We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sunbird Mzuzu Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sunbird Mzuzu Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

42 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 41: English reviews
Start your review of Sunbird Mzuzu Hotel
 Click to rate
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a 1979-built, well-kept hotel, showing a bit of age but well-maintained. The staff are really nice and friendly and very helpful, the hotel food is good and the rooms comfortable and adequate. There's a fitness room with some OK kit, but not really a good bar in the complex. Go to the A1 Restaurant nearby for some of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jon C
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is now my 5th trip to this hotel. Whilst it has a lower star rating, it is very comfortable and I am impressed by the friendliness of the staff, specifically Effeta and Lucy, who have made me very welcome. On arrival I am always courteously treated with the "Welcome back" statement. The surrounding property is well maintained and abundantly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Armando d
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 19 January 2017

Opened by the last Big Man of Malawi, "His Excellency the Life President of the Republic of Malaŵi, Ngwazi Dr. H R Kamuzu Banda" in this hotel is an architectural gem if nothing else! Spent some time admiring the design and finishes of this 1960s show piece. I ate there dinner which was fair value and delicious.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roddy P
Sunbird-Malawi, Tamara Phiri - Guest Relations at Sunbird Mzuzu Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Roddy, Thank you for the review on Sunbird Mzuzu, and for sharing your experience with us. We do hope to see you back soon, to appreciate the architecture as well as enjoy our services. Kindest regards

Blantyre, Malawi
Reviewed 19 October 2016

If you are in Malawi you do not have a lot to chose from and if you are in Mzuzu (up north of the country), it is even worse. Sunbird Hotel will not disappoint and will even match most of your expectations. The was something minor that I didn't like about the room I had been allocated and the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel G
Sunbird-Malawi, Tamara Phiri - Guest Relations at Sunbird Mzuzu Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Daniel, Thank you very much for your review of Sunbird Mzuzu. It brings us great pleasure to know that you had an enjoyable stay while with us, and that you found everything to your liking. We strive to serve you better, and we are happy that we were able to achieve this while you were at the hotel. We...

Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

Was here for two nights after an absence of 8 years. Ok for Mzuzu but can get better as Sunbird get busy updating their facility. The local fish "Chambo" was very good and I can recommend it for those planning to visit the facility.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Makangano
Sunbird-Malawi, Tamara Phiri - Guest Relations at Sunbird Mzuzu Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Makangano, Thank you for visiting Sunbird Mzuzu and for your review of the hotel. We hope that you are back soon to enjoy the Chambo and the relaxing environment. Thank you once again. Kindest regards.

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

I have stayed here 2 x b4 over last 3 years. Old but consistent service. Safe. Quiet. Near golf course established 1955 that iz in ruff shape. Check in efficient Beautiful curving staircase to 2nd floor rooms. Rooms are comfortable. B sure to ask for room with safe. Beds comfortable. In room frodge stocked with bottled water daily. Bathroom is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank droffilc
Sunbird-Malawi, Tamara Phiri - Guest Relations at Sunbird Mzuzu Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review of Sunbird Mzuzu. We are glad you chose to stay with us, and we hope to see you again soon. Thank you for your constructive feedback. We will look into all the issues you have presented in your review. Kindest regards.

Reading, UK
Reviewed 2 July 2016

My experience may not be typical but I got no sleep in this hotel, which was considerably more expensive than others that I've stayed at in Malawi. An electric appliance in my room wasn’t functioning and was making so much noise that the source couldn't be identified and some of the furniture was vibrating. The hotel engineer wasn't even sure...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Anne-Louise_26
Sunbird-Malawi, Tamara Phiri - Guest Relations at Sunbird Mzuzu Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anne-Louise, We would like to apologize for your experience while staying with us. We would also like to thank you for your feedback. We have taken all the issues that you have made mention of and are taking corrective measures. Thank you for taking time to review your stay at Sunbird Mzuzu. Kind regards.

Somerset West, South Africa
Reviewed 25 June 2016

Mzuzu is not blessed with Western type hotels and having stayed at other establishments in town, I can categorically say that the Sunbird is the only game in town if that is what you are looking for. Of a good standard with nice clean rooms, en-suite, in room Wi-Fi, Fridge, TV and a desk is pretty much all you need....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tonyfrasercross
Sunbird-Malawi, Tamara Phiri - Guest Relations at Sunbird Mzuzu Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review of Sunbird Mzuzu. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will continue to provide the services that make you say that we are 'The best in Mzuzu'. We do hope that you come again soon! Kind regards.

Lilongwe
Reviewed 8 June 2016

Stayed at Mzuzu Sunbird hotel for 4 days and it was a cool experience. The hotel has very professional staff with an excellent hospitality. Food is great and the rooms are quite clean and acceptable. However, the bar was not so impressive, although the poor lighting seemed to be on purpose, it creates a feeling of insecurity.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jamesoW1628HO
Sunbird-Malawi, Tamara Phiri - Guest Relations at Sunbird Mzuzu Hotel, responded to this review

Dear James, Thank you for your review of Sunbird Mzuzu. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and that the services were to your liking. We greatly appreciate your feedback on the lighting in the bar. Rest assured, we will do something about this. Your feedback is very important to us, and we will do better so that...

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 March 2016

I have stayed here a couple of times this month, excellent value for money, first class staff, particularly on the front desk, and ideal location. Nothing to fault the hotel. The Bar (Sports Bar, separate to the main reception & restaurant) was quiet, and not as welcoming as the hotel itself. Possibly the best value Sunbird Hotel in Malawi.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David L
Sunbird-Malawi, Tamara Phiri - Guest Relations at Sunbird Mzuzu Hotel, responded to this review

David, Thank you very much for the great review! We appreciate the time you have taken out to write a review on your stay and we really do hope that you stay with us again soon. Kind regards.

13 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mzuzu
0.0 km away
Grand Palace Hotel
Grand Palace Hotel
#1 of 6 in Mzuzu
22 reviews
35.3 km away
Njaya Lodge
Njaya Lodge
#2 of 2 in Nkhata Bay
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Sunbird Mzuzu Hotel

Top-rated Attractions Nearby

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Sunbird Mzuzu Hotel

Address: PO Box 231, Mzuzu, Malawi
Region: Malawi > Northern Region > Mzuzu
Price Range: €124 - €234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunbird Mzuzu Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sunbird Mzuzu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sunbird Mzuzu Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There's a meeting room outside the front which sometimes has music going on - best to choose a room on the opposite side to avoid noise”
 of 5 bubbles 660JonC, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“2nd floor rooms are quieter especially those whose windows are on the golf course side.”
 of 5 bubbles S8259WMdanielg, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“First floor or above for security”
 of 5 bubbles tonyfrasercross, 24 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Enrol for the Hotelstay programme and enjoy a few discounts”
 of 5 bubbles jamesoW1628HO, 7 Jun 2016 | Read review
“First floor rooms at the back have lovely view over golf course.”
 of 5 bubbles 400DavidL400, 15 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5