We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Duke of Breeze Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kisumu
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

70 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 67: English reviews
Start your review of The Duke of Breeze Hotel
 Click to rate
Nairobi Region, Kenya
Reviewed 18 December 2016

Decent hostel. As far as I remember pretty good breakfast! And nice people, nice bar. Not too expensive. Sometimes there are parties on the roof which is fun (but you won't have any noise in your room). I think Dutch people run the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mascr1
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2016

I've always enjoyed staying at the Duke of Breeze. The staff are friendly and go out of their way to make you feel welcome. The rooftop bar is one of the highlights of Kisumu. A great pity that it is now closed. I really hope this is only temporary.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 89IanS
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 April 2016

I like this hotel because it's affordable, within walking distance of the matatu station, and a 50 shilling trip to megacity (which has a large nakumatt grocery store and cinema). When wifi works, it's great, available at the rooftop bar and in the second floor restaurant. The food at the restaurant is good, but like anywhere in Kenya, it takes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicole T
Delft, The Netherlands
Reviewed 14 January 2016

I had a non-renovated room on the first floor. These rooms are the cheapest options in this hotel and we noticed that. Although the room was clean and the beds were nice, the bathroomdoor was really bad. The door couldn't be closed because of the woodenplate of the door that was hanging on the ground. In my opinion It would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wietse K
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 17 December 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for one night in Kisumu and were unable to sleep due to the excess noise coming from the rooftop bar and the street outside. The room was spacious and clean, with a hot shower and nets. Breakfast was decent. Next time, I would look for a different place that would allow me to get some rest.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelsey K
Reviewed 7 December 2015

It was nice to be there, I met new friends, I enjoyed one of the best Friday night in Kenya in the rooftop bar and I will keep it in my mind as a very nice memory. A special thanks to the lovely Pauline.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elisa19889076
Reviewed 13 November 2015

Before I moved to Kisumu, I have staid here in 2012, 2013 and 2014 for quite a number of days. I always enjoyed. The rooms were not perfect, but the price is very okay. I also have heard since the last time I have come they have done renovation. Once I move out of Kisumu I will certainly stay here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
Reviewed 13 October 2015 via mobile

Return trip to Kisumu this year and I had no hesitations in booking the Duke Of Breeze again. Super friendly staff, secure hotel with excellent roof top bar. The new upgraded rooms were well presented too!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lee B
DukeKisumu_Kenya, Owner at The Duke of Breeze Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lee, Thank you very much for your kind review! We are very happy to read that you enjoyed the new room, the rooftop and found our staff very friendly! We hope to see you for a third visit very soon! Many greetings from the Duke Staff!

Kisumu, Kenya
Reviewed 13 October 2015

The so called renovated seems a bit overpriced and don't have access to Wifi (bog down for those who want to communicate), They must improve on the shower area. Its terrible. They have done well to paint the room (I guess that's what is renovation) but the room has not TV and lacks the homely feeling. Probably the first and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brezhnev O
DukeKisumu_Kenya, Owner at The Duke of Breeze Hotel, responded to this review

We have noted your first review on Tripadvisor. We are wondering if you stayed with us in a new room as the rooms have new beds and beddings, furniture and even new floors. We are a bit surprised that you did not note the same if you were indeed in the room? Also we have free WIFI available in the...

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 21 September 2015

my room was over looking the city, quite interesting views of the usual busy city of kisumu and its nice people and there rich culture, a walk later in the afternoon to the famous lake Victoria is a must for you to have said you visited Kisumu

 Report
Helpful?
Thank monthly2015
DukeKisumu_Kenya, Owner at The Duke of Breeze Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your kind review! Happy to read that you enjoyed your stay, the view and the rooftop! Hopefully we will see you soon again!

15 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kisumu hotels
0.4 km away
Imperial Hotel Express
Imperial Hotel Express
#6 of 26 in Kisumu
113 reviews
2.0 km away
Vittoria Suites
Vittoria Suites
#4 of 26 in Kisumu
83 reviews
0.0 km away
Acacia Premier Hotel
Acacia Premier Hotel
#1 of 26 in Kisumu
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Royal City Hotel
Royal City Hotel
#16 of 26 in Kisumu
12 reviews
0.1 km away
Imperial Hotel Kisumu
Imperial Hotel Kisumu
#2 of 26 in Kisumu
257 reviews
1.4 km away
Sovereign Hotel
Sovereign Hotel
#5 of 26 in Kisumu
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Spa
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Duke of Breeze Hotel offers clean, spacious and affordable accommodation in the heart of Kisumu town. Sports bar with DStv and Rooftop bar with Free high speed internet. Local and international dishes available at sports bar and Rooftop bar. As part of our Corporate Social Responsibility: The Duke of Breeze is proudly associated with the Ujima Foundation. An NGO since 1999, Ujima Foundation is empowering young orphans to take control over their own lives. "The best support is self support" is their slogan. Most of our staff are graduates from Ujima Foundation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Duke of Breeze Hotel

Address: Off Kenyatta Avenue next to Yatin Supermarket | Kisumu Central Business District, Kisumu 40100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nyanza Province > Kisumu
Number of rooms: 29
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Duke of Breeze Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Some floors used to get wifi (ask if they still do), top floors are extra loud on weekends”
 of 5 bubbles NicoleT786, 15 Apr 2016 | Read review
“''The renovated rooms are much better than the non-renovated rooms''”
 of 5 bubbles 49wietsek, 13 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Try to take quieter room and renovated ones.”
 of 5 bubbles Elisa19889076, 7 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Use it if you have no alternative”
 of 5 bubbles brezhnevo, 13 Oct 2015 | Read review
“choose a room from the 3rd floor its closer to the roof top which is quite interesting”
 of 5 bubbles monthly2015, 20 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5