We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Amani Tiwi Beach Resort

Travellers' Choice award winner
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$98*
US$90*
US$98*
US$98*
US$90*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Amani Tiwi Beach Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

736 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 548: English reviews
Start your review of Amani Tiwi Beach Resort
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

The beds are huge, very comfortable but the ac in our room was faulty. Even the key to the room was faulty, we had to wait for another key only to be swapped to another room which was already occupied. Walked to the beach to try and forget all the drama and there was one of the cleanest beaches ul...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SARAH G
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I made my reservations with Pauline who is an amazing person even with my numerous changes she was very patient and understanding, its unfortunate i did not get her at the hotel. The reception was quick despite the big number of check ins, in less than 20 minutes we were in our rooms relaxed with a cold welcoming drink. Being...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lewyayietta
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is quite big, so even though the hotel was fully booked you didn't feel congested. They have an amazing pool. Clean and private beach. I am not one to go to the gym on holiday but this time i did, they have a good gym and a great instructor Kennedy. The staff was also kind and friendly, kudos...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thogzy
G M, FOM at Amani Tiwi Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for review. Its our pleasure that you had a wonderful stay with us & had lots of fun activities to partake. The special mention of our staff who made your holiday worthwhile is noted. We look forward to welcome you again to Our Paradise Under African Skies. Karibuni Tena

Reviewed 1 week ago

excellent rooms excellent conference facilities very helpful staff wide selection of food on the menu the beach is fantastic good location superb pool great wifi connection pleasant operations manager

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarshaAfrika
G M, FOM at Amani Tiwi Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the one-sentence-covering-everything review. The pleasure is all ours to see that you had a memorable stay with us. We look forward to welcome you back again to Our Paradise Under African Skies. Karibuni Tena

Reviewed 1 week ago

Its facilities are good, great location along the beach away from the town noise. Spacious and comfortable rooms, the Palms restaurant is fantastic, and the chefs are great. BUT the hotel (HR) can do even better by focusing more on the staff training. As a former hotelier, I found customer service etiquette very wanting, and slow service, we had to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Julius K
G M, FOM at Amani Tiwi Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Julius, Thank you for review & thank you for having chosen Amani Tiwi Beach Resort as your holiday destination amongst many. We take the reviews seriously. We have discussed with the concerned Heads of Departments on issues you raised. Its our pleasure to note that you had a great time & also there are some staff who made your...

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 1 week ago

My first time in South coast Amani Tiwi Resort. I was here a week before Easter holidays with my friends and family. A big resort with a lovely swimming pool . Water polo was the best water sport. We also booked airport transfer with Amani Tiwi. Though we were picked late, the manager upgraded us to Deluxe rooms which are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Oceankenya
G M, FOM at Amani Tiwi Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for review. It was our pleasure to host you & your family here in Amani Tiwi Beach Resort & that you have fond memories of this place. To quote you,'... A big resort with a lovely swimming pool . Water polo was the best water sport ... A few nights we had themed nights near the...

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Location; this is just about the only positive thing that this resort has going for itself. Great location, seemingly tranquil and far removed from the nearby congestion of the Kenya South Coast beach strip (Ukunda/ Diani). Beautiful and picturesque private beach (although beach shoes are a must as it is quite rocky in some areas and sea urchins are not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tripper_pwm
G M, FOM at Amani Tiwi Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Peris, Thank you for review. We have gone through it & we take the reviews seriously. Sorry if we came short of your expectations but at the moment we are refurbishing our rooms in piece-meal. Sorry also abut the beach incident. We have never had such a thing before. Our Chief of Security followed up with the issue soonest...

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Let me start with the good part: we were in the hotel for 3 nights with my two children. The kids activities are excellent, the pool looks amazing and the beach is awesome. The activities in the evening were awesome. The bad part: This was my first time in such an all inclusive hotel. The standard rooms are Horrible! Small...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank ohor
G M, FOM at Amani Tiwi Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for review. Just to let you know that we take the reviews very seriously. We have addressed them with the concerned departments. At the moment, we are refurbishing our rooms in piece-meal, and have installed new solar panels to take care of hot water issues. We welcome you back to sample us out. We cant wait...

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The 1st time we came to Amani was 2years ago for a short stay and it left an impression. 2years later the place hasn't changed much. The staff are very helpful and friendly they took care of us exceptionally. The check in process was relatively easy. The standard rooms however leave nothing to be desired the bathrooms are dirty the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EveNjeri
G M, FOM at Amani Tiwi Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Eve, Thank you for review. It was our pleasure to welcome you again here at Amani on your second visit! According to your review, which we take seriously, there are some things which were not as you had expected. At the moment we are refurbishing our rooms in piece-meal. I hope by your next visit you will ready waiting...

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Tiwi was restful and serene. A great escape. Very hospitable and helpful staff. Special mention to Hamim and Abdulla. Got a complimentary upgrade to deluxe room. The rooms could use a bit more of a touch up in terms of replacing the taps, doorknobs etc. The bed was huge and comfortable. Food was also quite delicious. There was never a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kim K
G M, FOM at Amani Tiwi Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Kim, Thank you for your review. It was our pleasure to host you in our Resort & that you chose Amani Tiwi Beach Resort as your preferred holiday destination amongst many! Regarding the taps, us being a beach resort, its a challenge in terms of maintaining the same but our engineering department are on top of it. Its also...

768 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (734)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (240)
Viewed
Dining (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (101)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (260)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Other (4)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ukunda
6.5 km away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#4 of 29 in Diani Beach
956 reviews
1.9 km away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#10 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,304 reviews
9.0 km away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
27.3 km away
Voyager Beach Resort
Voyager Beach Resort
#2 of 58 in Mombasa
2,909 reviews
10.1 km away
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Recently up graded with an addition of another specialty restaurant-Sultan Dhow & Aqua wine bar overlooking the Indian Ocean with a wide choice of wine served by glass. Refurbished Floodlit Tennis Court. A dedicated 3D 84 inch screen facility, Ultra modern conferences in a separate hotel wing.New hotel boutiques, air conditioned rooms, Hi- speed WIFI Internet & 32'' LCD TV with Satellite feed in the rooms, Complimentary mini fridges, electronic safes, Tea & Coffee making facility, Hair dryers, Mosquito nets and superior guest toiletries Dedicated 24 hours in room dining menu. Upmarket Hair Salon Beauty & Wellness Center.Superior guest amenities. Weekly Complimentary traditional renewal of Wedding vows.3 Specialty restaurants and 4 bars including swim-up sunken bar in the a 167 Meter length free form swimming pool... ... more   less 

Additional Information about Amani Tiwi Beach Resort

Address: PO Box 1877, Ukunda 80400, Kenya (Formerly Tiwi Beach Resort)
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda
Price Range: €74 - €89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amani Tiwi Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Amani Tiwi Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amani Tiwi Beach Hotel Ukunda
Tiwi Beach Hotel
Amani Tiwi Beach Resort Kenya/Ukunda
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ukunda
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Ukunda
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ukunda
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ukunda
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Amani Tiwi Beach Resort staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from Amani Tiwi Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All room overlook the beautiful un-ending swimming pool. Whatever room you are, i guarantee a spectacular view.”
lewyayietta, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“deluxe rooms”
Oceankenya, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“always insist on the new rooms.”
pollyNairobi, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors less noisy and make sure you get a room with working AC. theGYM and pool were enjoyable.”
etyangmalindi, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms toward on the southern side give the best hosipitality”
Powers101, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$90* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$98
TravelocityUS$90
TripAdvisorUS$90
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates