that after you raised your concern about the absence of an aircon in the room, you were quickly moved. We are pleased that the bed was comfortable, food good, bathroom amenities satisfactory, and the room clean. We always strive to make sure our guests have the best possible stay hence regret the inconveniences caused during your stay. On your next stay, should you encounter any challenges, please call Reception and ask for the Duty Manager. Once again thank you for the feedback. We value your business support and look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Gweru! Warm Regards
Read more
Philip B wrote a review Feb 2013
Durban, South Africa6 contributions6 helpful votes
Well appointed, large rooms, ensuite, with two restaurants to choose from. By no means bustling with activity when we stayed on a one night stopover, but the staff were polite and keen to please. Bedding was clean and beds perfectly acceptable. Our ceiling fan was not working, so we left the windows open for a bit of ventilation, and were mobbed by numerous mosquitoes. To anyone thinking of booking in, insist on either a room with aircon, or a mosquitoe net. I would recommend this place as a stopover for either business travellers, or tourists en route to somewhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2013
Helpful
Share
Response from TheVillageLodges, Manager at The Village Lodge
Responded 21 Aug 2016
Good Evening Philip B Thank you for staying with us at The Village Lodge in February 2013. We also appreciate the time you took to review us online. Thank you very much for the positive, encouraging and candid feedback . We are glad that you liked the spacious rooms, clean linen and the friendliness of the staff. However, we would like to apologise for the malfunctioning fan and the mosquitoes. We are pleased to inform you that we are half way done installing air conditioners in the rooms. As for the mosquitoes, we are always fumigating, but may we suggest that you request for mosquito coils or insect repellent since there aren't any mosquito nets in the rooms. We always strive to make sure our guests have the best possible stay hence regret the inconveniences caused during your stay. On your next stay, should you encounter any challenges, please call Reception and ask for the Duty Manager. Once again thank you for the feedback. We value your business support and look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Gweru! Warm Regards
Read more
LOCATION
ZimbabweMidlands ProvinceGweru
NUMBER OF ROOMS
46
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing