We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

622 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 413: English reviews
Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 22 July 2016

We stayed here on our first night in Tanzania before going to Ngorongoro crater the next morning. It is a beautiful place to stay - out in the country with an amazing view of the stars at night. This area is very high up so it gets cold, but the hotel staff lit fires in our rooms and the restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan R
RhinoTanzania, General Manager at Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment that will be passed on to our staff

St.Andrews
Reviewed 22 July 2016

We stayed here for 1 night only and it was late when we got there - held up at the entrance by a male elephant that refused to move off the road! The lodge is surrounded by bush and the wildlife can be visible right outside with a high viewing point outside the dinning room, would have loved to stay...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jillc68
RhinoTanzania, General Manager at Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge, responded to this review

We are happy you got to be held up by an elephant.. always great to see them around. Thank you for your comment. We hope to see you again at Rhino Lodge

Big Pine, California
Reviewed 20 July 2016

The six of had great time at the lodge. It was nice to have the fire in the dining room with wi-fi. Food was very good-buffet and the staff was friendly and helpful. Ask for a fire in your room, takes the chill off! If we ever go back we would stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dorothylloyd39
RhinoTanzania, General Manager at Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review.. we were very happy to have and hope to see you again at Rhino Lodge.

Reus, Spain
Reviewed 18 July 2016

A perfect choise after a hard day in a safari around Ngorongoro. The food excellent, you can sellect a varied food in breakfast and dinner. The restaurant have a big fireplace perfect to take some coffe or tea, before to go to sleep. The rooms are wide and confortables with a correct bathroom. Also have a big balcony with a...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank oarias340
RhinoTanzania, General Manager at Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment. We are delighted you appreciates the atmosphere we try to create at Rhino Lodge

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 18 July 2016

A unique lodge in a unique location. Great rooms and great service. Having a wood heater in the room was extra special on a cool evening, and having the water buffalo grazing alongside your balcony is pretty special.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tramsnod
RhinoTanzania, General Manager at Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to have you and we are happy your appreciate the special atmosphere of our place

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 17 July 2016

We stayed in room #24 which proved adequate but cold at night, stove did not work well. Hot water was okay but the tank was shared with the next door room. The onsite restaurant served just okay meals.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank vicnric2016
RhinoTanzania, General Manager at Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge, responded to this review

We thank you for taking the time to share your impression on our Lodge. Indeed, June is a very cold month. It is a shame you did not told us that the stove seemed not to work properly, we would have sent our maintenance chief to look at it. It is true that we do have one boiler for two...

South Brooklyn, New York, United States
Reviewed 16 July 2016

We had two nights with our family of 10 ranging in age from 11 to 74. Location is divine with wildlife coming right up to balcony. Very friendly helpful staff. Cozy rooms especially with stoves and hot water bottles in bed on cold nights. The dining room with fire places wonderful place for wholesome meals and social gathering. Not too...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nina R
RhinoTanzania, General Manager at Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment, we are delighted you appreciated our cozy place

Potsdam, Germany
Reviewed 14 July 2016

Coming from Serengeti we climbed up the road to Ngorongoro Conservation - what a nice welcome at Rhino Lodge! From the balcony outside the restaurant we had wonderful views of the cloud forest. And a lone bull was roaming around. While dinner we were asked whether we wanted a fire to be lightened in our room which we gladly did....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eva G
RhinoTanzania, General Manager at Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment and we are happy your appreciated our homely atmosphere

Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed 11 July 2016

We had an amazing time staying at Rhino Lodge. The food and restaurant was excellent, the rooms were good and the location was just spectacular. We would highly recommend staying here while on safari.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NicoleAJM
RhinoTanzania, General Manager at Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your support and your comment. I will pass it on to our staff

Reviewed 10 July 2016

We had a pleasant stay. Rooms where nice, food was great and over all stay was very good. The staf was very helpful and all our needs were met. All in all great value for money. recommended for famelies.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank defrin
RhinoTanzania, General Manager at Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment. We will pass it on to our staff who is always trying hard to please our guests.

412 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (360)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (76)
Viewed
Room/Suite (71)
Viewed
Dining (40)
Viewed
View from Room (56)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (96)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (30)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ngorongoro Conservation Area
2.0 km away
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
607 reviews
9.1 km away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
396 reviews
20.4 km away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#5 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,101 reviews
16.1 km away
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
#1 of 47 in Karatu
614 reviews
8.6 km away
Lemala Ndutu Tented Camp
Lemala Ndutu Tented Camp
#26 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rhino Lodge is ideally located on the edge of the Ngorongoro crater rim. The Lodge was originally the home of Ngorongoro’s first conservator, and its developers have maintained the house’s original rustic, low-impact style and natural setting. Rhino Lodge offers a perfect base from which to explore the Ngorongoro crater and its surroundings. Game drives into the crater, and, for the more adventurous, walking safaris in the forest reserve and visits to nearby Maasai villages, can all be arranged from the lodge. And, on return after a long day, 24 comfortable en suite rooms with forest views, a cozy living space, friendly local staff and generous African-inspired meals offer guests a warm welcome home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge

Address: Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Price Range: €254 - €659 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Ngorongoro Rhino Hotel Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Nothing to add”
Jesterinoz, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose something else”
DKanonym, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you are a bird watcher, ask for a room facing the forest.”
sheflew, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Maybe a corner room would be quieter....”
dylanyo, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had Room 22. Animals passing close by were nice to see so close.”
Tiflis, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5