We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Le Bambou Gorilla Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Le Bambou Gorilla Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

245 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Le Bambou Gorilla Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 225: English reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Definitely more than medium accommodation, very cosy and comfortable place. The staff is great, people were so friendly and kind that I didn't want to leave. After leaving Le Bambou Gorilla lodge we stayed only at 5- star lodges in Africa but the food at this place was the best.

Helpful?
1 Thank Anastasia H
Emmanuel G, Public Relations Manager at Le Bambou Gorilla Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks Anastasie for your encouraging review, all the best More 

Takaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

My wife and I spent 2 nights here and loved it. The staff were all so friendly and helpful. Top notch food. A fire was lit in our room in the evening - one of many personal touches that made our stay special. Lovely big room, huge bed, good ensuite. A great place. Gorillas wonderful too, but that's another story.

Helpful?
2 Thank John_Pemberton
Emmanuel G, Public Relations Manager at Le Bambou Gorilla Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, we look forward to be Always a great place More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2016

I spent two weeks in East Africa this September and it all started with a gorilla trek in Rwanda. Our base camp was Le Bambou Gorilla Lodge for two nights and I want to make a special mention about this place. As it was advertised by my tour agent as medium accommodation, I did not expect much, but this place... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Hristo Z
Emmanuel G, Public Relations Manager at Le Bambou Gorilla Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks Hristo for your review, we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to having you as our guest again once you think of coming back to Rwanda. More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2016

Having had a rather short notice business trip to Rwanda sprung on me, I decided to make use of the opportunity to visit the Gorillas while there. None of the local tour operators could assist with getting a Gorilla permit at such late notice, but having tracked down Le Bambou Gorilla Lodge online I decided to make use of their... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Niki D
Emmanuel G, Public Relations Manager at Le Bambou Gorilla Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for staying with us and i appreciate your review, we look forward to promoting the Gorilla express package featured on our website, thanks More 

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2016

The lodge has taken all efforts for efficient transport even we had significant flight delays till late at night. The service (hot fire place inside the rooms, cleaning hiking boots, laundry) was very timely and the food was delicious. The guide got our wishes honored by the ranger of the National Park in two executive days.

Helpful?
Thank Tibet2011
Emmanuel G, Public Relations Manager at Le Bambou Gorilla Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your appreciation review, we wish you come back again, thanks More 

boston
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

Had a great experience visiting the gorillas. Arrange the permit with Emmanuel who was extremely helpful in obtaining the permit for peak season. It is helpful to arrange at least six months in advance. Picked up by Jackie who is married to Emmanuel. Very prompt and knowledgeable. Also hardworking entrepreneur who owns the Le bamboo gorilla lodge. Very good driver... More 

Helpful?
Thank chris4418
Emmanuel G, Public Relations Manager at Le Bambou Gorilla Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your encouraging review, wish you come back again More 

Summerville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
116 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

I spent 3 nights at Le Bambou lodge. It is a very nice family ran lodge. They can provide everything you need for a gorilla trek at a very reasonable price. All I had to do was arrive at the airport and they did everything else. When I made my reservation they immediately purchased the gorilla permit and golden monkey... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Don R
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 September 2016

A fantastic setting, in the shadow of the volcanoes, with large comfortable rooms with the option of open fires (it gets colder than you might think). Our stay was fantastic and for us was made all the better by the staff, who were kind and friendly and always had a smile on their faces - and made amazing food every... More 

Helpful?
Thank danielreeds
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Safari lodges are typically expensive (upwards of £200 per night), but are generally of a high standard. Sadly, Le Bambou is a tired and disappointing lodge that doesn't look like it's had any investment in it since it was built. We stayed in a large twin room that was basic at best, dingy and freezing cold. The bathroom was disgusting... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mellie B
Emmanuel G, Public Relations Manager at Le Bambou Gorilla Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mellie, Thanks for your review and we are very sorry for what you claim to have happened to you, to my surprise once on the ground at our lodge , did you communicate either of the bad experience you had with us to any of managers, sincerely speaking we usually do all what is possible to make our clients... More 

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

Le Bambou is a lovely, cozy lodge located near the gorillas of Rwanda, high up in the stunning mountainside. It's breathtakingly beautiful! Although the climate is somewhat cool at night, staff prepare a fire for you in your cottage and place a hot water bottle in your bed to keep you toasty. The food is plentiful, delicious and largely seems... More 

Helpful?
Thank ibobbin
Emmanuel G, Public Relations Manager at Le Bambou Gorilla Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, and we are very much pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, we look forward to hosting again as our guest. More 

237 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (201)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (62)
Viewed
Room/Suite (58)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruhengeri
4.5 km away
Five Volcanoes Boutique Hotel
0.5 km away
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge
2.2 km away
Villa Gorilla
Villa Gorilla
#4 of 14 in Ruhengeri
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
The Peakspot - Kinigi
The Peakspot - Kinigi
#2 of 10 in Musanze
12 reviews
16.8 km away
Red Rocks Rwanda - Campsite & Guesthouse
11.4 km away
Home Inn
Home Inn
#4 of 12 in Ruhengeri
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
LE BAMBOU GORILLA LODGE: Positioned at the foot of Mountains Volcanoes, very close to Volcanoes National Park , home of Mountains Gorillas. This beautiful lodge provides breathtaking views of Rwandan hills and the slopes of the Volcanoes National Park. Situated in Northern Province , Musanze district, KINIGI Sector - RWANDA. Le Bambou Gorilla Lodge is nestled in a forest of Bamboo trees. An awe-inspiring experience awaits you in this part of Africa. Share the Mountain Gorilla's family space, soak up the serenity found in nature and marvel at the abundance of primates in this magical spot. Regards Emmanuel GATERA Le Bambou Gorilla Lodge ... more   less 

Additional Information about Le Bambou Gorilla Lodge

Address: Ruhengeri-Kinigi | Volcanoes National Park - RWANDA, Ruhengeri, Rwanda (Formerly Le Bambou Gorilla Village)
Region: Rwanda > Northern Province > Ruhengeri
Price Range: €188 - €305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Le Bambou Gorilla Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Bambou Gorilla Hotel Ruhengeri
Le Bambou Gorilla Lodge Rwanda/Ruhengeri
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Le Bambou Gorilla Lodge staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Le Bambou Gorilla Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Cottage number 12 has the best view of volcanoes mountains.”
 of 5 bubbles jackdonnily, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms closer to Lobby are better, could get very dark to the far end rooms of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles christiano143, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Sub standard - States it is a deluxe lodge. It's not in any stretch of the imagination”
 of 5 bubbles 687arleneb, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Garden Room with fireplace, excellent food, close to the park”
 of 5 bubbles umamira, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Quiet, peaceful and a great place to relax.”
 of 5 bubbles USAguest, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay