We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Harare Road Lot 1 Bon Brae Farm Christmas Pass, Gweru 263 542 Zimbabwe
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (39)
Room & Suite (4)
Dining (2)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#2 of 14 Specialty lodging in Gweru
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Neatly thatched chalets with a touch of modernization, home to the only Chinese restaurant in Gweru and the flagship of The Village Lodes Group is The Village Lodge. It is located along the Harare Road, 5 kms from the CBD.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Shuttle bus service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Minibar
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available

Location

Full view
51Reviews7Q+A14Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 10
  • 22
  • 16
  • 1
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
mafrica565 wrote a review Apr 2016
Portland, Oregon1 contribution
I stayed at the Village Lodge for 5 nights. I booked one of their bungalow-style with thatched roof rooms. The room was a bit outdated and the bathroom could use some updating (the tiles were a bit moldy and the hand held shower hose was leaking), which didn’t bother me too much. I am an NGO worker and have stayed in very basic settings before. On my third night though, I started hearing strange sounds coming from the bathroom. At first, I thought I had not properly turned off the water and that it was leaking. I checked several times and everything seemed fine. The noise increased and I quickly realized that it was coming from the ceiling (there was a trap door to access the ceiling. I called the reception. They sent someone who opened the trap door, checked and said “it’s just
Read more
Date of stay: April 2016
Helpful
Share
Response from TheVillageLodges, Manager at The Village Lodge
Responded 25 Aug 2016
Good Afternoon mafrica55 Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Village Lodge in April. We also appreciate the time you took to review us online. Thank you very much for the candid feedback . We would like to sincerely apologise for the gaps in service you experienced during your stay. We noted quite a number of displeasing issues that you encountered; 1. The mouldy tiles in the bathroom 2. The hand held shower hose which was leaking 3. The rat in the ceiling 4. The receptionist you found to be very unprofessional, cold and simply condescending. We engaged the staff member who attended to you and shed more light as to the importance of being empathetic and professional with guests. Our maintenance team also attended to the tiles and the leaking hand shower. May we also insist that on your next stay , in the event that you encounter any challenge(s), please talk to or ask to see the duty manager. We always strive to make sure our guests have the best possible stay thus kindly accept our apologies once again for the inconveniences caused. Your business support is invaluable to us. Please allow us to recover on your next trip to Gweru . Kind Regards
Read more
Gretwen M wrote a review Apr 2016
10 contributions9 helpful votes
Enjoyed my stay very much. The rooms were quite cosy and comfortable. The hotel could with more signage especially from the rooms to the restaurant. Though I only had breakfast I felt it was really good. Didn't try their other meals. The price of accommodation was rather expensive.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2016
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from TheVillageLodges, Manager at The Village Lodge
Responded 28 Aug 2016
Good Afternoon Gretwen M Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Village Lodge in April. We also appreciate the time you took to review us online. Thank you very much for the positive, encouraging and candid feedback . It is pleasing to note that you appreciated the cosy & comfortable rooms and the excellent breakfast. We also took note of your feedback regarding the signage from the rooms to the restaurant. It is work in progress . Once again thank you for staying with us and the feedback. Your business support is invaluable to us. We look forward to hosting you on your next trip to Gweru. Kind Regards
Read more
Joy K wrote a review Mar 2016
Kampala, Uganda7 contributions1 helpful vote
This well managed and beautifully kept hotel can provide for your every need. An excellent restaurant on site can even accommodate dietary needs. When I am outside my room I feel I am in idealized Africa, in the restaurant, Paris, and in my room a better version of home. There is even a pool as well. Enjoy.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2016
Helpful
Share
Response from TheVillageLodges, Manager at The Village Lodge
Responded 28 Aug 2016
Good Evening Joy K Thank you for choosing to stay with us in May at The Suburban Village . We appreciate the time you took to review us online. Thank you very much for the positive and encouraging feedback. We are glad that you had a memorable stay. Your business support is invaluable to us. We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to Gweru Kind Regards,
Read more
Christopher Samkange wrote a review Dec 2015
Harare, Zimbabwe31 contributions11 helpful votes
The Village Lodge is situated just before you enter Gweru from Harare, next to Regina Mundi School It is set on sprawling land and you need a car to visit the restaurant from some of the rooms. Chose your rooms accordingly. The rooms are spacious, very clean and furnished better than expectations. The showers are amazing! There is in rooms WiFI with good bandwidth. It has two different restaurants, a mixed one where you will not exhaust the choices ona stay of three days. The Chinese restaurant serves a Chinese experience. For conferences, they cater very well; ours was given an exclusive tent. The resident band is fantastic. I have now stayed twice in this Lodge and will not hesitate a fifth time! The porice range is good
Read more
Date of stay: November 2015
Helpful
Share
Response from TheVillageLodges, Manager at The Village Lodge
Responded 28 Aug 2016
Good Day Christopher S Thank you for choosing to stay with us in December 2015. We would also like to express our appreciation for taking your time to give us valuable feedback about your stay online. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us ; found the rooms to spacious, clean, comfortable and that you enjoyed using the amazing showers. We thank you for these positive comments and for encouraging other travellers to stay with us. Thank you for the patronage. Your business support is invaluable to us. Warm regards
Read more
gm597 wrote a review Nov 2015
Mutare26 contributions6 helpful votes
After or during a long drive on your way along Bulawayo - Harare road Village lodge is one of those place I do recommend that you take a rest and enjoy your sleep Gweru and value for money. The lodge is very classy and competes with hotels throughout midlands. I enjoyed working in Gweru due to my stay at the Lodge
Read more
Date of stay: December 2014
Helpful
Share
Response from TheVillageLodges, Manager at The Village Lodge
Responded 28 Aug 2016
Good Day gm597 Thank you for choosing to stay with us in November 2015. We would also like to express our appreciation for taking your time to give us valuable feedback about your stay online. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We thank you for these positive comments and for encouraging other travellers to stay with us. Thank you for the patronage. Your business support is invaluable to us. Warm regards
Read more
Tawanda Z wrote a review Nov 2015
8 contributions7 helpful votes
The restaurant is nice although I haven't been to the rooms.Its made in a nice traditional way and they also have free wi if.Its a nice place to be and the food is very nice.i have only been to the Chinese restaurant which have such an appetising menu.There is also a minibar and a TV in there.The staff are also kind.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2014
Helpful
Share
Response from TheVillageLodges, Manager at The Village Lodge
Responded 28 Aug 2016
Good Day Tawanda Z Thank you for choosing to dine at The Village Lodge in November 2015. We would also like to express our appreciation for taking your time to give us valuable feedback about your dining experience online. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed having your meal. We thank you for these positive comments and for encouraging other guests to dine with us . Thank you for the patronage. Your business support is invaluable to us. Warm regards
Read more
Richard M wrote a review Oct 2015
Boksburg, South Africa3 contributions1 helpful vote
Although the restaurant was quiet, the service was slow and staff were slow to check up on us and replace our drinks. The menu was limited, and generally the place could be better. Bathrooms were clean and neat, but the overall facilities where a bit tatty.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2015
Helpful
Share
Response from TheVillageLodges, Manager at The Village Lodge
Responded 28 Aug 2016
Good Evening Richard M Thank you for chosing to stay with us at The Village Lodge in May 2015 We would like to express our appreciation for reviewing us online. Thank you for the candid feedback. We regret your dissatisfaction on the mediocre service that you experienced at the restaurant. We took note of the issues that you raised: * Slow service * Limited menu It is regrettable that these issues negatively impacted your overall experience with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience that may have been caused . We always welcome all opportunities for improvement and your review is no exception. Again, we appreciate the candid feedback. Kind Regards,
Read more
Hope M wrote a review Sep 2015
12 contributions3 helpful votes
Nice place on the highway if you get the modern rooms they are of very good quality neat,spacious with aircon and tv .enjoyed the food .restaurant a bit far from the rooms but enjoyed the walk it's well lit and safe.the older rooms need a lift so you advised to ask for the newer ones.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2015
Helpful
Share
Response from TheVillageLodges, Manager at The Village Lodge
Responded 29 Aug 2016
Good Day Hope M Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Village Lodge. We also appreciate the time you took to review us online .Your feedback is very important as it assists us in improving our facility. Thank you for for the positive highlights you mentioned; * The food you enjoyed * The neat , spacious rooms We also took note of your recommendation regarding the uplift of the older rooms. We managed to do minor renovations of the rooms. Again, thank you for the feedback and the patronage. Your business support is invaluable to us. We look forward to hosting you on our next visit to Gweru. Kind Regards,
Read more
JF_Leandri wrote a review Apr 2015
Puteaux, France108 contributions33 helpful votes
Stayed at the Village Lodge on a business trip for three nights. We used the superior rooms: nothing fancy, but the rooms are fairly large, have A/C of course, DsTV, etc. The standard (and apparently older) rooms look more picturesque but I don't know how comfortable and maintained they are. The restaurants are just OK. The Chinese appeared to be better than the other. This is Zimbabwe, so everybody is really nice and helpful. Staff will do what they can to please you and accommodate your requests. The hotel seems to suffer from poor electric supply, but they have their generator, so this is not really a burden. WiFi is free but hardly accessible from the rooms and very variable in terms of speed: from catastrophic to reasonably OK. I ended-up sitting with the
Read more
Date of stay: March 2015
Helpful
Share
Response from TheVillageLodges, Manager at The Village Lodge
Responded 29 Aug 2016
Good Day JF_Leandri Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Village Lodge in November 2015 We also appreciate the time you took to review us online .Your feedback is very important as it assists us in improving our facility. Thank you for for the highlights you mentioned; *the friendly and helpful staff * the good restaurant However , we genuinely regret the inconvenience caused due to the WiFi accessibility from the rooms. We always strive to provide the best service to our guests and on this occasion we did not meet your basic expectation. Again, thank you for the feedback and the patronage. Your business support is invaluable to us. We look forward to hosting you on our next visit to Gweru. Kind Regards,
Read more
B557 wrote a review Mar 2015
Washington DC, District of Columbia79 contributions41 helpful votes
A little outside town - you'll need your own transport to get to and from this place. The restaurant has a limited menu. The regular chalets are probably better than the deluxe/honeymoon chalets (those have a giant tub - but the shower is romantically located outdoors - not the best when getting ready for business meetings). The regular chalets probably get more use and therefore are a little fresher. It is located on the Harare road, and while I did not hear trucks roaring by all night - there was one crashed into the trees outside the gate in the morning after our stay. Internet was good. Fine for a short stay.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2015
Helpful
Share
Response from TheVillageLodges, Manager at The Village Lodge
Responded 29 Aug 2016
Good Day B557 Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Village Lodge in March 2015. We also appreciate the time you took to review us online . It is our aim to ensure that all our guest are happy throughout their stay and we are pleased that you enjoyed yours especially the regular chalets. Again, thank you for the feedback and the patronage. Your business support is invaluable to us. We look forward to hosting you on our next visit to Gweru. Kind Regards,
Read more
LOCATION
ZimbabweMidlands ProvinceGweru
NUMBER OF ROOMS
46
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing