We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Amani Tiwi Beach Resort

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Amani Tiwi Beach Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

668 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 508: English reviews
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The resort has good grounds but it's beach front is unusable because of coral, hence a big minors. With proper investment and attention, the management can easily turn this property into a paradise. They must start by getting real water, currently they use salt water everywhere, rooms, swimming pools which is terrible. Their menu is quite wanting, too basic. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank David M
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

The house keeping was wanting, towels were not replaced daily unless requested, same for toiletries...the food variety was limited and repetitive even tea time snacks. However the worst bit was on my first night at the bar, the waiter passed me over severally to serve foreigners before serving me.....thats a downer for local tourism...kindly improve.

Helpful?
Thank lilian m
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Since i visited your hotel for my anniversary, i have assigned myself the role of being your brand ambassador by recommending the hotel to so many people. I really enjoyed my stay and i'll definitely be back. All staff were friendly, the rooms so beautiful and spacious, sumptuous meals and not to forget the theme nights.

Helpful?
Thank Stellamu2013
G M, Front Office Manager at Amani Tiwi Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Stella, Thank you for review. It was our pleasure to host you here at Amani Tiwi & it was an honour for you having chosen us as your holiday destination. Thank you for being our brand ambassador. We look forward to welcoming you to our Paradise Under African Skies. Karibu Tena Stella. Joseph Kaunda - Front Office Manager. More 

Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had one of the best vacations ever as a family in August. The food was excellent for the whole family including food for my baby who has extensive food intolerance. There are lots of activities for the whole family and the pool is just amazing. We will definitely be back there

Helpful?
Thank terrykariuki
G M, Front Office Manager at Amani Tiwi Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Terry, Thank you fro review. It was our pleasure to host you here at Amani Tiwi Beach Resort. To quote you, '...The food was excellent for the whole family including food for my baby who has extensive food intolerance. There are lots of activities for the whole family...' We cant wait to welcome you back again here in our... More 

Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We were at Amani Tiwi for four days in October 2016 for a spontaneous girls getaway, and we had a lovely time! The service was phenomenal, with very friendly and eager-to-please staff, all through to managerial level. We had special tables and off the menu meals prepared for us at no request - or extra cost. The rooms were spacious... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Member4890
G M, Front Office Manager at Amani Tiwi Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for review. The pleasure was all ours to host you & your friends here at Amani Tiwi Beach Resort. Nice to note that you had a memorable stay with us. To quote you,'...we had a lovely time! The service was phenomenal, with very friendly and eager-to-please staff, all through to managerial level.' We cant wait to... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had an amazing time and adventurous one, more so on the beach. We enjoyed all the meals!!! The pools are awesome, very enjoyable to the very bit, The rooms are clean and welcoming with AC which was very helpful because of the hot weather.

Helpful?
1 Thank Keziah W
G M, Front Office Manager at Amani Tiwi Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Keziah, Thank you for review & thank you for having chosen us as your holiday destination. Nice to note that you had an amazing time. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Paradise Under African Skies. Karibu Tena Keziah! Joseph Kaunda - Front Office Manager More 

Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is beautiful with a great pool that is really long with varying depths. We enjoyed the warmth of the pool but it was still cool enough to save us from the heat. The hotel organizes lots of activities throughout the day. Table tennis, pool and darts were available throughout the day. The food was good too. The housekeepers... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank TeamMozila
G M, Front Office Manager at Amani Tiwi Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Team Mozila, Thank you for review & for having chosen us as your preferred holiday destination. Nice to note that you had a great time. We have had a word with housekeeping department on same & we look forward to welcoming you back again in our Paradise Under African Skies! Karibuni Tena Team Mozila. Joseph Kaunda - Front Office... More 

Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were at Amani Tiwi Beach in November 2016 for 5 days. The service was good with the staff very friendly and accommodating to our needs. The room was good except for the shower which was not working properly despite being fixed when we complained. The food was great and the staff tried hard to cater for my needs which... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank ashmireval1
G M, Front Office Manager at Amani Tiwi Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for review & for having chosen us as your preferred holiday destination. Thank you for positive comments on staff, will definitely let them know. Your issue on egg-less desserts has been passed to our chef to look into that. All in all you had a great time & we look forward to welcoming you back to... More 

1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The animation team was perfect, service at the restaurant great and the staff in general are professional. The hotel has big rooms, awesome kids activities and great ambiance. Points to improve on are cleanliness of the baby pool, maintenance of the facilities ie, taps, bathtubs etc and the food menu(too monotonous)

Helpful?
Thank Nduta O
G M, Front Office Manager at Amani Tiwi Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Nduta, Thank you for review & thank you for having chosen us as your holiday destination. We have taken your remarks positively & we look forward to see you soon here at our paradise Under African Skies! Karibu Tena Nduta!! Joseph Kaunda - Front Office Manager More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Am definitely going back. The staff are the best. Food is great. The pool is awesome. Rooms are spacious and well maintained. By far my best holiday experience. The animation team is great. The highlight for me was the water gymnastics

Helpful?
1 Thank Geraldine M
G M, Front Office Manager at Amani Tiwi Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Geraldine, Thank you for review. It was our pleasure to host you here at Amani Tiwi Beach Resort and that you chose us as your holiday destination amongst many others. To quote you, '...Am definitely going back....pool is awesome...rooms are spacious and well maintained. By far my best holiday experience...' We cant wait to welcome you again to our... More 

704 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (669)
Viewed
Dining (43)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (228)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (98)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (211)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ukunda hotels
1.9 km away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#9 of 32 in Diani Beach
1,248 reviews
6.5 km away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#5 of 32 in Diani Beach
905 reviews
9.0 km away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#6 of 32 in Diani Beach
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 32 in Diani Beach
349 reviews
1.2 km away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
10.2 km away
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Recently up graded with an addition of another specialty restaurant-Sultan Dhow & Aqua wine bar overlooking the Indian Ocean with a wide choice of wine served by glass. Refurbished Floodlit Tennis Court. A dedicated 3D 84 inch screen facility, Ultra modern conferences in a separate hotel wing.New hotel boutiques, air conditioned rooms, Hi- speed WIFI Internet & 32'' LCD TV with Satellite feed in the rooms, Complimentary mini fridges, electronic safes, Tea & Coffee making facility, Hair dryers, Mosquito nets and superior guest toiletries Dedicated 24 hours in room dining menu. Upmarket Hair Salon Beauty & Wellness Center.Superior guest amenities. Weekly Complimentary traditional renewal of Wedding vows.3 Specialty restaurants and 4 bars including swim-up sunken bar in the a 167 Meter length free form swimming pool... ... more   less 

Additional Information about Amani Tiwi Beach Resort

Address: PO Box 1877, Ukunda 80400, Kenya (Formerly Tiwi Beach Resort)
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda
Price Range: €84 - €374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amani Tiwi Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Amani Tiwi Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amani Tiwi Beach Hotel Ukunda
Tiwi Beach Hotel
Amani Tiwi Beach Resort Kenya/Ukunda
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ukunda
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ukunda
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ukunda
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ukunda
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Amani Tiwi Beach Resort staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Amani Tiwi Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best Views, quiet and AC on demand”
 of 5 bubbles , 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms are best for families”
 of 5 bubbles 754pascalm, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“best private beach”
 of 5 bubbles churchilla2016, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the South a great.”
 of 5 bubbles edelo342, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“fabulous stay for sure. Just take some handy medicine, as pharmacy is far from hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles refayetu, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay