We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (449)
Room & Suite (186)
Dining (49)
Overview
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good44%
  • Average13%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“wood stove”(38 reviews)
“hot water”(52 reviews)
“one night”(51 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Family Rooms
Bar/Lounge
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (757)
There are newer reviews for Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
515 results
Traveller rating
221
212
68
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
221
212
68
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswood stovehot waterone nightdining roombig fireplacecrater rimback porchnice balconywarm blanketswater buffalorestaurant arearooms are basicherd of buffalobuffet styleopen fireplaceboth dinner and breakfastwild animals
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
111 - 115 of 515 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2017

Very old, poor service and the food was not anything good. We barely had something to eat, as the food was not very inviting. Also, the lunch boxes were the worst we had on our 6 days safari adventure. The rooms had a good view,...More

1  Thank DKanonym
Response from Rhino L, Manager at Ngorongoro Rhino LodgeResponded 18 March 2017

We are so sorry to learn of your disappointment at your stay with us at Rhino Lodge. Our staff are normally known for their friendliness and eagerness to help in any way so thank you for alerting us to the fact the service was not...More

Reviewed 13 March 2017

Staying here for two nights during our Ngorongoro Crater visit was a fantastic choice. This was my favorite lodge of the 14 day safari. Why was it my favorite you ask? The staff was friendly and welcoming. The setting of the lodge is near the...More

Thank sheflew
Response from Rhino L, Manager at Ngorongoro Rhino LodgeResponded 17 March 2017

Many thanks for your wonderfully descriptive stay at Rhino Lodge. It is so good to learn that guests appreciate not only the wonderful scenery but also the wildlife that is an essential part of the experience also. You were fortunate indeed. Our staff always do...More

Reviewed 12 March 2017

Stayed here with my boyfriend one night during a seven days safari. The location is good, just 20 minutes drive to the crater entrance. The view is also nice and the lodge felt safe and secure. No malaria mosqitos here or tsetse flies due to...More

Thank Pluttan
Response from Rhino L, Manager at Ngorongoro Rhino LodgeResponded 17 March 2017

Thank you for such an enthusiastic response to your stay with us at Rhino Lodge. We do aim to create a cosy and comfortable atmosphere, both in the rooms and in the main lounge/dining area and the woodburners are much appreciated by many guests. Our...More

Reviewed 5 March 2017

This lodge had everything you would need. Dinner was a big and excellent buffet. Many of the workers are Masai and you can have very interesting and educational conversations if you start talking with them. Seeing African Buffalo out the back of the room was...More

Thank linda e
Response from Rhino L, Manager at Ngorongoro Rhino LodgeResponded 8 March 2017

Thank you Linda for your most kind review of our Lodge. I am particularly glad you got to see our resident herd of buffalo - it can be a surreal experience for those whose first visit it may be! I will pass your kind comments...More

Reviewed 28 February 2017

After reading some reviews I wasn't expecting much but this is a lovely lodge with animals just beyond your deck off your room. the room is very nice with comfortable beds and a nice hot shower. There is even a small wood stove to heat...More

Thank jtwhittier
Response from Rhino L, Manager at Ngorongoro Rhino LodgeResponded 4 March 2017

Thank you for such a complimentary review and I am pleased you were so pleasantly surprised! Our aim is to make people feel comfortable and "at home" whilst experiencing a taste of the real Africa which I think you did with the animals passing by...More

View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Free Internet
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$476 - US$1,979 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$476 - US$1,979 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (449)
Room & Suite (186)
Dining (49)
Pool & Beach (2)
Family and Play Areas (3)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
D D
22 June 2018|
Answer
Response from Rhino L | Property representative |
Morning very often fog and temperature between 10 - 15C Afternoon between 15- 20C Evening between 9 - 13C It is almost like this....suggest a sweater and windjacket.
1
Vote
Edmine W
29 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from RobHigh | Reviewed this property |
Hello, we had to pay about 170 US-Dollar per night and per person. On the website the prices start at 145 US-Dollars. You have to pay a park-fee per (60US-Dollar per person and day) and a crater fee (300 US-Dollar per car... More
0
Votes
Google Translation
M. L
23 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from mikko0o0 | Reviewed this property |
So sorry; i did not see this message. It was a part of our package, i am not sure what it worked out to per night. Hope you had fun!
0
Votes
Room Tips
"No real difference"
Read review
"Get up early and watch hundrets of birds in the trees next to your balkony whilst you can enjoy a cup of..."
Read review
"Room 11 has a balcony backing the lush green hills! Loved it!"
Read review
"all the rooms are the same"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing